logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Krups Thermal Aroma Control

by Eric
(Chaska, MN, USA)


$

Krups 229-4G Aroma Control
10-Cup Coffeemaker with Thermal Carafe


I love coffee. And I know that the way it is brewed is important, so I wanted to buy one of the best coffee makers that I could afford. I had always seen Krups coffeemakers in fine department stores and found one that the Krups Thermal Aroma Control looked good, had the features I was looking for and came well recommended.

I dislike coffeemakers that “cook” the coffee on a hotplate after it is made, so the thermal carafe on the Krups was appealing to me.
I could not afford the department store prices for this model, so I found it online and ordered one.

When it arrived, I immediately removed it, washed everything and made my first pot. It was good! The carafe is very well constructed and is not flimsy – made of heavy stainless steel. I really liked that.

The machine is attractive too – you don’t mind leaving this one on our counter top because it is a pretty combination of polished stainless steel and gloss black plastic. A small LCD screen is located right above a 5 position rotary switch that controls the functions of the coffeemaker.
I continued using the coffeemaker for nearly a year without complaint.

Then, I started noticing that the rear of the coffeemaker was always very hot in the morning when I went to fill it. It also shot steam halfway across the room when I poured water into it. What was happening is that the mechanism that heats the water apparently never shuts off – it is supposed to, but has failed on my machine. This seems dangerous to me. So now I have to remember to unplug the machine after it brews every morning. This makes the clock useless. Because the water heating mechanism is always on, I cannot use the programmable feature to have hot coffee ready for me in the morning.
I went to Krups website to see if there was anything I could do, but alas, the warranty had expired and there was no recall. What a disappointment. I thought I was getting a top-of-the-line coffeemaker, and I would have done just as well to purchase a cheap model at a discount store.
So the machine still sits on my countertop, unplugged most of the time, three years later. I still like the stainless steel carafe. It is pretty, but the electronics are not what I would have expected for a Krups that costs $125.


Comments for Krups Thermal Aroma Control

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 26, 2016
Rating
starstarstar
Brew Basket NEW
by: Anonymous

My Krups AROMACONTROL 229,does not empty all the coffee from the Brew Basket,so I never get to have all my coffee.

Mar 07, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Remains hot while switch is off NEW
by: Anonymous

I loved my Krups machine. I have had it for 10 to 15 years with no problems. Last week, after the coffee maker switch had been turned off overnight, when I went to pour water into it, it hissed and steamed is if it was turned on. I felt the bottom of the back and it was very hot. It should've been cold having been in the off position for almost 24 hrs. I really liked the thermal feature. It kept the coffee warm without burning it.

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
star
Bad switch
by: Anonymous

I have 2 of these machines and they both wnt badd on me this summer. first they make a grinding noise like a relay that chatters and cannot close, then the heating element stays on permanently, regardless of switch position.

I will contact Krups and if I can't get these fixed at a reasonable cost, I'll write to consumer affairs about this safety issue, and suggest you all do the same.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ic1.nsf/eng/00265.html


May 11, 2011
Rating
star
defective coffee maker
by: need my coffee

My Krups Coffee pot just went kaput the other day. The heating element does not shut off. I just happened to touch it after coming home from work. The scary part is that it was on the off postion. I was still able to use the appliance without even having to turn it on. There should really be a recall on this item. The only way to shut off the coffee pot is to uplug it.

I really loved this coffee maker but not if it is a fire hazard. I am looking for a new coffee maker but it will not be a Krups.

Jan 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Lights but no coffee
by: Anonymous

The coffeemaker is great when it works but now when you turn it on it will not brew the coffee

Jan 07, 2011
Rating
star
Another bad switch for the list
by: Anonymous

For several months the switch has been going bad on this otherwise great coffeemaker. Now it finally has ceased to turn off, much like the other comments. Oh well, at least it is stuck *ON* instead of off. Has anyone reported this issue to the consumer product safety commission for a recall? One home-destroying fire is more than enough to justify a safety recall.

Jul 18, 2010
Rating
starstar
Bad switch
by: Anonymous

I just experienced this same problem and found this page. I am debating about attempting it but you can order the "circuit board" which includes the switch for about $22 from a small appliance shop or repair center. It is a shame that krups will not supply it to us or repair, as the switch seems both faulty and dangerous. Steam burst out of the machine if you are not aware that it is one.

Jun 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ditto
by: Anonymous

We experienced the same as the rest. What a shame because it makes a great pot of coffee and it matched our other small appliances so well, carafe is easy to clean etc.

First we noticed water leading out of the back, it made clicking noises and wouldn't shut off unless we unplugged it. We have nursed it along for about nearly 7 months now but it's about kaput. Hope to find another coffee maker that "excites" the grounds such as this one does by not releasing the water immediately.

Feb 11, 2010
Rating
star
lasted 3 years
by: Anonymous

I also had the same problem with the heating element not turning off. What is the point of having a programmable coffee maker when it needs to be unplugged every day? Then the switch started making a loud clicking-grinding noise when it was done brewing. Again I had to unplug it while in use. Today it stopped working all together, the switch is on, the light is on but the coffee is not brewing. We had this for 3 years but I didn't drink coffee while I was pregnant with my son, so it was only really used for a little over 2 years.

Oct 17, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Krups switch
by: Anonymous

Have tried everything through the coffee maker from CLR to vinegar to see if unit was blocked to no avail. We've had it for five years. Looks like a '5 year' switch. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Oct 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
won't turn off
by: Anonymous

I have the same problem. Our machine lasted about 6 years. May be a fire hazard. Now we have to remember to unplug it after each use which renders the auto-on feature useless. Sure did love this machine before that issue.

Sep 02, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Same problem...
by: Anonymous

My Krups Aroma Control was a great coffee maker for at least 5 years. Every member of my family has one. But suddenly the water heater won't turn off without unplugging, so that is what I have to do. Has anyone found a source of diagnosis and repair?? The reviews I found for other (current) coffee pots aren't nearly as good as this (obsolete) maker and I'd rather repair than replace!

Aug 24, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Krups Thermal Aroma Control
by: Anonymous

We just started experiencing the same problem that others have posted above... we have had this coffee maker for ~5 years, so it has had a pretty good life and has worked without problem otherwise, but it is disappointing nonetheless. We have to unplug the coffee maker otherwise it will keep heating, and coffee will also brew even if the control is left in the off position. Annoying to have to unplug since I like to have coffee ready to go the night before and just turn the switch in the morning or occasionally even set to programmed start.

Has anyone figured out how to fix this problem? Seems to me it might be a problem with the switch not making proper contact, and just may need a good cleaning??? There are ~4 screws on the bottom, but they require a special hex-head screwdriver with a hole in the middle... so I am out of luck for the moment until I can find one of those.

Overall very satisfied with this coffee maker, has worked extremely well otherwise. But still not happy with current problem.

Aug 09, 2009
Rating
star
Wont Turn Off
by: Anonymous


I seem to have the same problem with this coffee maker that others are having. It wont turn off. Back of unit stays hot all the time even if in off position. Pour in water while off and it immediately starts hissing with steam. The unit is a fire hazard and must be unplugged when not in use. I will never buy another Krups unit.

Jan 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
This happened to me too
by: Anonymous

My Krups Thermal Aroma Control broke last week. Like yours, it is now always turned on, unless I unplug it. I am not pleased!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Krups Coffee Maker Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page