logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Mr. Coffee Model #JWX27


Mr. Coffee's JWX27 comes in a simple and neat design for the kitchen counter space. With an array of other useful features, the JWX27 is a good addition for any coffee-drinking household.


Key features

- Mr. Coffee's JWX27 comes in a design that is made to complement the modern kitchen.
- The Pause 'n Serve features gives you access to fresh cups of coffee even when the machine is still brewing.
- The brew strength selector ensures that the user gets his/her preferred coffee taste
- The 2-hour auto shut off time is activated to ensure that no unnecessary energy is wasted after heating the coffee.
- Cleanup is made easy with the removable filter basket.
- Water filtration makes sure that each cup of coffee is fresh and free of the chlorine taste.
- The delay brew feature may be set up to 24 hours in advance.
- The Fresh Brew Timer tells you how long your coffee has been freshly brewed.
- Dual water windows lets you check the reservoir for the water level in case of refill.
- Cord storage allows you to keep the space neat and free from obstruction.

Advantages

First and foremost, users love the neat design that works well with most kitchen decor. The programmable 12-cup coffee maker comes in black color with brushed stainless steel accents. According to them, the delay brew feature also helps ensure that brewing starts at perfect timing each day.

The brew strength selector is another neat feature available to consumers, which allows them to enjoy their preferred cups of coffee. The water filtration system may also be fitted to get rid of the chlorine taste from water for a full bodied coffee taste.

One of the most popular features of the product is its Pause 'n Serve function, making it easier to get a cup of coffee without disturbing the model from brewing. The auto shut off time ensures that the model shuts down after a few hours of not being in use. This programmable coffee maker is easy to use unlike brewers from other brands.

Some consumers have also noted that cleaning this coffee maker model is fast and easy because of the removable filter basket and the special cleaning cycle. As a matter of fact, some parts are dishwasher-safe. You can just pop them into the dishwasher, and they're ready for use.

Disadvantages

Some consumers have noted that the brew strength selector of their JWX27 doesn’t seem to work well. It produces only weak coffee. This coffee maker seems to have a short life span. Another complaint is that it sometimes leaks.

Pros
- sleek black design made to complement modern decor
- delay brew feature up to 24 hours in advance
- brew strength selector for preferred coffee taste
- water filtration adaptable for chlorine water removal
- 2-hour auto shut off
- useful Pause 'n Serve feature
- removable filter basket for easy cleanups
- easy to use
- Fresh Brew Timer
- serves good-tasting coffee

Cons
- the model has a tendency to leak
- short life span, according to some consumers
- produces weak coffee, despite the use of the brew strength selector

Comments for Mr. Coffee Model #JWX27

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 03, 2015
Rating
star
crap NEW
by: Rebecca

I bought this coffee maker the last week in January 2015.the coffee pot hot plate ,stopped getting hot on Marc h 1 2015.

Oct 20, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Happy 4th Birthday NEW
by: JERSEYJOED

My Mr Coffee just celebrated it's 4th birthday. Other than a broken carafe (which I predicted) it is working perfectly. We use it every day.

Oct 20, 2014
Rating
star
VERY UNHAPPY!!!! NEW
by: F.Hughes

I've only had my coffee maker 3 months and it has already quit brewing! I thought I was buying a "QUALITY" product. Instead, I bought a piece of junk. I had to get out my TRUSTY, OLD percolating coffee maker!! What a waste of money! Thanks Mr. Coffee for wasting my money!

Jun 25, 2013
Rating
star
ABSOLUTE JUNK
by: nspctr73

The second of these models just failed...that's two in 17 months from the same problem: defective foreign parts.....the lights come, but the warming plate is cold and it will not brew...I don't want another replacement because the hassle isn't worth it and it doesn't brew coffee any better than several other manufacturer's.

