logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Krups KM7000 Grind-and-Brew


Krups’ KM7000 is an advanced specialty coffee machine, guaranteeing consumers aromatic and delicious coffee brews. The overall structure is very large and heavy, using a black chrome design. The design is perfect for modern kitchens.


It is quite easy to use compared to other technology-heavy coffee machines. Customers emphasize the ease of setting the program features, particularly the ability to make small to large batches of coffee.

Key features

- A conical burr grinder blends the coffee according to cup measurement indicated.
- Grind strengths are up to five levels while coffee strength has three options.
- Cup settings range from 2, 4, 6, 8 to 10 digital settings, maintained via a coffee-to-water ratio measurement.
- Automatic settings stop the steam from clogging the coffee grinder and channel.
- Coffee grinding and blending can be paused to accommodate immediate drinking.
- Glass carafe has a 10-cup capacity.
- The aroma function accommodates small brews of two to four cups.
- LCD is back lit with a built-in clock and timer that is programmable.
- Brewing can be paused for a moment if a need to serve coffee arises.

Advantages

This model is built with sturdy material, assuring protection of its advanced brewing features. The carafe’s plastic cover is durable as well, lasting longer and assuring you of no future damage. Levers on the bottom are easy to manipulate, making it less difficult to move it around the kitchen.

The programmable features are easy to figure out, unlike other models that try too hard with their high-tech advancements. It isn’t as noisy as other machines while brewing, assuring you no extra noise to wreck your early morning breakfast.

Disadvantages

The model is not perfect and has some downsides. Serious coffee drinkers would prefer a larger capacity. There’s also the lack of a warming plate and the incomplete functions of the purifier. The said purifier is only able to remove large impurities and chlorine in the water.

You may also be unsure about the measurements as the program does not specify the amount of ground coffee used for each cup. It is only adjustable with a set of symbols instead of actual, measurable calibrations.

There’s also the issue of more plastic used in some areas instead of aluminium or stainless steel. It would also help if the model included a thermal carafe. Some may not think the features are worth it given the high cost.

Pros
- Easy to understand programmable features
- Bright, crisp, and clear LCD screen
- Nice modern design
- Uses six to eight water streams for ground coffee (similar to Starbucks)
- Beans are not humidified in the hopper

Cons
- Hopper has a small, ineffective size
- Preferable if the hopper was airtight or opaque
- No thermal carafe included in the model
- Carafe tends to spill coffee on its side
- Purifier does not take out enough little particles or other impure chemicals
- Carafe markings tend to disappear after a few months

Comments for Krups KM7000 Grind-and-Brew

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 09, 2012
Rating
star
Broken after 6 months
by: Anonymous

We love the coffee when the machine works...but after only 6 months its broken making the cost per cup astronomical. Thanks for all the comments here they are very helpful.

Feb 07, 2012
Rating
star
Automatic brew door jammed after 4 months
by: Anonymous

Purchased 9/2011 mid-month
Woke to overflow of water last week.Door to unit is jammed and can't open
to change filter or make coffee :()( Its been 4 months
for the price paid I am very unhappy

When I registered it didn't even ask for serial # or Model on Krups website..Wierd ??

I will call on Monday but did notice no repair service near me I am in NH.

Most likely I will be shipping this one out..But in the mean time What am I to do for a back up of coffee ???

I think I am going to buy a better brand & when I get this replaced give it away to someone

Jan 30, 2012
Rating
star
Piece of Crap!
by: Frustrated

All I can say is, I will NEVER buy Krups product again. It's been nothing more than a wild goose chase that Krups Canada put me through. My stress level is so high right now!! I'm writing off this bad buy of $180 and moving on to a coffee machine that's MADE IN CANADA!!!

Jan 27, 2012
Rating
star
Total Crap
by: Anonymous

Like other said...the machine lasted us a year and then stopped brewing. Not worth the $150 we had to spend to get it.

