logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Krups Steam Espresso Machine XP1020

 Black/Silver 4-cup with Removable Filter and Warming Tray

Black/Silver 4-cup with Removable Filter and Warming Tray

The Krups XP1020 is a compact espresso machine that can fit on your kitchen counter or your office desk. This machine comes in either black or silver finish and can brew up to four cups of espresso. The elegant design and compact features of this espresso machine from Krups surely make this a valuable addition to any kitchen.


Interior Features
  • The machine runs on a steam format that is easy to learn and easy to use. It also has an illuminated on and off switch that the user can use to see whether the machine is working or not.
  • The espresso maker can produce plain espresso, cappuccino, or lattes. The frother creates thick foamy toppings for these drinks that will make you enjoy it more.
  • The espresso maker can product up to four cups, which are kept warm. This capacity is good enough for personal use and serving a few guests.

    Exterior Features

  • The metal finish is durable and easy to clean. The drip tray and the filter are removable, which allow for ease in cleaning. You will not need to scoop out the contents of the filter because the grounds can be easily disposed of.
  • The machine also has a warming tray in order for you to keep you espresso nice and hot even after it has been brewed. Sit down, relax, and enjoy a cup of espresso without worrying that your next cup will not be as hot.

    Dimension Specifications

    Length: 8.5 inches
    Height: 11 inches
    Width: 9.38 inches
    Total volume or number of cups: 4 cups of espresso

    Advantages

    The compact size and the elegant design will surely attract buyers since it can conveniently fit on any counter space. The metal finish also makes it an easy blend with other kitchen appliances. The machine can also brew cappuccino and lattes. It has a milk frother that makes excellent foamy toppings. This espresso maker is not only easy to use but also cleaning is hassle-free with the removable tray and filter as well as the metal finish. The machine doesn't have all those complicated controls and are very easy to operate.

    Disadvantages

    The setting for the coffee brews are not programmable, and there may be issues regarding the consistency of the taste of the coffee. Also, the nozzle cannot accommodate larger coffee mugs as it is positioned in the lower portion of the machine. Most of the parts are plastic and this may entail problems regarding breakage and durability. Plus, the coffee adapts the plastic taste of the materials and this may take some getting used to.

    Pros

  • compact and stylish design
  • makes up to four cups of espresso
  • keeps drinks warm
  • easy to operate controls
  • easy to clean
  • steam format works well

    Cons

  • measurement settings cannot be programmed
  • prone to leaks and spills
  • plastic parts entail durability issues
  • froth nozzle cannot accommodate larger cups

    Espresso Makers main page

    More Krups Espresso Makers

  • Comments for Krups Steam Espresso Machine XP1020

    Average Rating starstarstar

    Click here to add your own comments

    Nov 17, 2011
    Rating
    starstarstarstarstar
    Be prepared for frother to go
    by: Anonymous

    Like the look and price for machine, however, I guess i didn't maintain it well enough bc the frother stopped working after about 6mo. of daily use. Will try to clean it, but if not, out it goes. Will consider a separate carafe frother maybe. As other commenter said, the steam ran out quick for frothing milk, so maybe the capacity is lacking.

    Sep 23, 2011
    Rating
    starstarstarstarstar
    Make your own latte and keep the $5 you'd give Starbucks
    by: Anonymous

    I've owned 3 of these machines so far, traveled with it in my suitcase, and saved myself over $1,500 each year by making my own lattes. Am I frugal? When it comes to lattes I am, especially after I can use the money I save on lattes to buy a few plane tickets somewhere...the machine has it's limits: it has no built in WiFi, doesn't come with a scone and you don't feel obligated to tip it. Other than that it's worth the money...

    Jan 01, 2011
    Rating
    star
    Stay Away
    by: Anonymous

    My first Krups espresso machine lasted many years before it stopped working. This machine only lasted a few months before it quit. The build quality is much cheaper and the frother never was able to get the milk hot enough. I will not be replacing this machine with another Krups!

    Oct 23, 2010
    Rating
    star
    poor quality
    by: Anonymous

    It only lasted few months. I've replaced it 5 times. All have the same problem. Steamer will stop working. Waste of money and time. Do not buy it.

    Oct 19, 2010
    Rating
    starstar
    lasted a year
    by: Anonymous

    This is a high quality, affordable machine that is perfect for beginners. Mine has been just the answer for a couple of caffeine addicted roommates, a tiny Manhattan kitchen and only a few New York minutes to dedicate to pulling espresso shots. It is compact and simple enough that we use it every morning, but keep it on the shelf during the day when not in use.

    The espresso brews quickly and produces a good amount of crema for such an unsophisticated machine. The minimal amount of buttons makes it unintimidating, especially for the milk steamer. A knob on the left simply turns the machine to brew, steam and off. While it would be nice to be able to vary the intensity of the steaming, it is pretty unnecessary for the average person just trying to make their morning espresso fix.

