logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Krups KM4065 Programmable 12 Cup Coffee Maker


Krups’ KM4065 is a smaller but equally advanced version of the other automatic drip machine models. Major features include a 12-cup maximum capacity, a built-in water filter, and an auto shut off option.


Coffee addicts with busy schedules can set the programs on this model, taking out the worry of having no caffeine fuel for the next day. Let’s take a look at some of this coffee maker's various features and what each detail has to offer.

Key features

- Krups' KM4065 has an idiot-friendly control panel, which is very easy to navigate and figure out, thanks to its button-heavy features. Consumers not used to touch screen will benefit from this feature.
- The LCD screen is clear and easy to read, thanks to the black on white display. The contrast is high, enabling users to quickly understand the menu options available.
- The control panel is the first thing you will see, thanks to its front angle and location on top of the coffee pot.
- Coffee is well-brewed using a cycle that brings out the coffee’s full flavor. You’ll definitely be waking up to the sweet and sensual smell of caffeine in the morning.
- The whole machine is made of brushed stainless steel.
- The stainless steel makeup is complemented by carbon grey trim.

Advantages

KM4065’s main advantage is its easy to use control panel. On the go coffee drinkers won’t have to worry about having no coffee in the morning by programming the brew time accordingly. Consumers won’t have to worry about bad-tasting coffee either, thanks to the advanced brewing cycle and the built-in water filter.

These two aspects work hand in hand to ensure you have amazing coffee to wake you up in the morning. This is definitely the machine for a coffee snob who can’t stand badly brewed coffee sold in commercial stores. You can keep the coffee’s heat for about one to two hours using the 12-cup glass carafe settings. Coffee grounds are readily removed with the auto lift brew basket.

Disadvantages

The main disadvantage to this model is its price. For such a high cost, the model doesn’t include a thermal carafe. Some people may have difficulty understanding the program settings. This makes the model more suitable for younger generations used to technology.

Otherwise, you may have an easier time using a manually set coffee machine. The carafe is quite light, and you have to be careful with its flimsy cover. Handle the outer steel material with care, as too much pressing will cause fingerprints.

Pros
- the design is sleek and goes well with any kind of kitchen decor
- top door opens efficiently and has a stable design
- four filters are used, ensuring the water applied to your coffee is clean and brings out the beans’ full flavor
- carafe pours coffee into the cup smoothly, without spilling

Cons
- programmed functions need to be studied well before being assigned
- carafe has a weak cover.
- main button doesn’t deliver in terms of durability.

Comments for Krups KM4065 Programmable 12 Cup Coffee Maker

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 03, 2012
Rating
star
Don't buy
by: Anonymous

My Krups coffeemaker stopped working within 3 months of purchase. Although I was able to send for repair under warranty, I've been stuck with drinking instant coffee in the meantime (yuck!), as they are saying it will take at least a month to repair and return it. Now THAT is not customer service. If someone purchased an item from me that was defective within a few months, I would replace it immediately.

Aug 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Review
by: Anonymous

Loved the coffee, no trouble with spills. Liked the aroma setting for small batches. Easy to program. Never had water on counter from when it brewed or filters dropping over. Would have been perfect except it died after 3 months. I bought a Calphalon thermal to replace it. What a mess, water all over when I brewed it, filter collapsing. The worst part is you need patience, glasses and a steady hand to align the top to the lock position which it needs to be in when you brew, then it needs to go to another position for pour. I so miss my Krups, only complaint is it didn't last. Wonder if I just happened to get a lemon.

Mar 29, 2012
Rating
star
worse ever coffee maker
by: Anonymous

worse coffee maker.quit after 2 months.be warned!

Feb 23, 2012
Rating
starstar
Does not measure up to its price tag
by: Anonymous

We bought this coffee maker 3 weeks ago and will be returning it for a different brand. You can’t pour coffee out of the carafe without making a mess on your counter. No markings anywhere to let you know how much water you’ve poured into the reservoir. Very expensive for the lack of quality on this unit. Back to the store for a different brand

Feb 11, 2012
Rating
starstar
fast but flawed
by: Anonymous

The carafe is flawed. Impossible to fill or pour without making a mess. Poorly designed!

Feb 10, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
3rd broken filter basket
by: Kyle

My wife's the coffee drinker in the house and I believe she's happy with the coffee made by our Krups KM406. The part that annoys me is that I'm now ordering our 3rd replacement plasti basket filter in less than 2 years. The 1st broke when our daughter dropped it in the sink while hand washing dishes. It fell about 12" (300mm). The 2nd one broke when my wife put it in the dish pan to be washed with the other dishes. Tonight, I'm ordering the 3rd filter basket. If it weren't for this 1 item that keeps breaking I think she'd be happy to recommend it to anyone.

Dec 17, 2011
Rating
star
Poor
by: Olivia

I just purchased the KM4055, same as 4065. It is clumsy, awkward to use. The coffee lacks flavor, no matter how much I use. I'd return it, but it was free delivery. I do not wish to pay return fees. I called Krups for an instruction guide. Never heard from them or received the guide. Figured it out except how to program it. Worst purchase I've made this year.

