logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Mr. Coffee FT series

by Amber
(Menifee, CA)

Last Christmas my mother purchased the Mr. Coffee FT series coffee maker for me. This coffee maker has many positive features and overall I have been very satisfied with it. I like the look of the pot. It is very streamlined and the stainless steel detailing matches the accessories in my kitchen.


The pot has many helpful features including a warming plate that keeps your coffee warm for up to two hours, brew interruption which allows you to pause the brew cycle so you can sneak a cup before the pot is finished, and a delayed brew start which allows you to prepare the coffee ahead of time and start the brew cycle later.

A feature which has not worked out so well for me is the water filter. At first I thought this was a great idea, but since I can't find any replacement filters in stores this option seems pointless to me.

Another problem I have with this coffee maker is that the glass pot is hard to clean. The design makes it had for me to fit my hand into the pot, and the glass is always stained regardless of how often I clean it, or what I clean it with. The last negative thing I would have to say about this coffee maker is that I don't like the way you have to pour water through slots on the lid. I wish there was a larger well that would make it easier to perform this function.

I do however like how the amount of water/servings is displayed on both sides of the pot. Overall I have been very satisfied with this coffee maker and would suggest it to my friends.

All of my favorite features have been reliable and I love using this coffee maker as an alarm clock (using the delayed brew system). It is the best part of waking up for me!

Comments for Mr. Coffee FT series

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 16, 2015
Rating
starstar
junk NEW
by: Bob Z

Just picked up my fourth since 2012. They just stop working after a while. One lasted only 2 months.
Great machines while they function. Luckily I have become adept at getting either the retailer or Mr Coffee to replace at no charge. This will be the last one though regardless. Nothing worse than attempting to wake up without my java! My last brewer before this fiasco was twelve years old and cleaned rarely if ever, still working but replaced to match decor. When I mentioned this to the Mr Coffee peeps they explained that the new technology is more advanced and therefore must be cleaned on schedule...ie - my fault. BS! Junkjunkjunk!!

Jan 28, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love it
by: Jimbo in va

Bought the FT series thermal carafe Jan 15 and love it.
I've had most makes of thermal coffee makers and this one is by far the best! Timers work great and
no spills when pouring coffee!!
All in all a great coffee maker.

Mar 08, 2011
Rating
star
lousy coffeemakers
by: Anonymous

Bought the ft series a few months back.It worked fine at first and lately only 4 cups come out of the reservoir.Even thoughI put 10 cups of water into it.The rest runs out of the bottom of the machine and it takes 45 ! minutes for the steam and noise to finish.NEVER again will I ever purchase a MR.Coffee product.And the price on this piece was not cheap.They can have it.!!!!!!!!

Jan 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Warming plate and alarm?
by: Johnny G.

I don't see any where on the FT model we just picked up tonight to adjust the warming plate temperature or turn off the alarm... Not in the directions although one of the features mentioned but not detailed is the alarm and the warming plate control.I will revise my review once I have actually had a cup of joe tomorrow morning...

Dec 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I spent $15 on this machine (new in box)
by: Anonymous

I bought it at a local discounter and I didn't expect much. I've had it for 5 months and I have
NOT had the problems other poster have had.

Coffee is hotter than any auto drip I ever owned.
It gets a work out here, at least two 10 cup
cycles per day.
Yes, the water fill openings are located at the
rear and a bit narrow, but one can open the
top lid and pour directly into the reservoir or lift the slants off to fill when the main lid is closed.
The coffee tastes very good- I drink black
no sugar, so I can atest to what is a nice unadulterated cup immediately.
I soak the filter and the decanter in
a water/vinegar every day for a minute. Yes, one needs a baby bottle brush to wash the decanter, but that's the only drawback.
Delay brew is convenient, nothing like preparing the joe the night before as opposed to all thumbs in the morning. The brewing finished alarm has a slider switch which allows beep on or off.
Never noticed a plastic taste. ALL AD machines suffer elegant degradation in coffee temperature over time. I would buy the FT again

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
Mr.Coffee a piece of crap!!!
by: Anonymous

We recieved ours for Christmas 2010.We've had problems with it 2 months after we got it.Now when we fill it up with water to make coffee,all the water runs straight through it and out the bottom on the counter.It's an expensive piece of junk!!!

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
sorry pour design
by: Anonymous

We bought the 10 cup ft series coffee pot about a year ago. I was never happy with the way i had to pour the coffee from the carafe. It was hard to open and now we can't open it at all. Years ago we swore off Mr Coffee and then a year ago we relented and bought again. Bad decision

Oct 21, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Alert
by: Anonymous

Is there any way to turn off the alert noise when the coffee is done?

