logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Keurig One Cup Platinum B70


The Platinum Brewing System of Keurig makes use of K-Cups, which allows for a variety of coffee flavor options. UL and c-UL approved for household use, the model stands at 13"H x 10.3"W x 13.8"D and weighs 12 lbs when empty and when 15 lbs when full.


Sleek and simple in design, it goes well with contemporary kitchen decor. The model has an on/off function, a digital clock, and temperature control for those who don’t like their coffee too hot. There are 5 coffee option types available, satisfying the need for the full coffee strength spectrum.

Key features

- This coffee maker offers up to 5 serving types, 4 oz, 6 oz, 8 oz, 10 oz, and 12 oz travel size.
- The 60-ounce water reservoir is efficiently removable.
- It features programmable functions to make it easy and convenient to use.
- It has a sleek and stylish design.
- It comes with a blue backlit display.
- It features the Quiet Brew Technology.
- The unit makes use of K-Cups for a wide range of coffee flavor and options.
_ It features an iced beverage setting.

Advantages

The various size settings for coffee quantity also allows users to set the strength of their coffee. Pick a 4-oz for a stronger coffee quality or an 8-oz for a more watered level.

Consumers also noted the easy to use programmable functions. The programmable settings of the Platinum Brewing System allow users to have ready-to-drink coffee at specific times each day, allowing for energy conservation.

The 60-oz water reservoir can supply up to 15 cups of coffee depending on the user’s preferences. The removable water reservoir also makes it easy to wash and refill.

The Quiet Brew Technology of the Platinum Brewing System is one hundred percent working at full capacity, allowing the device to operate with hardly a noise to be heard.

The use of K-Cups is also great, as this allows users to choose from different coffee types without too much hassle. Another major benefit is the fast and easy brewing time done in a matter of seconds.

Disadvantages

The Platinum Brewing System is a bit more expensive compared to other coffee machines in the market. Another common problem among users is that the K-Cups are not easily found at your regular department store.

One minor inconvenience is that the Platinum Brewing System finds it hard to recognize if the lid is open or not. So when the device is turned on, the lid must first be opened and then shut to trigger the device into brewing. According to some people, the iced beverage option does not work for all available sizes.

Pros
- K-Cups are great especially for those who like to experiment on their coffee
- completely programmable, which means one can turn the device on and off during a specific time period every day, making it energy-efficient
- extra hardware is sold, which allows users to use regular coffee instead of the K-Cups
- also capable of making tea, hot cocoa, and even cold beverages
- stylish and blends well with the decor

Cons
- K-Cups are not readily available in stores
- iced drinks are not well done
- device itself is sometimes hard to clean
- Some users have complained that after some time of worry-free use, the device starts to “clog” and must be cleaned often.

Comments for Keurig One Cup Platinum B70

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 05, 2013
Rating
star
Aluminum taste in water & k-cup cups brewed from b70 model
by: Anonymous

Brought the b70 model & brewed it after cleaning . It tasted like metal. So I descaled it with vinegar according to manufacturers instructions. Added the keriug filter to put in water tank. Still no matter how many times I run machine & clean it still tastes like aluminum metal . That's using k-cups coffee , hot chocolate , iced beverages and just straight h2o. I have one friend who also experienced & traded it in for another & it's fine so far . Anyone else experiencing same problem?

Nov 16, 2012
Rating
starstar
Keurig Platinum 70
by: Anonymous

Even with filterd water the coffee maker failed just after the one year waranty.The electonics went on it and wont brew a full cup.I tried cleaning it with vinegar. Typical Chinese junk.

Oct 08, 2012
Rating
starstar
Manufacturing problem
by: Kathy

I had the unexpected shut off problem and was promptly sent a new replacement. How ever, two other close family have had the same model and same problem w shutting off. Seems to be there is a problem in design or manufacture! They were not so lucky and are left with a top of the line model that first work.

Dec 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Coffee not hot enough
by: Terry

I got a Keurig coffee maker a couple of weeks ago. It's one of the cheapest models, which I like, because it has no bells and whistles to break down, no reservoir to go scummy, there's no power drain 90 seconds after shut-down. I just pour the water into it, that I am going to use. My only complaint is that the coffee is not hot enough. I put cream in my coffee, but even when I tried drinking it black (yuk) it was too cold. I don't feel I should have to throw a fresh coffee in the micro-wave. I use the reusable cup with my favorite fair-trade organic coffee with 10 ounces of water and 2 tbsps. of coffee. It tastes fine, but because it's so cold, I usually pour about half of it down the sink. Is there an adjustment I can make somewhere inside the unit to increase the temperature by 2 or 3 degrees, anyone know? Otherwise, it's a wonderful device since I am the inly coffee drinker in the family.

