logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Krups KT4065 10 Cup Thermal Coffee maker


Krups? automatic drip machine model KT4065 offers all kinds of advanced features that complement coffee brewing. Its maximum capacity is 12 cups, made of durable stainless steel all over. It measures 12 4/5 inches in height and 8 inches in length.


Most models come with a one-year limited warranty. You can save more energy as with its auto shut off option. It also has a thermal carafe as well as a built-in water filter.

Key features

- Automatic settings are easily programmable, allowing you to schedule brewing times for the weekend and on weekdays.
- The control panel is very easy to adjust, making it easy to view, thanks to its ergonomically advanced design. The programmed functions are easy to navigate through and set.
- The shower head appropriately portions the hot water on the coffee beans, allowing for better extraction of the beans? flavor.
- The advanced brewing system makes use of a 1100-watt powered heating element, brewing your coffee at just the right hot temperature.
- The stainless steel thermal carafe has a 12-cup capacity and is protected with double walled stainless steel.
- The DuoFilter water system cleanses your coffee machine by taking out the dirt and other impurities in the poured water. It also protects the coffee?s taste and the machine?s sustainability.

Advantages

This modern coffee machine is easy to use and delivers efficiently with its basic purpose. The LCD screen is clear, using a high-contrast black and white display. The presets are easy to program, without you having to worry about no coffee as you wake up in the morning.

The startup times are easy to adjust and can be set for later during the weekends when you need more sleep. Coffee is brewed to perfection, blending the bean?s full taste into the hot mix.

Disadvantages

Unfortunately, this model has a problem with its lid and drip functions. It?s not advisable to leave it alone because it?s difficult to pour the coffee into a cup properly. Another challenge is filling up the water.

The carafe is not practically functioning, as it tends to spill the water if you don?t handle it carefully. Some consumers complain about the machine only lasting three months with them. The price is rather expensive and may not be worth the splurge if you haven?t tested it out beforehand.

Pros
- excellently brewed coffee, comparable to French pressed coffee
- easy to program and navigate through touch screen
- stainless steel design is perfect for contemporary designed kitchens

Cons
- one-way valve doesn?t always open properly
- coffee tends to spill from the top of the lid, making a big mess in your kitchen
- only pre-ground coffee can be brewed, not advisable for grinding beans yourself
- water measuring device somewhat inaccurate
- overall design not always efficient and unreliable
- older models are said to be easier to work with, better to not waste your money on its high price

Comments for Krups KT4065 10 Cup Thermal Coffee maker

Average Rating star

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 03, 2012
Rating
star
Designers must have been tea drinkers
by: DAA Coffee Lover

Bought the Krups because of the quality behind the name. What a mistake.
Problem 1 - Fill coffee maker with water. Difficult - the lid doesnt lift high enough to pour from the caraffe into the coffee maker so I ended up using a watering pot with a long spout.
Problem 2 - Pour the coffee.
Again difficult. The caraffe pours ssslllooowww. and the last cup is almost impossible to get as the coffee has to flow thru an opening that is about two inches in diameter in the center top of the caraffe.
Problem 3 - Drink the coffee.
No thanks, by the time the pot is made it is too cool to enjoy. Into the microwave to heat up the fresh cup of coffee.
Problem 4 - Where do I store the coffee maker? This one - No Problem, in the garbage.
Long story short - will never buy a Krup anything.

Dec 27, 2011
Rating
star
Agree - Krups is Krap
by: JD

Bought the KM4065 coffee maker for our cottage. Used it just on weekends, still died after only 3 months. Electrical just completely died - no lights come on when plugged in. Has got to be a defective circuit board or heater fuse; seems to be a consistent quality problem for this model based on all of the complaints to be found online. Will never buy Krups again.

Sep 05, 2011
Rating
star
Krups KT4065
by: Anonymous

Same problem as others are having.

1) Machine just started where it will not turn on/stay on. Push the on button & in a few seconds shuts off.

2) For whatever reason sometimes it leaks all over the counter. Not overfilled or anything, don't know why.

3) The thermal carafe is designed poorly, you cannot pour all the coffee out. Says poor slowly but makes no difference, you can't even get all the coffee out of it.

Going out to buy a new coffee maker and I assure you it will not be a Krups.

Sep 02, 2011
Rating
starstar
Not worth the Money!
by: Anonymous

We are really disappointed with this coffee maker- considering the price! It stopped working (electronic malfunction) 12 months and 3 days after we bought it. The retailer (excellent customer service- especially after the store owner - highly recommended the coffee maker to us!!!), refused to help us. We finally got the manufacturer to repair it. Which they did. We got the maker back 6 weeks later. Well, this morning the maker stopped working - again! It just won't turn on. An electronic malfunction again. Given the price ($120.00) we are very disappointed. Any yes, at times the coffee maker would leak - all over the counter. The lid on the carafe was hard to open. No senior citizen would want this carafe. Come on Krupps -- is this the best you can do?

