logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Hamilton Beach 45238 Stay or Go Deluxe Thermal Coffeemaker


For an elegant coffee maker that comes in stylish silver and black in sleek profile, the Stay or Go® Deluxe Thermal Coffeemaker – Silver (MODEL: 45238) combines functionality with aesthetics when giving you a good cup of coffee.


It comes with a simple yet elegant design, with a straight-edged back that becomes rounded at the front. The silver finish accentuates the brightly-lit digital display on the front of the unit.

The Stay or Go Deluxe Thermal Coffeemaker includes travel mugs along with the carafe for added convenience, truly living up to its catchy name. It also comes with the features you see in other Hamilton Beach models such as the auto shut-off function.

Key features

- This coffee maker offers three brewing options.
- It comes with an insulated thermal carafe and two stainless steel coffee mugs for coffee drinking on the go.
- It uses a permanent coffee filter.
- The programmable clock and timer allows you to wake up to the smell of fresh coffee in the morning.
- It has the automatic shut-off feature to save on energy and avoid accidents.
- It features a small batch mode for economical use.
- It has a drip tray and features 1-4 cup setting and brightly-lit digital display.
- Aside from hot brewed coffee, it also makes iced coffee.
- It comes with a coffee scoop for easy coffee making.
- The removable filter basket holds regular cupcake-style filters.
- It comes with a three-year warranty
- The water tank at the back is accessible via a flip-up lid.

Advantages

The main advantage to using the Stay or Go Deluxe Thermal Coffeemaker is its ability to brew directly into any of the travel coffee mugs, which also easily fit into regular coffee cup holders.

There are guides on the machine itself that indicate where the coffee mugs should be placed to make sure that they collect all the coffee and to avoid spills.

The small batch brewing option eliminates the risk of wasting large cups of coffee by giving you the option of brewing between 1 to 4 cups of coffee. This makes the Stay or Go Deluxe Thermal Coffeemaker good enough for any size of household.

Disadvantages

It is often difficult to see the water level with no clear markings indicating the number of cups. Filling the machine with water is also difficult because the water reservoir is located at the back portion of the coffee maker.

Spills tend to occur when the carafe is not securely placed on the base. The Stay or Go Deluxe Thermal Coffeemaker is also larger than other models.

Pros
- easy to clean
- stylish design
- also doubles as an iced coffee maker
- comes with two travel-sized coffee mugs aside from the thermal carafe that can hold up to three cups of coffee
- allows direct brewing into the travel mugs perfect for those who are always in a hurry
- small batch mode ensures that no drop of coffee is wasted
- automatic shut-off for peace of mind when you forget to turn the coffee maker
- large backlit display allows for easy operation even at night

Cons
- design of the water tank makes filling with water slightly inconvenient
- difficult to determine how many cups of coffee are inside the coffee maker
- too short power cord
- drips and spills tend to occur if the carafe is not properly positioned under the spigot

Comments for Hamilton Beach 45238 Stay or Go Deluxe Thermal Coffeemaker

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 20, 2012
Rating
starstar
thermal
by: Anonymous

Makes a good cup of coffee but the pot does leak when you go to poor and it is hard getting water in the reservior. Still trying to find a reusuable permanent coffee filter but I don't think they make one to fit the model.

Feb 07, 2012
Rating
star
Carafe sucks
by: Anonymous

The Dam carafe leaks all over when you try to poor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Waste of money

Jan 15, 2012
Rating
star
carafe is broken
by: Anonymous

Same problem as above...

Plus: now we are using a regular pot as a recipient because the insulated thermal stainless steel carafe has been broken for a while.. By trying to open and close the leed everyday, which is not easy, the joint in between plastic top base (leed) and stainless steel recipent base has collapsed.

Good luck to one who try to glue it back..

Looks good but very badly done

Dec 11, 2011
Rating
starstar
Messy
by: Anonymous

This coffee maker makes good coffee however it is impossible to pour from the pot with out creating a mess. The pot drips continuously when pouring to the point where after 3 months we have decided to stop using it. It has been a total waste of money.

Aug 07, 2011
Rating
star
Drippy
by: Anonymous

Drips, drips, drips, pours and drips. Cannot pour a coffee without dripping all over, total rip-off, don't buy this coffee maker!!

Jun 15, 2011
Rating
star
have to pour over sink ,spills all over counter
by: Anonymous

I love the idea of not having your coffee sitting in a reg coffee pot getting that burnt taste. However no matter how fast or slow you pour your coffee , the coffee pot spills all over!!!