Dec 16, 2011
Rating
star
Same issue with not working
by: Anonymous

The machine worked fine for about 3 years, but then this morning it would only grind the beans. The on/off light was still on, but no water heating, dripping, brewing, nothing.

To fix it, I would have to mail it to a service center, then wait as the others have posted.

Was the coffee good? Yes. But was the machine worth $180/3years? No.

Dec 08, 2011
Rating
star
Krups should have issued a recall for KM7000
by: Peter

I had the 3rd., yes the the 3rd. replacement unit (I have had total of 4 Krups KM 7000s, when you include the first one that I bought at a store) die on me for the same reason, the water stops cycling and the hotplate will not get hot anymore. I even wrote a letter to Krups and about a week or so later I got a call from a guy who said he was the customer service manager at Krups. Basically, he told me that it was my fault for keeping the unit on for the allowed 2 hours, after that it shuts itself off. I pointed that out to him, but that did not really seem to resonate with him. I'm very disappointed with Krups and their quality.

Nov 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good but with issues.
by: Anonymous

I have had two of these. First one died, would grind but not brew. Bought a new one and the same thing happened after about a year of use. Researched the problem and found that it is a common issue where the thermal fuses blow. Ordered the fuses and replaced them. I am drinking a cup of coffee from the machine as I type this note. Repair in parts, $5.00. Time: 1 hr. Beats the price of a new machine.

Nov 17, 2011
Rating
star
JUNK
by: Anonymous

I have owned two of these coffee makers and BOTH have died. They grind but will not brew. Thought it was a fluke the first time but now the second one is doing the same thing. I found this is a common problem about a year into use. Time to find a new brewer! KRUPS stinks!

Nov 02, 2011
Rating
star
Definitely a rip-off
by: D.Crete

PS: For those who do not enjoy the product, please be careful not to give it a 5 stars.
My advice: Do not buy. It dies in more or less one year. They are all the same. There are articles on the web that describe the problem. In gross, there is a thermal fuse in them that fail under normal operationg condition. The blown fuse will then prevent the element from heating. And no element heating = no coffee brewing. You may give it a try to repair it yourself if you have an electrical engineer talent: http://mark.koli.ch/2010/03/fixing-broken-krups-km7000-coffee-maker-triangle-head-tamper-proof-screws-too.html

Jun 21, 2011
Rating
star
4 coffee makers !!!!!
by: Anonymous

My wife and I were given the first of these coffee makers for Christmas 1 1/2 years ago. Right out of the box the clock was broken and after being set it would not advance. We shipped it back and got a replacement from Krups about 6 weeks later. That one worked fine (for about 3 months) until the heating element burned out and wouldn't brew any longer. After going round and round with customer service I finally got the third coffee maker 3-4 months later. The third coffee maker lasted about 9 months until the heating element went out on that one too. I am now waiting on my 4th coffee maker in about 1 1/2 years.
Krups customer service wasn't bad the first time but not very impressive either. The second time I had to call twice to get a shipping label and also had to wait because the machine was on back order. This last time They are now snail mailing me a "repair letter" because I didn't have a purchase receipt. Of course I don't have a receipt, IT WAS MY 2ND REPLACEMENT. I don't really expect the 4th coffee maker to work much better than the last 3 but maybe it will get me through until we can buy something from someone who knows what they are doing.
If all of this had happened with an inexpensive coffee maker I would probably just say "you get what you pay for" but that obviously doesn't seem to be the case with Krups.

Jun 08, 2011
Rating
starstar
Worked great for a year
by: Anonymous

I loved this thing for a year, then the heating element crapped out and Krups told me to take a hike. I will never purchase a Krups item again

May 21, 2011
Rating
starstar
Krups Heating Element Issues
by: Anonymous

Like other raters, the heating element went after 18 months. Great coffee while it lasted but at the price you would expect it to last longer

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
No Good
by: Angry this Morning

This machine is expensive and did not last a year before the water pump went. The grinder still works, but who cares I need the pump for brewing coffee.

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
Crap not Krups
by: Anonymous

Ours died too - way too soon! Title says it all.

