logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

GE 12 Cup Coffee Maker - model # 169209


GE, one of the market leaders when it comes to home appliances, is another good source of quality coffee makers that you can use at home or in the office. Its 12-cup Digital Coffee Maker (Model Number: 169209) has a good design that combines beauty and functionality.


It can brew up to 12 cups of flavorful coffee, with features that make cleaning up so easy. It is very convenient to use, making hot brewed coffee readily available for any group of coffee lovers.

Key features

* Pause and serve function - The coffee maker has a serve and pause function that allows you to pause the brewing and grab your cup of coffee.

* Shut-off timer - This feature automatically turns the machine off after two hours. This helps ensure safety in case you forget to turn off the brewer and also allows you to save on energy when the machine is not in use.

* Removable filter basket - This feature allows to you clean and wash the components of the coffee maker easily, without too much hassle.

* Programmable brew-start timer - The programmable start timer allows you to set the device a night before. Brewing will just start according to the time of the program.

* Self-cleaning system - This minimizes your work in cleaning and maintaining the machine, ensuring its long use.

* Brew strength selector - With this feature, you can choose the strength of your coffee according to your personal taste.

Advantages

There are good features to note about this coffee maker. For one, its brews 40% faster than other brewers from other brands. The filtration system of this unit is also designed to keep your water fresh for a better-tasting coffee.

With its removable components, it is now easy for you to clean and maintain the coffee maker. This digital coffee maker from GE also gives you the choice regarding the strength of your coffee. If you want it strong, all you have to do is to adjust the brew strength selector.

Many consumers also claim that the flavor of the coffee brewed is simply amazing. This is because of the shower head water dispenser. The shower-head design extracts the full flavor and aroma of the coffee from the grounds.

Another good thing is that this coffee maker model has a large serving capacity, making it a good option for a bigger household.

Disadvantages

Despite its numerous advantages, this coffee maker also has its downsides. One of these is that its design and color are quite limited. Although the design of the unit is sleek, it would be much better if consumers are given more options.

Some users also claim that the machine makes less than 12 cups of coffee and that it continues to run even if the carafe is not on hot plate. It also has a tendency to overheat.

Pros
- allows you to drink your first cup even if the unit is still brewing
- easy to clean and maintain
- gives you the option to choose the strength of your coffee
- not that expensive
- can be pre-programmed
- has removable components for easy cleaning

Cons
- has limited color and design options
- still runs though carafe is not on hot plate
- can overheat
- doesn't make 12 cups

Comments for GE 12 Cup Coffee Maker - model # 169209

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 30, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Walmart/GE 169209 flickering lights NEW
by: Ted

Add me to the list of owners with flickering lights from this thing.

I called customer service (number on bottom of machine). They stopped making the Walmart/GE product line. Mine is past warranty so they could not help. The guy thought it might be a defective power supply. I would like to know if it could damage anything plugged in to the house circuits, like electronics. Anybody know?

Aug 20, 2014
Rating
starstarstar
Perm Filter - GE model# 169209 coffee maker NEW
by: J Lopez

I bought my GE coffee maker about 4 yrs ago and appx a year later the top plastic part on the perm filter cracked, but I still use it because I just like this coffee maker. I have tried everywhere, emailed & called customer service at GE & Walmart....they said they stopped making this model. I even ordered a couple different ones from Amazon and they were the wrong size. The picture they show of perm filter on this coffee maker review website is not the same shape as my GE model#169209 coffee maker, mine is more of a funnel or coned shaped. Very frustrated that I cannot get another filter. Within 1-2 yrs I tried to already find this filter and it was already non-existing... even by the mfg GE.

Jun 26, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Coffeemaker! NEW
by: Dan

I have owned my GE #169209 for 3 years now.
I have cleaned it with vinegar and water solution every time the "clean me" indicator light has come on. Now, I might be strange to some coffee drinkers, but I do NOT like coffee so hot that it poaches and blisters the insides of my mouth when I drink it. I have always had the heat setting on 1 (lowest), "Gourmet" off. This coffee maker has been the best I have ever owned. No problems with it what-so-ever.

Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
fire hazard!
by: Anonymous

Bought the coffee pot 5 months ago stayed home from work today when I got back from the store smoke was billowing from it. Can't imagine what would have happened if I was gone 5 mins longer

Feb 28, 2013
Rating
star
caught fire
by: Anonymous

I bought this coffee maker thinking GE is a great product. Had it for 6 weeks and it caught fire! my counter top is even scorched. I sent emails to GE and walmart where i bought it and NEVER got a response. I did notice that they had a recall on it after my emails, but it is still on the shelves at my local walmart.

Jan 01, 2013
Rating
star
Put in trash after -1- week
by: Joe Coffee Ho

I WISH I had read the reviews before I bought it.
after -1- week it started making an electric POPPING sound and I stopped using it.
.. I Hate Mr Coffee went from a square glass pot that didn't spill.. to a coned top that Spills when you pour coffee..
I thought the GE was perfect.. until now.
.. I Just bought a $70 Hamilton Beach maker with a square Pot.. pours Perfect.. SCALDING HOT brewed coffee.. I'm Very Happy on Day 1..

Jun 12, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love It
by: Serenityroz

My son bought me this coffee maker for Christmas 1.5 years ago and love it. I've been using a different coffee maker for the past few months because I broke off the spout where the hot water pours into the basket. I apparently didn't know my own strength that morning. :( Once I have my GE repaired, the other one will be taking a hike. :)

Jan 22, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
GE 12 Cup Coffee Maker
by: Anonymous

After about a year this coffee pot was giving ER message half way thru brewing in the morning, tried running the cleaning cycle and extra cleaning but its still doing it. so i tried to re-buy this same model because i like it so much. BEWARE this exact machine but under model #89XXXX smells awful like burnt plastic where you add water, so i returned it the next day. Wish they would inspect before accepting what comes in from China!

Jan 22, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love it!!!
by: Super Mommy

OUR FAMILY HAS OWNED OUR GE 12 CUP COFFEE MAKER FOR ABOUT 11 MONTHS AND IT HAS BEEN WONDERFUL! BEFORE THAT, WE HAD THE SAME MODEL GIVEN TO US BY MY HUSBAND'S FATHER. THE WARMING PLATE WAS SLIGHTLY RUSTED WHEN WE GOT IT (IT WAS PREVIOUSLY USED). IT STILL WORKED FINE, BUT I DECIDED TO BUY A NEW ONE IN FEBRUARY 2011 ANYWAY. I JUST BE SURE TO KEEP THE CARAFE AND THE WARMING PLATE DRY, SO IT WONT RUST. I RELIGIOUSLY USE IT AND IT STILL MAKES ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS COFFEE. TONS OF OPTIONS. WE HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED THE ER 5, BEEPING OR ANY OTHER ISSUES. BUT, I DO CLEAN IT FREQUENTLY AND TRY TO TAKE GOOD CARE OF IT. LOVE THE CHARCOL H20 FILTER, QUICK AND EASY CLEAN UP, NUMBEROUS SETTINGS, AND MESH GROUND FILTER! I WOULD RECOMEND IT TO EVERYONE! ENJOYING AN EXCELLENT CUP OF COFFEE IS ONE OF THE SPECIAL LITTLE THINGS I DO FOR MYSELF EACH DAY AND THIS UNIT MAKES IT A LITTLE EASIER, PLUS BETTER!

Jan 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
High Maintenance Beyotch
by: Geckyl

Beautiful cup of coffee. Even chock full of nuts tastes good in this thing. Have seen the Error 5... I believe that is when you should CLEAN it. As for flickering lights, sounds kinda pretty....

Jan 02, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
just love it
by: Babs.

I have had my coffee-maker for several months now. I simply love it. This is the first time that I had a charcoal filter and that is a major plus for me. I would rate this a big 20 in my book. I had several different brands over the years but not like this one. I will buy this agan and agan. My coffee-maker make fantastic coffee each and everday.
Thanks,
Babs. Runnels

Nov 13, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of junk
by: Robert

It worked as described for about one year. After that first year it would get errors, stop brewing, keep dripping even after pot was removed. Save your money and buy something else.