Oct 21, 2010
Rating
star
piece of junk
by: Anonymous

got a 4 cup TF series, and wasn't really using it for coffee, more just for heating up the water for tea. Well, worked great for a few weeks but today I noticed black pieces in the water. I'm glad I wasn't drinking coffee from it cause I would have never known it was pieces of plastic. Coffee drinkers beware, you won't see it in the Coffee, which is why half of you were tasting "plastic" in your cup. Gross. Horrible product, horrible brand.

Jul 20, 2010
Rating
star
EJ series wierd taste & odor
by: Gloria

I've only had my EJ series for 10 days and had to return it. The first few times I used it, it seemed to be fine. Then about a week into it, the coffee started having this strange odor and taste. It was terrible...smelled like burned plastic. I cleaned it thoroughly, even though it was only a week old, but that still did not change a thing. I have used Mr. Coffee makers at work and never had a problem. This one I got because it looked so good, the black and chrome...really sharp looking. Seriously....you do not want this coffeemaker!

Jun 27, 2010
Rating
starstar
Coffee has an odd flavor
by: Nancy

We bought the EJ Series Mr. Coffee maker as it was a good price and it looks beautiful in our kitchen with it's shiny chrome exterior. And for several months, the coffee was coming out great in terms of taste. However, all of a sudden the coffee had a very odd flavor almost like a plastic taste. I tried changing the filter (even though it was somewhat new) but that didn't help much. Has anyone else had this issue?

Apr 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Good Customer service!
by: jhbear

I am happy to post this giving credit to great Customer Service. I contacted Mr Coffee about a problem I was having with my thermal pot and was pleasantly surprised they took care of me and made things right. I received my new replacement maker and it is working perfectly. I am very happy with it and also very impressed with the level of Customer Service Mr Coffee provided. The Service Reps were very plesant and helpful on the phone. You have proven to be a stand up Company. Thank you..

Jan 19, 2010
Rating
starstar
Disappointed but stuck...
by: jhbear

I recv'd the stainless carfe system for Christmas and really like the look of the pot. I like the auto shut-off and the delay settings. But I am unhappy with the system as a whole. The grates cause splashing when filling the tank no matter how careful you are. The coffee is not hot and it is constantly overflowing and leaking onto the counter. I am following the directions, tried paper and gold filters, water filter - no water filter, different grinds of coffee, full pot - half pot, but can not figure out what is causing it. Poor design on the lid to carafe as the float ball sticks and does not allow coffee to flow into carafe. Button on handle of carafe lid does not fully open and coffee only trickles out. Wish Mr Coffee would admit design flaw and rebate towards new model. I can't go buy another since it was a gift from the kids... but I would if I purchased it!

Oct 27, 2009
Rating
star
Tastes Terrible
by: Anonymous

This produces the worst tasting coffee I've ever had the displeasure of drinking. The taste of plastic is overwhelming and there is NO aroma or taste of good coffee; only some sort of weird sour flavor like reused grounds. The stainless decanter is also hard to use; you can hardly pour the coffee without removing the lid. I hope I can send it back to the company for reimbursement but I've a feeling that I am just out the money on this loser.

Oct 24, 2009
Rating
starstar
disappointment
by: Anonymous

My husband thought we should buy this coffee maker rather than the Cuisinart I had in mind - the Mr. Coffee was cheaper. We have had it a little over a year, and I am not happy with it. The coffee is not hot - we have to put our cups in the microwave after brewing. My biggest complaint, however, is that no matter how careful I am pouring the water in (the intake place is too small), there is always water all over the counter. I clean it regularly, but this problem persists.

Jun 29, 2009
Rating
star
Mr. Coffee FT Series
by: LuvsHotCoffee

Bought this machine because of its cool red and stainless steel design and "warmer temp" dial on the face. I thought I could chose for the brewing water to be hotter. I was mislead! That dial only applies to the warmer pad ... the coffee still comes out the temperature of bath water, and there's nothing you can do about it. Yuck!

The filtration system -- stupid gimmick.

The water reservoir holes -- too small. And why couldn't they have put in a tiny float ball, so I could easily see how high the water is rising in the reservoir?

What a waste of money! I will never buy a Mr. Coffee product again.



May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mr Coffee
by: Anonymous

I just bought the Mr coffee ft series,,.So far so good..The slots where you pour the water come off for easy pouring.I love the display and settings.It's easy,Fast and the coffee taste great.And the clean feature is a big plus.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Mr Coffee Maker .

footer for coffee maker reviews page