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
star
DONT BE FOOLED BY COOL DESIGN: JUNK!
by: Anonymous

Like most people, I suspect, the idea of *freshly-ground* coffee every morning and the German worksmanship/brand reputation of Krups lured me in. (I'd had a Krups Espresso Machine before and it was pretty good.)

Of course, in reality the machine is mass-produced in China. Even with the cool grinder, the sheer amount of plastic kind of says "Hi, I'm really not going to last." That being said, again, the damn coolnesss of the 6am grind while Im still in bed got me. That, and the KM7000 reviews seemed Good to Very Good; i.e. I HAD NOT FOUND AND READ THE COMMENTS ON THIS SITE.

Anyway, now it appears most owners seem to report a 5 - 15 month honeymoon before either the water pump or heating plate fails. Well, I was brewing 10 cups every morning for...7 WEEKS before the damn water pump FAILED!!!

That's not even 50 mornings of coffee! So 490 cups killed the water pump! Ridiculous.

So, yeah, now it's ship at my expense or drive to Scarborough from downtown Toronto (uh...think Bronx and Manhattan?) and back to get, according to more seasoned victims here, another few months before breakdown #2.

Chinese piece of sh*t. AVOID!

Get one of the upscale Italian machines. F Krups.

They shoulda stuck to artillery shells.

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
star
Do not BUY it!
by: Anonymous

After a few months using it, its stoped working. Something was wrong with the heating elements. I sent it for repair in Arkansas. It came back working like a new, but it only last for two months. Now the grinder doesn't work and the coffee maker is out of warranty. I was expecting something better for the price I paid for a coffee maker.

Mar 04, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of junk
by: Upset

The Krups Girnd and Brew is a piece of crap.
breaks down every 3 month I send it in they send a new one. On my fourth machine which stopped heating this morning.
Never again Krups.

Mar 02, 2011
Rating
star
Badly made - no real warranty - repairs very, very slow
by: Anonymous

Buttons stopped working on panel. Grinder constantly jammed. Water leaked. Hard to clean properly. Replacement parts take months. Have to pay shipping and handling in warranty. Krups said they were overwhelmed with repairs. Took it apart to repair and I can see why it breaks down all the time. Nobody at Krups seemed to care.

Feb 27, 2011
Rating
star
Stay away from it too many problems
by: Joe T.

Fortunalely i did not spend money on it but got it by using Priority Club points from stays at Holiday Inn hotels. Makes a great cup of coffee when using the grind and brew with fresh beans of your choice. After 5 month water started coming out from the bottom of it. Still under warranty I ended up shipping it to Arkansas for repairs. It was a loose hose going from the water tank to the heating element. Well now,17 months after getting it, it quit heating water and the heating element quit working. After searching online for answers I discovered it was the thermo fuse which is a very common occurance. Great article by Mark Kolich which shows how to fix it for you do it your selfers. So I am off to see if I can fix it, if not it is definitely going in the trash cause ain't nothing worse than not having your coffee in the morning! LOL

Jan 28, 2011
Rating
star
KM 7000 has defective thermal fuse
by: Anonymous

After having spent 167 bucks for the KM7000, two months later I wake up one morning to no coffee. Needless to say I was not happy. I contacted customer service, they indicated I have to send it in. I asked them to issue a UPS call tag for pickup then I'll also have a box that will reduce the chance of shipping damage. The tech supp person said this is against their policy. So I summarized, I have to find a box somewhere, pack this machine, deliver it to UPS, Pay UPS and wait until I receive it back. Tech supp said "That's correct".

As the coffee maker does make an excellent cup of coffee, reliability of this coffee maker is in question.

For a high end coffee maker, KRUPS sure has poor customer service. Maybe the garbage man can salvage something from this piece of junk. I won't miss the coffee ground overspray all over the counnter either.

Upon investigating the heating coil, I found the thermal fuse appears to be underated and was open. This may be intentional to drive service revenue.