Oct 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
problem carafes
by: diana pratt

Love our coffeemaker #169209. Our problem is with the carafes. In a year and a half we have replaced the carafe twice. The first one developed a crack and shattered in the dishwater. No trauma to it. The second one we replaced today as the handle broke away from the carafe. I could see where the plastic part which attaches to the carafe had broken off. We are a couple in our 70s and did not handle these carafes roughly.

Oct 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
er5
by: Anonymous

we had the er05 come on our coffee maker what i did was filled the coffee pot up halfway with vinegar and put the rest water and used the cleaning cycle again ran clean water through it again and tried it to see if the er05 was gone and sure enough i fixed it so the coffee pot is a good one just have to clean it right it probably had impurities in the pot with whatever you use to claen it out its still works after doing that

Sep 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Loved it but it didnt last
by: Anonymous

This died after 10 months I bought this because i love the design, it has separate water and filter compartments, dont have to pull out from under the cabinet to open it up. Could not find any other i liked better. This does have a two year warranty and says return to Walmart which I will be doing and perhaps replacing with the same maker! After searching online I do believe they dont make any Brand to last like they use to. (My old Mr Coffee lasted 15 yrs).

Sep 24, 2011
Rating
star
GE 12 CUP #169209
by: Anonymous

It died after 8 months. The reason i purchased this is the design, the filter and water are two separate lids and fit better under the cabinet. i know they dont make things they way they use to but i had my Mr. Coffee 15 yrs before it died!

Sep 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
12 cup filter for #169209 coffee maker
by: Rose Segura

Hello, I wrote to your ge customer service rep. Concerning the 12 cup filter. where can I get one since mine broke. Can you send me one and I will pay for it. Please answer my letter, since I wrote on August 28,2011 an no one answer back. Thank you

Aug 28, 2011
Rating
starstar
12 Cup filter
by: Rose Segura

Why doesn't GE sell the 12 cup filter for this machine. And if you sell it where can I get it. I live in Erie, PA 16503

Aug 17, 2011
Rating
star
Walmart
by: Anonymous

Walmart does have different specifications for items that are sold in their stores. I bought this coffee pot at Walmart and had to exchange it twice. I will not by anything at Walmart that I want to last. Another example was Farberware pots and pans - definitely not the quality that I expected from them!

Aug 09, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of crap!
by: Anonymous

I would hope that someone from GE customer service is monitoring these comments.I am 71 years old and have replaced several coffee makers that have served me well. This is the ONLY one that should not have passed inspection at the manufacturer. I would hate to think that special Walmart specs were used in the manufacturing process.

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
shorts out
by: Anonymous

Everytime i use it all the lights in the house flash dim bright dim bright and so on all thru the brew and keep warm cycle. If you turn anything else on it blows breakers my old coffee pot didnt do that. And when checking the amp draw it says that it spikes 24 amps drops to 6 them spikes again. warranty company says its to new for warranty and walmart says its not their problem have to send to warranty company.

Jul 05, 2011
Rating
star
50 minute brew time
by: Anonymous

I received this as a Christmas gift from husband. I loved it.... the first 2 months. Itstarted taking longer and longer to brew a pot of coffee or tea even after cleaning with coffee maker cleaner. The last month it has taken 50 min to brew a pot. I had to set the wake up brew time to an hour before I got up just to ensure it would be done by the time I got up. This morning the lid where you put the coffee was melted. I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that, thats probably not a good thing. This is the 3rd GE pot we have purchased and WILL NOT purchase another. In fact, I have already told all the coffee drinkers in my family and the ones that have had GE in the past say they are horrible. Wish I researched first instead of telling the hubby thats what I wanted. Price isn't always the best. Lesson learned.

Jun 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Greaty Coffee Pot
by: Panix

I think the biggest issue for this pot is you have to read the instruction manual. For most of the complaints, the people assume they know how to make coffee, take the pot out of the box,and plug it up. I purchased this pot for my wife,and she spent the first hour of ownership, understanding how to operate it. We have used all function on this pot without issue for 18 months, and it is as good today as when we purchased it.

