logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Gevalia CM-500 stainless steel 12 cup


The Gevalia Stainless Steel 12-Cup coffeemaker is a well-designed machine that can give you great functionality while remaining easy-to-use, convenient, and stylish. Many people were able to avail of a promo wherein Gevalia was giving out these coffeemakers for free along with their coffee.


As a result a number of Gevalia coffee lovers have been able to try out the machine. The Gevalia Stainless Steel 12-Cup has received mixed reviews from customers, but one thing that many of the customers can agree upon is that it can still make a great cup of coffee when setup right.

Key features

- The machine has a stylish design with a stainless steel finish and black or white plastic.
- The large glass carafe is big enough to brew up to 12 cups, which is sufficient for practically any coffee lover's household or small offices.
- The machine is compact, yet has a good, wide base with a form factor of 11.5" wide, 8" deep, and 16.5" high.
- The Pause and Serve feature allows you to pause the machine mid-brew to pour a cup of coffee. When you place the carafe back onto the heating plate, it will continue the brewing process where it left off.
- Another great feature of this machine is the auto-off feature, which shuts the machine off once it is done brewing to save electricity.
- The Gevalia Stainless Steel 12-Cup also has a programmable timer so you can set it to start brewing at a specific time.
- Easy to reach controls are placed right on the front panel, on the top half of the machine for ease of use.

Advantages

Perhaps the biggest advantage of the Gevalia Stainless Steel 12-Cup coffeemaker is that many of the consumers got it for free. This means that they didn't have to pay a cent, so nothing is really lost if these consumers didn't like the machine too much.

Another advantage of the machine are the auto features, such as the auto off and programmable functions.

The auto off feature means that you won't have to worry about the coffeemaker draining your electricity or becoming a potential fire hazard if you leave if plugged in all day, while the auto program function means that you can wake up to a fresh brew every morning.

The 12-cup carafe makes life easy, since you won't have to keep brewing a new carafe for those days when you have visitors or when everyone seems to be grabbing a cup of coffee.

Disadvantages

The biggest disadvantage of this machine is that it feels flimsy. Some consumers complained that the buttons seem like they are going to fall off. The machine seemed to have a light build with thin materials that made it feel cheap and poorly constructed.

Another disadvantage that some consumers have experienced with this coffeemaker is that it would leak water. The biggest complaint that consumers had about the Gevalia Stainless Steel 12-Cup is the poor customer service from Gevalia, which made it a pain to get assistance when needed.

Pros:
- Large carafe that fits 12 cups
- Brews a good cup of coffee
- Easy controls
- Auto-off and programmable features
- Came free with promo

Cons:
- Poor customer service
- Poorly constructed machine
- Leaks water at times

Comments for Gevalia CM-500 stainless steel 12 cup

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 15, 2014
Rating
starstar
2nd replacement and poor customer service NEW
by: charles gev00388

First we receive the first one Early 2012,as a promotion offer buy xx amounts of coffee and receive a free coffEe pot. So we bought it. Said to be a $199.00 dollar coffeepot. We got up one morning ready for a good cup of coffee, very disappointed. THe red light came on but would not drip or heat. Call company only customer relations couldN'T find our ORGINAL purchase, after insisting we did purchase it, was put on hold several times finally found our ordered and then a long back and forth asking same question several times. Said one would be mailed. Several weeks past no coffeepot. Needless to say same thing AGAIN only the lady that first helped us no longer worked for the company. March 29 they replaced the first one and I received it within 12 days.April 10, 2013 (Fast Delivery)Gevalia CM500 SS 12 cup!!