Several friends of mine use the Cuisinart equivilent. Some have had owned Cuisinart for years without incident. Goodby Krups.

Purchase at your own risk.

Jan 13, 2011
Rating
star
EXPENSIVE JUNK
by: Anonymous

I have had this coffee maker for less than a year and I have sent it to be repaired 3 times. Krups customer service is less than pleasant to deal with, and I am out a lot of money and time to deal with this junk of a machine. Do not waste your time or money on this pot. BUT if you do decide to buy it save your original receipt. When you send it in to KRUPS for repair, you must have your receipt

Dec 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Absolutely a great product
by: Anonymous

Pros
- has scheduling feature
- has slick features

Cons
- price does not fit every budget but a worthy investment
- its height makes it hard to take out of view

The Krups KM7000 coffeemaker enhances the natural flavor of every coffee bean into every sip you take. I have been using this product for a few months and have not yet encountered any problems with this product. Absolutely a great product and a must have for the kitchen. The built-in schedule maker allows you to become more fixable in the busy morning before work. No more waking up extra early to set the coffee maker, now it can all be done automatically and effortlessly.

My mornings are pretty hectic which involve ironing dress shits to ties for daily business meetings, while my wife has to drive our children to school every morning. So we both don’t have the luxury of setting up our coffeemaker in the morning. We pre-set the maker the night before to wake up with the fresh and vibrating smell of fresh made coffee at home.

The price of the KM7000 is not outrageous, but reasonable for its services. Ranging from the mid one hundreds this product is also not cheap. However, every morning you save tons by not wasting your money on outrageously high priced coffees made by “professional” machines, but enjoying an equally tasteful coffee made at home which also saves you the trip.

Dec 05, 2010
Rating
starstar
Do not buy
by: Anonymous

Bought this model in april 2010, after 2 months the spring fell off the coffee holder. In 6 mos. the grinder worked, but it quit working. Expensive and not worth the price of $249.

Dec 03, 2010
Rating
star
I agree...don't buy Krupps
by: For Krupps Sake

We just recently bought a Krupps KM7000 Grind-and-brew. We bought it in September - I have only brewed 5 pots of coffee in it. When I went to use it this morning...it wouldn't work. The grinder worked but then it wouldn't brew the coffee. I am not a happy camper when I don't have my morning coffee - so after a quick trip to Tim's (for we Canadians) and a few unmentionable oaths - I am now stuck with a beautiful new coffee machine that isn't worth the poweder to blow it to hades. I am going to see what they can do about it but after reading the stories on here, I fear I am out my $180+ One helluva expensive pot of coffee.

Nov 11, 2010
Rating
star
Great while it worked -- terrible customer service
by: JimVA

Like many others, I thought this brewed some of the best coffee I've had. Then the coffee maker came toward the end of its warranty... I took in for repair as instructed by Krups, and got it back in worse condition than before. I contacted the repair center, and the best they could offer is there is not much they can do about this product. I called Krups to ask what I could do about this, and they said to just keep taking it back to the same place. If you don't mind blowing a couple hundred dollars for a year of good coffee, this is the way to go; if you're like most and expect a little reliability and customer service for this kind of money, look elsewhere.

Sep 26, 2010
Rating
star
Defective Pump
by: Kathy

I purchased my 1st KRUPS coffee pot from Krups 2 years ago based off reviews on the internet and the grinder attachment. 8 mths into using it, the pump quit working and would not drip the coffee. I had to write to the BBB for resolution. The maker was sent on to Orlando for repair 8 weeks went by and no answer on status. I continued to complain to BBB and finally after 12 weeks and return call from CSR @ KRUPS. The repair shop said to just send me anoter maker. 3 weeks later I received another maker, and again into my 8mth of using the coffee maker it stopped working again! I know they will not replace it nor honor the warrenty. DO NOT BUY A KRUPS, THEY DO NOT STAND BEHIND THE WORKMANSHIP NOR WARRENTY. EVERYTHING IS AT YOUR EXPENSE

Jul 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Great Coffee Maker, until it died...
by: Jon

As most have commented here, this is a great coffee maker. It grinds beans on several settings, lets you adjust strength of the coffee, cups, aroma, etc.

