logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

GE 12 cup Digital Coffeemaker, model 169164

by Pauletta
(Willoughby, OH USA)


I purchased the GE 12 cup digital coffeemaker, model 169164 a little over a month ago at Walmart for $29.88 plus tax. It seemed to have all the things I was looking for, including: permanent filter, a water level indicator, and stay warm plate. There were a lot of bells and whistles too, including: a "when to clean" indicator button, a button to adjust the keep warm temperature, and a button that gives a stronger taste to the first 4 cups of coffee.


What really sold me was the price. It seemed to have more for less.

After using this coffeemaker for over a month I'd give it a so-so review. It's attractive sitting on the countertop. The carafe is nice and never spills as your pouring coffee. The unit beeps to let you know the coffee is done. As long as you're brewing 6+ cups of coffee it works well, but if you want to brew 4 cups and measure that much water--it only makes 2.

The rest of the water sits in the reservoir. I've looked all through the book and can find no reason it does this. Another problem that I haven't been able to correct is that the coffee isn't hot-hot. You can drink it immediately, and it seems to be somewhere between hot and warm. If you pour it into a travel mug to go it's cold by the time you get to the car.

I've owned several brands of coffeemakers in the past including Mr. Coffee, Hamilton Beach and Braun. Comparing this GE to the coffeemakers I've had in the past I'd give it a lower rating than Mr. Coffee and Braun and a higher rating than Hamilton Beach.

I wish I would have returned this after the first 5 uses and just bought another Mr. Coffee. I wouldn't recommend the purchase of this unit.

Comments for GE 12 cup Digital Coffeemaker, model 169164

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 25, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Digital Coffeemaker NEW
by: Anonymous

Just desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is just excellent and i can assume you're an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.
mary



Jan 01, 2013
Rating
star
Put in trash after -1- week
by: Joe Coffee Ho

I WISH I had read the reviews before I bought it.
after -1- week it started making an electric POPPING sound and I stopped using it.
.. I Hate Mr Coffee went from a square glass pot that didn't spill.. to a coned top that Spills when you pour coffee..
I thought the GE was perfect.. until now.
.. I Just bought a $70 Hamilton Beach maker with a square Pot.. pours Perfect.. SCALDING HOT brewed coffee.. I'm Very Happy on Day 1..

Jan 11, 2012
Rating
star
Gave this model 2 chances! Not going for 3!
by: Brian

Bought this model about 6 months ago. The cleaning light came on and during the cleaning process the top lid just cracked like it had been hit with a hammer. Pieces fell on the counter. I called GE customer service, (Oxymoron) to order a lid to fix the unit. The lady said after a long time on hold that parts were not available for this model and the best thing to do was return it to Wal Mart. I did and got another one. Have had it for maybe two weeks now. The new unit will not drip water all the way around the filter basket so if you are lucky your coffee may have the strength of weak tea. I noticed today that the top lid is cracked completely from one side to the other. I didn't think our water was that bad! Headed back to Wal Mart tomorrow with receipt but guarantee I will not buy another GE model. Wish I had found this website prior to purchasing. Maybe if it were made here it would be a better buy but good luck these days finding anything made in America. Come on people we have got to get our country back!

Jan 10, 2012
Rating
star
GE COFFEMAKER RECALL
by: Anonymous

I just called customer service after reading the reviews about the recall and they verified the information. All you need to do is take the coffeemaker to Wal Mart and they will refund the money or exchange. I'm heading there in a bit to finally get a coffemaker that brews all 12 cups without pressing the power button 6 times and will keep the coffee hot. Merry Christmas to me....

Jan 10, 2012
Rating
star
Take it Back
by: Anonymous

please take the coffemaker to WalMart; according to the previous user there may be a RECALL and the coffeemaker is replaced free of charge!

Dec 13, 2011
Rating
star
GE Coffee maker model169164 and 169165 RECALLED
by: Anonymous

The person that bought this coffeemaker in Oct 2011 should take it back to Walmart. There is a recall for fire hazard!!!! Icalled Walmart and they said they have to take it back and exchange for another coffeemaker or refund your money. No Receipt needed these were made for Walmart only! 1-800-925-6278.

Oct 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Works great
by: Shannon

I was looking on this site to fine an extra pot in case mine ever breaks. I was shocked to see that so many people are having problems with this coffee maker. I have the exact one pictured above. We have used it every day for 4 years. Sometimes I make 4 cups and sometimes 8 or 12. I have never had any issues with anything. I know to add a little more water than the level says because water is always lost in the soaking of the grinds. I always use a paper filter because it's easier for me to take the used coffee to my garden plants. Wow only 30 bucks! Way to go mom! I'm always telling you not to spend too much on us for Christmas.

Jun 30, 2011
Rating
starstar
Another "clean" light nightmare
by: AJ from PA

I saw someone had wrote "you get what you pay for"....and i think that about sums up my feelings on this cheap model.

It was only like $30 but i guess i expected it to be super durable. I, too, ended up being a victim of the "clean" light error and not being able to brew coffee correctly, but it lasted a year before than happened and was acceptable until then, so its hard to complain too much.

GE is a crappy company who doesnt care about it customers but it has allowed me coffee in the morning for a whole year for 30 bucks. It sucks but its about what i deserve.

No more GE for me but ill spend a bit more next time too.

May 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Not Again
by: Anonymous

The permanent filter is not very good the last to cups seem to have yuc in them,and the coffee is never hot,and 4 cups only makes 2,if you dont mind those things its ok.How ever I will not look for a GE coffee maker again (: You usually get what you pay for !

May 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
can't complain
by: Anonymous

I enjoy this coffemaker. It hasn't caused me any trouble yet besides the clean button not taking off, but after reading the manual and following the instructions it took off. can't complain. keeps my coffe hot and ready.

May 18, 2011
Rating
starstar
Nice looking but that's about it
by: Minimoose923

Found out this model was recalled when I went to look on-line for the manual. The "clean" light is permanently on and it won't turn off no matter how many times I press 1-4 and TSB together. Also, it randomly stops during perking and I have to turn it off and then on. It does look nice though.

Returning it to Walmart STAT!

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
star
Doesn't work
by: Anonymous

I've owned this coffee pot for 2 months. It will not let me make coffee until I clean it, but it won't let me clean it - I followed the instructions but it only sits there. I called the 1800 number and she ran through it with me and still doesn't work. I've seen other people complaining about the same issues with this coffee maker.

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
star
4 months brew one cup stop
by: carol

I bought this coffee maker because itself @ had all that I wanted
But two days after running the cleaner setting. Which I followed instructions by the book but then. Reset the alarm and it started brewed one cup stopped so I turned it on brewed one come stopped. Unplugged. For a while reset still one cup brew..Not happy has been a waste of money and night disappointment..I went back to a purculator pot. Yes it is a GE hopefully more dependable ..

