logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Gevalia XCC-12 Programmable 12 Cup coffee maker

by Lauren Maczka
(Fayetteville, NC )


The coffee maker I purchased came from Gevalia, and was purchased about a year ago. I was hesitant at first, due to it coming from one of those "monthly membership" places, but honestly it is the best one I have ever owned! First of all, it has a sleek look, that is available in many different colors.


It comes with a brew timer that is pre-programmable, and a function that will allow brewed coffee to stay hot longer if you should want, with an auto turn off after 2 hours. Also, the carafe is heat resistant, meaning it wont shatter if you rinse it while still hot, and it makes up to 12 cups! It also washes out very easily, and the carafe goes through the dishwasher wonderfully! The filter basket is removable, so that it is easy to clean if coffee grains end up outside the filter, and it has an easy to read water level indicator.

It definitely beats my old Mr.Coffee that I use to own. And its worth buying disposable filters over the reusable ones, and it is easy, no hassle cleanup! I would hands down recommend this coffee maker to everyone I know, and refuse to ever use a different brand.

Comments for Gevalia XCC-12 Programmable 12 Cup coffee maker

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 28, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A positve comment NEW
by: Anonymous

We've had this model for years, got it in one of Gevalia's free coffee pot promotion. I wanted to order one of our son and am having trouble. They tell me that this model(XCC-12) has been upgraded. The new model is CM500. We are very well pleased with our old one in spite of all of the negative write in comments. I read a number of them and wanted to say that we have had none of the problems that others have encountered!

Dec 28, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A positve comment NEW
by: Anonymous

We've had this model for years, got it in one of Gevalia's free coffee pot promotion. I wanted to order one of our son and am having trouble. They tell me that this model(XCC-12) has been upgraded. The new model is CM500. We are very well pleased with our old one in spite of all of the negative write in comments. I read a number of them and wanted to say that we have had none of the problems that others have encountered!

Nov 03, 2013
Rating
star
Gevalia CM500
by: Anonymous

I used my coffee pot for 1 week. So upset ,just stopped brewing also the burner doesn't heat.

Oct 05, 2013
Rating
star
Never again
by: Anonymous

Bought the Gevalia 12 programmable coffee maker, model Xcc-12. Small plastic piece on bottom of coffee filter broke making a mess on the countertop. Gevalia can not replace this simple removable plastic part. They said I had to buy a whole new machine. Really?! Ridiculous. Done with this company.

Jan 10, 2013
Rating
starstar
plastic taste
by: Anonymous

It takes months to break it in.The plastic taste is really awful. Walking past the machine the smell of plastic is so strong you want to gag.Without drinking the coffee the taste of plastic lingers.
There is no trick to eliminating the taste and smell.Time is it.
Once the machine is cured or whatever they want to call it,it is fine.

Jan 29, 2012
Rating
star
Junk!
by: Steve G.

The clock messed up after a month, so you can't use the timer. It brews about 1 cup and shuts off. Orange level ball does not move. One word describes it, JUNK!

Nov 14, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of Junk!
by: Anonymous

This appliance is a piece of junk! What do you expect for free?

The plastic smelled so bad that we finally threw it away!

May 01, 2011
Rating
star
Had it 2 months - quit working
by: Susan L Held

We have had this maker 2 months tops....and it just quit brewing.

Jan 15, 2011
Rating
star
quite
by: Anonymous

quite working worst pot i ever bougt

Jan 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
XCC-12 programmable 12 Cup Coffeemaker is the Best.
by: Anonymous

This is the only Coffee Maker that satisfies me. I love it and have had it for years and years. When one break I send for another one exactly like this one if you discontinue this model I guess I will have to give up coffee. i am a creature of habit. I love this Coffeemaker!!!!

Dec 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
good quality coffee maker
by: Anonymous

The Gevalia 12 cup coffee maker is one of the best coffee makers I have owned. The stainless steel finish makes it perfect for any decor and the features are great too. It comes with a 12 cup carafe and a 24 hour programmable clock that lets you set it the night before so you can wake up to coffee in the morning. It also has a great pause and serve feature so you don't have to wait until it's done making all 12 cups. Plus it also comes with an automatic two hour shutoff so if you forget to turn it off it won't stay on all day. Another good thing is that it has a lift out basket so it is easy to wash after you use it.

There are not many bad points to this coffee maker the only thing that happened to mine was that it has a small orange ball that rises on the side so you can see how much water you are putting in it, but after a few uses mine stopped working. It wasn't too big of a problem for me since you can still see the water level without the little ball going up. Another bad thing for me that may not be a problem for others is that you have to use filters. I would prefer not to use any to reduce waste but other than that the coffee maker is great. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good quality coffee maker.

