logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Proctor-Silex 48574 Automatic Drip Coffee Maker


This 12-cup coffee maker by Proctor-Silex (MODEL: 48574) gives you one stylish coffee brewing machine that offers delicious coffee. You can enjoy flavorful coffee aroma in the morning when you set the programmable clock to brew.


The accessories are also dishwasher-safe, so cleaning it won't be too much of a hassle. The key features offer the basic in coffee brewing.

Key features

- This coffee maker can make up to 12 cups of coffee.
- The programmable clock allows you to set the brewing time. You can easily enjoy coffee in the morning even when in a hurry.
- It uses cupcake filters.
- It has the standard 2-hour auto shut off that lets you save on energy and keeps coffee from burning.
- The auto Pause and Serve feature lets you enjoy a cup of fresh brew even though the machine is yet to finish brewing a whole pot of coffee.
- The brew strength selector lets you adjust the coffee taste according to your preference.
- The accessories of this coffee maker are dishwasher-safe.
- The dual water windows make it easy to check for the water level.

Advantages

It has a simple but elegant design. In black color, it easily blends well with other kitchen accessories. It looks nice to be placed on any countertop. Some also prefer using paper filters than permanent ones. These filters work well for the basket of this coffee maker. Though leaks and coffee drips are common, it's good to know that the coffee basket doesn't leave a puddle under the filter.

Whether you like your coffee strong or weak, you can adjust the coffee taste with the brew strength selector. This is a neat feature favored by coffee drinkers with varying tastes. The coffee maker also features a programmable clock and LED lights. You can save on energy, avoid accidents and burning your coffee with the auto shut off feature.

This brewer makes delicious coffee. It is easy to operate with its no non-sense control and program. It is also convenient to clean because of the dishwasher-safe accessories. This one dependable coffee maker that can last for years, not to mention that the price is set right for its capabilities and standard features.

Disadvantages

You may have some trouble filling the water reservoir. Spills are also common as reported by some users. It seems that the unit is cheaply constructed because of the flimsy quality. It is so light that when you press one of its controls, it easily moves.

The LCD clock is a neat feature but it's too small, making it a bit difficult to view the display. The LED lights are also not that bright. This coffee maker offers just the basic, which is quite understandable given its cheaper price.

When using the Pause and Serve feature, coffee drips may occur.

Pros
- low price
- has programmable clock
- makes delicious coffee
- easy to operate
- coffee basket doesn't leave a puddle of liquid
- has neat design
- cupcake filters work well for the basket
- dishwasher-safe accessories

Cons
- LCD clock to small
- LED lights not that bright
- coffee drips occur when using the Pause and Serve option
- cheaply constructed
- easily moves
- hard to fill water in the reservoir
- occasional spills from the carafe

Comments for Proctor-Silex 48574 Automatic Drip Coffee Maker

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 18, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
question
by: greenbeen

so...which is strongest, setting 1 or setting 3? I have tried both and either I'm not very ensitive or It is not working.
Help!

Dec 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
ok for the price
by: Anonymous

Have had this item for years,Its a lower end item but works well,clock is hard to read,buttons are easily hit when cleaning changing settings,but coffee is made when I awake.Worth the price.

Nov 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
falls apart
by: Anonymous

within months of purchase it started to fall apart...first.. on off switch didn't work...then the digital numbers didn't light
what a lemon..never buy proctor silex (hamilton beach) products....GARBAGE GARBAGE

May 28, 2011
Rating
star
Junk
by: Dennis

After one week, instead of hot water the thing would just gurgle. The body got extremely hot and I worried is was going to catch fire. More fine imported junk dumped on our market.

I tossed it.

Jan 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
SO FAR SO GOOD, HOWEVER....
by: Anonymous

I am not sure if my brew selector is broken or what. It is SO EZ to move that I am not sure it is working. I DO MAKE GREAT COFFEE, but it did come out a little weak and I had to add some instant coffee to the brew after it was done.

Other than that, the price was great. WEll, the color is white but I was in a hurry to get a new one so I didn't have time to search for a specific one. Since I am very good at adjusting electronics and electrical appliances, I will get it right and be able to do it 1, 2, 3. Would appreciate if someone would tell me if this brew selector is defective. It is just TOO EZ to move.
ENJOY

Oct 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
4 Stars instead of 5 only because of the clock!
by: Anonymous

I've used a Proctor Silex coffee maker for the last 7 years and didn't realize until I tried a different brand what a great coffee maker it was!

The coffee tasted great - nice and strong without having to use a lot of coffee!

It was easy to program for brewing completion before I had to leave for my 6am job.

The clock lit up in a bright red that I could see from across the room allowing me to eliminate any additional clock on the wall.

Worked well with either paper cupcake filters or a permanent filter (which I kept on hand when for emergencies).

That old baby NEVER leaked!

It was hands-down a better coffee maker than the expensive Gevalia I was given as a gift after my poor Proctor Silex finally died.

I'm now looking for another coffee maker and after trying a more expensive brand and reading all of the reviews, will go back to Proctor Silex. I miss my coffee maker!

Jul 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Who reads these comments?
by: Anonymous

Does anyone from Proctor Silex read these comments? Becomes a moot point if they don't bother,doesn't it?

Apr 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
would purchase again!
by: J.M.

Ahhh Nectar of the Gods! That is how I feel about my morning coffee, so a good coffee maker is a requirement in my house.

My reliable Proctor-Silex 48574 Automatic Drip Coffee Maker allows me to wake up to the smell of fresh brewed coffee every morning. I can stumble out of bed and pour a fresh cup of coffee without delay.

What is good about the Proctor-Silex 48574 Automatic Drip Coffee Maker coffee maker?

First and foremost it makes good coffee.
This coffee maker is easy to use and program.
The coffee maker and glass carafe is very easy to clean. I pop everything in the top rack of the dishwasher.

I like the style and appearance. The black color goes well with my kitchen design.

The coffee maker is reliable. I've had mine for several years. The price is reasonable. I think they run about $25.00

What areas of the Proctor-Silex 48574 Automatic Drip Coffee Maker could use improvements?

The digital display read out is a bit small and hard to read.
The coffee maker is lightweight and made of plastic. Although the Proctor Silex coffee maker does the job and does not look cheap, it feels cheap when you pick it up.

I don't use the filter basket that is included, because I buy the pre-packaged coffee in filters. This little convenience makes it super easy to prepare your coffee every night before going to bed.

In summary, I would purchase another Proctor-Silex 48574 Automatic Drip Coffee Maker. This coffee maker has all the features I require and it is reasonable priced, but most of all because it makes GREAT coffee!

Apr 23, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
One of the best purchases I have ever made
by: Anonymous

Proctor Silex auto drip coffeemaker was one of the best purchases I have ever made. I have had this machine for almost five years now and have been pleased that it is still working.

In this day and age when everything seems to break after the warranty is up it is nice to find an item that has lasted more than ten times longer than its warranty.

The Proctor Silex auto drip has a few great features such as the pause and serve carafe. You can remove the carafe from the coffeemaker after just one cup has been brewed if you can't wait for a jolt. The feature I love the most would have to be that i can adjust the brewing strength.

I usually prefer my coffee right in the middle range of strength. I tend to try a different coffee every time i buy some so if i happen to get a coffee that is extra strong i can lower the brew strength.

It's nice for company as well I have had a few situations where my guest thought my coffee was too weak. I am now able to brew it stronger when they come and just use more cream in my own cup.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Proctor Silex Coffee Makers.

footer for coffee maker reviews page