logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Kitchen Gourmet 10 Cup drip coffee maker

by Nat Vanney
(North Jersey)

Kitchen Gourmet 10 Cup Mess Maker

Kitchen Gourmet 10 Cup Mess Maker

Worst piece of junk I've ever used. I broke the glass carafe of my coffee maker during a party. Had to run out quickly to buy a new one.


Walgreen's is the closest store and usually saves the day. Although they did not have a replacement for my glass pot they did have a coffee maker.

I picked up the Kitchen Gourmet 10 Cup model at a very reasonable price ($14.99, I'm pretty sure).

What a piece of garbage! It leaks from who knows where as it is making the coffee but the single most annoying feature is that it is impossible to pour coffee from this pot without dripping.

We have tried everything! Pouring slowly, pouring quickly, tipping to the right, tipping to the left.

It is just garbage. Put your $15 towards a better manufacturer. You'll curse this thing ever single time you pour a cup!

Comments for Kitchen Gourmet 10 Cup drip coffee maker

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Can't beat it for the price
by: Anonymous

There's no doubt a design problem with the carafe. It will spill if you don't pour very slowly. I bought it because it's probably the only cone-filter design pot in existence at this price. It makes GREAT coffee using the cone filters.

Nov 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Damn good coffee maker
by: RF

This Kitchen Gourmet makes damn good coffee. For $7.99 (that's what I paid at Walgreens), why all the wailing and tears over a little spilled coffee? The secret is to pour slowly.

The resulting coffee is hot and really flavorful. I'll never spend big bucks on a glitzy shiney machine that does the same thing.


Oct 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
WE SOLVED THE PROBLEM
by: Anonymous

We had the same problem with it spilling as everyone else has, that is until we cut the hole in the lid by the spout about 3 times wider than the spout. That was the problem, it was a bad fit. Now with the much bigger hole, it was pouring normally and not spilling. We used it for about 3 1/2 years until we accidently dropped the pot this morning causing it to shatter.

Aug 06, 2011
Rating
starstar
The coffee tastes good but the coffee maker stinks
by: Mary Frye

My husband and I bought 2 because of the price and we lived in separate Apartments at the time. But if I had my choice and new i didn't work as well as the higher priced coffee makers we never would have bought it. A coffee maker shouldn't leak they way this one does. So as soon as I get some money I am buying a better more trusted one. I will never buy another Gourmet Kitchen product again and I will make I will tell my friends and family not to.

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
star
a piece of garbage!
by: Anonymous

ha! thought it was me finding a bargain at Walgreen's for 10 bucks! I exchanged the 1st one thinking it's defective, BUT you can't pour without spilling and thios B.S. about a 30-second chance to pour doesn't exsist AND the coffee has BUBBLES !!! the warming plate barely warms. thinking of writing to this crap-company for a refund or $ 4 my time wasted 2x to the store!!!

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
star
kitchen gourmet coffee maker 10 cup model#cm4166
by: Anonymous

talk about a crappy start to every day, my counter gets more coffee than I do. What a piece of *&@#!!!!

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
star
If it looks too good to be true...it probably is!
by: Milwaukee, WI

I go to Walgreen's every Sunday morning looking for the great deals in the latest ad. I think WG could never be beat by WM, because of the people like myself who shop the isles for their nostalgic memories of mom and I who would get off the bus to shop for weekly deals and request rain-checks for popular items in the 80's and 90's. I am disappointed that I got such a deal on this KG coffee maker, but never had the pleasure to experience it's numerous flaws(as I have been notified by this page). I purchased the item for only $7.99 and my husband broke the carafe as he wiggled it out of the box. I called the co. and my info was taken. I received a v-mail msg. saying that I could receive a new carafe for $12.99 after sending it in form of check or money order. I really hate waste, but I will have to loose sleep over this one...

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
star
DRIPS
by: Anonymous

I'm having the same pour problem.

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
Question
by: Anonymous

I would love to find the directions to mskr coffee Dah !

I lost my booklet & spoon .I just want to get them

stanand3000@yahoo.com

Aug 02, 2010
Rating
star
Do not buy!
by: Anonymous

Piece of crap. Every cup you pour, 10% of it spills on the counter. After only one day I bought a different coffee maker.

Jun 30, 2010
Rating
star
Coffee pot spills coffee everytime you pour!
by: Susan Lynne

The coffee pot spills coffee every time it pours. You have to open the lid just a bit to keep from pouring coffee all over your counter every morning. You have to have a careful hand to pour a clean cup without making a mess!

May 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I LOVE THIS COFFEE MAKER
by: Anonymous

I've had this coffee maker for appx. 6 months and I love it. For years I have used the same
Colombia Suprema coffee from a gourmet shop in
Silverlake (I drink it black) and when my old Krups crashed I tried three various name brands, all the 'basket' instead of the 'cone' style I was used to.

