logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Starbucks Barista French Press

by JMay
(Denton, MD USA)


I found my Starbucks Barista French Press at a silent auction at Church! This Press differs from most in that the container is metal. The shape has a thermos-like effect, keeping the coffee warm longer than traditional glass french presses. The metal material makes the press easy to clean and Starbucks has designed the parts to be easy to disassemble and dishwasher safe.


The press is large enough to serve 3-4 people, yet small enough that you retain control over the strength of the coffee. I have had great results even with coffee that has been ground for drip machines. The rubber gasket on the filter keeps all grounds out of your drink!

I have had this press for a year now and have done away with one other press and a drip machine that simply could not compare. The other press did not have the gasket on the filter and I had to leave significant portions of my coffee undrunk … I thought that was the price for a having pressed coffee. The other part of the price for pressed coffee was the limited amount of coffee that could be produced and kept warm. No MORE!

The Starbucks Barista French Press is large enough for your toughest morning and protects you from grounds!! I had kept a drip machine on my counter for situations where I needed a large quantity of brew, but the Barista Press addresses that need with a similar quantity of joe that tastes much better.

I highly recommend this machine to anyone looking for a more intimate feel to their coffee-making experience. I have found visitors to my home enjoy the strength of the brew served here and remark every time on the flavor in coffee that they do not taste when using their home drip machines.

In short, I highly recommend the Starbucks Barista French Press!

Comments for Starbucks Barista French Press

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 01, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
20+ Years & Brewing Strong NEW
by: D

This is the best french press ever. I bought it from a regular Starbucks coffee shop 21 years ago in Fort Worth when I was 19 and have used it constantly since in 112 different houses in 5 different states. I replaced the partially-plastic/rubber screen assembly with a metal one after about 10 years and we are gold. It goes through a couple pounds of organic, fair-trade coffee from Rainbow Grocery here in San Francisco each month and I take it on the trail sometimes when I run in the mountains. Solid. Planned obsolescence missed this press. Been moved and dropped a hundred times and to Burning Man for four years and camping all over the states. Keeps the third cup plenty hot.

May 15, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
DIY Replacement Plunger Handle NEW
by: Hanoihancock

The black plunger handle broke on mine too. I had some brushed nickel cabinet knobs lying around from a recent kitchen remodel. I threaded the french press plunger rod (8-32) and screwed on the new knob. It works great and looks better than new!

May 03, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Replacement part? NEW
by: Anonymous

We have the same French Press as shown. The knob at the top that you press down with is broken. Any idea where to buy a replacement part?

Apr 17, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Confirmed replacement is identical to original filter NEW
by: Mike

I have several of the 2003 Starbucks Barista 32oz French presses identical to the photo at the top of this page. I can confirm that the #186 replacement filter from Sweet Maria's is identical to the original filter used in that french press. It is also a Bodum #V1508-ISR poly/stainless filter screen. So which ever way you find the filter it works perfectly. I purchased two from Sweet Maria's because very few online stores keep the bodum part number. If they did, their part and/or shipping were too much. So thank you, Sweet Marias.

Nov 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Replacement Stainless Filterscreen
by: ES

I did a search for a Bodum coffee press replacement filter and found in on smallappliance.com Same part number V1508 for $11.79 plus shipping.
According to the post Aug 2, 2011 it was perfect fit.
Link to web site below.


http://www.smallappliance.com/product.asp?cur=USD&sid=18954&gid=18960&mid=4&pid=5416&prdCls=P&shopBy=Brand

Oct 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Press!
by: Seth

This press got me through my senior project in undergrad. 5 years later, the filter ring is a bit worn; however, the rest of the unit remains bulletproof. I have found what I think is the replacement part on Bodum's site: http://www.bodum.com/us/en-us/shop/detail/V1508-ISR/. However, I haven't bought and tested it yet, though, based on the descriptions from other commenters, this seems to be the item in question. At the time of this comment, Sweet Maria's was out of this item.

I actually worked at Starbucks for three years and often lamented the fact that we did not sell metal presses, as customers often complained that the glass beaker style broke too easily. We did sell some replacement parts... For glass presses. Sadly, the filter assembly for the stainless and the glass presses are different. Whenever I got the chance, I tried to steer my customers toward a stainless press (even if we didn't sell one) for the simple fact that they are far more durable and worth the investment. For the commenters who are upset that the Starbucks locations are unhelpful regarding product service, I can only echo what you've already discovered: that you're better off on your own. Barista training does not include any instruction on merchandise sold, much less merchandise sold five years ago. Of course, Starbucks would rather you buy a new (glass) press. Not me; as long as I can replace the filter, this press will be with me until I die.