Aug 17, 2011
Rating
star
Krups Crap!
by: Anonymous

I concur with all the negative comments. You need to buy a cookie sheet with sides to trap the coffee that spews out out the top frequently, sometimes the entire 10 cups! The designer behind this crap should be fired! On a positive note, it is pretty to look at. It is however, barely functional. Put this design up there with spam!

Aug 12, 2011
Rating
star
worst design ever
by: Anonymous

Makes great coffee, but you never know when it will leak all over the counter. When you pour it leaks. Whoever designed this with Kupps should be banned fom the coffe make business. This machine is maddening.

Jun 30, 2011
Rating
star
Waste of money
by: Anonymous

I've had it 6 months and now it won't work. It has spilled coffee all over my counters and it is never hot enough. Don't waste your money.

May 06, 2011
Rating
star
Krups KT4065 cup Thermal Coffee maker
by: Anonymous

I have read all the comment, I have only had this coffee maker for a few days - it has not spilled all over the counter as yet - but it was useful to be warned about this.

It's almost impossible to fill the water and I find that the coffee is not hot enough for my liking.

I have never bought a Krups' product before and never will buy one again.


Mar 29, 2011
Rating
star
Mess-maker
by: Anonymous

I have cleaned up my last coffee mess today! I am placing this coffeemaker in the trash immediately. The brewed coffee does not always go unto the pot, but instead accumulates on the lid, spills onto the counter, and floor. I have learned the hard way you can't leave it unattended while it is brewing. The coffee it brews is pretty good, but not worth the mess!

Mar 10, 2011
Rating
star
Will never buy a Krup Coffee Maker again
by: No Coffee and FRUSTRATED!

After not quite two years with this model we woke up this morning to make coffee and the maker will not stay on!

This happened with the one before, as well but that happened before the year was up. They replaced the coffee maker with this lemon.; so now we don't have coffee again. We won't buy another one, and will likely try a Cuisinart now.

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
star
Don't buy this coffee pot!!!!
by: James Young

I bought what I thought was a great name brand coffee pot. Boy! was I wrong. Everything you have read is true. This thing will ruin every desire for a cup of coffee. The only thing that works is the timer. Yea! they got this right. Please, Please don't buy the Krups, you will not enjoy anything about it. You can't fill it, pour from it, it does not keep the coffee hot very long and if it says it will hold 10 cups you had better not put more than 8 cups of water in it. You will spend all your time cleaning coffee off your counter and floor.

Jan 22, 2011
Rating
star
It leaks
by: Anonymous

We ordered this coffee maker through Airmiles July 2010. At least 50% of the time, within the first two minutes of brewing, the coffee starts to flow out of the top of the lid. It happens, regardless of whether we brew 4 cups or 10. If left unattended, the boiling coffee overflows through the lid and spills all over the kitchen counter. I contacted Krups and they sent a courier to pick it up and ship it back to their office in Ontario for testing. After 3 weeks, without hearing anything from them, I emailed them get a status update. They said they were shipping it back to me. I opened the courier package which contained the coffee maker, and a note from the technician stating that there was no problem found. I immediately plugged the coffee maker in and the first two brewing cycles leaked boiling water everywhere. I videotaped the leaking process and emailed it to Krups. They never replied. I will never purchase a Krups product again. Aside from the poor lid design that causes this leaking problem, and their inability to diagnose the leak, the water reservoir is so narrow that it is difficult to reach in and change the carbon filter.

Jan 21, 2011
Rating
star
Sorry owner
by: Anonymous

piece of crap... dont buy it. You will regret it.
Mark my words.

Sep 28, 2010
Rating
star
just quit...
by: Anonymous

mine just quite working and its only a few months old. Terrible design, bought it online- krups is supposed to be a good quality manufacturer?

Sep 28, 2010
Rating
star
I hate it!!!!!
by: Lila Gattinger

After having a previous Krups coffee maker, I again stuck with the brand.
This is the most frustrating machine I have ever used. Firstly, the water indicator doesn't seem to change color as it fills.............
Secondly, it is difficult to fill the coffee maker as the space allotted is quite small. If you take out the filter basket first........any water that does go awry, comes straight thru and onto the counter.
The biggest disappointment is the carafe!!!!
There was a note enclosed warning me to pour S-L-O-w-L-Y!!! Come on people.......it is virtually impossible to fill a cup without dripping all over. I end up a) taking the lid off, therefore cooling the temperature for subsequent cups.
b) putting the fresh coffee into a $10 Wal-Mart insulated carafe which pour beautifully.
We are in the habit of taking the insulated carafe to the family room where we read the paper each morning and pouring there. Can't do that now, or certainly couldn't pour to guests at the table.
A serious design flaw for a company which prides itself in superior coffee equipment. I am very unhappy with it.

Sep 13, 2010
Rating
starstar
HOW DO YOU FILL THIS THING
by: TONI

the area that holds the water is very small. it's difficult to pour the water from the pot into the brewer

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Krups Coffee Maker Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page