logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Keurig’s Elite Brewing System B40 Coffee Maker


The Elite Brewing System has a size dimension of 13"H x 9.8"W x 13.3"D. A single serve brewing system for coffee, tea, and even hot cocoa, the product uses the patented K-cups, which allow for a variety of gourmet coffee choices.


Energy-efficient, it comes with a two-hour automatic shut off when not in use. It offers two coffee serving options, a 8 ounce-cup for regular size servings or a 10 ounce-mug. Compatible with a travel mug, it is safe to say that the Elite Brewing System can accommodate many types of mug for the convenience of multiple users, especially in an office setting where most people have their own container.

The Brewing System also comes with a one-year limited warranty and can fit beautifully with the modern office decor because of its sleek and stylish design.

Key features

- The Elite Brewing System makes use of K-Cups for a non-messy gourmet coffee serving.
- It also works well with tea and hot cocoa.
- It has a removable water reservoir of 48 ounces.
- This coffee maker model comes with an automatic shut off to promote energy efficiency.
- The sleek and stylish design fits the modern office setting.
- It features a removable drip tray.
- It is easy to use.
- It allows for different coffee servings.
- The unit is compatible with travel mugs as well as other differently sized cups

Advantages

Because of the patented K-Cups, consumers can expect no messy clean-ups. The use of K-Cups allows for a wide array of gourmet coffee choices as well.

This coffee maker can supply up to 8 cups of coffee before needing a refill. Because of its two-hour shut off that kick in when the machine is not in use, this makes an excellent choice for energy-conscious users.

Users also have the advantage of manipulating the strength of the coffee cup because of the different serving size settings. The Elite Brewing System comes with two different coffee sizes and can also be used to prepare hot tea and cocoa. This is remarkably easy to use.

Disadvantages

According to some consumers, the considered priming time for water of 3 minutes actually takes longer. When in use, the model is very noisy. Some say that the unit is hard to clean regardless of the removable water reservoir and drip tray.

Among the listed disadvantages are the limited number of cup sizes and short life span.

Pros
- wide range of coffee gourmet selections because of the patented K-Cups
- water reservoir as well as drip tray is removable to make cleaning easier
- strength of the coffee is easy to manipulate due to the coffee size options
- easy and simple to use
- multiple settings available
- stylish design that could fit any home or office space and blends perfectly with the modern decor
- Some consumers have pointed out that the Elite Brewing System is kid-friendly.

Cons
- Some consumers have complained that the product only fills up half the cup.
- Others have complained that it is hard to clean.
- durability of the Elite Brewing System model is questioned by a few users because of its rather short life span
- number of cup sizes is not enough for some
- can be very noisy when in use

Comments for Keurig’s Elite Brewing System B40 Coffee Maker

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 16, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Keurig’s Elite Brewing System B40 Coffee Maker NEW
by: Anonymous

place awake by means of future intended for teacher relating to training and particulars is provide on or at the rear surface to height normal house human income augment session which scheme of
affordable assignments stillness matter as a result as to help out instructor revolve into additional responsibility shining surrounded through provisions of content and restrain.

Mar 06, 2012
Rating
star
Don't Buy or You Will be Sorry!
by: Anonymous

I bought one as Christmas gift to the family and it lasted less than 12 weeks. Forget "Customer Service"--someone should send Keurig the definition of what custome service is supposed to be. I have called twice and both times been given the run around including the statement that my machine is a rare one that would malfunction so soon. I really am sorry I purchased, and I would never recommend it. Anyone who purchased one years ago has had no problem, but most of the people who have purchased in the last few years are plagued with problems.

Feb 07, 2012
Rating
star
Coffee IS NOT HOT enough!!
by: Anonymous

I just purchaesed this machine at $125. We have done our research and knew all pros and cons but to my dislike is that the coffee isn't hot enough. I usually drink instant coffee at home as I am the only coffee drinker and boil water on the stove top. I do not like my coffee extremely hot but I would like it to be more than LUKE warm!!! Anyone else have this same arguement??? Not sure if I would buy another one and am thinking of returning the product.

Dec 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Not Reliable
by: Anonymous

Only lasted one year!

Dec 17, 2011
Rating
star
they break
by: mark

the two we have bought have both failed within 12 months. dont bother the quality is non existant.

