logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Mr. Coffee IDS75/IDS76/IDS77


Mr. Coffee. Models IDS75/IDS76/IDS77 I have been using this coffee grinder for about 8 months now. This grinder is effective in grinder beans for my daily coffee. I could not be happier with its performance.


First, the grinder is self explanatory and easy to use right out of the box. It also has a long cord that can be placed inside of the grinder if you do not need the full length.

One con of the grinder is that sometimes it does not completely grind the coffee beans. I find I need to shake it as its grinding for best results. Another problem is when washing, it has some hard to reach spots.


Rating
4 out of 5

Comments for Mr. Coffee IDS75/IDS76/IDS77

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
"The ARMS" Inside
by: Anonymous

THe cleaning arms inside the grinder, do not stand up to the test of time. I really like the grinder's
performance but the plastic clearing arms inside the grinder can chip off and break inside the grinded up product(over time )., so keep and eye open for any broken pieces off of the arms .

Mar 19, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
good price
by: Anonymous

I’d been eyeballing this particular grinder on the shelf at Target for a few months, as my last one was slowly dying and I knew it wouldn’t be long until I needed to buy a replacement. So far I am pleased with this model, with a few caveats. First off, the good: The fact that the top comes off, and has a lid which is shaped for easy pouring of ground coffee beans. The top does come off very easily and seems to lock securely in place when you put it back on. It also has arms inside the mill which scrape the sides and remove any “stuck on” grinds. I’m not sure how well these arms will stand up to the test of time, but a month in, it’s doing what it should. I also really like that it has settings for the coarseness of the grind, as well as the number of cups worth of beans you are making. Both settings have easy to read settings that light up on the front. Now the bad: This grinder is LOUD. I mean, really loud. Like, wake the dead loud. I don’t know that it’s reasonable to expect super quiet operation from a budget grinder, but even my last grinder was half as loud. In addition, the cord is not all that easy to wrap around the base, even though it has a slot for just that purpose. All in all, for the price paid ($17 at Wal-Mart), I’d give it a solid 4 stars out of 5.

Mar 19, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
power cord too short
by: Anonymous

This coffee grinder grinds between 4 and 12 cups of coffee. The side of the unit has approximate grinds (fine, normal and course) and settings for the number of cups (even from 4 to 12). Because I have a French press, I have to grind my beans on course; however the grinder on the course 12 cup setting grinds the coffee too fine. I have to use the 4 cup setting with 12 cups worth of coffee on the course grind setting to get the coffee course enough for the French press. I have found on the other settings that the coffee is also ground too fine. For drip coffee (normal grind) it is more of a fine ground coffee and fine is nearly Turkish grind. Basically I have just ignored the settings on the side. Other wise this unit is excellent. It cuts the beans rather than crushing them and the ?Chamber Maid? system works well to help get out the majority of the coffee. I really like the ability for the coffee to be dumped out of the top of the unit without having to take the whole thing apart. The whole grinder is easy to clean.

At first it can be a little tricky to take apart, but within the first couple of uses I got the hang of first clicking in the cup that holds the beans and then top. Because the unit is easy to clean I find grinds nuts and flax seeds very well, even down to a fine powder. The only thing this coffee grinder really needs is a longer power cord; it is only about 6 inches long and with higher outlets in a kitchen this can be a problem.

It's not the best that I have used, but works well and is easy to clean.

Nov 24, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Produces wonderful, finely ground coffee
by: Anonymous

Pros
- It Grinds coffee beans very well
- It has lasted 3 years without malfunction

Cons
- It is very loud (not good early in the morning with children sleeping).
- It is difficult to clean.

This Coffee grinder is fantastic!. I really cant say how good this product is. I'm a regular coffee drinker. I like my Mr. Coffee coffee bean Grinder. It produces wonderful, finely ground coffee. It does an adequate job grinding my coffee beans so I can have the luxury of the freshest coffee possible each morning.