    The drip tray is easy to clean and the machine comes with almost everything you need to start brewing right out of the box. The only thing missing is a milk thermometer which is strongly recommended to prevent bacteria. I also chose to use a metal triple shot pitcher rather than the glass crafe included, mostly just because I find it easier to clean and less fragile.

    Don't expect to open up shop or even really entertain guests with this espresso machine as it takes at least 10 minutes in between brew/steam cycles to cool down. When allowed to cool down for at least this much time though, the second beverage comes out just as good as the first one. The main drawback is that the steamer kicks the bucket before the rest of the machine. Mine stopped working about a year and a half after I bought it, but at $60 that is still definitely a savings over to go lattes.

    Aug 16, 2010
    Rating
    star
    Explodes while brewing
    by: Anonymous

    I have had this product for 6 months and it has exploded while brewing about a dozen times.
    I have had expresso makers for many years and have never had such an unreliable and dangerous product.

    Sep 23, 2009
    Rating
    starstarstarstar
    A great little machine
    by: Anonymous

    Pros
    - Fast with the espresso
    - Keeps flavor in-not steamed out

    Cons
    - it does not clean very well
    - steam runs out quickly

    Rating
    4 out of 5

    I have enjoyed my espresso maker, It's small enough that it doesn't take up too much counter space, it's modern in design and it works really well. It is, as other espresso machines, difficult to clean at times, especially if you do not clean the steamer right away.

    One thing that all espresso machines have in common is keeping up with all the pieces. Luckily this one is small enough that it will fit under the cabinet easily. I have only used KRUPS machines before due to their durability. The flavor of the espresso grounds are adequately processed and I have never had an issue with taste. You had better be quick with the steam however, or you will have to add more water to finish steaming the milk.

    Overall this is a great little machine, when it eventually dies, I will buy another!

    Aug 12, 2009
    Rating
    starstarstar
    Average and very loud
    by: Anonymous

    Pro
    -Fast maker
    -Make 4 cups at a time

    Cons
    -gets clogged
    -make loud sounds

    Well, this coffee maker is good for the price i paid for it which is around $65.00. However, if it go up against other espresso makers, it would'nt stand a chance. It is fast when it want s to be but loud at the same time and who wants that? iIt does get clogged often which is annoying but I try to put up with it. It does have a sleek desigh which is a plus and is a great size. Overall, it's just okay!!!

    Aug 01, 2009
    Rating
    star
    Poor quality
    by: Anonymous

    I bought one of these machines from Sears about 2 weeks ago. It worked fine for several mornings, then the steamer completely quit working, even though it continued to make espresso. I plan to get something a little more up-scale.

    Mar 17, 2009
    Rating
    starstarstarstar
    Great model for beginners
    by: Stephanie

    I bought the Krups XP1020 Espresso Maker from Sears because it was on sale and I had calculated the amount of money I spend going out for espresso. The machine ended up being cheaper and it is such a great investment. I only paid $65 for it and declined the warranty. I really liked that idea that I would be able to make my own cappuccinos and lattes in my pajamas. The stainless steal and design make it look like an expensive machine and it looks great on my kitchen counter.

    This machine makes really dark and rich espresso. It makes up to 4 cups and you can use ground espresso or pods. The grounds basket is a little fidgety and sometimes I have to press down on it to get it to close tight. I made the mistake of not making sure it was closed and grounds just flew all over my counter. I really like the metal cup warming tray and use it frequently. It keeps my cappuccino warm and ready to go. The best part about the machine is that it has a removable drip tray so it’s very easy to clean.

    The only negative remark I have is that frothing milk for cappuccino is a bit difficult since the wand is so close to the machine. I wish I could just move the frothing wand out further. It does take around 5 minutes to get the espresso made and is fairly loud and noisy. This is a great model for beginners and I would highly recommend it as a gift for college students our newlyweds. It is very easy to use and it doesn’t take up a lot of counter top space. I’ve had the Krups XP1020 for three months and am completely satisfied with this purchase. It does have a few downsides to it, but it’s a bargain compared to the amount I paid for it.


    Jan 01, 2009
    Rating
    star
    Great Espresso.. until it stops making it
    by: Anonymous

    Gurgles and Chugs but no espresso after a month of using it once a day. Bought new, in the box @ Sears when remodeling kitchen. Makes great, frothy milk though. We've descaled, taken it apart, done everything we're supposed to (and not) to get our coffee fix. Still not working and I'm drinking tea, for goodness sakes. Sorry if I sound a little cranky...

    Click here to add your own comments

    Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to KRUPS Espresso makers .

    footer for coffee maker reviews page