logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Krups XP5240 Pump Espresso Machine

Stainless Steel with Fast Water Pre Heater and Easy Cleaning Frothing Nozzle

Stainless Steel with Fast Water Pre Heater and Easy Cleaning Frothing Nozzle

The XP5240 from Krups features the company's redesigned steam nozzle in order to give you a coffee machine that provides you not only excellent espresso but a matching creamy and foamy froth. The machine is also equipped with the Precise Tamp feature that ensures that every brew is perfect to the taste and consistent with all the previous brews.


Interior Features
  • The machine employs a 15 bar pump that allows it to produce hot water in record time. The pump feature pre heats the water before it brews, making sure that the coffee that is dispensed at the nozzle is at the right temperature.
  • This espresso machine also has an auto stop feature, which is essential when you are busy. All you have to do is set the machine and the ingredients, and it can brew a whole batch of espresso on its own. It stops when its done, leaving the espresso tasting like it is perfectly brewed.

    Exterior Features

  • The machine has a die cast outer covering that ensures quality and durability. No need for messy cleanups as a damp cloth will easily clean up the machine. Plus, the machine has an "eject" button that easily pushes out the used espresso in one lump for easy disposal.
  • The coffee filter mechanism can hold coffee grounds or soft pods depending on your preference. You will not have to switch to pods if you are used to grounds and vice versa. This way, you can blend the perfect cup according to your taste.

    Dimension Specifications

    Length: 10.30 inches
    Height: 11.5 inches
    Width: 9 inches
    Total volume or number of cups: tamp system can be set for 1 to 2 cups at a time

    Advantages

    This machine preheats water at a faster rate than other machines of similar make. This means you can enjoy a hot cup of coffee in less wait time than machines that require you to manually preheat water. The machine allows you to brew espresso, cappuccino, or latte. These variations can be enjoyed by the family or can be served while entertaining guests. The variety it offers is a twist to the usual filtered coffee machine. The espresso maker comes in stainless finish, which gives it a modern appeal and easily hides stains from leaks and spills. The compact design allows for space economy, as it easily fits on any counter.

    Disadvantages

    The machine may be too expensive for an espresso machine that does not brew filtered coffee alongside the espresso mixes. Customers often complain about the handle being broken and that the company does not provide for a replacement, but simply sends in the spare parts. This can cause trouble, especially if the owner cannot install the parts him or herself.

    Pros

  • fast water preheating
  • durable covering
  • perfect blend
  • compact and fits in most counters
  • can blend espresso, cappuccino, and latte

    Cons

  • handle of frother easily breaks
  • quite expensive
  • warranty and after sales service has negative reviews
  • does not come with a grinder

    Espresso Makers main page

    More Krups Espresso Makers

  • Comments for Krups XP5240 Pump Espresso Machine

    Average Rating starstarstar

    Click here to add your own comments

    May 04, 2013
    Rating
    starstarstar
    Works well, problems fixable
    by: Anonymous

    Makes the coffee very nicely, but the steamer wand and its frother are very finicky.

    The frother tends to blow off if not kept scrupulously clean. The steamer wand often breaks off, even when being very careful.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-NN81mk1o_c

    describes both issues and how to fix them. Mine was 5 months old when it broke, and after the fix I expect years of service, like its Krups predecessor.

    Oct 02, 2012
    Rating
    starstarstar
    satisfied and complain
    by: Hady Buntara

    I have continues used XP-5240, satisfied faster heat and made strong coffee's aroma compare with last model, but disappointed,found the steam nozzle leak easy, should spent USD 8/ to replaced this parts. believe this quality parts is no strong enough for steam through out this nozzle.

    Jul 17, 2011
    Rating
    starstarstarstar
    I am a fan!
    by: Stijn

    This is my 3rd Krups Espresso machine on a row and by far the best I have owned so far.

    To summarize:
    - I am an absolute coffee freak, only the best coffee will satisfy me. I live in Asia and have my coffee flown in from Europe (Italian Espresso).

    - I did experience some issues with the frother and believe Krups could improve. Interestingly, the 'normal' frother comes with a clip on system that is very secure and tight and works at all times, the frother with tube to make an instat cup of cappuccino/latte however is fit over an o-ring and this might come off if not well affixed.