Apr 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
I like this coffee maker
by: Anonymous

I've had this coffee maker for a little over 3 years and the only reason I'm on this site is because the glass pot cracked because a relative decided to re-warm the leftover coffee on the stove. I've never had any problems and it brews a beautiful pot of coffee each and every time (I use it daily)

Mar 02, 2011
Rating
star
Stupid error codes...
by: Leo L

Worked fine for about 6 months, then started beeping 4 times and produced a "Err5" code. Re-started it, went for about 4 more minutes, then again, the message "Err5". Once more, I re-started it, another 4-5 minutes elapsed, and the dreaded message was on again. Not bad for a machine that supposedly brews a full pot in 8 minutes, huh?
If WalMart is so big on technology, how come they didn't advertise enough about the recall? I would have run to the store to right this terrible wrong. I brew about 2 pots of coffee a day, and a GE product should more than likely keep up with this rate of use.

Feb 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
hmmm
by: ok

We purchased this coffee pot from WalMart over a year ago. I make 10-12 cups of coffee for myself and my family every day. Aside from having difficulty finding the "in reservoir filters" for a month or so; it has functioned as it should every single day. I don't care for the mesh basket much; but that is because we use finely ground espresso style coffee. So we still use the pleated paper filter. And we measure the coffee into the filter; as well; to avoid using more than we need. Although the 'automatic' feature is nice; I don't use it much; but it has worked as it should on those times I have used it.
I have never had any of the issues reported here; a coffee pot is a simple appliance, I don't expect it to be a computer. We've used Mr. Coffee; Hamilton Beach; and etc.; over the years. We usually wear them out every two or three years and just get another one.
For those of you who want to know; WalMart has sold over 900,000 of these units; and the Consumer Product Safety Commission has reported 83 - that's right, 83 - problems. For most manufactured units in the world today; that's pretty reliable. If the "fire stories" scare you; take it back to WalMart and get a refund, and buy a Black and Decker. Or, when it wears out, then just purchase a Black and Decker. Or, better still; spend between $100 and $200 for a fancy European unit. Or buy a coffee press, or - a percolator.

Jan 17, 2011
Rating
starstar
Worst appliance ever!
by: Anonymous

This is the worst appliance I have ever owned! The lights flicker throughout the house during the brew cycle and during the warming/keep hot cycle. Trying to read the morning paper with flickering lights is driving me batty! In addition, the warming plate is difficult to keep clean and rusts. The manual states the "clean" light will come on after about 60 brews. Not so. I am cleaning this thing every 30 brews or more. I am done. And, I see from these posts that it has been recalled due to fire hazard. I am going back to Mr. Coffee!

Jan 07, 2011
Rating
starstar
Model 169164 recall
by: Anonymous

I purchased this coffee maker 07/2009 for use in our office. I called today 01/07/2011 to find out where I can purchase a replacement charcoal filter. I was told by a GE/Walmart associate (who was very nice) that this coffee maker has a recall on it due to a fire hazard. I was instructed to immediately unplug it and return it to WalMart where I purchased it. Imagine my shock that this appliance could possibly cause a fire. Needless to say, I am boxing it up today and returning it (hopefully) without a hassle at WalMart and purchse another brand of coffeemaker. Seems strange that I have not seen anything about a recall on GE coffeemakers...I wonder how many of these products are out there....

Jan 05, 2011
Rating
star
disappointed-169228 model
by: HardWorkingJew

first, to comments such as "what did u expect for the money" and "how hot do u want your coffee"
this is a product review site, so keep it to the point, we don't want your opinions about some one elses review.
PROBLEM 1 - my coffee is definatly not hot enough, I know what a hot coffee is supposed to be like, and this is not it.
the manual says to press the (steaming cup of coffee) botton for a few seconds, then you can select 1-5 levels of heat for the warming plate, says at the time coffee is done it is on 3 and that is the default setting.
I thought great I'll just turn it up to 5 then,
unfortunatly mine only goes up to 3, so there you have it. I put 1/4 milk in my coffee so I need it hot, no need to explain the logistics of that.
And I did not get it on sale for under $30, I got it for close to $50 that ain't cheep my friends, I work hard for my stash and expect my coffe right, damn it! it just doesn't hit the spot, I have to reheat it on the freakin' stove top!
and also I have a stupid gourmet button instead of the 1-4 feature - it doesn't give u any options.
PROBLEM 2 - As well, I wouldn't say it's brewing capability is very efficient, I have to use way too many coffee grains in order to get 2 strong cups. So I end up spending more money having to use more coffee grains as well.
well I can always make some good old black coffee "al ha'aish" yalla shalom!





Dec 28, 2010
Rating
star
Bd Money Spent
by: Anonymous

This unit looks great but it does not work. I can't find a resolution to the problems of the coffee makers. I should have stayed with a high-end unit as before. But the day I purchased this junk I was in a rush. Now I pay for my mistake because I never know what I am going to get when I push the button on this bucket if wires.

1. The unit won't complete a brew cycle.
1a) The water won't drain.
1b) The water temp is warm never hot.

2. The unit gives error codes and I can't find the codes in the manual.

Dec 23, 2010
Rating
starstar
Just Stopped Working
by: John S.

I was pleased with my GE 169164 coffee maker until one day it just stopped working. It finished making the coffee and the nice blue digital display just went out. No functions of any kind. And since it was assembled with some weird 2 slot screws, I cant even find out if there is a circuit breaker to reset. I'm going to try to find something online to fix this, but ...

Dec 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
very pleased with this GE coffeemaker
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Innovative, no-spill system for filling reservoir with water
- Timers for brewing

Cons
- Burner tough to keep clean, especially after a spill
- Filter holder can accidentally not be seated, making a mess while brewing

Overall I have been very pleased with this GE coffeemaker. The price was very reasonable, it brews very nicely and the coffee doesn't "overcook" after brewing. I especially like the extra care put into the system to prevent water spillage while filling the reservoir. This coffee maker has bells and whistles that are nice to have, even if they are only used occasionally, like the strength of the coffee brewed. The timers are more than convenient. This coffee maker is tougher than most, and in aluminum and black, very stylish as well.

Dec 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best coffee pot I've owned to date
by: B. Husted

I have the 169209 model and have had no problems with it. I like the fact that you can adjust the warming plate for your desired temperature. And that it tells you when it needs to be cleaned. Great price for all the features you get with this one!
I would recommend this one to my friends.

Dec 04, 2010
Rating
star
terrible
by: Deb

THIS IS THE WORST SMALL APPLIANCE I HAVE EVER OWNED. WE ONLY MAKE A HALF POT A DAY. IT HAS NOT WORKED PROPERLY SINCE I HAVE OWNED IT. STARTS TO BREW AND THEN TURNS OFF. I START AND STOP TO GET THE CYCLE TO FINISH. TODAY I START AND IT IMMEDIATELY TURNS OFF...... HORRIBLE. LESS THAN 1 YEAR OLD.

Nov 23, 2010
Rating
star
recall
by: Anonymous

http://morton-law.blogspot.com/2010_05_01_archive.html
Here's a link that has information about the recall.