May 2014 I CALL THE COMPANY AGAIN ONLY TO BE PUT OFF AGAIN, PUT ON HOLD, AND COULDn't FIND THE REPLACEMENT ORDER OR original order. (first of all I am disable) MY WIFE CAME HOME AND CALL THE COMPANY, SAME THING COULDn't FIND US ANYWHERE IN THEIR SYSTEM... SHE WAS VERY INSISTENT, AND 25- 30 MINUTES ON THE PHONE THE LADY MRS. SYLVIA FOUND US BUT COULDN'T VERIFY ANY INFORMATION, NOT SURE IF SHE WAS HARD HEARING OR WHAT BUT MY WIFE KEPT REPEATING OUR SAME ADDRESS AND SAME PHONE NUMBER AND THE PRODUCT ORDERING NUMBER, AFTER CHECKING WITH MANAGER/ SUPERVISOR SYLVIA THEN SENT US TO PRODUCT SPECIALIST. THERE SHE FOUND OUT THE ORGINAL NOR THE REPLACEMENT were made ANY MORE. SO APPARENTLY ONE OF TWO THINGS happen. 1. THE FIRST WAS DISCONTINUE AND THEN THEY SENT ME THE SECOND ONE WHICH APPARENTLY was d/c as well or 2.IT GOT BAD REVIEWS TOO OR THEY JUST DIDN'T WANT TO FOOL WITH ANY OF IT or EITHER both of them got bad reviews. The product sp. said things had change and they didn't warrant any thing now more than one year. She question as to the 2 year original warranty order and was told there was now only 1 year warrantys. But coffeepot had the same problem red light came on but the hot plate was cold and both didn't drip.

PS we just found out that the last model we had a woman from work had purchase one and was a very clean lady but the coffee pot leaked and tiny roaches had gotten in her pot and the pest company she called advised her that the leak contributed to her roach problems and could not find another source. got rid of pot and got rid of bugs. hard to believe but it happen!! So i definitely would not recommend Gevalia again. Free pot but look at what you had to spend for coffee.

Jan 27, 2013
Rating
star
JUNK
by: Mel

Pot drips all over every time you pour a cup. This is our 2nd one both were gifts. Both lasted less than a year. I would NOT recomend it.
Your better off just getting a cheap coffee maker they last for years.

Dec 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
ummmmmm well lets see......????
by:

for some reason the coffee made in this coffee pot tastes very muddy and somewhat bitter. AND
i always need to keep a towel close by b/c it
leaks water soooo bad!!!!!
it seems to take forever for brewing to finish also and dont make the number of cups that you want it to.
other than that... it was a very reasonable priced coffee maker - i got it for free. lol

Jan 10, 2012
Rating
starstar
Poor carafe handle design
by: Anonymous

I've used various of these machines for years. It brews a decent cup of coffee and the timer is handy. As others point out, the reservoir fill opening is awkward as is the top opening. You'll have water to wipe up somewhere after every fill or use. The 1st machine was the freebie and subsequent machines were warranty replacements as they don't stand the test of time. The WORST part of this system is the carafe! The handle has a small tab over the top edge of the glass and it invariably breaks after extended useage. I haven't had one last more than 6 months. When the tab breaks the carafe tips forward in your hand. Fortunately, they never broke when I was pouring out of a full pot or there would've been hot coffee everywhere! I could see a combination of bad luck and a poor design being extremely dangerous! I've written to Gevalia about this issue without reply.

Oct 11, 2011
Rating
star
Junk!
by: Anonymous

Had this coffemaker about 6 months. One morning it just died, won't brew, won't heat, nothing! Don't waste your time or money.

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
star
GROUNDS IN MY COFFEE
by: Anonymous

I rejoined Gevalia and received the 12 cup coffee pot. Each pot I made dropped large amounts of coffee grounds into the pot (ICK). I called and they sent me another pot. It does the same thing.
It has a spring on the bottom of the filter holder that is suppposed to open when the pot is
set on machine. Hello...it's a spring...not working. It is a shame that Gevalia has cut corners like so many other companies. I will be cancelling my account and hope I have to customer
service problems. Thier coffee is to expensive to
keep pouring out because of grounds!

May 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
THE BEST
by: Anonymous

I GOT THIS COFFEE MAKER ABOUT FIVE YEARS AGO AND IS STILL GREAT! AND IT GETS USED EVERYDAY!!!

Mar 12, 2011
Rating
star
Worst Coffee Maker Ever
by: Anonymous

Every time you lift the lid to change the filter, water drips all over the counter. What a mess. Got my money back and threw away the coffee maker.

Mar 07, 2011
Rating
star
gevalia coffee maker
by: dean

I only had this machine for about 6 months and it will not heat or make coffee. get what you pay for. it also leak.

Jan 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
CM500
by: LF

Adding another comment that might be helpful to others....When I was having shoulder problems and couldn't hit the opening where you pour in the water, I used a funnel. Worked like a charm!

