logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Kitchen Gourmet Coffee Maker, 4-Cup

by Dani
(Cleveland, Ohio)


I had been using the same old coffee pot that I had in college and it was just a large and very clunky 12 cup machine. I would have to constantly purchase filters which was both costly and annoying when I would run out and forget to buy them. I am the only one in the household to drink coffee so I thought that I would purchase a new one and make it just a bit smaller. I went to Walgreens one day and found this awesome coffee pot on sale!


I paid only $4.99 for a coffee pot that was already only $9.99. I was a bit worried that it would be cheap and flimsy, but this coffee pot rocks!

While it has features that normal coffee pots have like a water level indicator and a non-stick warming plate, it also had the added feature of a lighted on and off switch and a reusable mesh filter.

That is what really sold me on the machine, but when I got it home I realized that it had the much coveted, "pause and pour" feature that allows you to remove the caraffe and stop the brewing process long enough to pour the coffee in your cup and when you put it back, it continues to brew the rest of the pot. I haven't ever had tastier coffee!

Comments for Kitchen Gourmet Coffee Maker, 4-Cup

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 29, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
NEED PLASTIC FILTER
by: Helen Bryan

I love my Kitchen Gourmet 4 cup Coffee Maker, for some reason filter has been misplaced, is there any way to BUY replacement plastic filter? Thanks

Jun 27, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Was very happy with the Kitchen Gourmet
by: Tyi

I too love the Kitchen Gourmet coffee maker, however; I also cracked the pot. I've been to goodwill and other thrift shop trying to find a pot that will fit. No Luck, so I brought a five cup SYLVANIA on sell at Walgreen for 12.99. I haven't tried it yet, hope it's just a good.

May 24, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Another bonus !
by: Javaman

I tested the AC draw on this little wonder and it peaks at 565 watts after the coffee is brewed.This load shuts on and off as long as you keep the full pot on the warmer.

But brewing was only 525 watts,which was HALF the load on the Capresso model I was using.

But,you cannot hope for too much because as most everything these days,it is made in China.Treat it carefully in all aspects.

But,so far, so good!

Sep 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Can't get the lid to close
by: Sherry

We found our old gourmet pot and we can't get the lid closed. Can anyone tell us how to do this.

Sep 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
THE GLASS POT
by: MARYANN

MY MOTHER HAS THIS COFFEE MAKER AND IT IS PERGECT
FOR HER ,BUT THE POT BROKE , HOW CAN I REPLACE THIS FOE HER?

Apr 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The best $10 I ever spent
by: Anonymous

I bought this in 2005 as my then husband to be lived out of town and I went to visit him every other weekend he does not drink coffee and I do. I did not want a huge 12 and I saw this one so I bought it. I love the coffee it makes and I use it when I travel now when I know there will not be a coffee maker in the room. This past week I was away on business staying at a 4 star hotel and they did not have coffee makers in the room. I did not want to pay a charge to have them deliver on to the room. I did not want to pay $9 for a fresh carafe to be delivered to the room. I had my little Kitchen Gourmet 4 cup with me and had fresh coffee every morning! I have never had an issue with it. I make three and four pots in a row and it does fine. One of the best $10 I ever spent.

Apr 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
filters
by: Anonymous

where do you buy the coffee filters for this coffee maker?

Apr 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Carafe ????
by: Anonymous

My carafe cracked and I figure any time now will just fall apart. Is there any brand that will interchange with it??

My email is recycledgramma@gmail.com

Mar 31, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
SOCK
by: Anonymous

DO YOU HAVE THIS IN BLACK ? I HAVE THE WHITE ONE I NEED A BLACK ONE THIS STYLE

Mar 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
kitchen gourmet 4-cup
by: Anonymous

Was on vacation and in the room was this coffee pot. Loved it. Just read some of the comments and some of them says Walgreens. I don't see it there. Can someone help and give me a place where it can be bought.

Feb 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
About the carafe
by: Anonymous

My brother has one of these, and he just brews the coffee directly into a mug. He fills the mug a little fuller than normal with water, pours it into the pot and adds a rounded coffee measure of coffee. Works like a charm. Brewed one cup at a time, there is no problem with keeping it hot. He turns it off after every use and puts an old mug (w/a little water in it) on the plate to catch any drips. I am scouring the town trying to find one for me!

Feb 23, 2011
Rating
star
You want a pot?
by: Doug

Hello, after reading all these comments I've decided not to use my brand new Kitchen Gourmet coffee maker, but I like the mesh filter and will use it in my Melinda brand coffee maker. SO:
I have a new unit (less the mesh filter) available for sale if anyone cares, you can reach me at:
forebaymailacct@yahoo.com
Or I could put it on Ebay if you prefer.
IF ANYONE HAS A BROKEN UNIT and wants to sell me just their used 4-cup mesh filter, contact me at the email above, thanks!