Nov 23, 2010
Rating
star
169194
by: Anonymous

this pile of crap started leaking water only when it brews. i had only used it for a week when it started to leak. every pot that was brewed i had a mess of water all over the counter and the floor, not realizing it was leaking i slipped on the water all over the floor. luckily i had caught my balance before i fell on the floor.

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
starstar
Anyone gots one for parts?
by: EEIntg80r

If you have one that quit working let me know!

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
star
COFFEE POT LET ME DOWN
by: Anonymous

i HAD THIS UNIT FOR A WHILE AND ONE DAY IT JUST DECIDED TO QUIT, AND YES I AGREE THE COFFEE NEVER SEEMED HOT ENOUGH. I SEEN THAT IT HAS A RECALL ON IT AT WALMART. HOPEFULLY MY NEXT ONE IS BETTER.

Oct 20, 2010
Rating
star
Had this model which was recalled
by: Lexi

I had this model for a year when I heard it had been recalled. Returned it to Walmart and got a replacement on 7/28/10 (new Model No. 169209) because I felt it made a good cup of coffee very quickly and I liked many of the features.

This past Sunday less than 3 months later, the handle broke off the carafe! Burnt hand and a full pot of coffee every where.

I know they produce a cheaper product for Walmart's but I'm DONE!! I want something MADE IN THE USA!

Aug 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
trouble shooting
by: Anonymous

i have a 169165 ge digital coffee maker, my qiestion is, the coffee maker only brews 4 cups at a time after pouring water for 12 cups iys a stop and go thing . what is the problems?

Jul 27, 2010
Rating
star
GE...you can do better
by: EJ

I bought this Coffee maker about eight months ago.I put water in and it ran right out all over my counter and paper work I had there. I heard a poof and then water. Of course it shorted out the elcetronics...Do not buy!! I bought this at Wal Mart..there should be a re call on it...You could get electrocuted if not careful.

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
The worst coffee maker ever
by: Anonymous

bought the same coffee maker 1 month ago, went to clean it and romoved the filter put it back in and coffee maker leaks now, no water sits in the water part it just leaks right out. also it takes 1hr 20min to brew 10cups
I have had sevreal coffee makers and non this terrible.

This is the worst coffee maker ever owned

Jun 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Automatic timer and temperature of coffee
by: Anonymous

I've had my model 169209 GE coffee maker about 1 month. I've used the timer 3 times. The 4th time I tried to use the timer the pot brewed the coffee sometime around 1am (I had set the timer for 6:30am). I kept having a dream that I was smelling wonderful brewed coffee (looked at my clock and it said 1am)but still thought I was dreaming. Well - it wasn't a dream. So I watered the plants with the cold coffee and started a pot manually.

Other than the above and that it pours out tepid coffee (which is actually how I like to drink mine but my husband puts his in the microwave to warm it up)and that it leaves mud in our cups it is working ok so far.

I had a DeLongi which I paid $79 for at Target and after only 2 months it put water on my counters 3 times - they wouldn't take it back either.

I bought GE because I have other GE appliances - cooktop, oven, microwave and washer and dryer and they all work very well.

Next time I'll get a Mr. Coffee if any more problems occur.

Are you listening GE???????

May 22, 2010
Rating
star
THIS COFFE MAKER SUCKS
by: Anonymous

This coffe maker SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

May 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Recall
by: Anonymous

Aren't you lucky. This is recalled and you get all your money back from Walmart. (Causes fires) 5/20/2010

May 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
169209
by: Anonymous

this model number sucks 169209# too

May 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
RECALL !
by: Anonymous

RECALL - RECALL- RECALL !! Coffee maker has been recalled take it back to Walmart and get your money back !!!!

May 20, 2010
Rating
star
bad coffee maker
by: mike kinahan

I recieved my 12 cup coffee maker for christmas as a present from my daughter. Right after I started using it the burner started rusting I Never let the coffee pour down on it maybe a drop or two will land on it but thats it. The bottom of the pot is never really wet. why would the burner rust like that? I'm almost afraid to use it much longer as it looks like the burner might rust right through and cause a fire hazzard. Any water or dampnest getting under or through the burner will short out the electrical elements the warm the burner.

May 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
so far so good...
by: Anonymous

I have had my coffee maker for about 6 months, give or take, i have purchased at least 8 coffee makers over the years, some good some bad, this one seems to be okay, so far. i brew around 2 pots a day. have had to clean twice, the clean feature seems to work okay, just hold the button in and it will beep then it starts. not sure how long it will last but so far so good. the only thing i hate is when you remove the carafe to pour a cup, water drips from the filter onto the heating plate, drives me crazy. but i guess all coffee makers do that.

Mar 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Great features, but dangerous?
by: Bridget

Before the coffee maker comments, just a note to one person who slammed people for rating 5 stars, then saying negative about the product...It's confusing because the site says "Rate This Page", not "Rate This Product"! Well, the page is helpful, but I think the creator meant to rage the ITEM on the page, not the website. Ok, that's off my chest.

Now, about the coffee maker: After buying this last night, and using for the first time, I LOVED IT! It's super-fast brewing, flavor is great, nice features, esp. no-drip carafe, heat selector, etc. But, after brew cycle finished and the warmer tray cycled, all the house lights flickered. When the warmer cycled off, the lights stopped. (I see one other person mentioned this, too). I Googled it this morning, and found a few others, including an electrical guy who says this is a danger because of the immediate huge pull on the circuit.

So, despite loving this coffee maker, I'm not willing to put up with the strobe lights going on while sipping my coffee, nor the risk of fire, so I'm returning it today.

Mar 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
ge 12 cup Digital Coffeemaker
by: Anonymous

I love mine. Coffee is always hot and tastes great.No problems

Mar 09, 2010
Rating
star
did not work for me
by: Anonymous

bought this from a walmart less than one year ago. It already died... Bought it because I thought GE was a great name... Wasnt until the time of this review that I looked at the bottom of the coffee maker and found that it also has a walmart stamp too... Not sure what the deal is there... But either way... had to go purchase another coffee maker today. (we are coffee people). needless to say. I went with a Mr. Coffee... Hope I have better luck with that one.

Feb 23, 2010
Rating
starstar
it was good while it lasted...
by: Anonymous

I was hoping to find a solution to my problem. I bought this coffee maker for my office about 4 months ago. I liked the fact that it turned itself off after a couple of hours - no more worrying about leaving it on overnight or over the weekend. Coffee was good, but not quite as hot as I like. This morning I woke up with a sinus headache, but I thought that when I got to work the caffeine in my coffee would help. Cleaning light was blinking, tried the cleaning cycle, nothing happened. Found this site to know how to reset. Coffee maker still won't start - won't do anything but sit there with its blue light on. I ended up having to leave work and drive over to Dunkin Donuts to get an extra large coffee to fix my headache.

Incidentally, for those who say you get what you pay for, I have had plenty of small appliances that I paid $20-30 for that lasted for years! I am very disappointed in this. Normally, I would just think that I got the dud, but after reading all the comments on here, I realize that the anomaly is the coffee makers that are actually still working after a few months. Don't waste your money.

