logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Sunbeam Heritage Series 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker - Model: HDX25

by Brandi
(Georgia, USA)


My mother purchased this coffee maker for us as a gift last Christmas. Normally, I wouldn't spend so much on a coffee maker, but after having it, I would buy it again and again! It is a very good coffee maker with so many options and programmable features.


There is a an option to set it to brew coffee at a certain time of day, and it even has a permanent filter. And even as "complicated" as it may sound, it is quite easy to keep clean. It also has a very modern and expensive look to it with the LED screen displayed in the front and the chrome parts on it. The handle is easy to grasp on the coffee pot, as well.

My favorite feature on this coffee maker, however, is the ability it has to pause the coffee making in the middle of the brew. This allows me to make a full pot of coffee in the mornings before my husband goes to work, pause it and serve his so he can be on his way, and still get my coffee without having to make a second pot.

This coffee maker really is perfect for any mom with several things to do at one time. In the past, I would have to stop what I was doing to make coffee, or juggle feeding my daughter in the mornings and getting coffee ready for my husband. Now, I can just program the machine to make it each morning at a certain time and not even worry about it.

I would definitely recommend spending a little bit more money on this coffee maker to anyone. Rather than buying a cheaper model that's bound to break or give out every year or so, you can just spend the extra dough now and be happy and stress free!

Comments for Sunbeam Heritage Series 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker - Model: HDX25

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 04, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I found a replacement
by: Anonymous

I found a replacement pot at http://www.thepartsbiz.com/. Type in HDX25 in search or "Sunbeam Millennium Style Replacement 12 Cup Coffee Carafe GL312".

I paid TOTAL: $16.37. ($11.62 for the Carafe and $4.75 for the shipping).

Jul 26, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Carafe or entire coffee maker ?
by: Jan in Alabama

If you need extra glass carafe, read comments below.

Jul 26, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Sunbeam hermitage series coffe maker
by: Anonymous

I love this model and need to buy two spares. Where can I find them?

Feb 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Universal Coffee Carafe Model GL312
by: Sally

Hi Jan,
You're very welcome. When I went into Walmart tonight, I noticed that there were 2 One All Universal Coffee Carafes by Medelco. The model that I bought is GL312.


Feb 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Thanks Sally I'll do that
by: Jan in Alabama

Meanwhile I ordered a new HDX23 from Amazon for 49.00 just to have a spare. My old maker is HDX25, but unavailable I find. I stopped using a Cuisinart coffee-on-demand as I couldn't clean the coffee reservoir satisfactorily and b/c it was black plastic; had many corners and crevices; and got coated with a powdery film. This Heritage Series coffee maker is the best I've ever owned. And if you don't use the permanent filter for coffee, it's great for other uses in the kitchen and cleans perfectly in the dishwasher. Thanks Sunbeam and Sally !

Feb 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Universal Coffee Carafe at Walmart works perfectly
by: Sally

Go to www.walmart.com and order the One All 12 cup Universal Replacement Carafe. You can have it sent to the nearest Walmart, pick it up at the store and you don't even have to pay postage.

Dec 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
need carafe
by: Jan in Alabama

Makes great coffee; love the machine.
BUT I need a replacement carafe.
Now !!!!

Oct 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Why
by: Franklin Newhart

I just came back from the dump and while I was there I found one of these Coffee Makers. We quite often break coffee pots so I said self there is a spare coffee pot. Clean it and it's as good as new. I brought the whole thing home and cleaned it put a pot of water in it and plugged it in. Works great. Why would anybody throw something like this away.

Sep 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
It's your gamble
by: SteelCityMom

I have owened this coffee pot for 2 years and three months (approximately). It quit working this morning. I have owned three Sunbeam coffee makers in the last 10 years at a price of approximately 40 to 60 dollars per machine). I beleive that I can fix it, but guess what...Sunbeam made the bottom so that you have to have a special hex driver skinny enough to slide into their column to unscrew the hex screw! The bottom has 4 philips screws and 2 hex screws. What nerve! Talk about being screwed! As another reviewer said - screwed by Sunbeam again.
We paid 55 bucks for this thing! It should last more than 2 years!

Oh, I know - maybe the reason that this is called the heritage series is because Sunbeam is training consumers to start the "heritage" to fork over 50 to 60 bucks every couple of years!? What's next? The Legacy series? (fork over 100 bucks every couple of years for our new, improved coffee maker)?

I am going to family dollar and buying the cheapest cofee maker I can. I may also scour some thrift store looking for the very old Mr. Coffee that my parents owned for thirty years. I should have kept that thing instead of donating it.