Tips:

Read the owners manual
Register your purchase - http://www.gehousewares.com/Product_Registration.aspx
Change filters monthly

May 15, 2011
Rating
star
err5
by: SteveB

I have returned this coffee pot 3 times to walmart. All with err5.
The clean light came on, so i cleaned it. Now it brews very very hot and the steam causes the err 5. THe steam gets into the electronics.

ARGH.. don't buy it..
I am goin back to wallyworld to try and replace it 3rd time

May 06, 2011
Rating
star
Annoying junk piece of crap
by: Anonymous

You will like this machine at first but later it will start giving you one error after another one. If you are reading this before you bought it, you are still on time, do not buy it! If is too late for you and your reading this looking for a solution, don't worry about it, the best thing you can do is throw it away or take it back to walmart.

May 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Value Coffe Maker
by: Good Coffee in Texas

After spending quite some time researching on my iPhone what makes a good coffee maker I settled on trying the GE 169209 model. Reasons being that it actually brew coffee at the optimal temprature of 195-205.

Haven't had any error or electrical issues and I've been using it for around 3 months on a regular basis.

Gourmet feature really works well and coffee tends to taste more chocolate like when I use it.

Timer feature works well & clean up is super easy.

I highly recommend this model to anyone looking for a great value coffee maker...!

Apr 18, 2011
Rating
star
Er5 Er5 Er5 Er5
by: Anonymous

We purchased this in August 2010 to replace a Walmart Black & Decker Model which we believed to be the worst coffee maker ever made. Now, I'm not so sure. At least it actually MADE COFFEE! When shopping for our next coffee maker back to Walmart we went. It was between the Bunn and this one (which was second highest priced at the time.) Coffee tasted awesome, but within the first month the error codes started, infrequently at first, and now 5 times a pot! We religiously clean our machine each time we get the light. Still, we get our error code. I called the Warranty Center today, but all they can tell me is to take to product back to Walmart for replacement. So excited to bring home some more Walmart junk!

Apr 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Permanent Filter
by: Rose Segura

I have been teying to buy a Permanent Filter replacement with no succses. I would like to know if I can buy it directly from GE? And where should I look or go to.

Apr 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
replacement parts
by: Anonymous

It took a long time to find the replacement carf, it went to 12 differnt web sites. My fault I lost the reciept or I would have taken the darn thing back.

Apr 01, 2011
Rating
star
crap
by: Anonymous

one big piece of garbage!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mar 17, 2011
Rating
star
agree -- it is junk
by: Anonymous

Like so many others I got this to replace the one that had been recalled -- it had the ERR 5 code of death. About 4 months later this one has the ERR% code of death. It seems that as soon as the cleaning light comes on this thing is trash -- on the bright side keep the receipt and you'll never have to clean one again.

Aside from it dying quickly (twice) we really liked it. ugh

Mar 12, 2011
Rating
starstar
It is Junk!
by: Anonymous

This machine worked great except for some occasional error messages which I fixed after reading the manual. This morning I woke up to use it and the light came on an then 2 beeps but the brewing cycle would not start.I have unplugged it and tried several times with the same result. The Warming plate is still ice cold. I am so disappointed as I have had it for less than a year.

Mar 10, 2011
Rating
star
house light flickering
by: Anonymous

I got this coffee pot for Christmas 2010. Use it regularly, sometimes up to 10 times a day. My lights through out my house would flicker regularly too. after about a moth of the flickering I called the electric company and they came out and changed all the wiring connectors on the out side of my house along with looking at my breaker box. They passed everything with flying colors. This evening, which is 2 months later, I put a pot of coffee on for my husband and what do you know all my lights were going crazy in my house. I unplugged the coffee pot and WOW no more flickering lights. GOOD THING I KEPT MY BUNN. THERE IS NOTHING LIKE IT.

Feb 23, 2011
Rating
star
to annoyed
by: Anonymous

Same thing happened to me after 3 months. My suggestion - dump it! I've had 3 of them that I've returned and with each one they become more junky. Finally went to another brand. It's too bad because it make a decent cup of coffee.