Feb 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Read Manuals People!
by: Anonymous

Awsome coffee maker for your money with all the options. Thanks for reading

Feb 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Maker!!!
by: Anonymous

I've had this coffee maker for a year and a half. I've never had any problems and it's always burning hot. I make coffee every morning. I would recommend this mnaker to anyone!!!

Jan 29, 2010
Rating
star
Rip Off
by: Mu

Throughout my adult life, I have had many different coffee makers and this by far is absolutely the worst. It does not keep the coffee warm and after 6 months of use it began leaking. In addition, the heating plate on which the pot rests seems to have corroded or rusted. I am a meticulous person and make 1 pot of coffee per day. The pot is on about 1 hour before I leave for work and then turned off. What a horrible product. Beware!

Jan 21, 2010
Rating
star
i am so disappointed :(
by: Crystal

bought this coffee maker last night, and maybe you do get what you pay for, but i really don't have a lot of extra money to spend on these things so i went for el cheapo. went to make coffee this morning and water leaked out the bottom all over the counter and floor. (incidentally, this was the very reason i had to get another coffee maker in the first place, the old one was leaking!) so you can imagine my disappointment. without any coffee, i must trudge back to wal-mart (ugh!) and return it. i don't forsee any problems, but i think i'll try a different brand this time.

Jan 19, 2010
Rating
star
Just quit
by: Anonymous

We have had our coffee maker for less than a year. It just decided to stop working one morning. I tried everything the book states to do, but to no avail. It's on, it just will not pull water.

Jan 11, 2010
Rating
starstar
mine lasted longer than yours
by: lucky1

It made great coffee every day for eight months. Then it broke. Fantastic buy. Dictated but not read.

Jan 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
this unit works really well
by: Anonymous

My girlfriend has had this coffee pot for a few years. She drinks coffee everymorning. We met a year ago and it still works great. keeps great time, auto on works good,everything works the way it supposed to. Just a great coffee pot. She must have got the only good one GE made. Coffee maker really works great! No kidding!

Jan 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
look people...
by: Anonymous

...first of all learn to post a comment. giving a product a five-star rating and then bashing it just doesn't make sense. ok then, i bought this coffee maker several months ago and use it probably five days out of the week. i've never had one problem with it and can assure you that if i drank straight from the pot my lips would melt off. how hot could you possibly want your coffee?! i'd love to stick around but mine is due a cleaning.

Jan 06, 2010
Rating
star
Junk from the finest
by: Pissed Off

I got screwed. Agree with all of the above, recommend you spend a little more on something that works. Will never purchase anything with a GE badge again!!

Jan 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Pretty good in my book
by: Anonymous

I bought this coffee maker about a year ago at Walmart, great price and lots of features. I've never had a problem with it. It always brewed coffee, cleaning cycle worked fine, never leaked, always started at programmed time.

The only issue I have is finding a replacement coffee pot as I broke the original in my sink the other day. The GE site has a link to a site that has over 1 million parts for appliances, but not the part I need.

Jan 04, 2010
Rating
star
Counter full o' water
by: TJ

If you like to wake up to a counter full of 12 cups of water, then this is the coffee maker for you! I have used it for less than a year. I fill it and set it to brew in the AM, but now all it does is leak out all of the water before I wake up in the morning. There should be a recall based on the number of complaints on this website alone.

Jan 03, 2010
Rating
star
Piece of Junk
by: Anonymous

I have only had this coffee maker for 6 months and the only way to have more than two cups of coffee is to turn it on and off. Mine also keeps water in the reservoir....what a waste of money! I will not buy another.

Dec 25, 2009
Rating
starstar
STOPPED BREWING
by: Anonymous

It's Christmas morning and the coffee maker decided not to brew anymore.. I tried everything the manual says for trouble shooting.. Needless to say I happen to have a small jar of instant coffee on hand so that's my morning coffee for today.. I just bought it 6 months ago. What a waste! Oh well Merry Christmas to all and stay away from this coffee pot.

Dec 17, 2009
Rating
star
Dissatisfied customer
by: Tom

I bought the GE 12 cup coffee maker model 169164 from Wal-Mart less than 6 months ago. We don't drink coffee but about once a week, mostly on weekends. To my dismay, I tried brewing a fresh pot after a lil more than a month without using it at all, and nothing. The water was there, the coffee was in the hopper , the electricity was on. but no hot coffee. After a few minutes, I smelt something funny. As I looked at the coffee maker, I noticed that the bottom side off the coffee maker had melted. ( at least something got hot) . Needless to say, it works no more. What a piece of junk. I WILL NOT buy another G E coffee maker>.

Dec 12, 2009
Rating
star
Water Mess
by: Tom


Coffee pot works good, but have a counter top full of water every morning. Never get the full 10-12 cups of coffee, since all the water is on the counter..looking for a new pot today.

Dec 10, 2009
Rating
starstar
short lifespan
by: Bill McAda

Coffee maker worked well for about 1 1/2 years. Then it began shutting off brewing before all the water was used in reservoir. The clean light came on. Since I have cleaned each time this light came on I did the clean process with vinegar and water. Clean cycle completed. I added fresh water to flush. Pressed the power button. Light on button comes on and then two beeped as though the brewing process was complete. No brewing had taken place. I unplugged the unit and reprogrammed the coffee maker. Power light comes on, 2 beeps and nothing happens. Bought unit at Walmart along with extra carafe.

Dec 08, 2009
Rating
star
GE Digital Coffee Maker
by: DJ Rebel

I purchased this about a month ago and it only made 4 pots then just quit brewing all together! I don't have reciept because my sister bought it for me - but manual claims walmart will replace it up to two years, so i'm gonna try.

Nov 26, 2009
Rating
star
Rapid on off cycling
by: nelson

Pot draws heavy current when brewing. the heater cycles on and off rapidly flickering lights on that side of the line, This action doesn't appear normal and could lead to a fire.

Nov 24, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Lasted 6 months
by: Anonymous

I bought this unit about 6 months ago after our 5 year old Mr. Coffee quite working. I bought it on a whim as it looked nice and had alot of features. I was shocked at its sub $30 price. There is a reason it was priced so low. I only use it on the weekends so it has not had alot of use. Sunday I tried to use it and it brewed for about 30 seconds and quit. Everytime I hit the brew button it would do the same thing. The "clean" light never lit up. I tried it again this morning and now it won't do anything. After examining the unit I see Wal-marts name is molded right in the bottom of the unit. I am getting really tired of cheap chinese crap. I guess I'm part of the problem since I bought it in the first place.

Nov 10, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mine works great!
by: Happy Homemaker

Typically one should expect to be replace a coffee pot within 2 to 4 years, maybe sooner. Msking things last a lifetime is a thing of the past. I have paid no more than $50 for a coffee pot and as little as $10 (simple but lasted 4 years). This GE pot is great for me. I use it at least 3 times per day. I like the cleaning reminder since our water is high in minerals. Cleaning is critical to the life of the brewing quality. I say there are lemons in every batch; I got a good one.