Nov 17, 2011
Rating
star
Not as good as you think!
by: Ryck Martin

I've bought 3 Keurig K Cup makers and they are NOT nearly as good as you think. The first one lasted less than 1 year before it began making these horrific noises similar to what an airplane propeller would make just as it flies off! Having a large inventory of K Cups, and getting zero satisfaction from Kuerig's so called customer service (out of warranty) I reluctantly bought a replacement. I've now had it for two months and it too is making the propeller noise, only this time, we also have another issue. Everytime we make a cup, all the lights begin to blink on and off. The only way we it will stop is to unplug the maker and turn it back on. Next cup, same thing happens. Kuerig says to ship it back in it's original box and they will replace it. Did you keep the original box? What are we supposed to do while the machine travels around - buy another? Another Kuerig? And how about that price tag?? A $100 for a machine made in China for 10 bucks! Keurig is NOT a friend of the consumer. I am not a happy K-Cup coffee drinker. We need some real competition in the K-Cup market.

Sep 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Drinking some right now!
by: Anonymous

This coffee machine is amazing, single serve is just enough. I don't usually drink coffee (I'm 15) but since we bought it I've been enjoying more. It takes so little time, which is great for me to just grab and go to school. I highly, highly recommend this coffee machine.

Jun 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Disappointed
by: Edmonton, AB

I received the Keuring Elite for a gift and really liked the fact that there were no messy grounds to clean and the quality of the coffee was really good. However a short while later I noticed problems with the pump not supplying water to fill the cup. Finally the pump quit working all together. I am disappointed in the short life span of the product and really expected longer usage based on the price. As a result I'm not certain if I want to take a chance on buying a replacement coffee maker that will only last a little over a year (broke shortly after the one year warranty expired).

Mar 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
New Owner
by: Kat

I really like my Keurig B40. its fast and will accomidate my whole family for all our different tastes. It's cup sizes do vary from time to time, we don't always get a full cup and I can only make about 3 cups till I have to refill or it has to reheat. Its very expensive for what it does. If the price was lower I would recommend it to everyone. Hope price comes down $150.00 is too much.

Feb 20, 2011
Rating
star
Not So Good!
by: Anonymous

We purchased this machine at Kohls about 6 months ago. The coffee maker gives a good tasting cup of coffee - if you can get a full cup of coffee out of it! The concept of the coffee maker is good - getting it to work as it should is another idea altogether! We are purchasing another brand of coffee maker today. Our advice: Skip the purchase of this particular machine. It's a rip-off.

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
star
unhappy
by: Anonymous

I gave 2 as Christmas gifts...each one lasted a year and then quit working. I am not impressed!!

Jan 23, 2011
Rating
star
mixed feelings
by: Anonymous

Had experience with the B60 model and was quite impressed with ease of use and quality of coffee. I purchased B40 model as I am only one who drinks coffee in house. Unfortunately I am experiencing half cup dispensing and this really frustrates me as I normally only buy best of the line equipment to avoid these kind of issues. I really don't enjoy having to run 2 cups through the machine to get one decent sized cup of coffee. Otherwise the convenience and quality of the coffee is quite good. If only it dispensed properly.
Manufacturers should pay mor e attention to these little issues to protect their reputation.

Jan 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Greatest Coffee Machine Ever
by: Debbie

I have been using a Keurig for a year now. During the first month I had problems, it was only giving 1/2 cup. I do not know why this happened but I let it sit for a month thinking it was broken, took it back out of the box, plugged it in and it has been working 100% ever since. If my Keurig broke down I would not even hesitate to go buy another one right away.

Jan 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
B40
by: Gerald macLeod

I love my new coffee machine but the only problem I have with it is most times I only get half a cop of coffee. Now for the past two days, I am getting a full cup and I don't know why because I didn't do anything to it.

Dec 28, 2010
Rating
star
Faulty pump design
by: Anonymous

I'm on my 4th KeurigB40. 1st one died after a month, returned to store and got replacement. 2nd lasted a couple of months. Keurig replaced 2nd one without problem. 3rd lasted 5 months. Contacted Keurig again. They replaced and had me return this one and gave me specific cleaning instructions. Followed instructions to a T. 4th one died. Only getting half cups. Water going in reservoir. Have to open and close lid 2-3 times or shut off and back on to start brew. E-mailed Keurig. Was told to contact by phone for "troubleshooting". I responded that I don't need troubleshooting, it's a faulty design. No response. 4 in a year.

