logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Mr. Coffee BVMC-PSTX91 10 Cup Thermal Coffee Maker


Mr. Coffee's Optimal Brew Thermal Coffeemaker BVMC-PSTX91 guarantees full quality and great-tasting coffee. You won’t have to spend extra at your favorite coffee shop. With this Optimal Brew model, you can enjoy flavorful coffee at a good price. It offers quality coffee with its advanced features, such as the cleaning cycle option and the programmable thermal carafe.


Key features

- Water reservoir is removable, allowing you to clean it when needed.
- The Pause 'n Serve option lets you have a cup of coffee before letting the rest brew. You won’t have to worry about stopping the brewing cycle with this feature.
- Programmable features allow you to schedule when the machine will start brewing your coffee.
- The cleaning cycle lets you clean the whole coffee maker without having to take it apart.
- Water filtration ensures better-tasting coffee.

Advantages

Consumers who need a quick morning fix can benefit from this model’s programmable functions. You won’t have to worry about missing your caffeine fix in the morning. In case you’re rushing but have roommates or family members needing the rest of the brew, you can activate the Pause 'n Serve function.

Water filtration ensures the brew is clean and does not compromise the flavor. You can also unplug the power and keep things organized with the cord storage. You won’t have to worry about taking the machine apart for cleaning. The cleaning cycle does the job for you.

Disadvantages

Some people may have difficulty with its programmable features. Most advanced coffee makers are not as easy to use as the simpler and older versions. Although the programs are convenient in purpose, getting there may take some time and study.

Its 10-cup capacity may be too small if you require larger amounts. The price is also rather costly and may be considered a splurge if you’re only after a basic cup of coffee.

Pros
- elegant and modern design
- cleaning cycle saves you the trouble of cleaning it yourself
- excellent brews bring out the full flavor of coffee
- capacity is enough for a small household
- affordable two-digit price
- neutral chrome-like color goes with any kind of kitchen (most suitable for contemporary kitchen designs)
- has water filtration feature to keep brews clean

Cons
- carafe tends to spill if not handled properly
- there are complaints of the coffee not being hot enough after brewing
- water filter has to be replaced regularly
- LCD details are good to look at but not really useful in terms of function
- container of coffee tends to leak, so you may end up burning yourself slightly from the water
- a bit expensive for some

This Mr. Coffee machine has both its advantages and disadvantages. It’s really up to you which weighs more in terms of what you need from the machine. If the disadvantages are too much, you may opt to look at simpler models priced at more affordable costs.

Comments for Mr. Coffee BVMC-PSTX91 10 Cup Thermal Coffee Maker

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 18, 2016
Rating
star
Disappointed NEW
by: Anonymous

I bought this because my daughter has the 4 cup version and hers makes great tasting coffee. I have tried everything to make a good tasting cup, tried various coffee to water ratio, different brands of coffee, bottled water..... Coffee has a bitter taste. Mr. Coffee replaced it but the new one was no better.

Feb 12, 2016
Rating
star
Do not buy - leaking - design flaw NEW
by: TG

Bad design... Engineer that design the plastic lever connected to the filter valve didn't do it right! the angle is too small and can't keep up with the fast flow of coffee coming in.
As a result, waster is spilling all over the back of that plastic piece with 3/4 going into the carafe and 1/4 going in the back / inside the coffee machine and making its way underneath the coffee machine itself thru the openings.

Bringing it back today - nothing can be done to fix it... now I understand why it was on sale!!

---> you get what you pay for

Jan 25, 2016
Rating
star
Annoying beep cannot be turned off NEW
by: Anonymous

High pitched ear-splitting beeps when coffee is done and when warming burner is turned off. No setting to turn it off. If Mr. Coffee is trying to wake up the whole household and cause panic attacks in pets, they have succeeded!

Jan 19, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Filter keeps the water out NEW
by: Anonymous

This coffee maker comes with a filter that is supposed to make the water filtered when it goes through.The filter frequently does not let the water through,resulting in a wasted pot.I would never buy this unit again and wish I had not in the first place.

Apr 10, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Alarm on maker will not shut off NEW
by: Anonymous

There is an alarm that goes off when I turn it on. Please help.