Nov 02, 2009
Rating
star
HIGHLY DANGEROUS
by: Angelika

I bought this coffee maker a few weeks ago and it is "running" without the on button pushed. Yesterday afternoon it was on - without anybody touched it before. Today - I prepared the coffee yesterday but have not used the delay button - and the coffee was ready but allready cold in the morning. I will return it today - I have not a hauted house - so no ghost will drink coffee here-
but I don't need a coffee maker which runs without the command to run.

Oct 26, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
what do you expect?
by: Anonymous

What do you expect for less then 30 dollars? And Walmart? Really I haven't found any appliances for over 20 years that last longer then 3-6 months,especially ones that I use everyday. I also had a very expensive model a Braun that was well over a $100.00 dollars and that lasted less time then this GE, which I've had for about 9 months, I have had my problems also, but after reading the manual again, Problems fixed, to many digitals buttons to remember what they all do, and which ones to hold down for what, re-read your manual again and get surprised, I've fixed mine 6 times when I thought it was ready for the garbage. and quit expecting a BMW when your buying a KIA. And for those whom it dosen't start up and work, TAKE it back, you get what you pay for!

Oct 24, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bad Machine
by: Anonymous

Bad Machine
GE Coffee pot
This machine should be recall. I use it for about 10 days and it just wouldn't brew anymore.
Junk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Will not purchase GE products again.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
star
I have trouble with it all the time!
by: Julie

My son bought this for me at WalMart as a gift to replace my Mr Coffee that finally died after many, many years. I have trouble with it all the time!

From the blue light coming on for cleaning not long after I all ready cleaned it, it flickers on and off on occasion, stops & starts brewing several times for the same pot of coffee(I don't even use the 1-4 button),then shuts off completely during brewing, leaves residue in coffee if you don't use filter in the filter basket, clock loses time so when I set timer it hasn't started brewing when I want it to be done.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
star
Not recommended
by: Brenda

We have only had this coffee maker for 2 1/2 months and it no longer works. The brew function just stopped working. I would not recommend this product.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
star
It broke so fast
by: Lu Ann

I have had my Coffee Maker for only a couple of months and has worked perfect until the morning when I could not get my coffee maker to start.

I'm disappointed that it went broke so... fast.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
star
We could have died.
by: Sonya Hulse

It caught my kitchen on fire yesterday.

Am going to try to contact GE. I had the same coffee maker last fall that quit working within Walmarts 90 day return period so I exchanged it for the same model.

With no warning our house caught fire. I had it set to go off at 7am and my alarm woke us up to out kitchen on fire. We luckily survived. If my alarm didn't go off we could of died. The fire melted our fire detector by the coffee maker.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
star
Coffee not hot
by: DAISY

COFFEE POT LOOKS GREAT, BUT COFFEE IS NOT HOT WHEN DONE JUST WARM. LID TO FILTER BASKET IS BROKEN.

SORRY TO SAY THIS WAS A BAD CHOICE IN A COFFEE POT. HOPE YOU MAKE SOME IMPROVEMENTS TO IT.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
star
I will never buy another GE product again
by: Bob

No problem with using this maker but I cannot believe that replacement charcoal filters cannot be found. Reading others posts I am giving up & if original gets plugged I will run without.

It's a shame because I will never buy another GE product again. I live close to GE Medical & hope like hell that I don't die because someone could not find a filter for their medical equipment. With the auto makers having problems I see GE right behind in future bankrupt situation.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
star
A piece of junk
by: Anonymous

This coffee maker is a piece of junk - the second one in 2 months just went out. Never again will I buy a GE coffee maker.

1st one lasted about 2 months and had to argue with the lady at Wal-mart to replace it and then had to carry the second one home in pieces because they wouldn't give us the box to it because we threw the first one away (I mean really who keeps a coffee maker box)

The second one last 3 days - never again.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
star
I got 12 pots out of this machine..........
by: Anonymous

After brewing about 12 pots of coffee through it, the error light came on saying that the charcoal filter needs changed/cleaned. No where in the instruction book is the instructions on how to reset this error after the filter has been changed/cleaned.

I went to the GE website to ask a technician how to do it, and I was asked how much money is the answer worth to me.
But other than that problem, it made good coffee. To bad it wont any more.

Oct 22, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
WOW.... REALLY???
by: Anonymous

Look... I too am an Owner who was Recently Disapointed by this Device. I actually found this site while looking up how to reset the maker as i had lost my manual. I bought this coffee maker about...8 months ago or so and loved it. Every day i'd get up to a fresh brewed pot of coffee. As for the filters(Charcol) i didn't bother looking for them as i wasn't too concerned about hard coffee. Anyway... I don't usualy have the money to spend on something like that.

Anyway, thats the point here... you get what you pay for. I bought this coffee maker At Walmart on sale for 24 bucks. I faired better than most as this site points out. I only had a glitch with the backlight for the display, it would dim and brighten for no reason at all, and eventually quit brightening... but its still legable and glowing blue as it sits atop my couter as i type this.

Yes.. i am gonna have to go Buy another coffee maker... But If i can buy one for 24 bucks and get 6 months out of it.. its WORTH IT. Its not called a rip off if you get your moneys worth. Hell, 24 bucks in gas wont get you thru a week... count your blessings people, and Quit RANTING about your upset aver a 24 DOLLAR piece of Crap(that is your terminoligy), After all... Look where we all bought this machine from... I rest my Case.

Oct 12, 2009
Rating
star
Page great, coffee maker BITES!
by: Beverly Quickel

This coffee maker is BEAUTIFUL, and works great, until the clean light comes on. I got it to clean once without incident. Now for the second time it came on, when I filled it with vinegar and water as per the instructions, and pushed the clean button for three seconds, the cleaning light blinked for 4 hours and never did anything. I reset the coffee maker by pushing the 1-4 and tsp button at the same time for three seconds but now it won't work. This is the THIRD one that I have had. I am going to Wal~Mart and buying a DIFFERENT brand tomorrow! THis thing bites!

Sep 17, 2009
Rating
star
Don't buy this!
by: Brenda

I loved the looks and performence of this maker AT FIRST.Had two months and no abuse went to wash the inside with my sponge and I swear the sponge just barely touched the inside of carafe WITH NO PRESSURE YET I heard a crack and a crack incircled the whole thing.Thank goodness my daughter didn't wash it for me and had it happen to her and me not believe that she didn't clunk the sink or anything. Anyway I took it back with reciept and traded it in for the same model thinking this had to be a fluke.I am one who doesn't like my coffee screaming hot so it's faults with the heating plate didn't bother me. I was conscerened with the large amount of water left in the unit after supposedly done.I use paper filters with the permanent filter because of the film and muddiness left in bottom of your cup I didn't appreciate.Low and behold I went to wash it(2nd unit) again this time my friend happened to be next to the sink and witnessed NO ABUSE AGAIN and the carafe cracked exactly as before! Thank god it didn't break as any one of us were poring over some bare skin or something! This is a dangerouse unit unfortunately as I do love the looks and mine brewed so fast it WAS beautiful while it lasted.(Unfortunately not long)as dangerouse as this units potential is it does not deserve the one star.I am about to take this 2nd unit back.Hope no trouble because I can't find my reciept this time.Unfortunately I tossed my ORIGINAL Mister coffee that I've had since the 70's just wanted to have one that had an automatic shut off plus I was teased about being so frugal and out dated...what I'd do for that old faithful back!

