logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Keurig Elite B40

by Misty
(Midwest)


$

Keurig B40 Elite Gourmet
Single-Cup Home-Brewing System


I purchased my Keurig coffee maker from the Keurig website. When I purchased it they were running a promotion where I was able to get free shipping.

I have had my coffee maker since the beginning of September and I love it! It uses k-cups, which are small individual sized coffee pods.

I like that there is no mess involved with grounds. The ease of use is remarkable, you just turn your machine on, pop in the k-cup, let it heat up for 30 seconds press the size cup you want, either 7.25oz or 9.25oz and that's it!

When you are done you can just remove the k-cup and that's all the clean up there is! It also has a 48oz removable water resevoir so that way you don't have to fill it with water each time you use it.

The k-cups come in a variety of coffee flavors and they also come in hot chocolate and tea as well. I just wish that they were sold more places other than online and a few stores like bed bath and beyond.

I like the taste of the coffee that comes out of the Keurig, it is not bitter, or oily like I have found with previous machines.

I would recommend this particular machine to anyone who enjoys a good cup of joe!



Comments for Keurig Elite B40

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 07, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Awesome
by: Anne7769

I just bought my Keurig Elite and I really can't say enough about it. Both my younger sisters had one prior to me. My Husband and I are extreemly different coffe drinkers. He likes his coffee extreemly strong and I like mind normal or regular roast. He also used to make a huge mess with the grinds.
I am in love no more grinds(messes) no more forgotten cooked coffee. Using only what we need and being able to brew our own coffee there is no waist as well.
My only wish is that I could just heat water for tea as some of my favorites dont come in K-cups, nor does instant soup. If anyone knows let me know please.
I can't say enough great stuff. I actually bought extra filter to brew any kind of coffee. Awesome and mine is babied I only use poland springandor filtered. Hoping that can waylay the dscaling.
Any help about the heating of water that would be great. Thanks Can't say enough awesome stuff LOVE IT.
Anne

Mar 02, 2011
Rating
star
coffee not hot
by: Barbara

I am taking my B40 elite back tomorrow I is just not hot enough.I called customer service they must be trained that the customer is always wrong.She was absolutly no help not friendly to the point of being rude.iam going to call my local TV station to look into this.maybe your top people would like to read these comments before you go out of business.We have one of these at work it is an older one over four years and the coffee is nice and hot.I never see any one clean it. So I think your problem is with the newer ones.

Dec 27, 2010
Rating
star
Why?
by: Anonymous

we had just used it like an hour before and it worked, later it didn't. we just got it a month ago!!!! Don't waste your money on these machines!!! go and get a Bunn machine, they work alot better!!!!!!!!! ours just dripps the coffee out it won't pour it!!!!!!!!! HATE THIS MACHINE

Nov 03, 2010
Rating
star
THIS ONE SUCKS!!!
by: Anonymous

BUYER BEWARE. HAD THIS ONE A FEW DAYS OVE ONE YR....BOUGHT IT AT SEARS.. VERY NOISEY!! WE'VE DESCALED ACCD. TO DIRECTIONS 3 TIMES AND NOW IT WON'T EVEN PULL WATER THROUGH! WE BOUGHT THE ATTACHMENT TO USE OUR OWN COFFEE (FOR 15$ MORE) SO THE NEEDLE WAS NEVER AN ISSUE ALTHOUGH WE CLEANED THAT ALSO. EMAILED THE COMPANY. THEY SAID HAD I BEEN A MEMEBER OF THEIR CLUB BY BUYING EXPENSIVE COFFEE K CUPS THROUGH THEM THEY COULD GIVE ME 1/2 OFF ON ANOTHER COFFEE MAKER...(LIKE I WANT ANOTHER ONE). BUT ALAS, I WAS NOT SO TOO BAD FOR ME. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER OVER PRICED ONE OF THESE NOR WILL I RECOMMEND THEM TO MY FRIENDS OR CLIENTS..THEY DO NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS BECAUSE THEY KNOW THEY DON'T LAST. GOOD IDEA CAN SOMEBODY INVENT ONE THAT ACTUALLY WORKS LONGER THAN 1 YR? TOO MUCH TO PAY IN THE 1ST PLACE!

Jul 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Also love the Model 870
by: Chuck

We have a model 870, and here is what we have discovered to solve the leaking problem. When you first drop a new "K" cup into place, push it down tight with your fingers so that it sits tight into place and you feel the bottom of the K cup get punctured. Doing this manually ensures that the bottom of the new K cup gets pierced adequately. The foil on the top of the K cups are easy for the coffee maker to pierce consistently but the bottom plastic is tougher and more rigid which results in periodic K cup/pod puncture failure. The reason this occurs is because when you pull the handle down before brewing, there is a gap spacing and it doesnt press the K-cup all the way down to get punctured properly on the bottom and so the water runs into the K cup but not all of it can run out the bottom, hence the overflow. Hope this helps.

Oct 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
We just love our machine!
by: Anonymous

We currently own the Keurig Elite single coffee cup brewing system in our home, since 2008. Some cons of this machine are that occasionally you will get a dud K-cup and the water brewing thru will leak out (but that is rare) and also, if you buy the k-cup filter basket you will find that it also will leak, the basket gets clogged up pretty easily (just clean it regularly with a toothbrush to scrub out ground coffee).

Pro's would be that you dont have to brew/waste a whole pot of coffee, that you and your spouse can have whatever flavor you want, and that it is so easy to use. In general i would say there are way more pro's than cons. We just love our machine!

