logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Mr. Coffee Model #: FTX41


Mr. Coffee's FTX41, 12-cup programmable coffee maker in black with brushed chrome accents, is a good addition to every household who likes their coffee fast and easy. Made in black and stylish accents, the FTX41 is made to complement any kitchen style.


Key features

- Mr. Coffee's FTX41 is a programmable 12-cup coffeemaker model.
- The delay brew function can be set up to 24 hours in advance to make sure that fresh batch of coffee is set to brew at a specific time.
- The removable filter basket can be taken out easily to start the cleaning.
- The special cleaning cycle makes it easier to clean up after each brewing session.
- The brew strength selector for those who have varying coffee tastes.
- Cord storage is available when the model is not in use.
- Water filtration removes chlorine taste from the water.
- Fresh Brew Timer indicates the amount of time the coffee has been ready.
- An audible ready signal sounds off when brewing is finished.
- A dual water window is available to easily monitor water levels.
- The 2-hour auto shut off time helps save on energy.
- The Pause 'n Serve feature makes cups of coffee readily available.

Advantages

One of the most outstanding features of the FTX41 is its Pause 'n Serve feature, which allows users to serve a cup of coffee even if the machine is not finished brewing.

The delay brew function can also be set up to 24 hours in advance to ensure that a fresh pot of coffee is brewed each morning. Cleanups are made easy not only with the removable filter basket but also with the special cleaning cycle.

The 2-hour auto shut off time eliminates the need to constantly check the device if it is on or off. Ultimately, it allows consumers to save on energy, as it keeps the coffee hot for 2 hours and automatically shuts off. The dual water window is also very helpful, making it easier to monitor water levels and make refills when necessary.

The lingering traces of chlorine can be removed from the water with its water filtration feature, giving coffee drinkers good-tasting cups of coffee. Weak or strong, the brew strength selector ensures that the user gets the coffee of his or her taste. Some also like having an audible ready signal in their coffee maker, which tells them when the coffee is ready to be served. This model is easy to move, clean, and store, with a secured place to hide the cord and plug.

Disadvantages

Some consumers have claimed that the product leaks. Some have also questioned its durability, saying that the device is fragile.

Pros
- delay brew function, which can be set up to 24 hours in advance
- Pause 'n Serve feature to get cups of coffee even when still brewing
- removable filter basket for easy cleanups
- 2-hour auto shut off for energy savings
- dual water window for checking the liquid level
- has special cleaning cycle
- brew strength selector for preferred coffee taste
- water filtration to remove chlorine taste from the water
- cord storage to hide messy lines and protect the cord
- features the Fresh Brew Timer
- has audible ready signals

Cons
- model sometimes leaks
- easily breakable

Comments for Mr. Coffee Model #: FTX41

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 27, 2015
Rating
star
ditto NEW
by: Anonymous

This is the second one that has stopped working withing two to three months of purchase. Is this a scam? Thankfully, Target will accept a full return within 12 months of purchase with receipt.

Dec 03, 2014
Rating
star
Mr. Coffee FTX41 CP NEW
by: Anonymous

I have had this coffee make for less than one year and this is the second one of the same model that I have had. It just stopped brewing. I faithfully de-calcify every two months. I won't be buying another Mr. Coffee again.

Dec 03, 2014
Rating
star
Mr. Coffee FTX41 CP NEW
by: Anonymous

I have had this coffee make for less than one year and this is the second one of the same model that I have had. It just stopped brewing. I faithfully de-calcify every two months. I won't be buying another Mr. Coffee again.

Feb 03, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
12 cup or 7 U.S. Measure (8oz Cups) NEW
by: Anonymous

I feel tis is false advertising. On the box it says its a 12 cup. After reading the instruction book it says those so called cups are 5.5oz cups. a cup is 8oz. so it really is a 7 cup coffee maker.

Jun 14, 2012
Rating
star
Dead in 6 months
by: Tammy got screwed

I got this coffee maker as a Christmas gift....to replace the Mr Coffee (identical one) I had that died. I thought it was a fluke that my first one died after only a year. I dont make coffee everyday, only 1 to 3 days per week. This morning, I set everything up to start the brew, then realized there was no power to it. Checked the plug, all other appliances work in it just fine. Mr coffee lasted 6 months this time. Never, ever ever again will I purchase a Mr Coffee product!!! NEVER!

Jun 09, 2012
Rating
star
not working
by: marlena

when i set my coffee pot now, the mr coffee ftx41,
it decided to automatically click OFF........i may pull the darn thing apart and try to fix it myself. Perhaps a fuse? have had it a few years...also disgusted now with it.
everything should last forever.........

Dec 12, 2011
Rating
star
Leaky Coffeemaker... Bad day!
by: Anonymous

Started out my day making coffee as usual to find all the water leaked out the bottom all over the counter and onto my cell phone and my ipod that reside nearby. So not only did I not have any coffee to start the day it ruined my phone and ipod too! No more Mr. Coffee for me!