Jan 06, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstar
Great coffee but leaks after a while, sometimes. NEW
by: Anonymous

Love it. Coffee is hot for at least 30 min after brewing. Doesn't have a burner to keep it hot so less energy and no burnt coffee in the pot. Read where people have problems with the cleaning cycle. They obliviously didn't read the instructions. The cleaning cycle takes over 2 hours, I think. I know it isn't done when the water/vinegar is gone from the tank. Give it time and it will turn off on it's own. After a few years of using it, it does sometime leak from the bottom of the water tank and I can't find a replacement seal for the maker. The problem isn't in the water tank but the seal in the machine.

Sep 16, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
love it NEW
by: buffalo bob

Have had a BUNN coffee maker (made in USA!!) for
over 15 years. It finally bit the dust. Replaced it with the Mr. Coffee PSTX and love it!! Not continual warming of the coffee keeps it fresh tasting. Really like the thermal carafe..Wish it was a 12 cup though.

Sep 16, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
love it NEW
by: buffalo bob

Have had a BUNN coffee maker (made in USA!!) for
over 15 years. It finally bit the dust. Replaced it with the Mr. Coffee PSTX and love it!! Not continual warming of the coffee keeps it fresh tasting. Really like the thermal carafe..Wish it was a 12 cup though.

Jan 16, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Very Happy That I Bought the Mr. Coffee
by: Mitch

I switched from a Cuisinart 12 cup Grind and Brew to the Mr. Coffee 10 cup Thermal. I spent some time reviewing the various review websites and came to two key conclusions. First, with any given coffee maker, there are those who love it and those who hate it. It's basic human nature. Second,. if Mr. Coffee brand continually offered poor quality products...that either leaked or produced warm coffee at best, all reviews would be a 1 star and Mr. Coffee would either correct the engineering errors or discontinue the product.

That being said, I FOUND THIS MACHINE TO BE A 5 STAR PRODUCT. It didn't leak, either from the carafe or during the delay brew cycle. It does produce hotter coffee than the Cuisinart. In that I sometimes use cream, the end result is hotter coffee, even after the cream is added. I also chose to purchase a separate coffee grinder as the major disadvantage of the Cuisinart was the moisture collected in the grinder part of the machine caused a bit of a hassle in cleaning. I also like the aesthetics of this machine better than the Cuisinart.

Perhaps the MOST IMPORTANT RESULT of my decision was that I enjoy the taste of the coffee. After all, that's what I really wanted.

So go ahead...buy this coffee maker.


Aug 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Best Mr Coffee maker that I purchased!!!!!
by: Danny

I had a Bunn coffee maker with the thermal type pot and did not in no way keep it hot like this one does,(had a cup after 4 hours and coffee still hot) how great, had no problem with leaks on it at all!! the filter system easy to use and cheap to buy, I'm a very big coffee drinker and I love this coffee maker, ITS GREAT!!!

Jul 15, 2012
Rating
star
Health Hazard
by: Anonymous

Zero stars was not an option!

This maker traps perhaps a tablespoon of coffee in the Thermos cap. If you use it very regularly this is probably not a big issue, but the occasional user will find that this could be a health issue since you cannot be certain you have the cap clean.

The clean cycle is nonsense. Cannot get it to turn off.

It uses more coffee than its predecessor for the same apparent strength.

The cap put button will make it almost useless to any with impaired hand strength.

It doesn't really keep coffee warm for long.

So dirty, expensive to use, physically demanding, expensive to buy.

One of Mr Coffee's best products ever!



Jun 04, 2012
Rating
star
thermal -- not!
by: Bev

this coffee pot does not keep the coffee hot at all; very unhappy with that feature! you buy it based on the thermal carafe and you will have lukewarm coffee. Also, it makes very weak coffee. I thought I had put too much water in for the number of cups and several times have started all over. It's not the coffee or the number of scoops! it's the coffee maker! horrible. I would NEVER buy it again and wish I could take it back now.

Mar 07, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Makes Great Coffee
by: Catherine

The one thing that I noticed, is that when the charcoal replacement filter is new (and dry) it does not allow the water to pass thru the filter quickly. This can cause the water to back up and can create a mess. I solved the problem by soaking the new filter in a small bowl of water for a while - no problems. We are very pleased with this coffee maker!

Feb 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Sleek, hot and fast....no its not a car....lol
by: Commish

Looks great on counter. Makes good hot coffee....FAST! Easy to pour water in it to set it up. Have not had problems others have had with caraffe. More than happy with product. YES....I would recommend to others. More than a month of daily use....all is well.