It was a fantastic machine........that is until it stopped working one morning, and I found out why.


Basically the heating element went on the brewer about 17-18 months after purchase. So like everyone else, it died shortly after the warranty of a year was up. The heating element is a major issue in this machine, and yet the company seems to think its ok to continue selling it, and letting the customer pay to repair (and ship!!) only a year after buying it.

If you also think paying $180 for a coffee maker that lasts 1 year is ok, then buy this. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

Jul 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Heating Element Failure
by: Bill

Had this unit 1 year 2 months. Started brew cycle one morning and about 10 seconds it it stopped. Tried everything to re-start found out that these are notorious for heating element failures. Contacted Krups Customer service and was told it was out of warranty. Called service company was told 6 weeks plus for repairs. I pay shipping both ways. They also explained that if parts are required from Krups they must order them and repair time could be longer.
Conclusion - absolutely terrible Customer Service and Repair Service for a $180.00 coffee pot.

May 15, 2010
Rating
star
Diapointed
by: Anonymous

The heating element went out after 3 months. Had the machine changed under waranty and the second one went after 10 months. No more waranty because it is one year from the date of initial purchase.
The very short life heating element is a common problem on this 'made in China' product. Don't get caught ! Do not buy.

Apr 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
worth the price!
by: Pavan

-Purchased from: Amazon.com

-Have owned for 5 months (Purchased in Late May 2008)

This is by far the best grind and brew maker I've ever owned. The previous ones I have owned, by Cusinart, had two main issues:

1) You have to wash the grinder assembly each time - takes all the joy out of the coffee experience

2) The grind cannot be adjusted, and it's a simple blade grinder

The Krups KM7000 fixes the first problem with a unique swing cover that prevents steam from penetrating the bean chamber. Works great even when using the auto-on timer.

Additionally, the grind can be adjusted for both strength and coarseness - and the beans are ground with a Burr grinder - the best way to do it. It stores about 10 cups worth of beans in the covered hopper, so you there's no constant measuring and refilling, another unique feature.

It was slightly pricey, but well worth it - still cheaper than a month of takeout coffee, not to mention more convenient. The build quality is quite solid, much more substantial feeling and elegant in appearance vs. the Cusinart grind n' brew units.

The one thing I would highly recommend is to use a gold filter instead of the paper ones - seems to allow oils to get through better, which makes the coffee taste linger longer.


Mar 11, 2010
Rating
star
Piece of junk
by: dissapointed

I only had this coffee maker for a few months when the heating element went out. Sent it to Krups authorized repair center at my expense and after several weeks with no response, I was told on several occasions that it would be "repaired and shipping soon." I finally contacted Krups and received the coffee maker after a few days. It was damaged and had more problems than when I sent it for repair. Response from Krups was "I'm sorry but that's between you and the repair facility." I would strongly discourage this purchase.

Mar 01, 2010
Rating
starstar
Died too soon
by: Anonymous

after 22 months, stopped pumping water. Until then I was happy with it, but I expected more out of a Krups product.

Dec 26, 2009
Rating
starstar
Not what we hoped for
by: Anonymous

We used to have the Cuisinart that you had to clean after EVERY use. That was horribly unenjoyable. We got this one about 3 months ago. Although it was better than the Cuisinart, it sprays grinds all over the counter when it closes. And now the heating element doesn't work. Which means the whole thing doesn't work. It won't brew at all because the element to heat the water doesn't work, so it grinds and then just sits there. VERY unhappy. Although the Cuisinart was a pain, at least it did what it was suppose to, BREW COFFEE, for years.