Stay away from Sunbeam. All they do is 'beam' 50 or so bucks out of your pocket every couple of years!

Wish me luck!

Apr 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Replacement Parts
by: Shannon

Have had mine for about 3 years and it stopped working this morning .. was trying to find out where to have it repaired and found a place where you can buy all the parts -- just Google the model number and click on the place that says eReplacementParts -- yes, that is a small e in front not a typo. Good luck!

Mar 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My heart if broken
by: Anonymous

I LOVE this coffee maker--it is my all-time favorite. And, I have had a lot of them. Cheap to expensive. None have serviced like this one. Now, in an effort to clean it up, I have broken my carafe...only to find out they don't make replacements. That's why my heart is broken too. :(

Feb 15, 2011
Rating
star
Idiot Sunbeam Didn't Make Replacements
by: Anonymous

I will NEVER buy ANYTHING from Sunbeam again. Who ever heard of selling a coffee maker but not making replacement carafes. There are NONE. So, if you broke your carafe, you just got screwed by Sunbeam.

Jan 02, 2011
Rating
star
Poor machine
by: Joe

If you like steam this is the machine to buy, often I will make 6 cups and only 3 will actually perk. The machine makes nothing but steam POS!!!

Dec 28, 2010
Rating
star
Yes to the carafe being bad,
by: Anonymous

the ring is so loose, its dangerous to handle the coffeepot. Thought it was just mine, but a lot of these are doing it..

Nov 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Help. Broke my glass pot
by: DonnafromDenver

Have had the Sunbeam Heritage Series 12 cup HDX25 for two years. Luv it! I broke the glass pot last night. Called Sunbeam Parts & Accessories and they no longer carry that model therefore no replacement pot. Went to EBay and nothing there. Anyone??

Jun 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Carafe Terrible
by: Anonymous

The coffee maker is great (have two of them). The carafe is terrible -- the ring around the top keeps loosening. Trying to get to the screw -- which means you have to take a screwdriver to try to get the handle inset off (be careful and don't break the glass) -- is terrible. Even if you tighten it -- it becomes lose again in a short time. Then, you have to try to jam the handle piece back into the handle. The company -- when I complained about this (and I had to wait months to even find a replacement since it was on back order) -- refunded the cost of the new carafes. Now, seven months later, the new one is again lose and practically falling off from the handle. Dangerous as the top flew off the carafe since, with a loose handle, it makes the top uneven. So, they have a terrific coffee maker -- but a terribly-designed carafe. When you e-mail customer service -- you get a bounce-back answer that they will be in touch in a few days. Then someone responds -- but doesn't really give you much info. Help -- caught in a vicious cycle. Guess someone shouldn't pay for this item -- even though great -- since the carafe is flimsy after a while.

May 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Need a new carafe
by: Anonymous

Also need a new carafe. Where can I get one

Apr 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Need replacement pot
by: Anonymous

help!!! I broke the glass pot and cannot find a replacement for the Sunbeam Heritage Series...got a replacement for now but it doesnt fit the machine.

Mar 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
wake up to great coffee
by: Anonymous

Pros:
- This coffee maker can get more than 12 cups of coffee and so useful when sudden guest arrives It is so quick and handling part is more convenient compared to other coffee makers

Cons
- Coffee prepared has different smell and not usual as compared to my old coffee makers Sometimes the machine is not working

Coffee makers are basically friendlier and ease the work with especially in the morning. My coffee maker is important for me. Coffee which is needed to my family should be strong and as Indians we add more milk to coffee. So the taste should be milkier but the coffee powder smell should be high.

Before investing a in a coffee maker, we need to know what type of coffee we need like filter or cappuccino. Coffee maker like mine can be used very often and quick. This is so important because the coffee loses its freshness very quickly and so should be able to make it often and easy.

The programmable part is another added advantage. Sunbeam coffeemakers are more flexible and easy to handle as they are light weight and slipping from the hand is not possible as compared to many coffee makers which has many added features but not easy to handle. My mom use to have handy filters in which she put the coffee powder in the upper part of the filter and pour hot water and the essence of the powder filters in the bottom part which is used to make coffee.

This method gives taste to the coffee and never fails as we do manually. So the coffee maker should give such a true result and also reduce the work. Nowadays my mom also uses my coffee maker and feels happy on the coffee taste. Early morning coffee is an important thing in our life and so our coffee makers can be said as one of our family member.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Sunbeam Coffee Maker Consumer Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page