Sep 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great features - BAD QUALITY
by: Paul

THE GOOD - If you use a coffee maker everyday, you'll immediately notice the great features this coffee maker has. Unlike most others, when you pour coffee from the pot into your cup, you can pour fast without coffee dribbling down the pot. Also, the water reservoir has a huge opening so you don't have to pour the water in slowly either. The 1-4 feature works well. So does the TSB (Time Since Brew) and of course the auto program. It has a two year warranty so I can take this one back too.

THE BAD - The charcoal filter system is a piece of crap. The long filter holder is in the way. The hot plate doesn't keep coffee hot enough. The digital clock has 12AM and 12PM reversed. The electric cords keep shorting out. I'm not exchanging for another one of these. Walmart can keep it.

Aug 30, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
COFFEE POT
by: Daisy

i bought this pot two weeks ago . love the looks of it but does not keep coffee hot.also lid where you put the filter is broken.so it does not work right. can not replace it because i lost sales slip. HOPE YOU MAKE SOME IMPROVEMENT TO THIS POT.
THANK YOU DAISY

Aug 15, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
charcoal filters?
by: Anonymous

Have had this coffee maker for several months now. The only problems I am having is sometimes it leaves about 4 cups of water in the back and I cannot find a replacement charcoal filter that goes in the back with the water. Other than that, no problems yet. Yet being the key word.

Aug 08, 2009
Rating
star
Biggest POS I've ever seen!
by: Anonymous

I ran it through 2 clean cycles last night and hadn't noticed till getting the coffee ready there was water all over my counter. Ok, no biggie. Maybe I just got carried away with the splash protector.

Then I wake up this morning. Water ALL OVER MY FREAKING COUNTER, FLOORS, EVERYWHERE. There's only 2 cups of water left in the coffee brewer. I drain that AND IT'S STILL LEAKING WATER.

I'm using it long enough to brew a couple cups of coffee then this piece of crap is going straight back to wal mart. and if they give any issues (through the box in dumpster last night) about no box I'm taking it to GE and shoving it up their a**

Jul 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best I've EVER had. period.
by: Michael Stelly

I've been making/drinking coffee for 30 years. In general, coffee makers suck. The higher-priced ones suck even worse and suck your money out of your wallet to boot.

My wife bought this one a few months ago. We use the enclosed gold-tone filter. Some may not like it because it allows the fine-grained coffee sediment through, but I don't mind it. This filter absorbs none of the bean oils. The oils, which carry a lot of the flavor, ends up where it's supposed to...in your cup. Also, you never buy coffee filters again. Good for the environment, good for the wallet.

Simply put, for under $30, you'll never buy a $2 cup of coffee again. For the record, try Tanzania Peaberry Songea in this maker. It'll knock your socks off.

Jun 24, 2009
Rating
star
run like the wind!
by: Anonymous

bought it last night. does not work at all this morning! filled it up to run for cleaning and all i get is err and 3 beeps. only about a cup of water trickled thruogh and it died. judging from the reviews, this thing ships broken!

Jun 21, 2009
Rating
starstar
Disappointed
by: Anonymous

I bought this coffeemaker at Walmart about 6 months ago at Walmart. I loved this coffeeemaker and told all my friends about it. My parents even went out an bought one. Woke up this morning and it would do nothing. Will not brew and does not heat up. What a disappointment. I will try and take it back but not sure they will take it back after this long.

Jun 17, 2009
Rating
star
This Coffee Pot is the PITS
by: Anonymous

Same thing here - had it - it worked great for 6 months - then one morning nothing but lights and clicking noises. No brewing.

GE says just to take it back to Wal-Mart - probably will - but Im am going to beg for a different brand.

I have never been a fan of GE electronics and this just reinforces my disdain for them.

Jun 15, 2009
Rating
star
Brewed 2 pots then stopped...
by: Anonymous

Add me to the list of dissatisfied owners. Bought this coffee pot 2 days ago - worked fine for 2 pots of coffee. Just tried to fix a third pot and it won't brew. I click the on button, it sounds as if it might work then beeps 2 times and nothing. Called customer service - that was a big help...LOL...they told me they didn't know why it would do that. They recommended I return for a replacement.

Jun 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Come on
by: wade

come on people... it is great for the price
you people are really somthin else...

May 27, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Holding my breath.
by: Anonymous

I bought the GE Model 169164 12 cup digital coffee maker today and followed the set-up instructions then brewed 4 cups after pressing the 1-4 button. So far so good with excellent taste, (Starbucks Breakfast Blend). My reason for purchasing this model is because my Cuisinart died suddenly. By the way, I could never find a filter for the Cuisinart either.

Anyway, I never realized the benefit of paying more for a fancy name. There must be a reason for paying more but so far I haven't experienced that reason...maybe it's durability. The coffee made with this GE model seems better then it ever was with the Cuisinart. I do like black coffee and I am particular about the taste.

As far as the GE performance is concerned only time will tell....I wish that I could find a Melita. I truly enjoyed Melita coffee makers. Just in case, I'm saving my Wallyworld (WalMart) receipt.

May 26, 2009
Rating
star
DO NOT BUY THIS COFFEE MAKER
by: Anonymous

My boyfriend and I just bought this coffee maker about a week ago for our new apartment. It worked fine for about a week. We got about 5 pots out of it. So not worth the amount we paid for. This morning I went to make a pot of coffee. I filled the water into the back (where it should go) all of the water started spilling out of the bottom of the coffee maker.

You wouldn't think 12 cups of water would be that much. My counters were covered in water. I tried to empty the last of the water into the sink by turning the maker upside down. Its then that I noticed burn marks and bubbling of the plastic on the very bottom of the maker. It kept the coffee maker on a counter all by itself with nothing underneath it.

No idea what would have caused that to happen. If by some chance I would have turned it on before I noticed the water it would have started a fire. Very disappointed.

May 24, 2009
Rating
star
This was a waste of money
by: S.B.

I too had gotten the same coffee maker for a Christmas gift.. I was excited to see all the different things and gagets on this, I to am very disappointed on how this nice coffee maker turned into another appliance in the trash.

It was brewing well and everything was working perfectly until one day I go to brew a pot and nothing happened, I of course then unplugged it waited a minute and then plugged it back in, again to find it not brewing.