Aug 28, 2009
Rating
star
disappointed
by: Anonymous

Received this coffee maker last christmas (08)just before the six month warranty expired so did the machine. The grinder stopped grinding. Spent $35.00 to have it shipped to be fixed. It was returned to me in about 2 weeks. About a month later I sent it back because the heating element stopped working. I demanded that they pay for the shipping, which they did. It was returned in about 2 weeks. Now, it continues to grind when the top closes. Pretty sure I will shopping this weekend for new coffee maker. It did make a good cup of coffee.

May 10, 2009
Rating
star
KM 7000 8 Months later
by: Anonymous

From my point of view after having this coffee maker for 8+ months I hope they have a better version down the road.

The grinder does an excellent job of even grinds. The auto timer is great to wake up to fresh just made coffee.. When all things work.

Like others, I too have grounds scattered on my counter after the grinding phase and the lid closes. It’s not a huge issue because I always have a cleaning towel on the counter just for this purpose.

After 8 months of use, the no stick surface under the pot has worn down to bear metal in certain areas. The lid does not always close automatically, it is very intermittent and not frequent, but is annoying.

Alas my KM7000 has now completely failed to brew at all and will be brought into service tomorrow. Press the on/off button the red light comes on, you hear a tick inside the machine and nothing happens.

It is hard to explain, but trying to nail a smooth cup of coffee is very difficult with this machine. If you like strong coffee it’s a good fit if you are lucky to get a quality machine from the factory.

After trying several brands of coffee such as Starbucks, Green Mountain, William Spartivento, and a host of others breakfeast blends, light roast ratings, Blue Mountain beans and with the KM7000s light bean setting running through the 5 grinder settings fine - med - course it was difficult to dial in a smooth light cup. Green Mountain Our Blend and a couple of others were the closest but still lacked the smoothness that even lower coffee makers can produce.

Water to bean measurement is off, I pour an extra cup of water to equal the final result expected after brewing. Coffee temperature after brewing seems good, but did not run a thermometer to see what the result was.

I would even put up with the "not finding the perfect cup" yet. It could be my own fault and not the machines, but I will not tolerate poor quality for a rather expensive brewer/grinder.
On average the KM7000 is run three times/day first in the morning 10 cups, afternoon 6 cups, evening 6 cups.

Frankly I would toss this thing in the garbage, but since it is under warranty, I will get it repaired and give it one more shot.

Will be purchasing a Bunn tomorrow as I expect the KM 7000 to be gone for months in service.

Mar 30, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Grind and Brew
by: Coffeguy

Grind and Brew is the best kind of coffee anyone can get!
I love this maker's machines as they are easy to operate compared to some other brands.
Here is another machine with user reviews:
http://www.consumer-productreviews.com/home-appliances/d-
elonghi-primadonna-bean-to-cup-espresso-maker.html

Mar 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Well designed and constructed.
by: Anonymous

I purchased the Krups km 7000 grind and brew coffee maker. I have always enjoyed Krups machinery and have had nothing but success with this manufacturer, so when time came to buy a new one I made sure it was a Krups. As I find typical with Krups it is well designed and constructed.

The Krups grind and brew is very easy to set up and program. I find that the coffee maker is easy to clean as well. Because the grinds go directly into the basket and not into the water reservoir, I have less of a mess to clean up from my husband.

The grind and brew is surprisingly quiet when grinding coffee beans. My husband always would wake me up when he used a coffee bean grinder (4 am), but this one does not wake me up which that feature alone makes it worth it. You have 5 grinding options on this machine as well so you are bound to find the one that works for you. I have all black appliances in my kitchen and this machine fits right in on the counter.

The Krups coffee maker makes one of the best cups of coffee I have ever had. The coffee is very hot and as strong or weak as you like it (light, medium or rich). There are 3 brewing options to choose from. Just figure out what tastes best for you by doing a few test pots of coffee, then once you have decided on a strength set it and you are done.

Ideally the coffee bean hopper should be big enough to hold a standard bag of beans, sadly it is not which surprises me in the obvious design flaw.

I highly recommend the Krups grind and brew coffee maker and if you are in the market for one, do not hesitate to pick this model up!



Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Krups Coffee Maker Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page