Jan 18, 2012
Rating
star
Piece of crap!
by: Anonymous

I moved from Norway to US last summer. Back in Norway I had a Technivorm Moccamaster for 8 years without problems...and always good coffee. When I came to the Usa, I bought Mr Coffee coffeemaker. Had it for 6 months...and now I have ordered me a new moccamaster. When the moccamaster arrives I will put MrCoffee in the trash. It is a piece of crap from bottom to the top. Coffee cold after 10 min, leaking. I will never again buy Mr coffee!!

Dec 30, 2011
Rating
star
Leaking Resivor Seal
by: Alan

Bought this unit because of the Mr. Coffee name and its looks. The resivor seal started leaking after about 3 months of use. I have found that if I wipe the area under the removable water tank, and only brew 6 cups of coffee at a time, it doesn't leak all over my counter. This unit also does not seam to brew a very hot pot of coffee. This makes for a very weak brew, and when I try to add more grounds, the filter basket overflows if I brew a full 10 cups. I also found out that when the clean light comes on, I have use the whole 10 cups (full) on the tank to go through the cleaning cycle. Not the 4 cups stated as in the manual. I really thought that this would be a good unit, but I am greatly disapointed. I will not recomend this to anyone.

Nov 28, 2011
Rating
star
What is that smell??
by: Anonymous

My coffee maker does not leak but the water resevoir has a strange odor; sort of a musty chemical smell. I have washed it, soaked vinegar in it, even left the top off to air it out. Since it is made in China, I wonder what it is made of. Since I have been using it for six months now, what is going on? Does anyone else have this problem? Also, the clean light will not go off now,; even though I cleaned it and unplugged it twice!! Maybe quality control would be better if it were made in USA, where it should be made.

Nov 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Leaks
by: Kccookie

Here I thought I was getting a great gift...was I wrong! The pot leaks....when pouring a cup of coffee I have to clean my counter as well...black water spots every where....My guess is it's from the steam...what can be done?

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
star
Leaky pot
by: Anonymous

Only had it a month or so when the pot starte leaking. This is the biggest pain! You pour a cup of coffee and you have to clean up from all the leaking.

Jun 20, 2011
Rating
starstar
Clean Cycle Problem
by: Pat Schilling

Love the coffee maker and the coffee is great. But the clean cycle is a real issue and if you can't make coffee than what is the point. I have tried all of the advice to get the clean cycle to turn off and it will not stop!! This coffee maker is only 2 months old and I will be buying another brand at this point. There is nothing worse than not being able to get your coffee maker make coffee. Also, other coffee makers let you know when it is time to clean them but they don't just go into a clean cycle. I had company and could not make any coffee. bummer!

Jun 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
love coffee pot
by: kathleen

I really like my coffee pot... it stays hot I love the thermost the most... and it clean looking

Apr 19, 2011
Rating
star
POOR System
by: Lawrence

The worst damn maker I ever bought. Seal under lid leaks. Put's coffee between coffee cell and outer shell. A bunch of junk. Don't waste your money.

Mar 31, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mr. Coffee
by: Anonymous

Brand new out of the box. Two pots later.

Pros: Price is reasonable. Attractive unit will blend with any decor. Can adjust cup number with detachable reservoir (great feature). Removeable filter basket. Coffee decanter is insulated (stainless). Keeps coffee "hot". Can pour while brewing. Clock is dimmable. Can time delay brew. And most important, brews very good cup of joe.

Cons: It wasn't free.

Feb 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Thermal 10 cup
by: Mary

Well, the first one leaked. Called, they said cut off the cord and throw unit away. Green solution ha. Second one doesn't leak, but the carafe lid has a little hole to allow it to perk/with lid on. Good idea. But little ball inside is supposed to float up from steam in pot to keep the heat in. It does not, therefor the coffee gets cold rather quickly, and secondly, it's not all that hot to begin with. I would not buy it again.

Feb 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Not hot enough
by: Anonymous

coffee is not ho enough. Since not hot I think it is a waste of coffee. Have to use more coffee to make decent coffee.

Jan 31, 2011
Rating
star
piece of junk
by: Rob

Unit is about 2 years old & always overflows on my counter top; have to place on dish drainer 'just in case', and 3/5 workdays it is the case. No matter how well I clean unit innards - now have coffee colored dishwasher from where leaks turned into a river to my kitchen floor. Dont buy it.

