logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Krups KM8105 12 cup Coffeemaker


Automatic drip machine KM8105 is a brand new coffee utility that weighs 9 pounds, with a sturdy 12-cup glass carafe. It costs more or less $125 depending on the dealer, with colors black or white. The KM8105 is made of durable stainless steel, which assures you reliability and protection from external forces.


Key features

- KM8105 has a removable tank and an integrated folding handle. This feature enables easy flow of coffee while filling your cup.
- Water is filtered with the innovative Krups DuoFilter.
- The machine has a large LCD screen with touch screen commands for the programmed functions.
- The front-loading coffee drawer enables hassle-free front access to the brew basket. The brew basket is easily handled with the soft touch handle and is secured via a magnetic safety lock.
- The design is of top quality, using a durable die cast metal body to protect its inner mechanisms. Inside is an efficiently run heating system that lets you have delicious coffee brewed from your own home.
- The advanced electronic functions include auto settings that let you program weekday and weekend start time as well as options that let you maintain coffee heat for 1 to 3 hours.
- An electronic descaling indicator lets you optimize brewing performance and the machine life?s maximum capacity.

Advantages

This coffee maker's positive features give customers an efficient and quick means to have freshly brewed coffee. If you?re fond of progressive, technologically advanced items, then this model is for you.

The stainless steel material assures long lasting protection and slick design in your kitchen. It?s perfect for someone with a contemporary dining or kitchen area. Coffee produced from this brewer is assured to be delicious with the innovative water filtration and adjustable settings. The coffee experience is personalized, thanks to its adjustable programs.

Disadvantages

Obviously, Krups' KM8105 is very costly compared to other models. Only buy this model if you are willing to invest in the advanced technology-based features. Users have reported of the carafe spilling into a mess while they pour the coffee into a cup.

The removable water reservoir is rather large, making it difficult to fit into smaller spaces. The brewed coffee tastes very good but you may have to adjust and get used to the machine before using it properly.



Pros
- brewed coffee tastes excellent
- durable carafe
- removable water reservoir makes it easy to prepare the coffee
- digital display is clear and useful
- easy, programmable functions

Cons
- tall-sized removable water reservoir
- pours coffee too slowly (if poured too fast, it will spill into the cup)
- too expensive, quality does not match up to high price
- not worth the splurge if you cannot pour coffee properly
- customers after practicality and simple features can look for another product
- container handle does not properly support the overall weight

The Krups KM8105 has its advantages and disadvantages. If it?s possible, try looking for a free trial process to know what the model is really like. Ask your peers as well for personal reviews before splurging on this product.

Comments for Krups KM8105 12 cup Coffeemaker

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 29, 2012
Rating
star
Bad carafe and leaks out the bottom
by: Ian in Vancouver

I hate this machine. I have had Krupps replace the caraf but the machine leaks water out the bottom randomly. I have to have the coffee maker sit in a drain board over the sink just in case today is the day it floods. It has caused damage to my cabinets due to it being filled with water and on the timer for the morning. Eight hours later discovering a flood that warped the cabinets. This has happened twice now and I am going out to buy a new coffee maker. Worst appliance purchase ever!!

Nov 10, 2011
Rating
star
very disappointed
by: BMJ

Bought this coffee maker almost 2 years ago. Very poorly designed carafe. Spills all over unless coffee is poured very slowly. Water resevoir constantly leaks. Expected far better quality for the price. The upside is that it does make decent coffee.

Aug 07, 2011
Rating
star
So dissapointed ...
by: Linda M

love KRUPS panini grill and toaster oven .. really dislike coffee pot. pot leaked and i went thru hell getting it replaced even though they knew they had issues. Last night, (bought in Dec 2010), it started leaking. It was the first time I had used it for the full 12 cups .. perhaps why? Not sure, but I haven't had a good cup of coffee from it yet.
Really want my Cuisinart back!

Aug 07, 2011
Rating
star
Please don't buy!
by: Anonymous

I have been a Cuisinart fan for all my appliances for over 30 years. About 4 yrs ago I purchased a Krups Panini Grill & Toaster Oven and I love them both. I decided to go for the coffee maker & grinder last December and sadly I have not had a good cup of coffee since. It's my treat in the morning and for 7 mths I have tried different grinds & coffees and have been so disappointed. I bought the maker because it stated it had the highest temp. rating and I love a hot cup of coffee. The first pot dripped everywhere when poured & I had to fight to get the "new improved" pot delivered to me for no charge. The grinder stopped working and was returned 2 times until I purchased another brand. Best grinder I have ever had is the Cuisinart & I intend to trade in the coffee maker as well ... please don't buy!