For me the 'basket' models couldn't hold a candle
to the 'cone' no matter what the price (up to
$100.00).

So I saw this one at Walgreens for $10.00 and gave it a try. IT MAKES GREAT COFFEE. Just lift
the lid a bit when you pour and pour slowly and
IT DOESN'T SPILL....and presto, you have hundred-dollar-coffee-maker coffee for ten bucks.

Oh, and buy at least one extra because it won't
last as long but you're still way ahead of the game.

Apr 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
I've been enjoying my el-cheapo Kitchen Gourmet coffee maker!
by: BethAnn

Yes, it's el-cheapo (I paid $7.99 at Walgreen's) but the coffee is as tasty as the coffee from my sister-in-law's Keurig system -- or my other sister-in-law's Capresso Coffee Center system ($899!). As far as the slightly drippy carafe when you're pouring a cup from the Kitchen Gourmet, just press on the carafe's lid as you pour slowly. I really haven't had much of a problem... and if it drips I use a sponge to wipe up the drips! Ahhhh... technology! Look, the $891.01 I saved by not purchasing the Capresso system makes Kitchen Gourmet's drip clean-up much less painful.
It's still a really tasty cup of coffee!

Mar 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Works for me
by: Kimmie G.

I have the model CM-4166, and have used this coffee maker most days of the week since purchasing it in December of 2008.

The only problem I had was with coffee spilling out of the carafe while pouring, but resolved it by pressing my thumb on the lid while pouring into my coffee mug. Since then, not a single drip on the counter.

Overall, I am pleased with the performance of the coffee maker. For those who are experiencing more serious issues, I would suggest a few solutions.

1.Get a refund.

2.If you liked the price, go find the same pot somewhere else. The store that you purchased it from might have recieved a defective batch.

3. Or after the refund, don't buy the same coffee maker. You have already been let down, don't put yourself under any more stress.

Good Luck

Feb 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yes, the model makes a difference
by: Anonymous

Ok Janell KC, sorry to call you guys 'trolls'. But I think what you're saying is correct. The latest model seems to have corrected all the issues (valid it appears) that everyone here had. I finally researched the old model, and it was pretty bad, having been recalled for electrical fire hazards on top of substandard performance.

Sorry to hear about the burn injuries you and others have had. I suppose that would turn me off too for consideration of any future model from Kitchen Gourmet. But since I've had a fresh start, I'll just forge ahead with this version and see what happens. Will update this site if I find this latest model turns out to have any negatives.

Feb 13, 2010
Rating
star
Check the model number
by: Janell KC

Richard, you got lucky. I still have nightmares about the burning pain of the steam on my thumb, and all the lost coffee, and papertowels.
The model I and all previous 'trolls' got sucked!!

Feb 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent coffee maker
by: Richard

I hate to rain on the author's and subsequent poster's parade here, but this coffee maker is quite good. As of October, 2009 Kitchen Gourmet came out with a new model, CM4166, which supersedes the prior XQ-673K model that had problems (electrical issues).

My Kitchen Gourmet model CM4166 10-cup coffee maker from Walgreens at $7.99 on sale is perfect for me. It brews coffee at just the right temperature, doesn't leak, doesn't drip from the carafe when pouring, and the auto shutoff during brew when sneaking a cup works just fine.

It also feels pretty solid. I like that it's compact and doesn't take up a lot of counter top space. Who really needs faux stainless steel, digital displays, and timers. All rubbish and noise to justify jacking up the price. The point is having a coffee maker that does its primary duty; makes good coffee and doesn't cost an arm and a leg.

Although I'm not a conspiracy nut, it seems to me that the corporate coffee maker giants out there who hawk their coffee makers at 10 times the price (and profit) of this one just couldn't stand to see their profits on the line by this kind of competition. I think they send trolls to this and other web sites to trash and damage the reputation of products from companies who can make essentially the same product at a fraction of the price.

So my advice is don't listen to the corporate avatars and trolls here. Buy one and check it out yourself without listening to the unfounded criticisms at this web site (at least the new model). You can always return it to Walgreens for full refund without time limit and no questions asked if you don't like it.

I'm not buying into the industry propaganda that it has to be expensive to be any good. This coffee maker is very good.