It is space efficient and it comes in a variety of colors, including red which matches my coffee maker and the decorum of my kitchen. This is a great feature because I rarely store my coffee bean grinder because I use it virtually every day. My Mr. Coffee coffee bean grinder is certainly quick and effective. It produces well ground coffee in virtually a few seconds. The grinder is a great economic alternative to purchasing coffee at a coffee house.

It was economically priced and I am confident It has been well worth it’s weight in gold by saving me from multiple trips to the local Starbucks. Why drive and pay for the gas, when I can grind up Starbucks beans in the comfort of my own home and fill it with the wonderful aroma of freshly brewed coffee? I would rate my Mr. Coffee coffee bean Grinder as a 3 on a scale of one to 5. Again, my only grievance is the noise level disrupts the experience slightly.






Nov 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
A Great Easy to Use Coffee Grinder
by: Anonymous

Pros
- It is very easy to use
- Grinds the coffee quickly and uniformly

Cons
- Short Cord
- "Auto-off" feature

I really like my Mr. Coffee coffee grinder that my wife and I received as a wedding present. It is very easy to use - to grind coffee you simple rotate the top into place and press down on the top. It makes it very easy to dump the coffee beans in, twist on the top and grind immediately.

It also grinds the coffee quickly and uniformly. One of the best things about the grinder is that when you twist the top to remove it, it neatly scrapes the sides of the upper bowl so that the coffee falls down, making it easy to remove. I find that I turn it several times before opening to make sure all of the coffee is scraped off of the sides.

I also like the removable bowl, which makes it very easy to save the grounds if I don't use all of them at once. One thing that I dislike about this this particular grinder is it's extremely short power cord. The cord is only about 1.5 feet long, so you have to place it really close to an outlet.

It's short enough that I can't even place it on the front of the counter and leave it plugged in to the wall. I also do not like the "auto-off" feature. It's a good concept, but the number of "cups" and the "grind settings" don't really seem to map to what I like, so it makes the feature essentially pointless. However, for the price, it's a great grinder and I give it a 4 out of 5 rating. It's really sleek looking, and I like the black color that I have. It looks great on my counter.

Nov 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Cheap cost but can make quality coffee just like other expensive coffee grinders
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Cheap cost grinds
- Coffee great for drip grinder

Cons
- Hard to clean
- Coffee gets stuck under blades
- Hard time grinding fine powder for espresso

I love this coffee grinder, it is cheap, looks nice on the counter, and has a cable wrap to hide the power cord away when plugged in, or stored in the cabinet. The gloss black and clear glass look great, but are magnets for finger prints.

This grinder when used with good coffee beans makes much better tasting coffee then buying even the best brand of pre ground coffee. The ease of use and the quality make this a great product. The grinder has settings for different sizes and different texture levels, such as coarse, drip and fine and amounts for 4-12 cups of coffee.

I like the speed of the grinding and the safety feature that does not allow the blades to spin without the safety cover on. The only complaint I have on this product is that it is not very easy to clean, coffee grounds, especially if using the fine grinding setting are stuck on the bottom under the blade, making them very hard to get at.

I like the Mr Coffee brand products, they have good reviews and good warranties. I also like that this product is sold at many local stores and online. This coffee maker is used every day making 1 pot of coffee a day and it has yet to let me down. My roommates and I love it, and love saving money by using it instead of buying much more expensive coffee from coffee shops when the finished product tastes exactly the same.

Nov 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A Great Buy at a Good Price!
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Quiet Operation
- Electronic Timer
- Grind Settings

Cons
- No cord storage
- Grinds coffee too fine

I originally purchased the Mr Coffee IDS77 coffee grinder as a gift for someone else but ended up keeping it for myself and have loved it and would highly recommend it to others. For a coffee grinder it is very quiet, so quiet I have been able to use it with a < 1 year old sleeping in the next room! Additionally, it has two settings for grind fineness and volume.

Setting those will cause the grinder to automatically turn off, so you don't over grind the coffee (very nice when you are waking up in the morning). Other nice features are the brewed cups to coffee measurement chart on the side of the grinder (12 cups of brewed coffee = 9 Tbsp of beans, etc.). The grind / on button is built into the removable grinder cup lid, so it is comfortable to use.