Jun 09, 2012
Rating
star
trouble brewing
by: Larry

I just finished troubleshooting my moms model JWX27-A. She would fill the craft with 10 cups of water and get maybe 6 cups of brewed coffee when the coffee maker finished the brew. I figured she had a clog somewhere so I unplugged the unit from the wall and removed the bottom panel to get at the plumbing. This wasn't easy to do since 2 of the 6 screws were security screws. Those are the hex socket screws with the pin in the center. Unless you have the proper tool to remove them it is very difficult to get them out. I used a small flat blade screw driver to fit on the side of the pin and slowly back the screws out. Once I was into the unit it was easy to remove the 2 hoses between the resevoir and and the heating element. I noticed there was someting obstructing the hose that goes between the heater and the drip so I pushed it out of the hose with a philips screw driver. Turns out this was a check valve. A small clear plastic cylinder with a metal ball in it. I cleaned the valve and reassembled the unit but left the bottom cover off for the time being. Then ran a 10 cup test, just water no coffee. It didn't seem to be brewing well at all. Mostly steam comming out. So I removed the check valve all together and ran another 10 cup test. This time I got 8.5 cups. So I'll be leaving the valve out and running it without it for the time being. The purpose of the valve I'm guessing is to prevent the water that is perked up and out from falling back into the heater. I don't know why that would be an issue but I'm also curious is maybe the check valve should be on the other hose that is between the resevoir and the heater to prevent the perked water from going into the resevoir?

Feb 19, 2012
Rating
star
2nd one just broke!
by: Anonymous

This is the second coffee pot I have had of this model. The first one lasted several months, then coffee started brewing so slowly and tons of steam came out, brewing only 8 of the 12 cups of water I put into the water reservoir; the rest steamed off. I exchanged it, and a year later, the second one is doing the same thing. I have cleaned it, thinking it is clogged, but it is overheating the water and steaming it off, and I only get half of water I put in. It seems like a coffee pot should last longer than a year.

Dec 27, 2011
Rating
starstar
Broke after one year
by: Anonymous

My previous Mr.Coffee coffee maker lasted me 8 years....this one I have had for one year and it no longer brews. The length of time to brew a full pot started slowing until within the 2 hour window it wouldn't even complete brewing 8 cups....very disappointed!

Dec 21, 2011
Rating
star
leaks
by: Anonymous

This coffee maker leaks all over the counter. The first one we had of this make failed due to bad electronics.

Dec 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
woah...my misteak
by: Anonymous

i take my previous comment back. i looked up the instruction manual...which i do not think i should have to do for a machine with six buttons. it would be nice to push the set brew timer and be done with it but these guys added another 2 steps....why? i do not know. the instruction manual really did walk around the subject...i wonder why.

Dec 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
woah...not cool
by: Anonymous

i set the timer to 415am and woke up to find no coffee at all. you need to figure out how to give me instructions or stop lying about the qualities of your machine. never will i buy one ever again...what a peice

Sep 18, 2011
Rating
starstar
Not a reliable machine
by: Nancy B

I have bought two of these Mr Coffee Makers, at first i thought they were awesome. Then the first one broke within a year. Mr Coffee refused to fix it for me because I couldn't find the receipt. Then I went out and bought another one, the price is right and i realy did like the machine. Within a year this second one has broken now, it just stops working. This seems to be what happens with all The Mr Coffee programmable machines. I don't have the receipt so I guess I will not be able to get satisfaction for this broken machine either. Time to find a new brand!~

Sep 08, 2011
Rating
star
12 cup filter replacement 169209
by: Rose Segura

I still haven't heard from your company. Where can I get a replacement 12 cup filter for coffee maker 169209

May 27, 2011
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

This coffee maker worked great for all of 2 months. I cleaned it once a month as the instructions directed, and after 2 months it quit brewing coffee.I called up customer service and they are not willing to do anything about it even though its under the one year warantee. Strongly suggest against buying this or any other Mr Coffee brand product.My Cuisinart lasted over 5 years before I replaced it with this piece of junk $40 coffee maker.