Apr 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
K cups make for a difficult process
by: Jim

My wife bought me a Keurig Single Cup Elite Coffee Maker for my office as a birthday gift and so far although it was a very thoughtful gift, I am not that impressed.

I've seen tons of advertisements about these single cup coffee makers and they're supposed to be the next big item but I've had two different problems with the one I received. First, let me say that if you're the kind of person who needs a quick cup of coffee to start their day and you're always in a rush, this may be the right machine for you.

This coffee maker does live up to it's guarantee of being able to brew a cup of coffee in under a minute, and initially that really impressed me. My biggest problem with it is that the one that I have still continues to drip for up to fifteen minutes after I've poured myself a cup of coffee. This is a problem I used to have with my old CoffeeMate Coffee Maker a long time ago and I figured that with the advanced technology, that someone would have figured out how to fix that, but apparently I was wrong.

The second problem I have with this machine is that it only takes something called "K-Cups" which I have a difficult time finding sometimes. When I had my old coffee machine, I could buy my grounds, get my creamer and my flavoring and I'd be pretty much set.

These k-cups, while full of flavor are somewhat difficult to find and make having a cup of coffee a difficult process.

Apr 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Easy to use and saves electricity
by: Kerri

I have had a home-based Keurig coffee brewer for more than two years now, since the first one became available, and I love it! I purchased my new Keurig Elite directly from Keurig online, and it was shipped to my home within two days, and the shipping was free.

I purchased the new Keurig for myself because I gave my previous one to my mother, for her to use in the winters when she lives in Florida. She'd visited me and love the ease of use of my Keurig, so I gave it to her.

The ease of use is what makes the Keurig amazing. There are also dozens and dozens of K-cup brews available all over the web -- the Gloria Jean's pumpkin spice is great for autumn, and I love the Green Mountain blueberry in the summertime.

The Keurig is so easy to use -- just keep the water reservoir filled, and your coffee will be ready to go in less than a minute. The Elite model only has two cup sizes (8oz and 10oz), which is enough for me, although I sometimes wish I could get a really strong cup with a 4oz size (the platinum model does have that option). It takes about two minutes to heat up initially, but it's programmable so you can have it turn on and off at different times of day to save electricity.

There's very little cleanup with the Keurig Elite -- I soak the drip tray and the K-cup chamber in soapy water every couple of weeks, and it comes perfectly clean. The new Elite model seems louder than the old B40 I had, but not intolerably so. And I still find it disconcerting that you cannot fully drain the Keurig...I'm not sure I'd want to drink the first cup that comes out of it after a few months in storage.

For $100, though, the convenience can't be beat, and the K-cups available are really great.

Feb 19, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
One of my best small investments
by: N Anner

I have owned the same B40 since May 2007, a little shy of 2 years. I use it every day, at least 5 times per day during the week and up to 30 times in a day if I am entertaining, which I do often. In the past I have been the sort of coffee drinker who would make a pot of coffee only to let it sit around all day long, wasting coffee and energy. Because of this, the Keurig has been one of the best small investments I have made, and it has actually made my life much easier.

Pros
-Use only as much coffee as you will drink at one time with the special K-Cups now available on the internet and through specialty stores
-Get variety without dumping out or storing previously made coffee
-Enjoy fresh brewed coffee without making the mess that grinders, grounds and filters do
-Enjoy fresh brewed coffee without spending the time that grinders and filters require
-Use the hot water for oatmeal or making brewed tea

Cons
-The coffee maker itself is costly
-The coffee is costly on a per cup basis, about fifty cents
-The maker keeps a certain amount of water hot and ready to brew, which is a constant electricity requirement you may not be aware of

I am quite happy with the machine although I have noticed as time has gone on that the time between descalings has decreased. Descaling is easy in the grand scheme of things, uses only vinegar, but requires a time investment of about 5 hours. That the machine is demanding descalings more frequently though makes me a bit nervous.

One of my absolute favorite things about the maker is that I can offer guests whatever sort of coffee they enjoy since I keep decaf bold, regular bold, decaf flavored, regular flavored and different varieties of regular coffees 'in stock,' as well as tea and hot chocolate. The hardest part is getting people to understand that it's no trouble at all!

I highly recommend this maker for those who have a tendency to waste coffee, since those days are now over for me.

Jan 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Reliable and economical
by: Amit

Living in an apartment by myself, all I need really is a single cup coffee maker. I looked at all the choices at Bed Bath & Beyond and came home with the Keurig. I bought this on sale last black friday, and do not regret it one bit, infact this purchase might be one of the best decisions I've made to date.

The product itself seems sturdy. It’s made from stainless steel, not flimsy plastic like most coffee makers. It has been quite reliable so far. I usually use it twice a day and it has given me no problems thus far.

The water in the machine heats up very quickly, so you don't have to wait long for hot coffee or tea. Speaking of tea, I failed to mention the Keurig does tea also. You can either buy the special Keurig tea cartridges or simply use your own tea bags. You can also utilize the Keurig’s ability to heat water for instant soup or noodles.

The taste of the coffee brewed from this machine is simply unmatched to my normal 12 cup coffee machine. I tend to buy expensive bags of coffee, but they never turned out the way they do at Starbucks when I make it at home.

However with the Keurig I have saved all that money I used to spend on coffee at the stores. Even though the cartridges cost money (about a dollar each) I’d like to think it’s cheaper than Starbucks or Wawa.

However there are some cons to this machine.

I find that the Keurig's brewing amount is too little to fill up my mug. I usually have to run it twice to get the amount I want. The only other con I see, or hear should I say is the noise. The Keurig can be a little noisy, but I don't really mind.


Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Keurig Coffee Maker .

footer for coffee maker reviews page