logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Gevalia GM-510B

by Scott
(Delaware, OH, USA)

When I first got married back in 1993, neither myself nor my partner drank coffee. However, nearly everyone of our friends and family did drink coffee regularly. We knew we needed to get a coffee pot for when we had guests. One day, we saw the now famous ad campaign for Gevalia Kaffe, where you could get a free coffee maker with the purchase of some of their coffee, and decided to try it out.


Not only did we get the coffee maker and coffee, we are STILL using that same coffee maker today! We used to only use it for guests, but, starting this year, I started drinking iced coffee at home, so now we used it a lot. We have never had any mechanical issues with the coffee maker and it still works perfectly. It makes good coffee per our friends and family too.

The only real problems we have had with it is that it sometimes leaks coffee grounds into the pot of coffee, and we have never figured out how that happens through the paper filters. Also, the lid to the coffee pot is removable for cleaning, but one side of the snap on part that attaches it to the glass pot did break off. It still works fine with just one side attached though.

If all you want is a simple pot of coffee, this pot is a great one! I know that Gevalia continues to offer this special (although I don't know if its the same coffee maker). If they are offering the same brand, I would highly recommend getting it.

Comments for Gevalia GM-510B

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 21, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Brand new GM510B
by: Anonymous

I have a brand new Gevalia Kafee 10 Cups (Model GM<510B)still in box never used. Email me for and shipping: bargil@yahoo.com

Jan 17, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Free 10 Cup Carafe
by: Dave Rosenthal

I had a Gevalia 510, which served us well for several years. The coffee maker itself is now long gone (electrical short). I do however have a carafe in good condition which I will happily give it to anyone who can use it (plus shipping costs, of course). If anyone is interested, please contact me by E-mail at "daverosenthal@earthlink.net".

Oct 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
How do you clean the machine?? My coffee comes out tasting like burnt rubber.
by: Anonymous

Does anyone know how to clean the this coffee maker?? I tried running a pot of distilled water mixed with one third distilled white vinegar and that didn't work.
Thanks.

Sep 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Pot Replacement
by: Anonymous

I am in need of a coffee pot replacement for my Green Connaisseur coffee maker. Email me at jen.perez03@gmail.com please.

Aug 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Carafe needed for a GM 510
by: Ken

I broke my carafe for a GM 510. Does anyone have one they don't need?

My email is divetime60@gmail.com

I am in Queens, NY.

Thank you!

Aug 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
i have a working coffemaker
by: Anonymous

i got a connaisseur coffee maker, but i do not drink coffee, so if anyone wants, pls mail be to ragam_r@hotmail.com.....

Mar 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Coffee Pot
by: Anonymous

I have a Connaisseur Home Concepts Model: KA-865AB that I love. Received it from Gevalia years ago. It is an 8-cup pot with a carafe with a thermos like liner. The liner broke and I was wondering if anyone knew where to get another one. I can not find a company with the name "Connaisseur Home Concepts"

Mar 01, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
have a Connaisseur pot
by: Anonymous

For the person who needs a replacement carafe, I have a Connaisseur coffee maker that was free but no longer works, and I could give you the pot if it is worth shipping?

I am in Iowa - how to get in touch?

Feb 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I love my free coffee maker!
by: Anonymous

This coffee maker is the best I've ever owned. I got it free in the 90's and it still makes the best coffee ever! I broke the glass pot years ago and found a replacement in the grocery store (replacement pot by melita I believe). It has a white top where the coffee maker is black but, who cares! I'm still enjoying my coffee! Gevalia still offers free coffee makes in stainless steel these days, but I'm not sure if it's made by Connaisseur Home Concepts or not. (Oh by the way, if you try to find that company in Parsippany New Jersey, there seems to be NO SUCH Company!)I was doing a search just to see if I could buy a new coffee maker for future reference in case mine stops working one day. Now I hope it never breaks down because it looks like I won't be able to buy another, or get one unless I buy the Gevalia coffee, that is if the coffee maker is from the same company???

Feb 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Connaisseru GM 510B
by: Janie

I noticed you are having problems with overflow of your basket. I drilled a couple of extra holes in my filter basket and it solved the problem. Good Luck!

Jan 15, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Clumsy Me
by: Bell

I love my Connaisseur coffee maker I got as a promotional item for joining the Gevalia coffee club. Due to my carelessness, I have broken my carafe and don't know where to find a replacement. Can anyone help me?

Dec 01, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Connaisseur coffee maker
by: Anonymous

My wife and I are mourning the demise of our "Connaisseur" coffee maker! It's green, pretty basic, but makes great coffee. We've used it for perhaps eight years, but can't find out where to buy another. It brewed the best coffee we've ever had. Will someone please give us a lead on where to go fo another? Contact us at RifeEquinox@aol.com. Thanks, coffee lovers!

Nov 26, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Lacking cool features
by: Anonymous

My favorite thing about this coffee pot is it's decor; so vintage! The worst thing about it is probably that it doesn't have any of the cool new features - a clock, the two hour self timer, the auto turn on, things like that. I love this coffee pot though, I wouldn't trade it in for a new one with all those fancy features for anything!

Nov 13, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstar
an issue with leakage
by: Anonymous

This coffee maker brews a great cup of coffee in a minimal amount of time. It always comes out fresh with no grounds left in the bottom of your cup. There does seem to be an issue with leakage around the top lid. I thought it might be sweating during the brewing process, but I'm pretty sure it is leaking more than it should be.

Oct 22, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
no complaints
by: Anonymous

I received this coffee maker via a promotion back in 1994. I have had zero issues with it and it works great. I do not drink much coffee and use it mostly when I have guests, but for a coffee maker that was free to begin with to still be working with no issues after 14 years is amazing to me in today's throw away society where nothing is built to last longer than 6 months. I truly have no complaints and would gladly pay for this coffee maker.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Gevalia coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page