Dec 07, 2009
Rating
star
Dang! But I found a solution!
by: Dee

Ok, it does pour coffee all over the counter when you try to pour, but if you put your thumb on the lid joint just above the handle and push gently, the lid will rise a bit. You can then pour yourself a cup of coffee without it spilling everywhere else. I had tried brewing without the lid, but it needs the center raised lid bump to release the brewed coffee into the pot. I also tried other lids, to no avail. To whoever broke the carafe, maybe another brand carafe would work (try a garage sale). It will need a center bump with holes atop and around the edge of the raised bump. Good luck! Dee

Nov 30, 2009
Rating
star
A burn kit should be included
by: Janell -- KC, MO

This is the worst coffee maker I have ever owned!!
As the previous rating states the coffee goes everywhere while you try to pour it, no matter how you pour it; fast, slow, hot coffee still puddles beside your cup.
And when you get towards the end of the pot the coffee stops dripping everywhere, but you get a horribly painful steam burn on your thumb.
I also hate the fact that it has a cone grounds holder instead of a normal one. It takes regular filters, but the whole machine and everything about it just sucks.
It should be pulled from the market before someone gets an actual burn; and not just gets 'burned' by purchasing this piece of junk.

Nov 07, 2009
Rating
star
this coffe macer 100% suckes!!!
by: very mad & upset!!!

i will never ever buy this brand ever !
it likes more coffe in the sink then in my cup ok!
this is the worst coffe maker that i have ever gotin.
and will never ever buy agen!

Sep 17, 2009
Rating
star
If you need a real good laugh & challenge
by: Letitia

My old coffee maker broke. Went to Walgreens and bought 10-cup Kitchen Gourmet. My kitchen counter hasn't much space so need small coffee maker such this. I was concerned re low price $10.69. Most cost about $25. On social security, decided to try it. Before opening box I checked reviews online & found one: Worst piece of junk I've...

I laughed & thought: buy cheap & cheap gets expensive but I‘d not tried it & that just one opinion.

The next AM I unboxed the coffee maker. LoveD the look, size, color, perfect. I washed it to make coffee. Doing this, I had to laugh, the review: RIGHT ON. This is a trick coffee pot, like there are secret unseen holes causing leaks everywhere when pouring water/coffee. You can't pour this was or that, tip it a certain way, coffee spills out someplace. Waste of good coffee.

Water spills out everywhere when poured in back bin. 100% reliable for a mess. I have to put the coffee maker in the sink or put towels behind it when putting water in the back and to pour a cup. The cup must be held in the sink and the carafe as well, to prevent spilled, leaking coffee out on the sink.1. Pour coffee and it spills all over.
2. Pour water into back of coffee maker and NO MATTER HOW CAREFUL, a goodly amount spills all over the counter and sometimes floor .
3. Lots of coffee wasted with daily wipeups each time a cup is poured; many times daily.

August 9, 2009 I called your 800 645 3867 (on coffee maker box) but the man who answered was very nice but from India or Philippines or Pakistan or along those lines I think, so other than tell him the funny aspect of this, I just said goodbye and no more.

I went online to check reviews again & found more, identical to first. This company needs some serious ENGINEERING changes. Til then, this inferior coffee maker should be taken off shelf. Review #2 starts: The bane of my morning existence!

I would be very happy for a coffee maker or a carafe that works, where one can pour coffee in a cup or water in basin without spills all over the counter and floor; such a waste.

Years ago I worked in a marketing dept for a company selling clean air products with the engineering and manufacturing sales areas. I am certain you do not wish to continue making failed products as this one is flawed on so many levels. It may be cheap at the store but if you like good coffee and it's not cheap, you lose money in the longrun as it lands on counter & floor.

I still use this little coffee maker and clean up after each pour. I’ve never ever had a coffee maker as sloppy as this one.

Now i see it as a joke each morning so perhaps all isn't lost. But, thus far, i've never accomplished a single pour without liquid all over the place. If you want a morning laugh, a challenge you'll never win, buy this coffee pot.

Sep 01, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
superdow
by: superdow

Garbage.
More coffee on the floor than in the cup.
Unbelievable.

Sep 01, 2009
Rating
star
more coffee on the floor than in the cup
by: Ray

the price was right - $10 at Walgreens but my Lord,
as the reviewers above complain, the carafe spurts like a hose all about the place when
the pour commences.

how is it humanly possible for someone to manufacture a piece of junk like this?

IF this were China some executive would probably be executed.


No such thing as quality control anymore?

I suspect the tens of thousands of pots were manufactured before someone decided to test the product and now the unsuspecting consumer is stuck.

I must say that I have had similar problems with other manufactures, including Mr. Coffee, but nothing really compares to this situation.

well I'm glad I got this off my chest.


Aug 09, 2009
Rating
star
The bane of my morning existence!
by: Anonymous

OMG! I felt like this was my own voice talking about this stupid piece of junk. My wife and I were laughing out loud at the description of the dripping pour. It actually defies logic how impossible it is to not have a clean-up. The money I've spent in paper towel clean ups would more than pay for a better maker. Thankfully I "accidently" broke the carafe the other day and we can be put out of our misery.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page