logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Hamilton Beach 49464

by Alayna Feiling
(Pittsburgh, PA)


I bought this coffee maker almost two years ago at Kohl's. I wanted something physically attractive yet affordable and this seemed to be the one. It matched all of my other appliances, small and large, and though it wasn’t the fanciest one on the shelf, it seemed perfect for me. I must admit, I didn't use it more than a couple times the first few months.


But I started using it every day when winter time came and I've had almost no problems. There have been a few incidents of the coffee not making it to the pot because the glass pot itself wasn't inserted correctly.

You have to be careful and make sure the pot is perfectly in position. I like to lean over and look under the resevoir to make sure the little flap is down.

This doesn’t strike me as a flaw however because it means I can pour a cup mid-brew without any coffee being wasted or spilling where I don’t want it. It's been very reliable and I would definitely recommend it to a friend, family member or anyone who asks. It's the first coffee maker I have ever owned so unfortunately I can’t compare to any other as an owner, but I’ve used and seen others and if it’s something you plan on using every day, this is a great alternative to some of the more expensive coffee makers. Sometime down the road, as technology develops more and more, I’m sure I’ll still be satisfied with this Hamilton beach model.

It's simple and easy to use and looks fantastic in my kitchen. I’m a very happy customer.

Comments for Hamilton Beach 49464

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 06, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Unreal cost of replacement parts NEW
by: Anonymous

One of the hinge pins on the pot lid broke. I spend a great deal of time to even find a new lid. Hamilton Beach wants $8.99 for the lid and $12.99 for shipping. That's $22.00 for a 50 cent part and shipping that's $2.00 at the most including the padded envelope. I know they are entitled to a profit but this is beyond reason. Have these crooks ever heard of the legal team "Unjust Enrichment". I'll eat worms before I ever buy another one of their products.

Dec 30, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Coffee filter and capacity
by: Anonymous

I bought this at Kohls in late November 2010. For some reason if you measure eight cups of water, you only get 6-7 cups of coffee??

Also, I can find a gold filter for this model which I prefer over the paper filters - go green!

Apr 14, 2010
Rating
star
coffee gets spilt
by: Liz Fordred

Did they ever test the coffee pot? Which ever way you pour,it dribbles.There is nothing worse than a mess every time you fill it with water and then again when pouring the coffee.

Mar 23, 2010
Rating
star
broke down quickly
by: Anonymous

I bought the coffee maker at last week at Kohl's because price for less $19. I like that it is removal filter receptacle and using filter #4(I possesed nearly 100 filters for my failed Krupp coffee maker). I would like 4 inches for the line because the electric receptacle at the corner. It had complaints for carafe dripping fluid but I had not the problem because it is required that pour SLOWLY. I don't like the carafe design; I liked the former Krupp carafe. I found today that failed some numbers elements and couldn't determine the time. I fortunately that I am not using the program feature. I am using the coffee maker but I am not buying any coffee maker from Hamilton Beach.

Mar 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
broke down quickly
by: Anonymous

I bought the coffee maker at last week at Kohl's because price for less $19. I like that it is removal filter receptacle and using filter #4(I possesed nearly 100 filters for my failed Krupp coffee maker). I would like 4 inches for the line because the electric receptacle at the corner. It had complaints for carafe dripping fluid but I had not the problem because it is required that pour SLOWLY. I don't like the carafe design; I liked the former Krupp carafe. I found today that failed some numbers elements and couldn't determine the time. I fortunately that I am not using the program feature. I am using the coffee maker but I am not buying any coffee maker from Hamilton Beach.

Feb 08, 2009
Rating
starstar
Overflow
by: KD

I too bought this while it was on sale at kohl's.
Every now and then the filter fills and I have to jiggle the carafe to get it to drip. Another issue is the lid of the machine itself. It's so thin and flimsy that the heat from the water almost buckles it and it 'lifts' slightly which means the drip trigger is no engaged and hot coffee floods the counter top.
This was not a good buy.

Dec 15, 2008
Rating
starstarstar
Not so good
by: Anonymous

Today two years later the same coffee pot is still on sale at Kohls. I find the carafe a problem above the handle there is an opening where the steam can cause a burn on most carafe this a solid flap. You can not use a gold filter as the carafe will not release the coffee.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Hamiliton Beach Coffee maker reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page