logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

KitchenAid 14-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

by Patricia Hormel
(Huntersville, NC USA)


$

KitchenAid 14-Cup
Programmable Coffee Maker


Our old coffee maker had just broke and my husband gave me the KitchenAid 14-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker for my birthday to replace the on that broke. I did not really like how large it was but it was a gift so I had to keep it.

The design of the coffee maker is modern and I really like the stainless steel finish, it looks great in our kitchen an fits nicely under our kitchen cabinet. After one month the ability for the coffee maker to make coffee was diminished. Something about the way the basket that holds the coffee caused a back up and the coffee never entered the coffee pot.

Instead made it big mess with the coffee and coffee grinds spilling all over the counter top. Not what I was looking for first thing in the morning. I was able to return the coffee maker and exchange it only for the exact same coffee maker.

The new one has been working for 11 months now and the coffee maker has not had any major problems. However, if you fill the coffee basket all the way up to the top with coffee it will start to spill over.

So just because the pot holds 14 cups of coffee I would not recommend trying to make that much because the basket will not hold that much coffee without making a mess.

Overall the coffee that is brewed taste excellent, and the coffee pot keeps the brewed coffee nice and hot. All the controls are functioning properly on the new coffee maker and I just hope that it keeps on working because my warranty is expired.


Comments for KitchenAid 14-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 15, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Fantastic cup of coffee NEW
by: Anonymous

My great Kitchen Aid KCM534ERO finally "gave out". I have tried to get another one on E-bay, Overstock.Com etc. They are so popular I have not been able to get a replacement. (Still trying) I bought the newest version 14 cup and it makes the same great cup of coffee but design is not well thought out. I have to push so many buttons to get four cups of coffee it is almost not worth it. Please bring back the old model which was so much simpler to operate.

Aug 04, 2012
Rating
starstar
Overpriced Junk
by: Anonymous

I purchased my KCM5110B 10 cup maker from LOWES about five years ago. Like many foks I experienced the frustration and mess of the basket overflowing and flooding my countertop with coffee and the grounds. I contacted KitchenAid customer service and received their polite "you are an idiot" letter. I solved the problem 100% myself by removing the plastic lever that hangs down that closes/opens the shut off valve in the brew chamber. I found if great care was not employed to place the karafe precisely and tightly against the lever, the valve above would remain "shut", not letting the coffe down into the pot, thus creating the flood. Only little drawback, I had to wait until the basket completely emptied of water/coffe after the brew cycle ended, but for me, that proved to be no big deal. The maker is still working fine, BUT, last week I accidently broke my karafe. Yipes. KitchenAid no longer provides a replacement in this size AND if they did, it would cost $43. No way! I just went out and purchased a whole new Mr. Coffee Programable system, maker AND Karafe, for $28 and could not be happier.

Feb 10, 2012
Rating
star
lot of money not a lot of coffee maker
by: sad face

I have had my kitchen aid coffee maker for 2 years. First like many people I did not like the tight fit for the crate, but the coffee maker looked so good next to my other red kitchen aid appliances I sacrificed. I started getting that eer message and the coffee maker would shut off and not stay on, I would have to reheat my coffee, another sacrifice.Now I have pulled my old MR. Coffee out of storage. Coffee maker not working at all. I did not pay attention to the bad reviews. Thanks for the warning sorry I did not listen.

Feb 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
grinds in carafe
by: EddieB

have had my red KCM 534 ERO now for about 2 1/2 years..
it is terrific... only problem?
all of a sudden grinds are going into the carafe...

it just dawned on me that I am filling the resevoir
past the maximum for the 14 cups....

my grandmother said "never clean your coffee pot OR coffee cup... " as, cleaning ruins the taste...

so, yesterday was the second time in the 2 + years that I've cleaned it w/vinegar


Jan 26, 2012
Rating
starstar
Never buy a kitchen aid coffee maker
by: Louiza

I can not begin to explain how angry I am with this company. Out of no where my coffee maker (I've had it for 2 years) just stopped working. I was making coffee for friends and then POOF..just stopped. Now I am not someone who does not take care of her appliances. I would run white vingar through maker every month and would unplug the machine when i was not using it. Suddenly an Error 2 message popped up. I googled what that meant..it meant death to my $140 coffeemaker. I called to ask what they could do for me. I was told pretty much "Sorry idiot, you paid us 140 dollars for something that is worth 20". I have had Mr. Coffee Makers longer than this one. Stay away from this product. I have to say it is unfortunate because it does make good coffee; that is the only reason why it received a 2 star rating. SAVE YOUR MONEY!