Oct 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
poor design, leaks, can't see clock
by: Anonymous

She knows I'm a heavy coffee drinker, so my mom gave this to me as a gift when my coffee maker finally took a dive. The brushed steel finish went well with my kitchen decor but that's where the advantages stopped. I expected great things from Gevalia but was sadly disappointed.

Beginning with the reservoir...opening isn't big enough and it seems to take forever just to fill the reservoir without spilling all over.

The interior walls of the coffee maker are black so I can't see how much is in the pot.

The clock has no back-light so that's also impossible to see from a distance.

It leaks terribly when brewing and a 12-cup pot of coffee literally becomes only 10 cups. I've been wrapping the bottom of the pot with a dish towel to keep from having to wipe up the virtual puddle left all over my countertop.

I drink a full 12-cup pot per day and I like my coffee strong. With this coffee maker, I have to use 25% more coffee than I did previously on my old $35 Proctor Silex to get the kind of coffee strength I appreciate.

As far as I'm concerned, my mom paid way too much for this appliance. Because I'm a heavy coffee drinker, I'm willing to pay a decent price for a good one; unfortunately this isn't it.

Aug 15, 2010
Rating
starstar
Utterly Dismal
by: Austral Gourmet

Good features yet LOST ITS POWER TO HEAT ANYTHING
in less than two months. Indicator shows electricity
is turned on but no action occurs. Now it's worthless unless maybe I get onto my high-horse
and take the long trip to find someone who feels equipped to operate on its innards. AND the coffee
they are sending is not as good as the fair-trade
roasts I get from my Co-op for literally half the price.

Dec 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Almost Perfect Coffee Maker
by: Anonymous

One of the pros of this coffee maker is that it is very stylish. It is black with silver accents and really fits in with any style kitchen. Another positive concerning this coffee maker is the ease in which you program it to have your coffee ready 'later'. I set it up every night for him to have first thing in the morning.

And I just press the little silver button and voila`! All done. One thing that could use some improvement though, and I don't even know how they could fix it, is when you lift the lid to throw away the old grinds & filter, and to make a new pot of coffee, the water that has built up from the condensation on that top lid, rolls down and makes a little puddle on the counter every single time.

And that is very frustrating to someone like me who has OCD. I want everything to be so perfect and orderly. So after every pot I get ready, I have to grab my sponge or towel and wipe up that puddle. One more thing they could fix to make this the perfect coffee pot would be the area where you pour the water into.

You only have like one inch beside the filter area where you pour the water in. Which I suppose wouldn't be too bad if you used a small funnel like my Mom does, making the entry of the water very fluid. Overall, personally, I would have to give this Gevalia Coffee Maker a rating of five out of five. Of all the coffee makers I have tried over the years, this one looks the best, brews the best, and seems to be the most efficient.

We received this with the 'purchase' of joining a coffee membership through Gevalia, getting so many boxes of coffee each month through them gets you the bonus of owning their own brand coffee maker. Over time though, we realized how expensive the coffee was, and decided to cancel that membership and going back to Folger's coffee. But we were allowed to keep the coffee maker. And we do really like it.

Pros
- Very stylish
- The ease in which you program it to have your coffee ready 'later'.

Cons
- Area where you pour the water into
- Water from the condensation on that top lid, rolls down and makes a little puddle on the counter every single time you lift the lid.

Rating
5 out of 5

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
star
Takes forever to brew
by: Dave

This 12 cup coffee maker takes 35 minutes to brew a full pot and looses two cups in the process (only 10 cups of coffee end up in the carafe.)

Oct 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
A Cheap but Good Coffeemaker
by: Anonymous

Pros
- programmable Timer
- makes 12 cups of coffee
- is stainless steel
- comes with stainless steel scoop.

Cons
- opot heater pealing off when washed.

I have had this coffeemaker for eight years and it is still working great. I enjoy waking up to my coffe being made on time when I set the timer. I have had many coffeemakers in my time and this one is the best so far other than the fact the hot plate is pealing off, but that's understandable.

Easy to clean because of the stainless steel. It looks great on my kitchen counter. I had seen it advertised in a flyer through the mail. Free coffeemaker with purchase of their coffee, that was $14.95. I had to cancel the coffee that they would send.

I had tried their coffee but I didn't really like it. I still enjoy the coffeemaker. I like the fact it makes 12 cups of coffee and it shuts off after 2 hours of use, wich is another great thing about this coffeemaker. I see it lasting another 8 years.

Never had any problems with it. If i did have to get me another coffeemaker I would get the same one. It has a cone shaped filter holder, but I use the cheapest I can find and they are round and they work great.

I would reccomend this coffeemaker to anyone who wants a cheap but good one. I still see the advertisement for this special bundle that they are giving away. Just cost me $14.95, I believe it was for the shipping cost. No obligation at all, just call to cancel when you receive your coffeemaker.




Apr 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Setting up timer takes a little time
by: Douglas Hunter

I had already had a regular coffee maker for years, one I received as a gift from my parents when I moved out. It was nothing special, but it made good coffee.