Oct 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Replacement Filter
by: David

I agree with other posters - this press has been amazing - they no longer sell this version. We purchased it after breaking our glass Bodum in a few months - it has also been frustrating that our filter is on it's way out after 5 years of daily use, and it has been really hard to find the replacement.

I'll check out the replacement from Sweet Maria's - I ordered another off of amazon.com and the nut does not fit the plunger (though, the filter would work perfectly otherwise!)


Sep 14, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
replacement filter is a match!
by: Anonymous

I also had a Bistro Double Wall Coffee Maker - stainless. I followed the advice of the last commentator and they were right, part 186 is a perfect match.

Thanks a bunch!

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Sweet Maria's for the replacement filterscreen!
by: Anonymous

Thank you to the anonymous poster who sent me to Sweet Marias for the replacement plunger screen. With some trepidation, 'cause they looked a bit different, I ordered two to get past the minimum order. They arrived today, and they are a perfect fit.

On Sweet Maria's site, they are listed as Replacement Poly/Stainless Filterscreen, SKU 186. On the package I received, they had a Bodum sticker with p/n v1508-ISR.

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
Another dissatisfied Starbucks customer
by: Anonymous

I have also had a less than satisfactory experience with finding a replacement 2 3/8 inch filter/screen for my Starbucks travel press. The retail stores all insist that the website has replacement parts. However, the website has none to be found. The e-mail customer service just says go and find a third party vendor who has the replacement parts.

Then someone said Starbucks intentionally does not make replacement parts easy to find so that you have to go and get an entirely new press/coffee mug. I just wish they were more upfront about it. Does anyone have any information where I can get a replacement 2 3/8 inch plastic screen?

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
star
Frustrated
by: Anonymous

We also have that wonderful metal French Press purchased a number of years ago and need replacement parts for the filter and the rubber knob which has deteriorated. We love, love, love this French Press. You All the comments I have read mirror my experience and sentiment re lack of help and absolutely no interest from Starbucks. I have come pretty close to calling the CEO if I can locate a number. I also will try Bodum. Okay, that's my 2 cents.

Apr 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Part found at sweetmarias.com
by: Anonymous

After lots of searching I finally hooked up with some guys on a forum, coffeegeeks.com., who quickly found the solution. They sent me to sweet marias (see the link below) and it show a 3.5" filter for $11. BTW, if you look on the filter in small lettering it actually says it is a bodum part. Unfortunatly the bodum site say they are not availalbe yet.

http://www.sweetmarias.com/sweetmarias/coffee-brewers/french-presses/replacement-poly-stainless-filterscreen.html

Apr 02, 2011
Rating
star
Get off your but Starbucks and fix this.
by: caffine less in Vancouver

What a crock of Sh**. I have just used up an hour trying to find a replacment press seal. No help from customer service or local stores.

If you look on line Starbuck (Ethical starbucks?) is taking a beating on these coffee presses. There are a lot of people looking for parts and none to be had.

I have seen where people point to the Bodum site but the 3 cup version isn't available. If this is actually a Bodum press. Starbucks can't even tell me who made it for them.

I asked two years after I bought the press to buy a new screen. Even then I got the run around and thought one day they would have them.

Shame on Starbucks. They should fix this problem by finding the parts, advertising there good effort and be ethical. Otherwise, what do you think, 40 000 stainless pots go into the dump?

Get off your but Starbucks and fix this

Jun 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Correct bodum replacement filter size?
by: Anonymous

Does anyone know the correct bodum filter size? They have several on there site 3 cup, 8 cup, 12 cup? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I just purchased this press and want to make sure I get the correct filter. Not sure how many cups this actually makes but excited to use it.

May 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Unsatisfied customer
by: Dyan

We are also looking for a new screen for our French press. The outside rubber seal has deteriorated. The Starbucks coffee shops are of no help to finding a replacemnet part and we do not want to replace our $80 press for a three dollar seal. A response from the Starbucks franchise would be appreciated!

Feb 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
filter
by: Anonymous

The repacement filter is made by Bodum and can be purchased on thier website

Feb 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Starbucks Barista SSteel Press- PART???
by: Anonymous

Replacement parts for this press???
Starbucks can't help me. Does anybody know where to get parts for the Barista press?FIESTA

Dec 13, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
replacement parts?
by: Anonymous

I also have this press (labelled "Barista" and "2003" on the bottom) and think very highly of it. I am trying to find a replacement for the circular screen (3 1/2") that presses the coffee grounds down. I cannot find replacement parts anywhere. I'd like to since this is my favorite coffee maker.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page