logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

GE 5 Cup Digital Coffee Maker. Model # 169208


For digital coffee makers, GE is a reliable source for coffee drinkers and lovers. Its 5-cup Digital Coffee Maker (Model Number: 169208) serves hot and flavorful coffee any time of the day.


Brewing up to 5 cups of coffee, it makes a good choice for small offices and households with only a few coffee drinkers. This coffee maker model by GE has a good set of features for those who want less hassle in preparing freshly brewed coffee.

Key features

* The coffee maker has a programmable brew feature. The programmable brew allows you to set the timer in advance, and the cofee maker will begin brewing at your designated time.

* The digital coffee maker also has a pause and serve feature. The pause and serve feature allows you to grab a cup of coffee, even if the coffee is still in the process of brewing.

* This coffee maker also has the non-stick warming plate. The non-stick warming plate helps minimize mess. With this type of plate, coffee stain is easy to remove from the plate, making it easier to clean and maintain.

* The water-level indicator is another useful feature. This allows you to see the amount of water in the tank so you can easily check if the water level is just right for brewing.

* The removable nylon filter ensures that the component is easy to wash and clean, making sure that there will be no residue that will affect the flavor of a fresh batch of brewed coffee.

* This coffee maker also uses a charcoal filter to enhance the flavor of the coffee.

* The auto shut off is another useful feature. The unit has a one-hour auto shut-off feature, which ensures that your coffee maker will stop consuming energy when not in use.

Advantages

One of the good things about this coffee maker, according to consumers, is that it is fairly easy to clean. After use, you can just remove some components and wash them thoroughly. The warming plate is non-stick so cleaning it isn't a problem as well.

Because the unit has an automatic shut-off, even if you have forgotten to turn off the coffee maker before you leave home, you can rest easy that the machine will not overheat and cause fire hazards.

The coffee brewed in this unit also tastes good. This is because of the charcoal filter that enhances the flavor of the coffee.

The carafe spout of this unit is specially designed to prevent the coffee from dripping when you pour it into a cup. Another great thing about this product is that it is relatively cheaper than other coffee makers with programmable timers and almost the same set of features.

Disadvantages

There are also complaints about this unit. One of these is that it has a very small serving capacity, only best for small groups of coffee drinkers. Another downside to buying this digital coffee maker is that getting a replacement for a broken carafe is nearly impossible.

Some have also reported that it is difficult to find a replacement for filters. Instead of 5 cups, some say that you get less than what is advertised.

Pros
- shuts off automatically
- relatively cheap
- has a programmable timer
- allows you to drink your first cup even when the unit is still brewing
- makes great-tasting coffee

Cons
- has a very small serving capacity
- makes less than 5 cups
- hard to find replacements for broken carafe and filter
- limited design and color options

Comments for GE 5 Cup Digital Coffee Maker. Model # 169208

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 19, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
carafe replacement solution NEW
by: Anonymous

a 4 cup Mr Coffee carafe works fine and pours without slopping all over the counter.

Feb 19, 2014
Rating
starstar
They don;t last very long NEW
by: Rick

I used a 4 cup Mr Coffee carafe from an old Mr Coffee brewer and it works fine.

I have purchased 2 5 cup GE and both quit working within a year. The lid does crack as someone else mentioned. I used Gorilla Glue and that fixed the cracking problem.

I have 2 like new 5 cup carafes I would love to give you.

Jun 10, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No replacement pot
by: Anonymous

No replacement pot for a perfectly good coffee maker is poor customer satisfaction. Just add it to the landfill, so sad.

May 10, 2013
Rating
starstarstar
No replacement filters
by: goofygrandma

I have the 5 cup coffee maker, model #898712. I bought it because it held 5 cups, I like the style and size. The problem I have, as many others, is that it spills when you pour, it doesn't matter how you hold it. I have to put a paper towel next to it. I can not find a replacement charcoal filter for this model, none at wal-mart or on-line. I called the customer service number and was told to look on-line, duh!! Thanx GE!