The grinder cup twists off for easy cleaning and dumping. The lid is connected to a piece that scrapes the coffee off the cup sides and has a nice hinged lid for easy dumping. The construction of the unit is feels very solid and I have had no issues or heard funny sounds out of the motor in about every other day use over the course of about a year.

Unfortunately the grinder seems to get the coffee too fine which is easy to remedy be stopping the grind early and there is no built in cord storage, so it can be a bit of a pain in the cupboard. Both issues are really pretty minor considering how well it operates. Overall, a great buy at a good price!

Nov 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Can grind the exact amount of coffee for a perfect pot
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Flexibility on number of cups and type of grind.
- No mess when transferring to coffee basket.

Cons
- Not a fancy burr grinder.
- A little awkward to store.

I'll admit it ... I am a coffee snob. I'm not a barrista and I don't know a lot about the bean itself -- but I do love a good cup of Joe. Fresh ground beans make all the difference. What I love about this coffee grinder is how easy of it to grind the exact amount for a perfect pot; ranging from four to 12 cups.

Not only that, it has options for fine, medium or coarse grind. This is perfect when I just want to make a small amount using my French Press! Another feature I really like is how the measuring bowl is easily removed after grinding so you can transfer the grounds without making a mess. This coffee grinder is perfect for my everyday needs so I'd rate it a five!

Nov 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I have never had a single problem with this Coffee Grinder
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Variable grinds and amount
- Easily disassembles for cleaning

Cons
- Very short cord
- Cord is not retractable

I bought this coffee grinder because I have used many Mr. Coffee brand products over the past 10 years. The Mr. Coffee brand tends to be very reliable and usually very affordable. I have had this grinder for about 4 years and it works exactly the same as it did the day I bought it. I do not use this grinder everyday but pretty frequently and I have never had a single problem.

The top of the grinder easily comes apart for pouring out the fresh grinds and cleaning. The top of the grinder has a wide opening for easy loading of fresh coffee beans and a tapered pouring spout for precise pouring. Cleaning the grinder can be performed easily by wiping the top container down with a fresh paper towel, but it is also dishwasher safe for a more thorough cleaning.

The front of the grinder has quick touch buttons on the front to select between four, six, eight, ten, or twelve cups and fine, medium, and coarse grinds. The quick touch buttons contain green lights for easy viewing. My only complaint about this coffee grinder is the shortness of the cord, which usually wouldn’t be a problem on a counter, but I often have to use it at the office where there are not always easily accessible plugs.

The cord is about eighteen inches long. All and all this grinder is a great buy that will last a long time. I just wish that the grinder included a longer retractable cord.

Nov 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Having Mr. Coffee Precision Coffee Grinder IDS77 is like having star bucks grade coffee
by: Anonymous

Pros
- This thing can make A LOT of coffee at one time.
- The thing doesn’t feel like I will break the thing if I am ruff with it.


Cons
- Sometimes, it’s rare but the ground coffee gets stuck under the blades.
- The cord is too short for my liking.


The precision coffee grinder is the cool little toy that I wished I had when I started to live on my own. I started drinking coffee at 13 so I really liked coffee. Since I started drinking the instant/pre ground coffee I didn’t think there was a difference.

Then I found this grinder and a bag of fresh coffee beans and I have never looked back. I have to say now; I can get star bucks grade coffee for supermarket prices. The coffee grinder can handle 4- 12 cups worth of beans.

This is great for an all night frag-fest! The machine turns itself off when the beans are done grinding, so no worries about if you did it right. It can grind beans with one of three settings that it has. Also the thing basically keeps itself clean which is great for a on the go kinda guy I am.

The lid is pretty cool with this press and pour feature it has. When this thing does need a bath, which is rare, you can place the top in the dishwasher. The last plus is that it doesn’t feel light, I can place it on my kitchen counter and not worry about it falling off to god knows where.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Coffee Grinder Consumer Reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page