Jul 27, 2011
Rating
starstar
Don't buy "Mr. Coffee"!!
by: Madasheck

My husband and I have always bought "Mr. Coffee", but we will no longer do so. Since 2003, we started buying this model and the forerunners of it. We loved them at first; makes wonderful tasting coffee and has a handsome appearance. We even loved the backlit clock, almost like a night light in the kitchen in the evening. Our first model lasted three years, the second one, two years. We have always cleaned them out according to instructons without fail. However, the last model we had only last ten months, and this one we have now we bought seven months ago. It has started it's famous leak, emptying itself all over the kitchen counter. It did it yesterday, then I put the whole contraption in the sink and started over; that time, the coffee came through just fine - I did the regular cleaning of it just three days ago. This morning, the leak started all over again, and I have tried three times - no coffee for me this morning. Today will be a day I have to do my research on a reliable brand, time spent I didn't have. Nuts to you, 'Mr. Coffee'. Fool me once, twice, even three times, but not four times.

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
Mr Coffe No Workee No Likey
by: Anonymous

First the hose came off and all the water leaked out. After fixing that with the installation of a hose clamp it works for one more week. Now it does not brew coffee and the hot plate is cold. We have had this junk for eight mo. No more Mr. Coffee for this house.Cheap made in China JUNK!!!

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
starstar
Unreliable x2
by: rick

I received one of these for Christmas. It worked great for a few months then, it stopped brewing (despite cleaning it regularly). The folks at Mr Coffee were kind enough to send a replacement unit.

The replacement has worked decently for awhile, but now it too has stopped working. I use the maker about 2-3 times a week and clean it after about 10 brew cycles. The last few weeks, it would prematurely beep that the coffee is done after only brewing for about 2 minutes. Now, it has stopped working at all, leaking water out of the bottom.

After struggling with this model for a couple of years, it is time to find something different.

Mar 23, 2011
Rating
star
After the warranty ran out it broke
by: Val

I am experiencing the same leakage problems as others have. I replaced my old coffee pot to match my new decor... Mistake... This one is difficult to clean the water reservior. I would lift lid to let airdry all day. If you lifted the lid while it was hot. It would spray piping hot water at your face. Other than that it made a nice cup of coffee.

Feb 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I like it
by: TheCoinBox

I've only owned my unit for a week and am very pleased with it.

My unit does not leak, makes a good cup every time Any reported problems with the paper filter collapsing I would attribute to a defective user.

The Warmer Temp feature is ok, lowest setting is @170 while the highest has been a meek 180.

Would I buy this unit again? YES

Feb 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
5 minutes
by: Kelsey

I have had this coffee maker for a little over a year, as I received it as a Christmas gift. Like several other people, I also experienced the leak in the bottom. It was frustrating. Driven by my want for coffee, I decided I would fix it myself. For all of you having the leak problem because of the unattached hose, it was so simple. It really did take 5 minutes. Just unscrew all the screws on the bottom and the hose is right at the bottom. I connected it and there we had it. My perfectly working coffee maker. Screw back in your (4) screws. Hope this helps.

Jan 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
I got this coffee pot for free from my mom because of the infamous leak. I
by: Anonymous

I took the bottom off reattached the loose hose securing with a small zip tie.

Nov 19, 2010
Rating
starstar
LEAKING MESS
by: Anonymous

We had the 1st one replaced by the manufacturer for leaking and now this one is doing the same thing. I haven't even had it for a year. I thought Mr. Coffee was a reliable brand. Very disappointed.

Sep 30, 2010
Rating
star
Very Disapointed
by: Buy another brand

I've had this coffee maker for <9 months. Poured water in the brewer and it started leaking out the bottom. Wife took it to a local repair/dealer and they "fixed" it. Said there is a tube inside that comes disconnected. Fixed it for free...nice (I thought).

Two weeks later...yep, starts leaking again. I'm not talking a little leak either. It leaks almost as fast as I can put the water again. Will NEVER buy another Mr. Coffee. Sorry Joe DiMaggio...

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
star
There she blows
by: Greg Dillard

I purchased this coffee maker about 8 months ago. I have absolutely loved it up until today. I made a pot of coffee this morning, no problems. I went to make for tomorrow morning, pour the 12 cups in and out the bottom it flowed. Amazing, it works in the morning and dumps the full load that night. I have lost all confidence in Mr. Coffee products after my experience and after reading similar issues on the internet.

Aug 22, 2010
Rating
star
very disappointed...
by: Anonymous

I bought this coffee maker less than a year ago for my husband. Withing a few weeks of having this coffee maker it began to leak, and stain my counter. I thought it was something my husband was doing wrong so I checked it out and found it was not the person but the maker! Two weeks ago my husband attempted to make a pot of coffee. The machine lights up as if it is going to work but does nothing. The hot plate will not heat up and the coffee does not brew!
For the money we spent on this coffee maker, I am highly disappointed and do not recomend anyone else waste their money on it!!!