Mar 11, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
Nice Unit - Coffee Not So Hot
by: jodillahunt

Actually, I have the model 898712 of this 5 cup coffee maker.

I have one rather big complaint - the coffee isn't sufficiently hot. You'd better gulp it quick if you want slightly hot cover, otherwise you are sipping the high end of warm coffee.

As you can tell from this, I like my coffee fully hot - not boiling. But it should be hot enough that you still have hot coffee in your cup after 4 minutes.

Dec 13, 2011
Rating
star
GE coffee carafe
by: Anonymous

Broke the carafe when cleaning and no replacement is available. Glass is too thin and very fragile. Considering this product is sold by Walmart, the poor quality of glass is not surprising.

Dec 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Good unit
by: Anonymous

Works fine though the coffee does drip from the carafe no matter how careful you pour?? But very satisfied... I use paper filters in the filter basket.....

Nov 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Not buying again
by: Anonymous

An excellent coffeemaker if/as long as it lasts. The glass carafe is thin, and if you accidentally bump it to your granite counter top or anything hard, it's gone. To make matters worse, GE/Wal-Mart does not offer any 5-cup replacement carafe (even if you wanted to buy one) and although the unit has a 2 year warranty, the glass part has none. So I have to throw away an otherwise wonderful coffeemaker. Shame on GE/Wal-Mart. The Mr. Coffee carafe does not fit in this unit. I will probably buy a stainless steel coffeemaker from Target.

Sep 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
NO REPLACE FOR CRACKED POT
by: Anonymous

Loved the pot, but glass pot to thin and cracked with no replacements available not evem at GE. What a shame, although, it was very reasonable I wasted my money purchasing it. Only used 1 month until I bumped the pot and it crached and big chunk fell out.

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
Leaks out of the bottom.
by: Anonymous

The very first time I used it water poured out of the bottom. I'm very disappointed.

Jun 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Improved
by: RitaLouise

I bought one two years ago, and it was very touchy about pouring, usually dripped. True, if you use cream it could be hotter. Also dripped when you took out the carafe to pour. After two years, it began to leak on the bottom, so it was time to replace.

However, I live alone and really liked the 5 cup capacity and enjoy having coffee ready when I wake up. So I bought another. They have improved the design, (must have gotten a lot of flack), and I found, it now pours well, and does not drip when carafe is removed. So my major complaints have been reconciled. If it only lasts two years, the price is right for replacement.

Mar 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I love it!
by: Anonymous

I am enjoying this coffee maker so much! I recommend it to anyone without hesitation. Give it a try!

Mar 26, 2011
Rating
star
Bought & Returned in 1 Day
by: Hal

BAD quality control, this unit is not really made by any company related to GE- it's just got a GE badge on it. The reusable filter that came with mine had a split in it right out of the box, could tell that the plastic lid would eventually break off and the buttons felt cheap. Despite all this I tried calling customer service to see if they'd send me a new filter and the rep hung up on me. Will definitely steer clear of "outsourced" GE products in the future.

Mar 15, 2011
Rating
star
Shame on GE
by: Anonymous

This is ridiculous!!!!!!!!!! You buy a product from a reputable company and you can't buy a replacement carafe for the product. Shame on you GE.

Feb 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
To: MIXED REACTIONS by Anonymous:
by: Robert Thomson

I have a Cuisinart stainless steel carafe that works fine in the GE 169208. I also still have the glass carafe that came with the unit, if you are interested in buying it.

For everyones information: Looking at the comments on Cuisinart's product, I would say the company has a serious Quality Assurance problem. One person wrote that he had had three of them in the last ten years. Still had a problem with his newest. Complaints of auto-off happening in 15 minutes. Complaints of leaking carafes. Complaints of too hot/cold brewing, etc.