Jun 29, 2011
Rating
star
bad product
by: Anonymous

The first one we purchased simply stopped working. Keurig replaced it with another one and now it is malfunctioning as well. Apparently they are disposable. Going back to Mr.Coffee.

May 04, 2011
Rating
starstar
DEAD after 14 months
by: Anonymous

Got our coffee maker in Feb 2010. LOVED it! Have a ton of coffee in my house. Came down one morning to make a cup and it was completely dead. No power at all. Tried everything. So disappointed. We were the best PR for Keurig. 5 others went and bought machines because they tried it at our house. We told them how great the machine was. I feel so bad!!! I'm afraid they will all end up with dead machines too. SO upsetting.


Apr 20, 2011
Rating
starstar
not a happy camper
by: Anonymous

Have only had it since Nov. 2009 and only make 2-3 cups per day.... it just stopped. And for as expensive as the machine is, it should last A LOT longer than that. And of course, there is only a one year warranty.

Apr 05, 2011
Rating
star
This coffee maker sucks
by: PF Los Angeles

Sure ...it was great at first...but then it started brewing small amounts of coffee. The water trickles, and sometimes it says it brewing and it doesn't brew anything. Sometimes it just turns off on its own. Once the trouble started I started research online and sure enough!...everyone loved it at first but then it sucks after a couple months.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
star
Dissatisfied
by: Sonshine

Keurig-B-70-Whats-up!!!
I got my Keurig for Christmas in 2009. I live by myself and make one cup of coffee per day. I am on disability and this was a very large purchase for me. Prior to this I had a Mr. Coffee which I paid $20.00 for and had for years. Anyway, long story short, now, after only 15 months, this $150.00 rip-off no longer makes coffee and I had to drag my $20.00 Mr. Coffee back out of storage. In this one year period that the Keurig worked I was very pleased and probably told at least a dozen people about it and I know several that bought the Keurig because of my excitement. Well my bubble certainly has been popped.In this world of souped up technology, the old plain janes end up being the best. We end up throwing away something that cost ten times as much that last a ten the time -so really how far have we really come or how backward have we really gone or how stupid or we really??? Boy have I learned an expensive lesson and boy am I Keurig's worst nightmare in advertisement!!!

Mar 14, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Excellent....
by: Anonymous

....until the warranty was up! I loved this coffee machine. I brewed 3-5 cups/day and spent a fortune on K-Cups. I went to make a cup one saturday morning and my brewer was DEAD. No power to the machine at all. I loved my Keurig, but after it's short lifespan I don't think I'll be going back.

Feb 15, 2011
Rating
star
Keurig Does NOT Stand Behind Product
by: Anonymous

My coffee maker died 1 month to the day after the 12 month warranty ran out. I called QVC, which is who I bought it from, and they said too bad call the manufacturer. I called Keurig and they said buy a new one because the warranty is up. I do not expect to pay $150 for a coffee maker that breaks after 13 months of service. I will never buy another Keurig.

Feb 07, 2011
Rating
starstar
Cup Size
by: Anonymous

It has a mind of it's own when it comes to selecting the cup size. We are are on our second machine and the same thing is happenimg the cup size is alway small. We are going to return the unit and try a diferant make.

Feb 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Get Your Fact Straight
by: Anonymous

FYI, the ice beverage option has only one size. It simply brews a 3 oz shot into your ice filled cup.

Jan 28, 2011
Rating
starstar
sad
by: Anonymous

Died after 16 months.....need I say more

Jan 21, 2011
Rating
starstar
Keurig not 192 degrees as listed
by: Anonymous

Hi Guys: for those nerds amongst you we can finally put pay to the temperature issue. I ran a statistical test that tests whether the mean is 192 vs whether its less than 192. Guess what ITS NOT 192. This is based on a sample size of n=30 from my Platinum B70. This is the second machine I have bought with this issue so its clear to me that keurig dont give a damn about this issue. Its all over the web why isnt someone at Keurig fixing this simple issue.

Jan 09, 2011
Rating
star
Very Disappointed
by: Anonymous

We love the concept and the coffee when it works. We initially bought the 3 brew size machine and when it broke down returned to the store and upgraded to the Platinum machine. This one after 4mo started giving us trouble but now at 6months has stopped working altogether. We've tried descaling for several weeks now and the descale light does not go out, it no longer heats and has no idea what cup size you are selecting it either dribbles out or completely emptys the water resevoir. We are going out today to find another brand of coffee maker to brew the KCups - love the coffe hate this machine

Jan 09, 2011
Rating
starstar
grinds in every cup
by: Olive

Great unit for 1 year - now grinds in every cup, cleaned several times and still lots of grinds in every cup and can not take apart to clean. Also used only filtered, bottled water.
Would think for the price would last longer and now after reading all the reviews I will not purchase another one.