Jan 30, 2011
Rating
starstar
Leaks everywhere
by: DMC

On second unit. First one leaked water everywhere. Next one has a carafe that leaks every time coffee is poured, Can't find a replacement unit. Would like to find a quality coffee maker. Don't buy this one not a good value for the price.

Jan 29, 2011
Rating
star
Question Your Design Engineers!!!!!!!!!!!
by: Harry M.

How can you have a good operating coffee maker for years with a good price? Then you put this product on the market that is priced too high for the quality of the unit!!PSTX91-10 cup Thermal. YOU NEED TO HOLD SOMEONE ACCOUNTABLE for the design and MANAGEMENT for approving this sorry design.!!!!! When I called Mr. Coffee and talked to one of their customer service reps., he told me he was not aware of any design problems. When I questioned him about the tank leaking he said you just happen to get one that didn't seat good. I was told they would ship me a new one out. My problem is when someone is not admitting they may have a bigger problem. Maybe I am wrong and all the units are great.!!

Jan 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Like the coffee but...
by: Anonymous

the comments about the carafe leaking are true. And it has nothing to do with submerging the carafe in water. It leaks through the seal inside between the steel and plastic. Mr. Coffee sent me a whole new unit but the carafe still leaks. They denied there was a problem on their end but since I'm reading about a design change I have to question that. Otherwise I really like the ease of use of the unit and the coffee it makes.

Jan 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good coffee maker for the money
by: Anonymous

First thing I did was read the manual. I ran water for 2 cycles. 1st cycle I smelled plastic. The second time much less odor. Now the coffee tastes fine, brews fast and stays hot in the thermos carafe long enough for me. I like the fact that after the brew cycle the coffee maker uses no electricity for a hot plate, sounded like a bit of a green machine to me.
Read the owner’s manual and maybe you will enjoy the maker a little bit more.
Make sure the water reservoir is seated properly. Make sure it does not lean one way or another.
The carafe is another matter. They will leak between the plastic and the steel if you submerge them in a sink full of water. It is not sealed for outside water pressure between the plastic and the steel. The water that leaks in from the sink leaks out from the carafe between the plastic and steel when you tip it upside down to pour the coffee. I never get the carafe wet on the outside and problem solved. Hope this helps.

Jan 08, 2011
Rating
star
Worst Coffee Maker ever!!!
by: Anonymous

It leaks badly!!! Coffee does not stay warm. It also uses more coffee to make a pot. I bought it based on looks......don't do it!!

Jan 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great value for the price
by: Anonymous

Just purchased a new Mr. Coffee 10 cup thermal - love it! Easy to fill water reservoir (had a Cuisinart Grind and Brew - this maker was extremely difficult to fill with water, therefore, ease of filling the reservoir was top of mind when replacing my coffeemaker)... easy to clean (has its own cleaning cycle), but best of all, the brewed coffee is delicious and is brewed in a very short period of time. I highly recommend this coffeemaker!

Jan 05, 2011
Rating
star
Leaks
by: Anonymous

Just picked this up from target. First run through with water seemed great. When I tried to brew with it a soupy coffee grind mess ended up all over my counter top. I was very disappointed and from the looks of it I’m not alone. I am returning this today and will be on the look-out for a better coffee maker.

Jan 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
leaks leaks leaks
by: Anonymous

brews coffee fast (10cups) in about 4/5 minutes...
i have returned two unit in 24hrs both of which leaked @ bottom of resivoir, the seal simply doesnt seal!!! the first one leaked slowly but emptied out in about 10 minutes,the second one leaked out in about 4 minutes.. if they would fix this problem this would be great machine...brew time,flavor,and appearance. but until seal problem fixed stay away!!!!

Dec 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Useless Carafe for starters...
by: Gatekeeper

Biggest disappointment with this coffeemaker is the thermal carafe. My insulated mug keeps coffee hot longer than this carafe. I can feel the internal heat by touching the outside of the carafe - not a good sign. Is there someplace I can buy a GOOD carafe compatible with this coffee maker?

Another concern buyers should keep in mind is the reach-around space need to be kept open on the counter (left side of coffee maker) to remove and replace the water reservoir.

Nice styling, but quite a large footprint for a basic Mr Coffee coffee maker. (I received this as a gift.)