Jan 02, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
So far so good
by: Anonymous

I just bought the 14 cup coffee maker about 4 days ago. I'm very pleased on how easy it is to program. The coffee that it makes is really good, the coffee comes out very hot which I love. I read some of the comments about how soon the coffee maker went out. If you don't maintain the machine then it will go out, you should clean the coffee maker at least once a month. (just saying). So far I'm a fan of this coffee maker. Time will tell.

Jan 01, 2012
Rating
star
Err2
by: Anonymous

So I also got the Err2 and looks like it can't be fixed, so add another piece of *&^%$ to the landfill. What a shame! They just don't make things to last any more. I will never buy a Kitchen Aid again. Folks, steer clear of this brand. It will not last longer than one year. It makes me so mad that low-quality appliances are sold forcing you to replace them again and again.

Nov 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Water filters
by: Anonymous

I found the water filters can be found on amazon.com. They come 3 pods in a package for $9.49

Here is the link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002QW9QSW/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_2?pf_rd_p=486539851&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B0010XQ32U&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1EH6EBHBX0EW96RKWB0Y

I've had my coffeemaker for 2 years now and use it everyday. I do not make strong coffee so maybe that is why it has lasted longer than most.

Aug 17, 2011
Rating
star
Waste of money
by: Anonymous

First, let me say I searched out this site to warn anyone thinking out purchasing this coffee maker to spend your money on another brand. I purchased this coffee maker in November of 2010 and it only lasted until June of 2011. Then the error code everyone speaks of came up. I was so frustrated with this piece of junk that I was almost thankful that my $125 investment had bit the dust. The carafe constantly dribbled, and forget finding the elusive, overpriced water filters. I thought Kitchen Aid was a trusted brand and that I would get a quality item but I was very wrong!! I've never been so disgusted with a purchase in my life! Now I've got to deal with trying to get a credit for the back-ordered water filter I no longer need. Wish I had found this review page before I purchased.

Jun 25, 2011
Rating
star
Worst kitchenaid coffee maker
by: Anonymous

The first time my husband and I bought this coffee maker it lasted less than a year, an error 2 code message appeared. We thought it could have been the water vapor from brewing coffee dampening the buttons above the carafe. We also noticed that coffee grinds would spill over and we made sure not to overfill the basket. We decided to go back to the department store we bought the first one from and exchanged it for the exact same kitchenaid 14-cup coffee maker. The second coffee maker just lasted us over a year and half, stopped working last night with the same error 2 message. For the amount of money you pay for this coffee maker which was a lot more than the average, we strongly recommend not to buy this particular kitchenaid coffee maker.

Jun 20, 2011
Rating
star
disappointed in coffee maker
by: Anonymous

i too get the err2 code...some say to reset the buttons, as one may be stuck...nope that didn't work............i cleaned it with vinegar, that didn't work...i am very disappointed with this coffee maker, as it is not that old...............i also have another one the same as this one in our home in florida.....so will this other one do the same thing? very disappointed for a machine that cost a LOT Of money................................

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Love it but...
by: Linda

Firstly, I can not find the water purification filters for this coffee maker anywhere either. I found them online but they are "out of stock". I too would like to know if anyone has found them in a store anywhere.
About 3 months after I purchased this "expensive" coffee maker, the rubber seal around the basket broke and peeled right off. Of course the store I purchased it from would not take it back. Told me I had to send it back to KitchenAid.
Now, still less than a year after I purchased this machine, I am getting error messages. I have misplaced the manual so will have to try and figure out how to "reset" it in hopes that it isn't a faulty machine!
I love the taste of the coffee, I very seldom have it overflow, I love that you can pour coffee without it pouring all over the counter, and it brews a pot of 12 cups of coffee much quicker than most...to name a few pluses.
However, for the cost of this machine, I am disappointed.

May 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Water Filter
by: Anonymous

We love the coffee maker but we canot find the water filters any where. If anyone knows where you can get the please post it with your comments.

Mar 31, 2011
Rating
star
Over flows every time
by: Illinois purchase

Purchased KCM534OB0 and it over flowed with coffee all over the counter. I tried several attempts to prevent this from happening and no luck. Today (Mar 2011) I called KitchenAid and they went through several trouble-shooting options all that I have tried. They only offered a discount on a purchase at their website. I purchased the original for $100 and the new discount replacement would be $75 plus Shipping and Tax... After the major disappointment in this KitchenAid coffee maker I would never buy another one. The phone agent was NO help and dismissed this coffee maker had a problem over I read several statements on this site.