Jan 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
CM500
by: LF

I just got my 2nd coffee maker yesterday which is the only reason I buy from Gevalia. I'm not a fan of their coffee because it often tastes old to me. However, I love the coffee maker and haven't been able to find one like it without paying way too much. The cone filters seem to extract more coffee so you don't have to use as much to get the same flavor. I've found that if you open the lid of the pot before you pour, it doesn't leak. I had my last one for a couple years before the heating element went out and used it for making coffee and tea so it got a pretty good workout. I hope this will last for a long time.

Dec 26, 2010
Rating
star
Nothing worse than a 1
by: Anonymous

So after falling for the $89.99 value FREE coffee maker I notice the coffee is burnt tasting. Coffee maker replaced. The next one will not heat the water. Nothing good about COLD coffee! That one is replaced. The next one I set up, set the timer, go to bed and get up the next morning and it hasn't brewed anything. instead the water has all leaked out overnight all over my counter tops, under an expensive custom cabinet and soaked into the wood swelling it and splitting the cabinet. Now my "free' coffee maker has yet to provide a cup of drinkable coffee, cost me several hundred dollars of damage plus labor to make repairs, and they say "You will have to buy a replacement, for $14.99! Now you and I know exactly what their cheap POS coffee makers are really worth! DO NOT BUY from these rip-off artists! You will be sorry!

Nov 23, 2010
Rating
star
Leaks & Spills- Not well made!
by: Anonymous

Leaks constantly. The carafe somehow does not pour without splashing too. My last Gevalia pot was made much better, in comparison this model is not well made at all. We have used it for a while now, and although it works, we are not pleased at all. I am ordering a new coffeemaker now, and it is not aGevalia!

Oct 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Gevalia Coffeemaker
by: JON

I recieved my Gevalia coffeemaker and afer only two pots of coffee it is leaking from the bottom.

Aug 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Gevalia Coffee Brewer
by: Sharon from Mn.

I am trying to get a coffee pot like this for my home. We bought a camper with a Gevalia coffee pot in the camper and we love it. Can I purhase one in a store, and if so which department stores?

Aug 15, 2010
Rating
star
Liked it but it didn't last...
by: Anonymous

The coffee pot worked great for a couple of months then started slowing down and now it stops brewing before the cycle is completed. Guess you get what you pay for as the saying goes...which wasn't much in this case.

Mar 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Good coffee but sometimes leaks
by: Laura

The coffee maker we are currently using is what we consider our “back up”. It is from Gevalia and we like the coffee it makes. We have had it for about 2 years but we have only used it for a few months at a time. We do not use exclusively Gevalia coffee.

We were part of the Gevalia club for awhile, which is when we got the coffee maker for free - which is a great incentive! However, since then, we have canceled our membership. This model is similar to a cuisine art coffee maker. I wouldn’t be surprised to learn it it made by the same company. This coffee maker looks very nice in our kitchen. It is a stainless steel design with black on the top and bottom.

It really enhances our other black appliances in the kitchen. It makes the coffee and keeps it very hot, almost too hot for my taste, but my husband loves how hot it is brewed. This is a 12 cup machine which is a bit more than we usually make for our morning, but it is nice to have a large capacity for when company comes over and for filling up the thermos.

It has the pause and serve feature we need and it programmable for very rushed and early mornings. We don’t use that feature very often, but when you need it, it is really great. The main flaw in this coffee maker is that the water filling goes very slowly. The plastic ball goes up for quite awhile after you turn off the water. This has caused some messy situations at our home.

We have to empty out some of the water when it goes over the amount we want and the unit spills water all over. Otherwise, we like it fairly well. The inconvenience becomes a bother though and we will probably end up getting another coffee maker.

Jan 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LET ME TELL YOU....
by: M. Moody


Let me Tell you, I have contacted GEVALIA for
some Valued Interests concerning the shipments and
I AM TO THIS DAY IMPRESSED with how my Interests
were RESOLVED and Encouraged Without any hassles....

