logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Mr. Coffee DR4 4-Cup


The Coffee Maker, 4-Cup Switch, White - DR4 is a stylish little 4-cup coffeemaker that comes with one of Mr. Coffee’s most popular features, the Pause n’ Serve which allows you to enjoy a cup of coffee even if your pot has not finished its brewing cycle.


Key features

- Brews up to four cups of coffee, perfect for a small family or group.
- Pause n’ Serve feature allows you enjoy a good cup of coffee while waiting for your brewing cycle to finish.
- Removable filter basket is easy to lift and clean.
- There’s a dual water window that allows you to accurately read the remaining water level so that you’ll know how much water is left to pour in.
- The pot comes with a stain-resistant cup warming surface that keeps the pot warm.
- Cord storage keeps the cord neatly tucked away when the coffee maker is not in use.
- Lighted on and off switch lets you know if the coffee maker is operating or not.

Advantages

Aside from the ease of use and the affordability of this unit, it produces great coffee and is perfect for a home of two or a small group. The controls are simple and because there are no programmable features, there is less amount of electronic functions that one needs to worry about.

It doesn’t even have a clock, perfect for those looking to avoid those coffee maker models that have clock and timer displays that are so bright. The unit is also very easy to clean. And because of its small size, it is perfect for very small kitchens. You can even put it in your bedroom.

Disadvantages

This unit does not come with a built-in grinder which may not make it the perfect model for those who like coffee from freshly ground coffee beans. There is no auto-shut off, so this model may not be the perfect unit for the elderly or those who keep on forgetting to turn the machine off.

The mouth of the carafe is also badly designed. It is tapered so that you have to turn the carafe upside down to get the coffee out, which often leads to spills. It is also not available in black, which would be a great improvement given the tendency for spills. Black would easily hide coffee stains. The brew time is also slower than more advanced, adjustable coffee makers.

Pros
- Simple design, no electronic functions so nothing needs to be programmed
- Small enough for a small family or a dorm room
- Easy to use, easy to clean
- Easy to store in a small kitchen

Cons
- Carafe is badly designed, one needs to turn the whole carafe upside down to get coffee into a cup
- Not available in black
- The white finish tends to accentuate coffee stains
- Brew time is slower compared to other coffee makers
- There is no auto-shut off, which makes it the wrong model for elderly buyers or those who are always in a hurry in the morning

Comments for Mr. Coffee DR4 4-Cup

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 04, 2016
Rating
starstarstar
Great Coffee when it worked! NEW
by: Anonymous

I've had my coffee maker for not even a year an it just quit working on Sunday morning (I really wanted my coffee:(! No warning indicators whatsoever that it was on it's way out. On a positive note, I thought it made GREAT coffee!

Dec 26, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
HEATING PLATE NEW
by: Anonymous

I HAVE HAD MANY MR. COFFEE MAKERS ALL 4 CUP LOVE THE TASTE OF FRESH COFFEE HOW EVER THE WARMING PLATE GOES OUT AFTER A FEW MONTH'S AND DOES NOT KEEP THE COFFEE WARM ENOUGHT.

Nov 28, 2011
Rating
star
Do Not Buy This - Upgrade Instead
by: Mom in Virginia

I bought the same model, but in black. It makes coffee as it should, but is a much flimsier version of what I had in 1980. The light quit working properly right away. It flickers intermittently, so one can never tell from a distance if it is on or off.

I had a basic Mr. Coffee machine for 28 years and loved it. It was a basic model one could buy at KMart, WalMart or Target. When it broke, I replaced it with this model. It is not the same quality that I had come to expect from Mr. Coffee. If you are thinking of buying this model, consider upgrading to a higher quality version or a different brand.

Apr 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Little Coffee Maker
by: Anonymous

I've had mine for about 4 years now and its still going strong. I'm about to move up to a Bunn Phase Brew just because I'm ready to try something new. If you're thinking about buying a 4 cup coffee maker, the Mr. Coffee DR4 can't be beat.

Aug 14, 2010
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

Purchased the DR4 3 months ago. Used it maybe 20 times, but stopped working. Will never buy a Mr Coffee maker again.

Apr 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
excellent
by: Anonymous

As the only coffee drinker in my household, I searched for a simple machine that would easily permit me to brew my morning cup without much waste. I needed something that was quick and easy, as a mom on her way to work in the morning is really searching for a quick energy boost rather than steamed milk or fancy syrups. I easily found what I was looking for in the Mr. Coffee 4-Cup Coffeemaker (DR4MC).

This coffeepot will fit neatly on even the smallest of kitchen counters. This coffeepot is very inexpensive, I purchased my unit at Target, and the coffeepots are also available through on-line sellers such as Amazon.