May 10, 2011
Rating
star
Model 45237 runs doesn't drip when pouring
by: Mexico

Have similar model 45237. Must pour over sink because it leaks so greatly. Coffee is good, temperture is okay. Just end up pouring half into the sink because of poor spout design.

Feb 09, 2011
Rating
star
Never Again
by: Anonymous

After spending the money I did for this coffee maker I feel ripped off. The caraffe drips horribly, it's impossible to fill the resevoir without spilling half the water on the counter, and what is the most frustrating is that after waiting for the coffee to brew, it's at best warm add milk and you've got a nice cold cup of coffee. I guess they were right about one thing in their advertising, it does make iced coffee!!

Jan 13, 2011
Rating
star
This Coffee Maker Sucks
by: QuantumRift

I'll cut to the chase:

1) It drips/leaks like a sieve when you pour coffee.

2) Despite periodic cleanings, it NEVER finishes a brew cycle. It shuts off in mid-brew, requiring me to push the on/off button to get it to finish brewing (sometimes 3 or 4 times!).

3) You CANNOT pull the carafe out while it is brewing and grab a cup. There is no stopper valve to stop the drip if you remove the pot.

4) While nice, the pot does not keep coffee hot for long.

5) The blue clock display is now barely visible, even in a darkened room.

All in all, this coffee maker is a bad deal.

Jan 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Drips
by: Anonymous

Makes a good pot of coffee, but drips everywhere when you try to pour it into the cup. I won't buy another one just because of this frustration ...

Dec 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
great coffee maker
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Very sleek coffee maker with counter-saving design
- Has programmable settings
- Great stainless steel carafe
- Comes with 2 thermal travel bags

Cons
- does not keep coffee hot for long

Has programmable settings including clock, automatic start, as well as the ability to make coffee stronger based on your taste preferences. The coffee maker comes complete with two thermal travel mugs that can be used to brew directly into instead of the thermal carafe. Great stainless steel carafe looks great in any kitchen.

The stainless steel carafe does not keep coffee hot for long unless you fill with hot water and let set a few minutes then pour out before brewing your coffee. The programmer for travel mugs and making coffee stronger takes a little time to get used to. The clock can be reset if you accidentally push the wrong button on the front of the coffee maker.

Dec 05, 2010
Rating
star
leaks
by: richard

I bought the coffee maker and it leaks really bad when I try to pour into the coffee cup. As well the coffee isn't hot enough.




Dec 04, 2010
Rating
starstar
Some trouble
by: Anonymous

Found brew lid difficult to remove for rinsing/cleaning. Both of our thermos/tumblers leaked right out of the box.

Nov 30, 2010
Rating
starstar
No Show Brewing
by: Frustrated

My new Stay or go is a disappointment. I have had it three months and lately it brews about a cup and then stops. I pour out the water and try again but it does not work at all. Have I messed up the settings on the front? How can I correct it?

Oct 17, 2010
Rating
star
Leaks all over
by: BobbyM

This is a good coffee maker. It brews a good cup of coffee and the pot keeps the coffee hot for several hours. The problem is, it is almost impossible to get a cup out of the pot without it dripping all over the counter. This is a very basic design flaw that could/should have been corrected long before this product was ever manufactured.

Oct 17, 2010
Rating
star
Try to pour a cup!
by: RickeyD

pebble

Aug 29, 2010
Rating
star
Hamilton BEach Drip Pot
by: Pam H.

I wanted this type of pot because we drink so much coffee and hate wasting any of it. So,because my husband really likes Hamilton Beach products, I bought one for us and I hate the stupid thing. You can't pour coffee without giving some to the counter and no matter how you position the pot the same thing happens over and over again. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone- a total waste of money.

Jun 18, 2010
Rating
star
Drips when pouring!!
by: Anonymous

Yup. agree with comments above. Had first carafe replaced by HB because it dripped terribly...replacement drips while pouring just as badly..unbelievable that fundemental engineering is ignored!!

Jun 12, 2010
Rating
starstar
Poor
by: Andrea Bodkin

I have now had two of these coffee makers and am not at all pleased with the item. I returned and exchanged the first one because the pot dripped terribly. Actually ran down the pot. The store replaced with an identical one, which did the same thing. they would not replace. The coffee runs down the side of the thermal pot every time you try to pour a cup of coffee.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Hamiliton Beach Coffee maker reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page