Mar 20, 2011
Rating
star
dud pot
by: sylvia

I wish I had read these posts before I purchased my coffee maker, the second one that is. My daughter bought me the first one as a gift, that one lasted about 14 months, I liked it, and it did fit in with my kitchen decor, so, thinking this was just a bad pot, I bought another. That was about 13 months ago, and now the second one has err2 on the display, and not brewing. I have followed all the simple fixes, but nothing is working. I guess I am going out today to buy the third coffee pot in less that 2 1/2 years. That is just not good enough, especially when you take into consideration the cost of the machine.
I would NOT recommend this coffee pot.

Mar 07, 2011
Rating
star
Messy & Defective!
by: D, Wiley

I made the HUGE mistake of buying this too it not only overflows easily it also has a defective 'gasket' the breaks apart & falls into the coffeepot I am VERY disappointed in this I have other KitchenAid appliances with no problems but this stupid coffee maker!! I have been waiting for my 3rd replacement machine since Feb 23rd & am STILL waiting we finally had to buy another machine, it was getting very expensive to buy coffee from the shop SHEESH talk about lousy customer service!

Mar 04, 2011
Rating
star
a maker of duds
by: Anonymous

I too had one of these duds. The only way to deal with companies like this one is blacken their reputation by word to all that will listen. If you have suffered loss get even. Get more than even blacken the other product lines of their business. This will change their perception of victims from gullible to vengefull. The only way is to attack their bottom line.They will change or go bankrupt. In this particular case I prefer the latter.

Mar 02, 2011
Rating
star
kitchenaid coffee maker
by: ira

i bought a kitchenaid coffee maker model KCM534ERO lasted litte over 1 Year then showed er2 contacted kitchen for part to fix THEY SAID THEY NO TO MY REQUEST THE PART WAS NO LONGER AVALIBLE THEY OFFERD ME A COFFEEMAKER AT A DISCOUNT PRICE I CAN NOT SEE THROWING GOOD MONEY AFTER BAD

Jan 07, 2011
Rating
star
KitchenAid KCM534ER0 poor quality
by: Anonymous

I received the above mentioned coffee maker in March of 2008. It too gave me the "Err 2" error code. I called KitchenAid to see if they could do anything and of course the answer was "NO". There are at lease another 200 customer comments I found on the internet about the same machine with the same error code ranging in age from 2 weeks old to 2 1/2 years old. I think KitchenAid has a faulty appliance here that they have no interest in taking care of. I put through about 24 cups of water a week on average with this machine, so it certainly is not over worked. It is always unplugged from the wall after each use so the risk of a power surge is very small. I use filtered water for all my coffee so a scaling problem is not the issue. The machine is a "poor" design and quality and KitchenAid knows it, they just choose not to deal with it. I was a KitchenAid dealer for several years and had no problems with KitchenAid standing behind their product, until now. I do not recommend, nor will I consider another KitchenAid coffee maker.

Jan 30, 2010
Rating
star
Faulty coffee maker & Customer Service
by: GAYLEE CAMERON

I purchased this coffee maker the beginning of Dec/09. This was a xmas present for my husband so it wasn't used until then. Two weeks went by and all of a sudden it wasn't working - it came up with Err2. I phoned Kitchen Aid on Jan.13/10.They said to fax my bill to them and within 1-2 business days I should receive a shipping label to send it back. It is now 2 weeks and I still have no label. I have now spoken to 5 people and they now tell me that it will take another 8 weeks after they get my defaulty one back before I can finally have a coffee maker. For now, I am using my camping coffee maker which makes just one cup at a time. Words cannot say how angry I am. I am sooooo disatisfied with there Public Relations plus the fact that there is no with shipping. Again one hand doesn't know what the other one is doing nor do they seem to care.

Nov 24, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
solution
by: serious coffee drinker

Hello. I have a 14 cup coffee maker and I LOVE-NEED STRONG coffee. I encountered the same problem with the grids and water going all over.
My solution was to remove the valve at the bottom of the basket. This valve stops the water/coffee when you remove the carafe from the maker. The valve even in the open position barely keeps up with the water going into the basket.
I don't use paper filters only the gold basket and I fill the basket pretty full with fresh grind.
My coffee maker NOW works flawlessly, every morning.
I guess the only down side is you have to wait till its done before you get a cup of coffee.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Kitchen Aid Coffee Maker.

footer for coffee maker reviews page