Even if the customer buys top-quality coffee beans, the machine is certain to save money over buying a daily cup at a coffee shop. You can brew excellent coffee in a matter of minutes.

The pause function allows you get a bit while the rest of the pot is brewing. Assuming that good coffee beans are good, the resulting brew is flavorful and delicious.

The carafe is well-made and dishwasher safe. It pours without spills. While it is very simple, I honestly have had no problems or complaints in regards to the appliance. Those looking for an upgrade may prefer a coffeepot with more features.

For example, I’d love a pot with a timer, so that my coffee can be steaming for my 5 a.m. wakeup calls. The reservoir where the water is poured can also be a bit difficult to clean. But for now, I will stick with the tried and true Mr. Coffee!

Aug 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Quick!!
by: Anonymous

Pros:
- Very short brew time.
- The transparent water gauges on both sides of the machine make it simple to see how much water is left in the tank.

Cons:
- Not suited for people who tend to have lots of company or a big thirst for coffee, due to the small amount of coffee that can be brewed at once. - The base of the coffee maker also takes up more space than you’d imagine, considering how little coffee it makes at once.

I received this coffee maker as a gift around a year ago, and while this particular model probably isn’t for everyone, it provided everything that I personally needed. The main drawback for some people would likely be the DR4’s small size.

It claims to brew four cups of coffee per pot, but those cups must be pretty small; if you’re using normal-sized coffee mugs, then you’ll just about be able to fill about two of them with a full pot, before the coffee runs out.

If you’re just looking for a quick cup of joe by yourself or with a friend, then it works great. But if you’re expecting more people, or if you just want a single pot of coffee to last you through more of the day, then you’ll be disappointed.

Speaking of quick though, that’s one thing the Mr. Coffee DR4 certainly has going for it. After you’ve got the coffee grounds added, and the water poured in, it only takes a minute or two for the coffee to finish brewing, and be hot and ready to serve.





Nov 26, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstar
Difficult to wash - be careful
by: Elizabeth

Looking for a small coffee maker I could keep with me at work so I wasn?t always so dependent on the work pot, I came across this model. I figured that for the price I could try it, and then if in the end it didn?t turn out to be the sort of thing I needed- or, worse still, if the coffee it made was horrible- I could always return it or replace it with a better, slightly more expensive coffee maker. So I bought one from Amazon and gave it a go.

But honestly, this isn't a bad coffee maker for the money. No matter where you buy it, whether it's online or in a store, it shouldn't cost you very much. Then again, it?s also very simple. It makes coffee. That?s about it. So if you're just looking for a basic, four cup model, this may be the machine for you. There are no bells and whistles- don?t expect any, but it does brew a decent cup of coffee, definitely on par with other machines in the price range, and certainly better if you have a certain brand of coffee you prefer at the office. However, it's useless if you want to do even an extra cup.

While most coffee makers can handle a little extra in the carafe, this model will cause the excess water needed to spill from the machine thanks to an overflow hole the designers have put in. Fine for beginners not wanting to overfill for their four cups, I guess, but it does take away a little control for people who already know how to make coffee.

It's also a little difficult to wash- be careful where you put your hands! But with practice and knowing the machine that becomes a little easier as well.



Nov 26, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstar
Would purchase this again
by: Heather Rainey

I purchased the Mr. Coffee DR4, 4 Cup Coffee Maker a little over a year ago. The coffee maker has worked well and has been reliable and easy to use. It is white in color with a glass carafe to hold the brewed coffee. It has a black burner that keep the coffee nice and hot while you enjoy each cup.

The coffee maker uses 4 cup coffee filters and I usually only brew a cup or two at a time every morning. It has a removable filter basket for easy cleaning and a graduated water gauge on the side to see how much water you are adding to the rear of the coffee maker. To add water, I fill the carafe up to the line (1 – 4 cups is marked) and then flip up the rear water lid and pour the water in.

I then add a filter and coffee grinds then turn the coffee maker on. The front rocker switch has a green light to show you it is on.
The coffee maker also has a handy feature that when you remove the glass carafe, it stops the flow of brewed coffee so it does not keep pouring out onto the hot burner. This allows you to sneak a cup of coffee while the rest is still brewing.

Pros: Reliable, Easy to Use, Consistent Brewing, Small and Takes Up Little Space

Cons: Green Light on Switch seem to be on the Wrong Side of the Switch (minor issue), 2 Cups on the Gauges equals about 1 normal cup of coffee (so I make 2 “cups” to get one normal coffee mug full of coffee, cheap plastic feel of the body of the coffee maker.

All in all, I would purchase this coffee maker again. I bought it at my local Wal-Mart store for around $20 new.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Mr Coffee Maker .

footer for coffee maker reviews page