I have had a Krups for twenty years. Works great. But when the last carafe broke, I found that I could not buy a replacement. Looking to replace the 4-cup maker, could not find a Krups. Hence the G.E. The G.E. makes good coffee, but has too many parts to last twenty years. I bought it because it was the store's last unit and I got it for $14. Hopefully I will have found a quality unit by the time it breaks. (The Krups, BTW, cost me a little over $20.

Jan 30, 2011
Rating
starstar
Top lid breaks off easily
by: Anonymous

Have bought two 5 cup coffee makers so far and both have had the lid break off. Piece of junk is poorly made.

Dec 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Coffee doesn't get very hot
by: Anonymous

Great taste, but the coffee isn't hot enough for those who drink it with a little cream or milk.

Oct 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Time clock continue to flash
by: JAW

The time clock continue to flash after coffee is complete brewing. This somewhat annoying. Flashing dots between hour and minutes should stop after coffee is brewed.

Oct 05, 2010
Rating
star
Leaks water
by: JDS

I bought this unit to replace the previous 5 cup coffee maker since I had broke the pot. I preferred the older design which was not automatic and did not add another clock to my kitchen.

When I filled the new coffee maker with water, it started leaking out the bottom of the coffe maker and made quite a mess on my counter. I returned it to Walmart for a replacement. When I got home and tried it, the replacement unit leaked water also.

I plan to return that unit today but I have major reservations about the quality of this unit since two defective units in a row does not bode well for the quality of this device.

Sep 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
how to pour coffee without spilling
by: Anonymous

Someone complained that "You cannot pour coffee without spilling and making a mess.". That's simply not true. You will soon finger out how to pour coffee without spilling - do not lift the handle too high.

Aug 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
replacement for the 5-cup coffee carafe
by: Anonymous

Cannot find a replacement for the decanter. Haven't had the maker very long. Where do you get a replacement I have looked everywhere.

Jul 25, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mixed reaction
by: Anonymous

It is true, the carafe is extremely poorly designed. unless it is as another reader said, half empty or you s-lo-w-l-y decant the coffee you will spill it. Yet they list as one of the features, that the handle design makes pouring more comfortable. More comfortable than what ?

No replacement carafes seem to be available.

I like the size, self shut off and reusable filter.


Mar 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
“ GE - Bringing good things to life.”
by: Evening Cowboy


I had expected to predecease my little old four cup coffee maker but it was not to be. So here I was left all alone in the world without a pot to brew in. But my stylish new bright blue eyed coffee maker has mitigated the impact. Her gaze is penetratingly sensuous - however, if it is stimulating beyond what one can endure, a little slice of black (it’s always black) electrical tape will block its amorous beckoning.

I was prepared for the worst and poured my first cup of coffee over the sink. I followed the hint to pour slowly and keep my thumb on the lid tab so it was raised a little. Not a drop spilled. On the second cup, being old, I forgot and grabbed the pot in one hand and with my cup in the other, started pouring. I suddenly had a lucid flash and saw a gushing stream of coffee filling my cup - all without a drop being wasted. That was good!

Me thinks pouring is a little tenuous for those exuberant whippersnappers under 50 who zestily anticipate guzzling their first cup.

She is a hot little number - or at least the coffee comes out that way and coffee snobs like that. (I think they are called afficionados.) Because too much stimulation (blue lights, blue pills, blue sky) makes me hyper and raises my blood pressure I mix a tablespoon of Teeccino with my ground coffee. It creates the illusion of high octane gusto without the propulsion.

Oh, the slogan is from the old days.

Mar 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
good price, poor design
by: Anonymous

This is very good coffee maker for the price. My wife and I got it because it fit perfectly with the color scheme of our kitchen. It is very simple to program for that wake up in the morning cup of java. However, the carafe and grip handle needs to be redesigned.

You cannot pour coffee without spilling and making a mess. The only time this will not happen is when the carafe is half empty. Also, the ergonimics of the handle design feels as if it is slipping out of your hand while pouring coffee.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to GE Consumer Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page