    - The coffee brewed by this machine is great taste and the best one can expect from a home machine. I have tried many machines with grinders and which are fully automatic, almost none will achieve the quality this machine can.

    - For a 'small' home espresso machine, this is probably one of the best choices. Price/quality is very reasonable.

    Oct 23, 2010
    Rating
    star
    Don't buy this machine!!!!
    by: Mitch Evans, Kirkland, WA

    I purchased the XP5240 in Nov. '09. I went against my better judgment in doing so as there were no reviews yet as it was a new model and I had had a Krups Espresso Pronto since 1994. So, what could go wrong? Well, let me tell you. Six weeks after I recieved it the frothing attachment threads stripped out and another part of the machine started to leak. I took it to the local repair just before Christmas and was told in mid January that it had to be replaced. It then took two more weeks to recieve one from Krups. That machine arrived with the frothing attachment glued on and one of the 3 clips broken and a brown colored liquid that came out while priming the machine. Krups asked me to ship it directly to them. They said it was shipped to me from another service center and not them. After 3 weeks I called to find out what was wrong with the 2nd machine and was told by a supervisor named Pierre that they saw no brownish liquid and had replaced the broken piece and were shipping it back to me. I told him I wanted my money back and he said that this was all he could do.Two weeks later The machine arrived. A week or so after recieving it the O ring dissappeared from the frother. Once again I called there customer service number. This time I was told that they would send me the O ring at no charge and to expect it in 1-2 weeks. Two weeks had passed so I called April 8th to see where it was and was told that the O ring was on back order. I asked if they were going to call me and let me know or if I was just to sit and wait for it. I was told that another supervisor was going to call me on the 8th or 9th. It is now April 12th and no call. I have been able to use this machine for maybe a month out of the last 5. I'm glad I kept my 16 year old machine because this machine is a piece of crap and Krups customer service is amazingly horrible.

    Oct 23, 2010
    Rating
    star
    Don't buy this machine
    by: Anonymous

    If you look on Amazon, it appears that folks (myself included) are seeing the removable portion of the frothing want explode off during steam function.

    I had to replace my first machine because the steam function didn't work. The second machine lost the o-ring on the frothing arm, which Krups replaced. Then the frother blew off during steaming.

    I would not buy this machine.

    Oct 19, 2010
    Rating
    starstarstarstar
    love it
    by: Anonymous

    I love espresso and I drink a lot of it! Just recently I went on a search for espresso machines. There are so many choices, so I had to ask myself the question of quality or price. I was on a budget, so I couldn’t afford the high-end machine but I didn’t want bad coffee either.

    I ended up settling with the median of each. I ended up buying the Krups XP5240. The great thing about this machine is that is takes up less counter space than a lot of other espresso machines. If you are anything like me, you have enough sitting on your counter.

    Its size is very convenient for a small space. Additionally, the Krups XP5240 reheats very quickly. Making espresso is already messy enough. You don’t need it to take more time for a second cup. The disadvantage of this machine is that it is moderately priced.

    The ticket price is around $300. But there are a lot more
    expensive machines out there. If you want a grinder and an automatic measuring component, it will cost you. Also, it is only the espresso machine with no coffee maker attached.

    There is nothing fancy about it. But it will last you and your favorite espresso will taste great! The Krups XP5240 is definitely a machine for a single person or a couple. It is small but convenient. My last espresso machine was also a Krups. It still worked after three years of moderate use. I love the brand!

    Jun 15, 2010
    Rating
    star
    If a negative amount of stars were available...
    by: Mitch Evans

    Five stars came up on my review too. One or less is all this machine should get. I'm on my third machine since November now. Krups keeps sending parts and new machines but won't give me my money back.

    Jun 13, 2010
    Rating
    star
    exploding steam wand
    by: Anonymous

    Look at any real reviews, says the same thing, stay away!!! Buy a Saeco that was my last machine, this steam wand is a failure!

    Click here to add your own comments

    Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to KRUPS Espresso makers .

    footer for coffee maker reviews page