logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Krups FME4 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Machine

by Jon
(Minneapolis, MN, USA)


$

Krups FME4 12 Cup
Glass Programmable Coffeemaker


I bought this coffee maker from Krups direct online store. The reason that I chose it over others is primarily due to it's appearance and relative low-cost compared with other similar auto-drip machines. I've had it only a couple of months and have as of yet experienced no problems with the machine.

My only honest basis for comparison with the new Krups machine is an older, black plastic Mr. Coffee. The old mr. Coffee was the machine of choice at my parents house when I was younger, so it's what I'm accustomed to.

The Krups, I've found to be far more attractive. Also, it seems to perhaps work more quickly, though that could just be my own perceptual mistake. There's a couple of nifty features that really show the Krups to be a serious improvement.

The feature that I enjoy the most is one that allows one to pause brewing in the midst of the cycle. Suppose I just want one or two cups in the morning, then I can just take the carafe out and pour with no problem, leaving the rest of the water and beans alone. This system is excellent in that it automatically shuts down the brewing process when the carafe is removed.

Automatic shutdown is appreciated because of the horror of coffee stains that can come from a carafe that keeps brewing and dripping whilst the carafe is away, leading to unpleasant stains on the machine itself and sometimes the surrounding counter space.

When it comes to dealing with household messes, my thought has always been prevention. If a mess can be prevented, it never needs to be cleaned up. A mess that never happens will not be ignored, and will not fester, leaving nastiness all-over.

The Krups machine is wonderful because it's thoughtful and attractive design prevents some messes from ever happening. Also, the first thing that I focus on every day is my morning coffee. I can't say I'd like that machine to be ugly or mediocre, and that is why I chose this model.


Comments for Krups FME4 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Machine

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 06, 2011
Rating
star
"Out of water" sensor problem is terminal
by: Anonymous

I've had this coffeemaker for just over a year, and, like others, must toss it because of a malfunctioning water sensor that stops it from brewing. The electronics have been flaky from the beginning, and the programming interface is nonintuitive. I'm on a quest for a coffeemaker with *few* programming features, more manual controls!

Nov 28, 2010
Rating
starstar
decent coffee maker but issue #1
by: tired of wiping up after....

a cup of coffee isnt rocket science but some things you cant just call in:,...I literally have to pour a cup over the sink because of the leaking carraf,...REALLY?!..it isnt like I am using the coffee can as the pot right??....I heard that it could be just the pot itself?....REALLY!?....Who makes the Krups Crap?....get it together cletus....

Nov 23, 2010
Rating
star
Caraf drips like crazy. Don't buy.
by: dondax

Worst I've ever seen. Can you believe that they have produced and sold a coffee maker with a carafe that DRIPS every time you pour. Also has a little beeper that bugs the hell out of me. It's begging to be cleaned or something. There's no way to disengage the darn thing. A real pain in the butt. Wrote them about the problem. There reply was that I could buy another carafe to solve the problem. Don't waste your money.

Nov 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Wouldn't buy again - leaks
by: Caterina

After 15 months of regular use (average 1x/day), I'm replacing as the bottom of the machine leaks water - I mean really leaks water - entire amount leaks out within 10 mins. No issue if you're making a pot right now, but no use putting it on timer.

Loved the machine - looks, the coffee it made, heat of coffee (it was hot!) auto-shutoff and over time got to appreciate the "finished brewing/turning off" indicator sound.

Very disappointing.

Nov 23, 2010
Rating
starstar
Not best of the line
by: Anonymous

Do NOT like a glass coffee pot.

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
star
need something reliable
by: Anonymous

have returned mine twice but lost the reciept to return it again. it makes great coffee, but the main brain keeps blowing. it must have an internal leak, all three times my machine has gone down, they had different reasons. too bad, it's time to switch

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
star
junk
by: Anonymous

junk

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
starstar
time for something reliable
by: lisa

makes great coffe, but the main brain in this thing blows out easily, i have replaced mine thru warrenty twice. lost the receipt this time . time to buy something reliable

Aug 14, 2010
Rating
starstar
verry decived!
by: Anonymous

It makes a good cup of coffee, that end is good but cannot reheat coffee because of "out of water" safety feature. now, after one yearof use shows up as "out of water" all the time! It does not work! I feel let down!

Apr 01, 2010
Rating
star
very disappointed
by: Anonymous

I had this coffee maker for less than a year and I already have to trash it. Started leaking water really bad but I kept using it. well eventually all that water destroyed the hot plate and then it just stopped working all together. This wasn't a cheap coffee maker so naturally I was very disappointed. I won't buy krups again.

Feb 12, 2010
Rating
star
Programable control
by: Victor Arnett

I have owned two FME4 coffee makers. The programabel control went out the first week of ownership. The second one the controller did not work out of the box. It turns on and off and that is all. I like the coffee it makes but very disappointed on workman ship.

Feb 10, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Variable auto shut off timer
by: Anonymous

This is a great coffeemaker and if it stopped working I would buy another one just like it! I use mine absolutely each and every single day - at least one full pot, sometimes two. It was a replacement for the preceding model of the same machine which I had for years.

Aside from making a darned good cup of coffee, I feel the best thing about the KRUPS FME4 is that unlike most coffee makers that only have a 2 hour auto shut off, the KRUPS FME4 has a variable auto-shut off timer. It comes preset for 2 hours, but you can choose anywhere from 1-5 hours to control how long the carafe is kept warm.

The only problem I have to complain about that feature is that if the machine is unplugged, it reverts back to 2 hours and must be reset again. The only other small irritation about the KRUPS FME4 that I have is that the carafe drips when you pour it - no matter the position, speed, etc, it still dribbles a few drops down the carafe and onto whatever surface you are pouring over. I always use a napkin or towel underneath to combat this mess.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Krups Coffee Maker Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page