The Coffee is Flavorful. And I'm not a heavy coffee drinker of any coffee brands. Finding the ones I like to my taste, makes me a daily Gevalia coffee drinker.
I am a SATISFIED CUSTOMER!!!
Thanks Gevalia

Feb 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Great auto set feature
by: Anonymous

The best thing about my Gevalia coffee maker is that it came free with the purchase of a couple of boxs of thier coffee,which costed around $20.00 with shipping included.

The worst thing about it is that some times if you don't put the filter basket in all the way it tends to leak a little but that's not the coffee makers fault its mine.

I really like the auto set feature that this model offers it makes it an easier morning to start when you wake up to a hot cup of coffee waiting for you.

Feb 06, 2009
Rating
starstar
CM-500 Black
by: Anonymous

Have had this coffee pot less than one year. Smelled like plastic for at least one month after receiving it. The area where you pour in the water is very narrow making it difficult to pour in the water without spilling some. Even though I have occasionally cleaned the coffee pot by running a cycle with vinegar, the pot has taken longer and longer to brew coffee. This morning, it stopped altogether and no longer works. We make ONE pot of coffee each day...this is not an overworked coffee pot.

The coffee pot looks great in my kitchen. I love the black and stainless exterior. The clock works great. But, the coffee pot has stopped working - like the previous 3 Gevalia coffee pots I've had. They don't usually last much past a year.

Feb 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best coffee machine ever
by: AMY

The Gevalia/CM 500 has got to be the best coffee machine that ever existed. My coffee maker has been the biggest help to get my mornings off to a good start. The Gevalia machine has many great features that save coffee drinkers time as well as money. The Gevalia coffee machine is perfect for my kitchen and only adds to its modern look. I love the modern black with steel look and it is really easy to clean.

Gevalia coffee machines have a great thing called auto set. You can set up the machine the night before and your coffee will be brewing as your waking up. It is very easy to program and it has a digital clock on it that real comes in handy too. This coffee maker is easy to set up and fill because the basket and water reservoir are both on top of the machine which is very wide making it great for easy fill ups.

The Gevalia coffee machine also lets you be able to pull the coffee pot out while it is still brewing so you can get a cup as soon as the pot has a cup in it. There is a switch that stops the flow of coffee if the pot is not lifting up on the lever. I am constantly using this feature when i make a pot of coffee later in the day and just can't wait to have some coffee.

My coffee maker is very easy to clean because the cone shape filter basket pops right out for easy cleaning. You also know its in when you here a click so you know your basket is locked in and ready to brew. The cone shaped filters are easily found at the local grocery store and they cost less than my old ones did.

This coffee maker is really a great machine and it brews real great coffee no matter what kind you use. I would definitely recommend this machine to all of my family and friends. I have had it for a couple of years and it is still working great and looks like new. I recommend the black and metal model it is very stylish and everyone who see my coffee maker wants one just like it.

Jan 19, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Timer switch is a nice feature
by: Charles

We got the Gevalia CM500 coffeemaker about four years ago, as kind of a free premium for joining the Gevalia coffee club. Like so many other appliances we have, we went looking for this one because our old coffeemaker broke. Specifically, the carafe broke.

We only stayed in the Gevalia coffee club for a few months. Their coffee was okay, but we are just fine with buying regular coffee in a tub from the grocery market. Depending on how much you like the coffee Gevalia sells, you may do just as well economically to get a $20-30 coffeemaker from your local department store.

The CM500 has a few features we liked. After about two hours the burner shuts off, so you’re not as likely to cook a hard sludge onto the inside of a carafe, or to burn the house down if you rush out to work without turning off the coffee. It also has a timer which is quite easy to set, so for workdays we can have a pot of coffee waiting for us when we come downstairs. It takes a standard cone-sized filter which you can get anywhere. And it brews coffee as well as any other generic coffeemaker. Another extra is that it has a spring-loaded “dripper” so if you want to get a cup of coffee from the midstream of a brewing pot, you can do so.

The one big drawback to the Gevalia is the shape of the carafe spout. No matter how careful one is, no matter how full or nearly empty the pot is, when we try to pour a pot, the coffee dribbles down the side of the spout. I don’t think you could design a novelty pot or practical joke pot which would be more certain to dribble coffee onto the counter. I’ve gotten used to pouring my coffee over the sink to keep our counters clean.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Gevalia coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page