Oct 18, 2011
Rating
star
FILLING THE COFFEE MAKER
by: Anonymous

I have just purchased the KM4065 , this being my 4th Krups coffee maker always been happy with it BUT this new model is so badly designed to fill with water, the opening on the side is very small and limited, you cannot empty the carafe completely as one is unable to tip it right over. Wish I had kept the old one!!!!!

Jun 27, 2011
Rating
star
slow to make - slow to pour
by: Anonymous

Now I may just be too used to a bunn so that may be the reason i think this one is too slow -- but ... the darn carafe is the worst design EVER -- you have to nearly just drip it out of the spout so you don't pour it all over the counter. I am not patient enough, so every morning I wipe the counter after i pour half as much on the counter as i do in the cup. Go get a bunn

May 04, 2011
Rating
star
2+ months---and dead
by: Jean

I wish I'd have read this page BEFORE instead of AFTER my problems. Sound to me like everyone has the same problems I had before it died after making one cup of 12 today. Needless to say no more Krups for me & I'll read reviews until I'm blue in the face before I purchase another coffeemaker. When I looked on the bottom of machine I noticed it was MADE IN CHINA. Makes sense, doesn't it? Had a dependable Krups for at least 10 years, obviously not made in china!

Apr 27, 2011
Rating
star
1 month really??
by: Lisa

Bought this coffee maker less than one month ago. This morning the coffee was lukewarm although the light was still on. I thought I would just brew a new pot. No luck, won't brew either. Officially dead. My husband hates that he can't pour a single cup of coffee ever without the carafe leaking. Must pour very slowly or this happens every time. Will be returning this product today, not to buy another. Not satisfied in any way. Will not buy another Krups product!

Apr 27, 2011
Rating
star
Early Death
by: Wired

The good news is I no longer have to put up with the pouring mess mentioned in other reviews. The bad news is it died (quit brewing) after three months. No more Krups for me.

Feb 27, 2011
Rating
starstar
Stuck with it..
by: SLW

Just before Christmas I was doing my homework and reading multiple reviews on coffee makers as our 10+ year old Mr. Coffee was ready to retire. My husband bought me this Krup as a gift but I remembered many of the comments about it such as "hard to read fill line", "messy to fill with water", "messy to pour out of decanter". I'm living all of these issues and would not have purchased it on my own. It does make a good cup of coffee but you don't get all of that coffee because quite a lot of it will drip onto the mandatory napkin I have to put down to protect the counter. I gave it the benefit of the doubt and have tried daily to master pouring a cup of coffee without spilling but to date I have not found a way.
Good coffee but very messy.

Jan 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I really love it
by: Anonymous

I looked at the previous reviews and was skeptical however liked the way the machine looked and was looking for something that looked good and produced great coffee. Yes the pot is a bit delicate so I fill the water with a measuring cup instead. The level of water that is inside instead of out works well and adds to the look of the machine on the outside.

The best part though is that it brews great coffee! The machine is strong and durable and I expect it will last a long time. It is expensive but I waited for that one weekend sale to buy it. If you love coffee then it is worth it.

Jan 14, 2011
Rating
starstar
NOT A GOOD MACHINE
by: Anonymous

Bought while away on holidays,$125.00 everytime you pour from it you get more coffee on the counter than in the cup.After one month of owning this machine the heat plate started chipping,the plate isn't hot so the coffee isn't. For the price we paid I am not impressed,it is not a good machine.

Jan 12, 2011
Rating
star
Inconvenient, inaccurate
by: Karen

The Krups Model No. KM406555/5CA-1510 (Type KM406) coffee maker is not made for accuracy or convenience.

Inconveniences:
• The carafe cannot be put into the dishwasher.
• The display light is painfully bright at night, making it unpleasant to enter a dark kitchen, and making it difficult to see anything else in the kitchen because of its glare and disruption of ocular dark-adaptation.
• The plastic filter-holder is dishwasher-safe. However, in removal from the dishwasher, it drips quite a bit of water from its inferior “plunger”

Inaccuracies:
● Water filled into the coffee maker can be as much as 10 ounces off of the desired amount. It is impossible to fill accurately.
○ Each “cup” of coffee equals 5 oz.
○ The gauge showing water filled into the maker is not gradual.
○ The gauge is small.
○ Every two cups it suddenly changes color from light gray to dark gray (somewhat difficult to see).
- Thus, it is impossible to see if one has filled 3 cups or 5 cups, and even at the 4 and 6 cup levels, one cannot see accurately exactly how much has been filled.