I, like many continued to use a different maker, As of today I thought I would give it a whirl and tried using it and now not only is it not brewing, the little blue light above the clean is on and I can't seem to do anything about this.. I can't not believe a big company as G E would sell such disappointing appliances..

And of course we will all hear "There is nothing we can do to serve you" shame on GE for such a non working product....

May 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Don't Waste your Money
by: Woody

I bought a white one on sale in Dec. It died and smoked all over the place in mid-Jan. The local store replaced it without a receipt. Now it is 5 months later and the replacement has died. It will not heat, never did very well, It will not brew, It is just a big clock. I heated water in microwave this morning and poured thru the filter to make coffee. That worked real well and the coffee was hot. I do not want another Walmart-GE product.

From now on, I will take the unit out of the box and check to make sure it is not a store brand appliance, but a manufacturers appliance. Walmart has cheapened a GE appliance by downgrading the requirements. I am going elsewhere to buy a replacement.

May 15, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Brewed 5 Pots
by: Anonymous

I bought coffeemaker at WalMart - good price, nice features. Brewed 5-6 pots. Now does nothing. Power comes on and clock and "on" buttons are lit, but no coffee. From what I have seen on internet this is a repetitive problem and there is nothing to do but clutter up the landfill

May 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
sudden death
by: Anonymous

I've had mine for a few months and it worked great until two days ago when it just stopped working. It won't brew at all.

I love how the troubleshooting for this problem simply suggests plugging the maker in. Doh! Why didn't I think of that?!

I've never had a coffee maker quit without some sort of warning.

May 06, 2009
Rating
star
Quit Working less than 90 days
by: Anonymous

Bought this at wal-mart, as I wanted white so a bit limited on choices. It hasn't even reached the "time to clean" notice yet. I can't find my receipt! Coffee is only warm, even though set to 5 on the heat choices. I should have known something was wrong when the first day I lost 2 minutes on the clock compared to all the other kitchen appliance clocks. It can loose 5 minutes a day. But yesterday I put in the coffee, water, etc and waited nothing brewed. Unplugged the coffee pot, reset it and still nothing just dead. I would be worried about a fire hazard. Wish I had my receipt to take it back.

May 03, 2009
Rating
star
JUNK model 169164
by: GARY

Just like many other reviews I read on this unit, mine suddenly stopped working after 3 months of use. No errors. The display seems to be OK. Just won't brew. Possibly the heating element has gone bad. Sending it to the trash bin. What a dud!

Apr 30, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Works great for me
by: Gregory Davis

I've owned the 169164 for 5 months and it has worked without any problems. The coffee brewed is good, and I like the easy access to the water reservoir and coffee filter. It is very well designed and is easier to use than any other coffee maker I've owned.

I can't explain the many many complaints in this column except to speculate that GE had a bad production run and those experiencing the problems were the unlucky recipients of the flawed product.

I came to this site looking for the charcoal filter. I think that I'll just remove it since my water supply provides good odor free water.

Apr 28, 2009
Rating
star
Avoid This POS
by: AngryJavaMan

Worked great for 3 months then died(would not brew) took back to Walmart. They would not give money back(longer than 90 days,it was about 100 days since purchase) exchanged for new one. 2 pots through then it died, same problem.Going in trash.

Apr 02, 2009
Rating
star
Returned to store after 2 days
by: Anonymous

I found the GE coffeemaker @ Wal-Mart & it seemed to offer more bang for the buck. I was thoroughly disappointed with the product after about 6 or 7 uses.

I followed the set up as described in the manual. The brewing took about 33 minutes to complete each time. The unit would turn off shortly afterward and the adjustment did not indicate how long I could set it to stay on. The top of the coffeemaker was extremely hot to touch and there seemed to be more steam & noise than others I have owned. The pause & pour feature did not work after several attempts while brewing - the spring mechanism did not drop or retract when removing the carafe. The coffee was lukewarm to cold and had a metallic aftertaste.

I purchased this unit on 3/31 and returned it today. Coincidentally, while in the return line, one person ahead of me was exchanging his GE coffeemaker for the same model but after hearing 2 other bad reviews while in line, he settled for a refund. So did I. I would not mind paying my good $$ for a good product but in my opinion, this is NOT a good product. I cannot recommend this unit.

Mar 31, 2009
Rating
starstar
Stay away for this model
by: Anonymous

I am not really sure when I bought this coffee maker.. I know it was less than 3 months ago. I bought it due to the schedule change in work.. Now my spouse has to go to work at 2 AM so, the program feature was great and worked well for a short time. Now, Put 12 cups of water in, it only returns 6-9 cups of coffee and takes over 45 min to do so.. Have no clue where the rest of the water is going! I believe it is evaporating. The darn thing is steaming profusely now. I had to go back to my 9 dollar manual Mr. Coffee machine.. This replacement is in my humble opinion, is a hunk of junk so to speak! Stay away from it unless you have money to burn and can replace it every 90 days or so.. I for one can find better things to spend my money on..

Mar 14, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
so-so
by: Anonymous

I bought this coffee maker about 3 weeks or so ago. I like the programmability of it, and the blue LED light. I haven't had the problem some of the other reviewers had with it not brewing the last two cups. I usually do almost a whole pot, but have brewed 4 cups too with no problem. The thing I don't like about this machine is that it smells really bad (like plastic). And I don't know if it's my imagination or not, but the coffee tastes kind of plastic-y. I thought it would go away, but it hasn't really after all this time.

Also, there is a scum on the top of the coffee. I've been using the same brand of coffee I usually get, and have never noticed this on previous coffee makers. I tried with the filter and without (I actually found extra filters for this at my Walmart at the time of purchase). No matter which way I do it (and we use a Brita in addition), there is a scum on top.

Also, I'm not thrilled about the fact that it only stays warm for 2 hours. I've had other coffee makers like that, but my previous coffee maker was an electric percolator that kept the coffee hot as long as it was plugged in, so I guess I got a bit spoiled with it.

Mar 10, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
not a bad maker
by: Erik

it worked. setting it up is a little goofy and you have to read the manual. the coffee comes out hot, and yes i've turned the warmer down from scalding. i use the paper filters as i don't like to clean the perm filters. as for the funny charcoal filter, throw it away. spend your $$$ and buy a brita, we have a water filter here at work that is great! all in all, it's a great maker

Mar 03, 2009
Rating
star
Junk
by: Metro

Carafe cracked after 1 month...no abuse...waste of money. Manual says 2 year warranty does not cover glass. Glass was thin, not annealed properly in Chinese factory, no doubt....hazardous!

Feb 15, 2009
Rating
star
Piece of junk
by: Joe Blair

This product is terrible. As others say, the coffee comes out only luke warm. When filling with water, about 1/2 cup pours out into the grounds cold. I'm gonna toss this thing and buy one for $10!

Feb 14, 2009
Rating
starstar
Pour results
by: Anonymous

We bought the coffeemaker 4-5 months ago. at first it worked great, but now I'm not happy with it. I make 12 cups at a time and have it programed to start brewing at 6:30 a.m. I figure if I get up at 7 a.m coffee should be ready - well sometimes I have a half a pot other times a full pot. I end up turning it off and then turning it back on again to continue the brewing cycle. $30 seemed a good buy at the time, but now I'm not so sure. It's more frustrating than it's worth.