Dec 28, 2010
Rating
star
poor rating
by: Anonymous

I have had this model for two days and it has stopped working. It will only make a partial cup either on small or large brew option. Loved the coffee when the machine worked. Rate this michine 0.5 out of 10.

Dec 22, 2010
Rating
star
horrible product
by: WenV

I would not recommend this Coffe Maker to anyone. First one I only had less than 6 months(July) and it just stopped working one day, would not even turn on. When I got new machine after calling Keurig, not everything was in shipment I was promised to replace my old machine. Contacted Keurig again on this situation and to date Dec. 22, 2010. I have heard nothing. Second machine only dispenser a cup of water when it feels like it. I have contacted Keurig several times and have heard nothing. Even after given all information on product and the problem. They wanted me for the first machine to purchase a separate filter at my expense thinking it was my water. I have gone to using distilled in the second one and this still did not help the machine. So now I have a $100 machine and k-cups I can not use. So I am back to using my Black and Decker single serve that I bought for $9.99 years ago. Customer service at Keurig wants to sell products, but not stand behind them once sold.

Nov 03, 2010
Rating
star
THIS ONE SUCKS!!
by: Anonymous


BUYER BEWARE!


HAD THIS BREWER FOR LESS THAN 1 YR. AT 109$ BOUGHT IT AT SEARS. DESCALE LIGHT KEPT COMING ON...DESCALED 3 TIMES AND THEN IT WOULD BARELY DRIBBLE THROUGH 1/2 A CUP./....THEN TRIED TO DESCALE AND CLEAN THE NEEDLE AGAIN AND NOW IT WON'T PULL ANY WATER OR WHITE VINEGAR THROUGH AT ALL!!! BUT BECAUSE I WASN'T AN EXCLUSIVE MEMBER THAT BOUGHT THE COFFEE THROUGH THE MAIL THEY WOULDN'T REIMBURESE ME AT ALL..HAD I BEEN A MEMBER THEY WOULD GIVE ME 1/2 OFF ON ANOTHER ONE....LIKE I'D "WANT" ANOTHER ONE ! I USED THE SPECIAL INSERT ATTACHMENT THAT I BOUGHT FROM KEURIG FOR ANOTHER 15$ SO I COULD USE MY OWN COFFEE AND IF THAT'S WHAT'S MESSING IT UP THEN THEY SHOULD NOT SELL THEM!!! I WON'T BUY ANOTHER ONE AND WILL ENCOURAGE ALL MY FRIENDS AND CLIENTS (I CLEAN HOUSES) NOT TO BUY ONE EITHER. THEY DO NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS.

Mar 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Well worth the price!
by: Anonymous

If you are anything like me, you despise coffee brewing systems that just don’t get the job done. You know, the ones where your brewed coffee is as lukewarm as the water that went into the pump reservoir. The ones that wear out in less than a year’s time.

My patience finally wore thin and I made a decision that, based on the technological advancement in coffee brewing systems, I was going to invest in an awesome coffee maker.

The motivation for my ultimate purchase came from a stay at a motor hotel that my girlfriend and I dropped in on when we were headed out East. There in the room stood this unique Keurig coffee brewer with two small air-vacuumed sealed cups of fresh coffee grounds of varying flavor.

Interested as I was at that moment, it was 2am and we had to check out at 11am so we hit the sack. Next thing I know, it’s 10:45am and we are scrambling out of bed to avoid another room charge for being late.

A normal coffee pot would take about 15 minutes to brew, so coffee would be out of the question. Not with this Keurig; the ease of use is incredible.

You simply drop your sealed coffee grounds cup into the brewer, press a button, and not more than two minutes later, you have fresh coffee. It’s awesome and convenient. For someone like me, I don’t need a huge pot brewed in the morning. I need 1 cup and I need it in less than 5 minutes.

The Elite Brewing system provides just that, and with quality taste! This thing is also a tank, and I’ve been using it for 10 months now. No change in brewing quality, no broken parts, no lack of heat! At $100, it’s a bit pricey but well worth a great cup of coffee every morning for the next few years to come!


Pros
- Ease of use
- Practical

Cons
- Limited brewing capacity
- Expensive

Rating
5 out of 5

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Keurig Coffee Maker .

footer for coffee maker reviews page