Difficulties with use:
● The lid cannot be removed from the carafe
○ Hand-washing and drying is more difficult than necessary
○ Placement in dish drain is cumbersome/inefficient
● Pouring a full pot of water into the coffee maker is difficult. The carafe must be raised far above the open lid of the maker or it cannot be tipped up to empty the carafe. The non-removable lid makes this even more difficult. The opening one must then aim for becomes too small from that distance for accurate pouring, especially in the morning before coffee.
● The small, poorly-visible gauge showing the level/amount of water that has been poured into the maker is, as stated, small and not easily seen.
○ It requires a brightly lit room.
○ At 5’4” tall, I must stand on tip-toe to see it clearly.
● Spilling when pouring: I have made coffee for over 30 years. This may be the worst carafe I have ever poured from. One must pour very slowly, or it begins to spill around the sides and drip onto the counter and down the pot, making quite a mess.

If one had no other way to make coffee, this appliance would be serviceable. However, the old-fashioned method of pouring the hot water yourself over the filter atop a carafe or cup is much more convenient.

Jan 06, 2011
Rating
star
Broke Twice!
by: Anonymous

I got this as a wedding gift and after 3 months (of coffee spilling all over the place every time that I tried to pour a cup) the damn thing stopped brewing. I figured that we got a bad one so I took it back and got the same model again. After 3 months the maker had the EXACT SAME PROBLEM!!! I am taking mine back and buying a completely new brand. Thank god McDonalds has $1 any size coffee right now!

Dec 12, 2010
Rating
star
Disaster
by: Sandy

I owned this coffee pot for almost 1 month. I finally decided today that it had to go back. I was sick and tired of cleaning up the spilled water from trying to pour it into the tank and, worse, the coffee almost no matter how carefully we poured. Add to that the fact that the coffee in the basket splashed up into the top of the lid and shower heads and needed cleaning and this expensive number was destined out the door. I have never, ever purchased a product with such poor design. The coffee tasted great, but wasn't worth the trouble.

Dec 12, 2010
Rating
star
Do not buy this coffee maker
by: John

High priced, very poor design and worse customer service.

Can not believe Krups would ship this poor of a design. One can not fill the maker or pour coffee with spilling. The filter holder is weak and the warmer plate is rusting after less than 12 month use. After registering a complaint; the customer service kept telling me to return the product and they would repair it. They don't get it, it's the design that's defective, when I asked to speak with manager there is none available! When they did return the call, he said return the machine and they would repair! They just don't get it! Finally he said they had received complaints on pouring and designed a new caraff and they would mail it. The new pours well, however it is impossible to pour all the cold water into the machine. These people do not use or test their own product and still charge high prices.

I am mailing mine back to corporate offices to remind them of their poor design, quality, customer service and poor value for money.

boek6014@aol.com

Dec 06, 2010
Rating
star
Do Not Buy
by: Anonymous

Every time you pour a cup of coffe it spills. It is THE WORST CARAFE DESIGN. I'm donating mine to Goodwill and going back to the Cuisenart.

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
star
Krups, what happened?
by: Anonymous

Like another commenter above, we bought one when our last one of 11 years finally died. Was a ProAroma 12-maker and we *loved* it. However, this was a total waste of money. Cannot pour a cup without spilling, the single top opening for both grinds and water is poor (particularly when the unit is being stowed under a cabinet), and...after 30 days the thermostat just died. The last part is probably a fluke, however, we were disappointed from the night we brought it home.

Oct 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Pot no good
by: Anonymous

Cannot pour coffee from pot without spilling it. Design issue which is an understatement.

Sep 26, 2010
Rating
starstar
bad design
by: Anonymous

poor carafe design, leaks unless you pour the coffee extremely slowly. Very sorry we bought it.

Last Krups we had was fantastic so we made the mistake of thinking they knew what they were doing with all of their machines. Not so.

Sep 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Krups KM4065 coffee maker
by: Anonymous

The coffee maker makes excelent coffee and is nice looking.
The problem is that when you try to fill the tank you end up with water all over your counter or dripping where the coffee comes out again making a mess and giving your feet a bath at the same time. The small design of the tank opening coupled with the caraf design makes it virtually imposible to fill the tank without spilling in one area or the other.
The cover latches pressing down the filter. This seems to be very flimsy and will probably break in the near future.
For those reasons I am returning this machine. I like to take my bath after I had coffee not before.

Sep 21, 2010
Rating
starstar
krafe is flawed
by: Anonymous

pouring the coffee makes a big mess!

Jul 05, 2010
Rating
starstar
Design errors
by: Anonymous

The lid has two slits on either side of the opening that pours??? Therefore coffee pours all over in lieu of hitting the cup. Very small area to pour water in the tank. Big waste of money

Jun 21, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My recommendation is
by: Anonymous

Buy one, In our household we brew a minimum of 3-4 pots a day and weekends are up to 5-6 a day, thats a lot of coffee in my opinion. We, my spouse and I have gone through 2-3 machines in a year before I bought this machine. We have had it now for 5 months and really enjoy the quality of the brew, changed the water filter once so far is all I can say maintenance.
So far so good and we are happy with our decision to try this product out.

Cheers

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Krups Coffee Maker Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page