Aug 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Coffee has Disgusting Chemical Taste at times
by: Anonymous

Good coffee pot except for intermittent disgusting chemical taste. Changed coffee (several brands) and still get chemical taste. Not everytime with every pot, one ever 6 to 10 pots or so…can’t figure it out. I have a Mr. Coffee purchased about 1 yr ago…made by sunbeam in China model FTX 41


Aug 11, 2010
Rating
star
Didn't Last Long
by: Carol Trahan

We purchased this model 6 months ago and after the first month began to see a small amount of coffee leakage at the bottom. We had to set the coffeemaker on a paper towel. Now five months later when water is poured in before making coffee all the water leaks out the bottom. Very disappointing considering our previous Mr Coffee makers lasted for many years. We won't be buying this brand again. They are now made in China. Don't know if this has anythiing to do with the quality of the product.

May 27, 2010
Rating
star
Water leak, ruined electronic PC board
by: Malcom Pullen

We received the Model #FTX41 as a gift last Christmas (5 months ago). We liked it up until 2 days ago, when all the water we poured into it ran out on the counter top. In the process it ruined the electronic PC board, which is in the bottom of the unit (a very bad location). I let it dry out for a few hours, but it never operated again. In searching for the cause of the leak, I found a red rubber hose loose where it connects to a manifold that keeps the coffee urn warm.
How could a hose come loose, unless it was not properly connected in the first place?
My question is, how do you intend to make this right? Shall I return it to you for repair, or will you send me a new one? Certainly 5 months is not a very long warranty period.
Please respond.

Apr 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
finally a good one!
by: Amber

First of all my experiences with coffee makers in the last two years has not been the best. That is until the purchase of my current one. Mr. Coffee has salvaged my mornings and those of my fiancée as well. Negative experiences are easier to recall.

The coffee maker I had before this one was a DeLonghi, which leaked like crazy. I had it for three months, before that one I had one and had it for such a short time I can’t recall the manufacturer. It seemed every three to four months I was purchasing a new coffee maker.

Mr. Coffee has now resided on my counter for over a year. I’ll start with the negative aspects first, to get those out of the way. The biggest issue the Mr. Coffee FTX41 was the filter issue. Though easily resolved, it was the source for many frustrating mornings. For some reason or another this coffee maker failed to make an actual pot of coffee with paper filters. And yes! The correct size/shape filters were used. They would fold over during the brewing process and create coffee covered counters for us to find upon waking.

It was awful. Once we started using a “permanent” filter the issue was resolved. The only other negative point is that it does seem to leave a “ring” the shape of the coffee maker on the counter. Not such a big deal for me since I’m a fanatic about cleaning my counters.

Now, for the positive things. First of all, it’s programmable. That is the first thing we looked for when shopping for a new coffee maker. This was purchased from Target at a reasonable $59.99. It’s wonderful to wake up to the aroma of coffee knowing you can just get a cup and pour; no need to set it up and wait for it to brew. The front of the coffee maker has a clock, so not only can you program it to brew as you wake up, it also tracks how long that pot of coffee has been brewed.

The brewing process is under 10 minutes, no specifics as I have not actually timed it. It beeps when it’s done brewing, and it also beeps when the maker is turning itself off. Since I linger when drinking my coffee, the two hour “warmer” is great. The warmer is actually adjustable. And speaking of adjusting, the brew strength is also adjusting. That reminds me, we use it also to make iced tea.

As far as cleaning, It’s simple with this coffee maker by Mr. Coffee. Every few days, the carafe is placed in the dishwasher and it comes out sparkling clean. No need for elbow grease.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Question
by: Anonymous

I actually have a question... my husband and I received this coffee maker as a wedding gift and were struggling and trying to learn how to set the delay time so it will be ready when we wake up... can you help us?

May 17, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cleaning the 12-cup Programmable Mr. Coffee
by: Anonymous

Amber mentioned the cleaning was easy... just put the carafe in the dishwasher every few days. When we think about ease (or not) in cleaning, we're generally not talking about the carafe. It's cleaning the system that we're talking about. I have this pot, and I can't find the instructions. There's a cleaning cycle programmed into the system, but I don't know how to use it. Anyone?

Mar 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Chose regular or strong brew
by: Tetramobile

This such a great coffee maker. I never really thought that you could buy a bad or good coffee maker, but this one was really great. I have actually only bought Mr. Coffee coffee makers and this one was just as great as all the of the other ones.

The one I had before this was a simple one that was all hand done. You had to turn on the burner and what not. This one does everything on it’s own and it’s just so great because once you put the water it, it literally handles everything that you could want with coffee. It will brew your coffee really quickly and I love the fact that you can choose whether or not you want regular brew or a stronger brew. That’s really good for me because sometimes I don’t always drink coffee and I’ll use this to make tea it and the fact that you can choose the stronger brew option it allows me to only use a couple of tea bags for an entire pot. That’s really great for saving me on tea bags.

You can set a time to start brewing, if you want it to be ready when you wake up in the morning. I rarely use that unless I’m coming back from some place early in the morning and I’ll have other people with me. It’s great to walk in with the smell of coffee already being made. The best thing is that you no longer have to worry about the burner and leaving it on. It will stay on for an hour after the pot is made and that’s more than enough time for it.

You can also choose the temperature of the burner so that if you don’t want it super hot, but still kind of warm. I love all of these features and would buy another one.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Mr Coffee Maker .

footer for coffee maker reviews page