Jan 07, 2011
Rating
star
NOT HOT
by: Ric in Minneapolis

Got a Platinum for Christmas, my wife complained that it wasn't hot enough, despite being set for "192". So I used my new temperature Super Fast Thermopen (also a gift) and it measured the water temp at at 165.3 degrees. I'm returning the unit, and will try a Cuisinart.
All these internet reviews and not one has actually measured the water temp. What unprofessional fools, or perhaps that what Keurig is hoping its customer is.

Dec 16, 2010
Rating
starstar
Nice machine BUT
by: Anonymous

the coffee does not get hot enough Once the milk is in its cold 192 degrees is the hottest temp and its not good enough Also the largest size is not big enough for a 16 oz mug . the coffee gets watered down with that size and loses taste

Dec 09, 2010
Rating
star
Not hot enough
by: Anonymous

Bought this on the weekend and I had to heat my coffee in the microwave before I drank it... it says it heats up to 192 degrees, i put a little milk in and it was luke warm....

Oct 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Worked well while it lasted
by: Anonymous

Was happy with the quality of the coffee and ease of use, but the pump went out after one year of use (about two cups per day.) The machine is built as a throw-away when it stops working, no replacement parts are available and the plastic body has one-way plastic clips that break during disassembly if you try to repair it. Not what I expected from a $200 machine.

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
star
Lousy Pump
by: ellen

This $200 coffee system worked great until 2 years...pump went...Kreuig says they will sell me another one for $150...No thanks.

Aug 15, 2010
Rating
starstar
Had it for 24 hours
by: Dapper

I am not here to slam this product yet I feel compelled to tell others that enjoy the richness of "coffee shop" beverages that this machine with the most robust K coffee available will only provide a reasonable cup and nothing close to that wonderful flavor of a French presss.

Jul 30, 2010
Rating
star
Constant Problems
by: Tom

I purchased the first B70 Keurig in December 2009. Since that time, I've had three new ones sent by Keurig because of issues. Their customer service staff is great but the brewer is faulty.All of them work for 1-3 months before failing. I only use bottled water since I was told during the second replacement it may be scaling. I don't use it for hot chocolate because I was told it may clog up machine.

It failed again early this week and they are sending a new and improved "Platinum" model. Hopefully the forth time is the charm. I love the ease and tatse when it's working but.........

Apr 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
good only when it works
by: Still Craving Coffee

Hey great machine....WHEN IT WORKS......which is not too often....we are on our 4th machine in 3 months.....the 4 machines haven't worked often enough for us to have gone thru our 1st box of K cups......you do the math.....luckily there's a Tim Hortons on my way to work! Would I recommend this to anybody else? Not a chance.....only positive thing is their customer service is great.....they acknowledge there is a problem, but they continue to sell these machines.....TOYOTA anybody?

Mar 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
convenient brewer!
by: Parker

This coffee maker is very nice and extremely convenient. Unlike other coffee makers that produce a pot of coffee there is no mess and the perfect serving size.

It is very nice to not have to clean out a pot or deal with filters, all you have to do is put in the "K-cup", press a button, and you have a cup of coffee or tea right into your mug. It is also just the right size to put a travel mug under. this coffee maker is great for families with coffee drinkers and tea drinkers because it can make one right after the other with no clean up and no boiling water. the water storage is also very nice on this model. some of the other models have too little water for family use, while you may not want a more commercial model that has a wall water source.

There are a few flaws in this machine however. the machine has to still be cleaned and it can be a time consuming process that usually involves taking a tooth-pick to some of the tubes or running a bottle of vinegar through the system to flush it out. the coffee maker also will vibrate and become very noisy. nothing like a bean grinder, but still annoying. one plus is the "K-cups" very convenient and some great flavors of coffee with no mess.

The k-cup is a very convenient thing the coffee and filter are enclosed in a small cup that you just insert into the coffee maker, then when your done take it out and throw it away. In the end this coffee maker is defiantly worth the price and is over all a great system. And K-cups are revolutionary devices that come in coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. Keurig has done wonders with this coffee maker.

Mar 12, 2010
Rating
starstar
not hot coffee
by: Lesley

We bought the Keurig B70 at Costco and used it for about a month. The coffee never got really hot. When I returned it, the salesperson told me that they had a bunch come back from one batch they received with the same problem. I loved the convenience of it but need my coffee hot. Our office has the B60 and the coffee is hotter, but the other thing is that the taste of the coffee in the Kcups is a little different and we tried every variety imaginable. Am wondering if the plastic container doesn't give it kind of a strange taste.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Excellent single cup coffee maker
by: Anonymous

Pros
- great for a single cup coffee drinker
- k cups are great

Cons
- Pricey

Rating
4 out of 5

The Keurig Platinum is an excellent single cup coffee maker. It is great for a single cup coffee drinker, like myself. I have had other coffee makers and they are just not designed to make one cup of great tasting coffee and I end up throwing the extra away.