Oct 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Good Value
by: JerseyJoeD

I've used this coffee maker for about a week. At this point I'm very happy with it. Its easy to use, quiet, fast and makes decent coffee. Mine DOES NOT leak. The carafe pours easily and tidily. The glass seems a little thin however. It won't take much of a bump on my granite counter to break it. I suspect that will be this coffee maker's fate.
I paid less than $35.It seems to be a good value. It looks very nice on my counter.

Apr 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
perfect pot of coffee!
by: Marcelle Soliman

I have always been a big coffee drinker who enjoys the convenience of the local drive-thru coffee house in the mornings, but with the economy on the frits, I went looking to find ways to spend less on conveniences without giving up some of my daily luxuries.

The first thing I decided to change was saving big bucks by brewing my own coffee. This would be easy to accomplish since there are several brew at home models to choose from. After shopping around at department and specialty coffee stores, I decided to try and find a coffee pot that was reasonably inexpensive at my local Wal-Mart. I found that the prices were substantially less than the department and specialty stores.

I decided to purchase the Mr. Coffee model JWX27. I like it because it was very inexpensive and has some great added features. It has a digital clock and you can set a brew time for the mornings. It’s a wonderful feeling to wake up in the morning to the smell of coffee in your own home. Another great feature is the drip interruption aspect, whereas, you can pour a cup of coffee into a cup before the coffee maker is finished brewing. This has helped when I need to get out the door fast and still have a great cup of coffee for my morning commute.

I have been making my own coffee in the morning now for over six months and the Mr. Coffee is still making a perfect pot of coffee for me. This coffee maker is easy to wash and maintain. A small amount of soap and water cleans the pot right up. I rinse it out with fresh water everyday before I use it.

I would recommend this coffee maker to anyone on a budget. I’ve had coffee from a more expensive band and I wouldn’t be able to tell the difference.

Mar 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
love this machine
by: Anonymous

I love that it makes the coffee very quickly. Right when I wake up for my cup of coffee, I turn it on and it seems like 2 seconds later it is ready. I am in love with it. The finished product of the coffee tastes amazing! Also, it has a very sleek design. It stays very clean and always looks fabulous. Always, when my friends come over they ask me where i got it, because of the taste of the coffee and the way it looks so amazing!! 1 con is, when you take out the tray to empty the coffee grinds, it is a big mess. It gets all over the place very easily. That is bad when you first are waking up! You would not want to clean up a mess that early in the day! Also, the timer does not work all of the time. Sometimes, it goes very slower than usual but other times it is right on the dot. I do not think, the timer would make it a bad sell though. Those are really the only things wrong with it! Other than that, i recommend this maker to anyone in search of the best coffee maker. Take my word for this, I absolutely love it and hope I will never have to replace it!

Mar 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great value coffee
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Nice 12 cup size
- Brews very quickly and quietly

Cons
- Dribbly pot lid
- Tricky to make different amount than 12 cups

For me, this little coffeemaker has really been a lifesaver! Living in the dorms at my University and having early morning classes is not quite so bad when you find yourself with a Mr. Coffee JWX27. I measure out the grinds at night before I go to bed, put in the measured amount of water for a few cups of coffee, and as soon as my alarm goes off in the morning I push the start button and am woken up by the wonderful smell of fresh brewed coffee!

Although the lid of the pot is liable to dribble a little bit, there’s no reason to be turned off from buying it, seeing as how this could happen with any pot. Plus, I have had many other coffee pots before and broken many carafes, however this one seems to be “out of the way” enough to prevent any bumping of the pot, preventing carafe breakage. I think that the stylish design really fits well with the shape of the pot creating a higher level of safety.

I think the best thing about the Mr. Coffee JWX27 is the price because it had paid for itself within a few weeks of buying it. The coffee is brewed to perfection, so why would you go and spend so much money at coffee shops? I love the experience of enjoying my home brewed coffee! And, really, you can’t really help but love a low cost, highly effective, stylish, and quiet little coffee pot like the Mr. Coffee JWX27.