Jun 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Blinking light and no coffee
by: Anonymous

I have finally figured out why the light only blinks and will not brew coffee. When you put the filter in the carrier it cannot touch the top or it will blink and not brew. If this happens puch the filter lower into the carrier and it solves the problem.

The maker makes good coffee except for this problem that is easy to solve when you know what to do.

Apr 13, 2011
Rating
star
Worst Coffee Make Ever!
by: Anonymous

This is the worst coffee maker I have ever bought. When it works, it works well. I am on my third one and it just broke as well. The first two just stopped brewing and the latest one just starting leaking water out of the bottom. I am not calling Krups again to have it fixed. It cost’s me $21.00 to ship it to them and then it only works for 2 months and breaks. When I call them, they act like they are doing me a big favor by fixing it.
No more Krups for me!

Mar 24, 2011
Rating
starstar
Leaks from bottom!!!
by: G siedlecki

We rec'd our coffe maker less than a year ago and after maybe the first month we woke up in the morning and there was water everywhere, counter, floor and behind stove. We figure we put the water resevior on wrong so we tried again and again. One day it will work fine and then it will leak water everywhere.Very disappointed with this
coffee machine and I will call Krups customer service today to complain. The coffee taste very good but you have to wait for awhile for it to finish making the coffee.

Mar 14, 2011
Rating
star
Machine Leaks
by: Anonymous

We are now about to return our 2nd coffee maker in 4 months. Nice that we can get a replacement, but what is the point of only having use of it for a few weeks before it starts to leak? We love the way the coffee tastes but again, why is up with the leaking from the base? Very disappointed in Krups, and I bet their stock holders are too!

Jan 15, 2011
Rating
star
It should be called Kraps
by: Sammy

1 year later the coffee maker just stopped working. In between I had to have them send me the replacement carafe for the coffee all over the counter problem. After 2 months the blue backlight went out, but who cares. After 7 months the tank leaks all over the place, tried cleaning and all that but still leaks by morning time. And now 1 year and 2 weeks later it just stopped working all together. Luckily I saved my trusty 20 year old Braun for vacation trips and made me a cup of coffee this morning. Huge disappointment.

Nov 19, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Replacement Carafe
by: Anonymous

We initially had a problem with the leaking carafe. One call to Customer Service yielded a redesigned carafe which does not "dribble" when we pour!

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Your pot needs descaling
by: Anonymous

Buy the descaling solution and run it through to unplug it.

Nov 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
no 12 cups
by: Anonymous

My krups maker is only 2 yrs old and when I add 12 cups of water I get 10 cups of coffee--anyone know why?

Oct 22, 2010
Rating
star
spills
by: Anonymous

coffee spills fast or slow

Oct 11, 2010
Rating
starstar
Takes forever to brew
by: Anonymous

My Wife has had it with the machine, looking to take it back. Yes it does make good coffee. I can live with the poor carafe design and the clumsy water reservoir but taking 25~30 minutes for coffee is ridiculous with something this costly....

Sep 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Good machine when it works
by: Rita

I am on my 4th machine.
The first 3 would run the water once through to clean the system then when you put coffee in the machine and try to press the on button it would only blink and not make coffee.
I phoned Krups and they said to retun it because it should just go on.
The caraf pours fine on this one and it seems to work.
It makes good coffee.
I would give it a 5 if this one continues to work. As of now I am so frustrated that I am giving it a 3.

Aug 30, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Spills
by: Gary E

Makes great tasting coffee.The best I've had from a household coffee maker.The carafe always spills
or dribbles no matter how fast or slow it is poured.
That's the only part that needs to be fixed.

Jul 25, 2010
Rating
star
Carafe spills
by: Anonymous

We bought one yesterday and like everything about it except the terrible carafe design that makes spilling while pouring virtually impossible. I can't understand why a company like Krups would not fix such an easy to fix (from an engineering perspective)problem on an otherwise great system. It's not that design of coffee carafes that pour properly is at the cutting edge of technology. It goes back to the store this afternoon.

Jun 20, 2010
Rating
starstar
The good and Bad
by: Anonymous

I just purchased the above model number from Krups; and, I am just about ready to return it. The coffee taste is excellent, and I love the features, EXCEPT the carafe does not pour correctly, and the coffee spills all over the place. The aggravation is not worth the added features. I have just emailed Krups. But, at this point, I am planning on returning the machine if they can't provide a different carafe that works correctly.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Krups Coffee Maker Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page