A couple years ago I had decided I would like a coffee maker with a built-in timer. Up to that point, I was getting the water & coffee grounds ready at night, but frequently forgot to start the coffee maker until about 10 minutes before I had to leave for work, which became very frustrating, even if it was my fault.

I checked around, and was surprised to see that Gevalia actually made coffee makers. I love their coffee--in fact that's been my regular brand ever since my motel began carrying it and I became hopelessly addicted.

Anyway, I wasn't happy about having to pay $70 for a coffee maker, but I thought I'd give it a shot. If it didn't work out, I could sell it to a friend for half the price and still afford a good cheap one.

I'm glad that I didn't, however. I set up my coffee that afternoon, then set the built-in clock. Setting up the timer took a little learning, but it wasn't rocket science, just a confusion about what the green and red buttons meant.

The next morning I woke up, showered, and was pleased when emerged from the bathroom and smelled freshly-brewed coffee in my kitchen. I was able to have my morning coffee and get going to work without any problems, and I haven't had to worry about my morning cup ever since.

Apr 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Carafe washes well right in my dishwasher
by: kari

This 12 cup coffee maker was a free gift for signing up with Gevalia auto-delivery coffees. I've used both Gevalia Coffee and Store brands in this machine. I prefer Folgers to gourmet coffees because of the consistency.

This coffee maker is awesome! It has a programmable timer that starts brewing before you even wake up. The carafe washes well right in my dishwasher.

The cone filter is permanent...saving me money on paper filters (which, by the way, absorb flavorful oils from your coffee). I will never use paper filters again! The filter cone washes in top rack of dishwasher...comes out shiny as new every time.

This is the best coffee maker I've seen in awhile.

I also own a Keurig single cup brewer which is handy when using the pre-packaged "K cups" but they are so expensive!

Also, this machine is LOUD. It wakes up the whole house sometimes. This machine also features a permanent filter so you can use your favorite store coffees, but is too much work to clean out each time for just one cup of coffee.

This machine cost over $100 and is sitting up on a shelf for now. I prefer my free 12 cup machine.

Mar 10, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Very reliable
by: Rachel Robinson

I brought this coffee maker over the internet on the Gevalia site. They offered a good deal on their coffee makers and I had heard good things about their coffee makers. So I thought to myself I would try it out and see how it works out. I bought it for my boyfriends birthday due to he loves coffee. He would always buy coffee from our local stores and it seemed to cost so much. So I thought it might be better if we subscribed to a service that would deliver the coffee he likes.

I brought the coffee maker about a year ago and we have been using it ever since. I like this coffee maker due to it will automatically shut off and I also got coffee with the coffee maker. The rich smells of the coffee almost made we want to drink coffee but I am a tea drinker. I was also able to sign up to have his favorite delivered.

The coffee maker is very reliable we use it everyday. The craft is dishwasher safe which is really great. I would recommend this coffee maker to all of my friends and family. I can only compare this coffee maker to the Mr. Coffee my mother had it did not have half of the additions that this coffee maker has. It was just a regular coffee maker that needed to be turned off manually.

I gave my mother some of the coffee I ordered for my boyfriend to try and she loved it. She now comes over to drink coffee at our house since she knows we have the good coffee. My mother told me that when she bought her coffee maker she just got the coffee maker. I think I made the best choice for us.

Jan 19, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Stainless steel is a striking look
by: Anonymous

This coffee maker was included as a free gift when I joined a mail-order coffee club called Gevalia. I have used it for over 4 years and am very pleased with it. Although it was a free bonus gift, it is well made and performs well. I have never had a problem with the coffee maker and makes good tasting coffee.

The most striking feature of the maker is the brushed stainless steel accent panels on the front. These metal pieces make it look very modern and stylish. the stainless steel panels are not small trim accents, but actually cover most of the front of the maker, including the control panel with the buttons. The rest of the coffee maker is black plastic, which looks really sharp with the stainless steel. The stainless steel is probably why the coffee maker still looks as good as it did when it was new.

The brushed stainless steel does not show wear and scratches the same way that an all plastic coffee maker would after 4 years of use. Also, the steel is very easy to clean, especially around the buttons.

Another feature of this maker is the easily visible fill tube along the side. There is a floating ball which raises in the tube as water is added. This makes it very easy to fill the maker with the desired amount of water without having to hold up the decanter, level it, and read the water level on the decanter.

This coffee maker is completely automatic. It has a timer which can be set to begin brewing whenever you set it to. This is used so you can fill the maker the night before and have a fresh pot of coffee all ready when you wake up in the morning.

The coffee maker uses cone type filters instead of the round type. Although these cone filters cost more and can be hard to find, they do produce stronger, better tasting coffee. Because of this, slightly less coffee can be used in order to get the same flavor, which offsets their higher cost.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Gevalia coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page