I'm also a huge fan of the K-cups! I am so not a morning person, so measuring out coffee and then dealing with old coffee grinds is not my thing. The K-cups are not messy, stay fresh for that individual cup I am making, and come from amazing coffee companies like Caribou and Coffee People! I'd also say I am a big fan of the 60oz water reservoir, which lasts me about a week or more!

I don't have to pour in water every day and the programmable auto-on option gets the water ready for me when I need it, which is way too early in the morning! Yep, I probably wouldn't get out the door on time without all these features...or I'd be spending more money at a coffee shop on the way to work.

There are disadvantages, of course, to getting a great cup of coffee - the price! K-cups aren't really that cheap, so I'm not saving money by making one cup instead of tossing the left over coffee I used to make. I'd equate this to the 100 calorie pack phenomenon - you are getting a controlled serving at a higher price.

This is of course why I shop around online for good K-cup deals or use the Bed, Bath, and Beyond coupons. Another disadvantage to the Keurig is it makes 1 cup really well, but is not set up for a party's worth of coffee. I still have a big brewer for those occasions when I want to be cheap and serve a larger brunch crowd.

Oct 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Fast Brewing Coffee Maker
by: Anonymous

Pros
- fast brewing
- make only as much as you drink

Cons
- not good for entertaining
- complicated set-up

As an avid, all-day coffee drinker I had a habit of making 3-4 pots of coffee a day, since I work from home. I began to notice the waste of this practice as I could only drink so much coffee before it would get cold and I'd end up by throwing out a lot of extra coffee. A friend of mine mentioned her Keurig coffee maker and suggested it might be a good idea for me since it only brew one cup at a time.

I agreed with her and I liked the taste of her coffee so I bought one. It was daunting at first to get the process down, as it is a little more involved than a normal drip pot (changing pods, waiting for the coffee to heat, choosing the appropriate volume for my cup) but I got used to it.

The coffee tastes good, apart from the occasional grounds that find their way into my cup, and it is really convenient when I only want one hot cup of coffee, but problems came up when I had people over for a dinner party and everyone wanted coffee but we had to wait for each individual cup to brew.

I was stuck in the kitchen making cup after cup and it was like we were drinking our coffee in shifts. Kind of annoying. Other than that, I think it's a great purchase for someone like me who likes coffee on-demand without the waste. Maybe, if you buy this coffee maker, have a drip pot on hand for parties so that you can brew 12 cups at once.

Apr 05, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
All in all perfect for home use
by: Rosy

I bought the coffee maker from amazon.com. I went for Keurig because most people preferred it over other machines for home purpose.After little bit research i got to know that the best maker for me having compact size, low cost, reliable, durable and easily made coffee maker is this one only. The machine is so compact in size that you need not to worry about space in kitchen where it is to be kept.

Moreover the k-cups are readily available and B70 is the special edition which has stunning look and stylish body.It is capable of making four different sizes of coffee.These were the special qualities that attracted me.

There were other coffee makers also available like Tassimo , Breville etc. Tassimo can make wide variety of coffees but i hardly wanted to have different types of coffee. I was looking for a coffee maker which can make good coffee neither too strong, nor too light.Moreover varieties of coffees are limited. Breville is also a good coffee maker but it was costlier and i dint like its look that much.

I have been wanting a coffee brewer which will last long without any problems and give the same good performance as it was giving in the beginning. Keurig till today giving me the performance as per my expectation for over the last one year. I bought it one year ago.Even after the expiration of the warranty period it is going great.

It is quite easy and convenient to wash it. If you ask my opinion whether to go for it or not then i will suggest that it depends on choice, like if you want a single-cup stylish, compact, reliable and durable coffee maker then certainly go for Keurig. Keurig offers lot different models that will suit your desires. Keurig cannot make multiple coffee cups in one go. But certainly that won't matter much if you want it for home purpose only.

And if you want wide different varieties of coffees then I think you can go for other products.

In nutshell I can summarize the advantages or speciality of this coffee brewer as follows:
1)small and compact size
2)stunning look and stylish body
3)easily made coffee saving time
4)durable
5)reliable
6)good taste maker
7)4 Different coffee sizes
8)wide range of k-cups available
All in all perfect for home use!!!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Keurig Coffee Maker .

footer for coffee maker reviews page