Feb 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Not So Hot Coffee
by: Anonymous

Have used this coffee maker for several months now.The good thing that I like is that it brews pretty fast.Have handled the carafe carefully so no problems with that.I like the fact that it comes with a permanent filter.However the coffee is not very hot after brewing.That prompted me to look for another brand.If they could remedy that I would say it would be an outstanding buy.

Jan 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
replacement pot
by: Anonymous

Im very happy with my 4 cup coffe maker but my cup was broked where can i find a replacement cup at reasonable price?

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
star
carafes are jokes, piece of junks!!!
by: Anonymous

I have owned 2 coffee maker of this brand. One was 4Cups and other was 5Cups. They both broke after the few months of use. The 4Cups one, the bottom just fell off when I was washing it... as you can imagine, I almost cut myself. The second one was the Signature Gourmet,the 5Cups one. It was Stainless Steel except for the glass carafe; (I Paid over $20 for it when it was was on sale). This also broke when I was washing it, the glass around the handle just cracked!!!. I was sooooo disappointed!!! I only used them once a week on sundays when I was home and they didn't even last!!! I thought about calling the company for the warranty, but it's probably NOT worth fighting!!!

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
star
Defective flow regulator
by: Anonymous

Same propblem as many of those below: everything else works, but the spring piece fell out of the bottom of the filter basket, so now the machine is worthless (unless I can find a replacement part). I recommend spending an extra 10 bucks and getting a coffee maker that lasts longer than 6 months!

Sep 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Very disappointing
by: Jean

I loved the coffee and was pleased with how fast the coffee was done, but it doesn't do you much good if the pot is so fragile that it breaks with normal hand washing. As cheap as it was, it not worth it if you have to replace it.

Apr 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Use most days
by: Anonymous

The Kitchen Gourmet 4-Cup Coffee Maker is sold at Walgreen for $10, but is sometimes "on sale" for $7 or even $5. It comes with a reusable mesh filter, or you can use paper filters. It has a "pause and serve" feature, but it brews an entire pot of coffee is less than five minutes, so I simply wait for it to stop brewing.

I have brewed four cups of coffee (six ounce cups) in larger 10 cup and 12 cup brewers. When brewing only four cups of coffee in a 10 cup brewer, the flavor of the coffee usually seems weak or bitter, or both.

The Walgreen Kitchen Gourmet coffee maker enables you to brew 24 ounces of coffee in less than five minutes. The flavor of the brewed coffee matches the flavor from the $50 machines and the $100 machines.

I have two Kitchen Gourmet brewers, and use each of them ten or fifteen times a month. After a year of use, both continue to work like new.

I used filtered water to prevent minerals from building up in the machine, and allow the carafe to cool to room temperature before rinsing it out...a carafe is likely to crack if you brew hot coffee in a cold carafe that has not been "pre-warmed" with hot tap water, and a hot carafe will crack if you rinse it with cold water.

Jan 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Carafe
by: Anonymous

Also at a loss to find a replacement for the carafe. Was cleaning and a piece of the glass just popped out right in the middle of the carafe - no breaks anywhere else, just a clean piece where I had been cleaning it on the inside. Very fragile - am frustrated since can't find a replacement carafe, and have now spent more money on another brand of 5-cup coffee-maker.

Dec 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Sans Carafe
by: Anonymous

My carafe broke also. It just cracked while brewing. Coffee came out all over. I'm still using it though. My mug sits on the plate and I use a knife to depress the part that releases the coffee. It's not the best solution but it works until I get something else. I refuse to pay more for a carafe than the entire machine.

Oct 04, 2009
Rating
star
Carafe
by: Anonymous

My husband loves his Kitchen Gourmet 4-cup coffeemaker, but is very frustrated that the glass carafe is very fragile! We are very careful with it, but we have gone through FOUR of them!! We have NEVER had to do this with other coffeemakers. Replacement carafe's are more expensive than the coffeemaker itself! So sadly, he is looking for a different brand of coffeemaker.

May 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
filter
by: Ivory

Do the cone filters work for this machine? Online I can't tell if it is cone filters or the cup filters.

I would be interested in purchaseing this (haven't yet, but will if the filters work)as I would use this in my office I don't have access to a sink only a water fountain I wouldn't use the reusable filter (too hard to clean out) I would be happy to ship you mine. :)

Please let me know how the cone filters work.

Feb 18, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Coffee Maker but....
by: Explorer

I bought mine at Walgreens on sale. It works great but the wife dumped the mesh filter along with the coffee grounds and now I'm searching for another one. I'm using paper cone filters for now. Anyobody know where I can get that filter?

BTW, that cut-off button that doesn't do it's job is held in by a c-clip or ring of some kind. You may be able to pick one up at your local hardware store.

Also, a touch of olive oil around the rubber seal will keep it lubed and pliable so that it seats properly and won't drip.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page