I won't be getting this brand again. Hopefully I'll find something more reliable.

Feb 10, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Stuck in Error Mode and Not working at all
by: Anonymous

As per prevous posts I held the 1-4 and TSB and the evil blue light went out, I cleaned it and turned it on to make coffee, won't heat up and no coffee made. Returning it to Wal-Mart afer using it since December 26 (thought it was a great xmas present) NOT doubt Wal Mart will take back a used coffee maker. Useless probably throw it in the dumpster. Makes me mad I through out my old one and was still working.

Feb 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
apology
by: Anonymous

I'm posting an apology in regards to my previous gripe. The last time we were at WalMart, waalaa, there were the charcoal filters, so we grabbed them quick. I was griping that we couldn't find them, and pre judging that they weren't available at all. Also, noting a response recently posted, The charcoal filters actually go into the area you pour the water in, in a little holder, to purify the water before it actually makes the coffee, not the filter for the coffee itself.
So far so good as far as everything else. It makes good coffee, and I love the L.E.D. blue light, especially at night, it is almost like a night light.
enjoy

Feb 01, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
not too bad
by: Anonymous

I bought this coffee maker because it was cheap, brewed 12 cups, had cone filters,(like our old krups),and was easy to load the coffee basket and reservoir. I have been using the permanent filter even though I have leftover cone filters. I like the fact that it brews fairly quickly, 15 minutes for 12 cups. I have only two complaints: 1)the warmer stays on for only 2 hours. I just turn it off and on every once in a while to reset it. (On second thought, I've never boiled out my pot of coffee)
2) The water dripping into the basket lands on the very edge of basket most of it running into the pot without contact with the grounds. I corrected this by wrapping the entire dripper nozzle with alumnum foil and making a single 1/4" hole in the middle. the result is very strong coffee. been using it that way for about a month. As far as the filter, I haven't used it so I don't know what I'm missing. those having trouble with the last 2 cups may consider going filterless, just in case it isn't allowing water to the enter the heater.

Jan 17, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GE Model 169164
by: Anonymous

Good review.
This product has all the features but also seems to give out very quickly. Several problems are reported on the net about the thing not brewing after short periods of use.
In my case that means 60 uses because the "clean me" light came on. All attempts to clean, brew or reboot failed.

Jan 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
charcoal filters
by: Anonymous

We just bought the 169165 model yesterday. When we got it home, we realized it had a charcoal filter device, and it came with only one charcoal filter.

Knowing WalMart as we do, we immediately tried to find more of these charcoal filters. Well, do the replacement ones really even exist?. I called the number on the manual which says for warantee or accessories call this number 1 877 207 0923, and I finally got through to a real live person, who said they don't sell the charcoal filters, to get them at WalMart.

Well, long story short, WalMart doesn't have them. I called the 877 number back, and complained, saying we really wanted to order some charcoal filters so she gave me the web site for www.coffeecow.com. O.K. I bit, I got on line and went to coffeecow, which has absolutely NOTHING to do with GE OR the charcoal filters I was looking for.

By the way, before she gave me the web site for coffeecow.com, she said, well you can always take the coffee maker back to Walmart and get your money back. DUH, we just bought it, and the next day we find out we can't even get the filters. What a rip off, it looks like they knew they didn't have the filters when they sold us the coffee pot. It was on sale for 24 dollars, so

I'll use it till it breaks, which from some of these other comments won't take too long. But if everyone is buying these coffee makers, even on sale, and they are this much of a rip off, what does that say for WalMart????

And I have not looked, but I can guess the Chinese are laughing their heads off as they count all their money along side of Walmart.

Jan 01, 2009
Rating
starstar
Leaks water
by: Anonymous

The price was great for it's looks and options. But it will leak clear water all over the counter. It only does it when I'm not looking. Sometimes when it's off, and sometimes when it's brewing. Ive kept the tank level lower than the full line but it still does it. Yes I've de-scaled it (cleaned it) and it did't help. I can't tell where it's coming from since it's only wet on the bottom. It's not coming from the "over fill" holes on the back. I can't turn it up side down when it's full of water. That wouldn't help anyway because like I say, it only does it when I'm not looking, once every 3 or 4 pots. It's two weeks old and I'm taking it back to Wal-Mart-China today.

Dec 29, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Charcoal Filters
by: Anonymous

Has anyone figured out where to get replacement charcoal water filters for this coffeemaker? I can't find them anywhere..... :(

Dec 29, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Stuck in error mode
by: Anonymous

I have had mine for around three months, and have spemnt the last three weeks trying to figure out what happened to it. The dang thing says it needs to be cleaned and does nothing but beep at me when I try to do anything. I found this tonight, and will give it a shot when I get home:


*** HOW TO RESET THE GE 169164 COFFEE MAKER ***

After endless online searches yielding the same results (nothing useful), I figured out how to reset this coffee maker.

While coffee maker is plugged in and the evil little blue light is mocking you relentlessly, press and hold the 1-4 button and the TSB button simultaneously for 3 seconds or so. This will cause the device to exit it's error status and allow normal use of it.

Dec 23, 2008
Rating
star
Disappointed is an understatement.
by: ruralamericanwoman.com

I thought this coffee pot looked great also. The coffee was weak no matter what you do short of doubling the coffee needed, which is a waste of coffee. For what it's cost me in coffee, I could have spent much more on a better machine. It also leaked no matter how you adjusted or moved the pot, burning coffee and leaking all over the counter and on to the floor. You'd have to be prepared and stand there while the coffee brewed. Last straw was this morning; coffee was brewing, almost finished and my son went to pull the pot out to pour a cup and coffee exploded all over him, the counter and floor. The bottom of the carafe cracked and half the bottom fell out pouring coffee all over. Not only was it a mess, but so dangerous. Thank God for Carhart bibs and jacket or he could have been seriously hurt.

I'm taking this coffee pot back to Walmart for a refun and just going to use my good old $10 Mr. Coffee.

Be careful!

Nov 28, 2008
Rating
star
I just tossed it in the dumpster after 1 month
by: Anonymous

I'll concur with previous post, this maker will not brew the last 2 cups of water...so, you always have to add 2 more cups of water than you think. The other issue I had, is that the 'strong brewing' button, tastes no stronger, so, its a useless feature. Programming the thing takes a lot of patience and studying (its impossible to wing it) Then, if you push the unmarked button, the machine goes into clean mode, which you cant stop, unless you unplug it.

I used Starbucks Italian roast , and still the coffee tasted like a breakfast blend (mild). It also takes much longer to brew than My old Mr Coffee. I actually tossed out that great Mr coffee Id had for over 1oyrs...(just to get a new maker). Today, I tossed it. I couldn't stand another cup of weak coffee.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to GE Consumer Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page