Mar 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
important features missing
by: Anonymous

Mr. Coffee makes some great coffee makers. Model JWX27 is inexpensive and at the same time has many good features. I have had this coffee maker for one year and have been well satisfied with its features. You can make around 12 cups of coffee in one lot. It has a digital clock which allows you to set the coffee brewing time.

Thus you can put the material in the coffee maker, set the time and the coffee maker will start working on its own according to the time set. It also allows you to take out coffee even if it has not finished brewing the whole coffee. Another good thing about this coffee maker is that it has an in-built filter. It also looks good and is very easy to clean. Maintenance is easy and cheap.

Further, it is very easy to operate as it has very simple controls. Thus it is perfect for anyone who does not want to spend too much on a coffee maker and still wants good coffee. However, it is made wholly of plastic which is a problem. At times when you pour coffee from it, coffee starts dribbling which is very unpleasant.

While you can choose the strength of your coffee, you cannot choose batch size. The digital clock can be a bit annoying as it starts ringing on its own and anyone else around might find it disturbing. I would rate it four out of five and would recommend that anyone looking for a good coffee at low price should buy it.

Mar 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
basic features but good coffee
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Delay brewing feature
- “Strong” brew option

Cons:
- No heat adjustment feature for the hot plate
- Water reservoir is open and exposed to the coffee ground basket.

I have owned this coffee maker for several years and have been pleased with its performance. It has a 12-cup capacity and digital clock. The delay brewing feature allows me to set a time for brewing which is convenient for early mornings. The “strong” brew option allows for a stronger pot of coffee to be brewed without using additional grounds.

There is an automatic turn off feature that is activated two hours after the coffee has been brewed. Additionally, there is a push-button feature which displays how long it’s been since the coffee has been brewed. There are several characteristics that could be better. A temperature rheostat for the hot plate would be nice, so coffee could be kept hot for longer periods without a burned taste. Also the water reservoir is located next to, and is exposed to, the coffee ground basket. Inevitably coffee grounds find there way into the water reservoir.

I would rather it be isolated in order to prevent grounds from spilling into the reservoir. One other feature that could be improved is the water spout that drips heated water over the grounds. It drips water to a single location in the coffee ground basket. Therefore when brewing smaller pots of coffee with less grounds, sometimes I find that the coffee grounds are washed to one side of the coffee ground basket. This results in weaker pots of coffee, which is not ideal.

Overall, I have been pleased with the performance of this coffee maker, but believe there are better models available. However, I do think it has some nice features which you cannot find on many coffee makers.

Dec 25, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mr Coffee JWX27
by: Anonymous

Dec. 25, 2009

Just received this for Christmas and tried to clean it per instructions but the coffee pot does not even heat up or brew. Lights go on but nothing else happens??? HELP!!!!

Oct 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Perfect for a Christmas Present
by: Anonymous

Pros
- inexpensive
- pause function

Cons
- mostly plastic
- no batch size selector

I’m not a big coffee drinker so when I found it necessary to purchase a new coffee maker I wanted one that was very responsibly priced and made a decent cup of coffee. Not to much to ask. But surprisingly hard to find.

After much online and in store research I decided to go with the 12-cup Mr. Coffee JWX27. There were a few things that led me to chose this model over the others. First of all it looks nice, that’s a plus considering all of the time it will be sitting unused on my kitchen counter.

It’s programmable, it has a pause and serve option, and also offers a brew strength selector. This coffee maker has a carafe made of glass with a pour spout that pours mess-free into my coffee mug. I also purchased this model for my aunt who drinks coffee all day long and she loves it.

Her carafe has been used and washed several times a day for the past 6 months that she’s owned it & looks the same as the day I bought it. In fact the entire coffee maker is still in the condition that it was when I purchased it. The Mr. Coffee JWX27 is the perfect coffee maker for anyone who is a casual coffee drinker.

I’ve had mine for almost a year and have no complaints. In fact my mother is in need of a new coffee maker, I think that’s what I’ll be buying her for Christmas this year.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Mr Coffee Maker .

footer for coffee maker reviews page