Dec 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Leaky carafe
by: Kim

We are now going on our fourth water filtration Mr. Coffee.(in just as many months) The first one the alarm never shut off. The second and third ones have leaky carafes. As I pour the coffee, there is a watery, coffee(ish) fluid that comes out of the seam. We are so sick of pouring the coffee only to have to wipe up the spills! Called them again today. Fourth unit on its way, with a new design carafe, where the stainless steel goes all the way to the top of the carafe, no seams. They really should consider adding a stainless steel cleaning product with the package deal. We paid enough!

Dec 24, 2010
Rating
star
A horrible review - 0 star is more like it
by: Anonymous

Is Mr. Coffee paying you? I own one, and this is the most horrible coffeemaker ever made-- The coffeemaker leaks by design, the coffee is weak, have to preheat water before brewing, and now the cleaning cycle is stuck on.

If you want proof, just google problems with this model- also check the customer reviews in Amazon.

I can't believe I let myself get suckered like this just because owned a half decade old Mr. Coffee that just worked, so unlike this one.

Dec 06, 2010
Rating
star
What a big mess
by: Anonymous

Can't use the delayed brew because all the water leaks out of the holding tank before it has the chance to brew. I also don't like how slow the coffee has to be poured from the spout. It only allows a for small flow while pouring. It takes longer to pour a cup than it does to brew a cup.

Nov 08, 2010
Rating
star
leaks like hell
by: Anonymous

purchased it yesterday put water in sat down to read instructions further, back in a couple minutes & the water was leaking all over the counter. refilled reattached & insured it was seated properly, again in a couple minutes water all over. Took in back to store this morning. It sure is a nice looking unit buts that's all.

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
Leaks water
by: Anonymous

I just bought it for 69 bucks and will return it. it leaks water every time - I've tried everything on the manual - very irritating.

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
water everywhere
by: soppy

I just can't deal with the constant cleanup. Water all over the counter every time I fill the reservoir. Not even when brewing but from the clean water reservoir. Not too many ways you can set that thing onto the machine but leaks every time. Going back!

Sep 17, 2010
Rating
star
Worst coffee maker ever!
by: Vivvy

This is absolutely the worst coffee maker I have ever owned. The coffee is weak and wimpy, the blast of water splashes coffee grounds over the edge of the basket, and water pours over the counter every time. I have followed all instructions, but water leaks everywhere. Even after the beep that brewing is finished, watered down coffee still continues to spit from the spout. Too bad my husband threw the box away, or this thing would be gone! Never again...no more Mr. Coffee of any kind for me.

Aug 09, 2010
Rating
starstar
weak coffee
by: Anonymous

I'm really disappointed. My last coffee maker didn't last very long, so I bought a slightly more expensive one. It looks nice, ease of use is nice, I like the removable water container. But the coffee is terrible. If you like a milder coffee, it's fine, but if you prefer a strong, bold brew, I definitely would not recommend this coffee maker. It brews very quickly, which may be why the grinds don't have time to absorb the water. But, no matter how much coffee I put in, it tastes the same- mild, bland and weak.

Jul 13, 2010
Rating
star
Makes terrible coffee
by: Anonymous

Makes coffee that tast like colored water. I tried putting more and more coffee in, but nothing helps. It brews so fast that the coffee grounds are not even saturated.

May 21, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
weak coffee
by: Anonymous

Just bought this at Target and am on day 2. It makes the hottest coffee of the thermal units I've tried but the taste is watery and weak. Today I put in an extra scoop of coffee but it was still weak tasting. One more try and it's going back to the store.

May 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Great, but too fast!
by: Anonymous

This is a wonderful coffee pot. All the other reviews are right on the mark, the one CON I will add is it brews a little too fast for me.
I use a very expensive premium Italian bean that is roasted to bring out the natural smoky chocolate flavor to the bean. In previous (but also very expensive pots) the coffee tastes great but when I use that coffee in this pot… well.. it tastes like regular store bought auto drip coffee. The Pot just blows the water through the ground too fast! I could add more grounds but at the price per lbs of this bean I would be better off getting a new pot. I am already grinding the coffee as fine as my grinder will grind it.
So for now, a great price (@ target for $69) I find myself wishing I could slow down how fast the water is released from the grounds.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Mr Coffee Maker .

footer for coffee maker reviews page