Feb 23, 2011
Rating
star
GE Coffee Maker digital Model 169209
by: Anoyed

The carafe handle broke and I cannot find a replacement for it!!! Good grief....searched the web and still no luck. perhaps I will have to get a Mr. Coffee.

Feb 03, 2011
Rating
star
Piece o' junk
by: Dave

It didn't take long, just about a month, when this coffee maker stopped working. We use it once a day - a 12 cup pot in the morning.

It won't complete the 12 cups, we have to restart it every two cups. So, on average we have to hit "brew" five or six times to get one pot of coffee.

Not a recommended product. There are better out there than this model and brand.

Feb 02, 2011
Rating
star
Just say no
by: bjbrown

You will regret buying this junk coffeemaker, but then probabl y already do it you are reading this

Jan 23, 2011
Rating
star
Scalding hazard
by: Anonymous

I had this coffee maker for a few months...no complaints, no problems...when today I went to wash the coffee maker and the handle fell off!! Luckily, the coffee in it was cold, but I hate to think what would have happened if I had just brewed it. As it was, it made a mess and stained my clothes....annoying for sure, but could have been worse. Please do not purchase this machine, it could be disasterous.

Jan 22, 2011
Rating
star
junk
by: cliffathome

Coffee maker is a piece of junk! Error messages,turns off before brew cycle ends,and leaks water everytime I use it,and beeps, beeps, beeps.

Jan 10, 2011
Rating
star
Junk is right
by: Anonymous

I wish I had the time to read the reviews before I bought this. It beeps every 10 minutes or so and takes over 20 minutes to brew only 8 cups. It feels really hot to the touch. I hope I can get my money back. Definitely not interested in a replacement! 1 star it TOO HIGH.

Jan 06, 2011
Rating
starstar
Coffee Maker down fall
by: Houston,Tx

This is my second coffee maker like this one. The first one was great until it started turning on and off by its self. This last one I have had of a bout 8 months and it beeps then I get the Er5 message, then I turn it off and back on. I do this everyday and it takes me four time before I have a full pot of coffee. I would not recommed this product to no one. If fact I may take it back to Wal-Mart and demand my money back.

Dec 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
after a year...Error 5
by: mkc

This machine worked very well for us for the first year or so. I made sure to clean it each time the clean indicator light went on, etc. We like strong, flavorful coffee and are pleased with how this machine brews.
No problems w/ the handle, yet. But another small part involving the lid has broken. This does not affect brewing.
Following the fill lines results in less coffee brewed than we are accustomed to.
Water doesn't leak per se, but it does tend to splash out the back overfill hole when a full pot is being brewed.
Recently, I've noticed that the machine stops brewing mid pot and flashes the "error 5" message. This seems to be occurring more and more frequently, and is the reason I came to this site.
It would seem that this machine breaks down sooner ...or later.

Dec 16, 2010
Rating
star
JUNK!!!
by: DOUG

E5 E5 E5 E5 E5 BOUGHT THREE OF THESE COFFEE MAKERS!!! JUNK JUNK JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!! ANYONE KNOW THE E5?? YEP THEN YOU BOUGHT THIS JUNK COFFEE MAKER!!!!!!!!!!!!! WALMART JUNK!!!

Dec 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
well worth the money
by: Jon Langford

Have had the GE 12 cup coffee maker for several months and has worked better than thought and better than machines I have had in the past for much more than the $39 paid for this one.

1. Coffee maker brews hot, good tasting coffee.
2. Very easy to fill water tank with the splash guard, which is unique that I have seen.
3. Carafe pours easily.
4. Don't take advantage of the programming but is impressive can adjust the keep warm temperature and time.
5. It brews quick enough that don't need to set it night before.
6. Looks good and fits on my counter under cabinets.

Well worth the money.

Dec 09, 2010
Rating
star
Dangerout!
by: Anonymous

I had this model for 8 months. Last night I filled it with water to the 8 cup mark, ready to pour it into the coffeemaker to brew in the morning. The handle just broke off. There I was holding the handle and the glass fell into the sink and shattered. Looking at the pieces you could see where the plastic just broke, the screw pulled out, the metal rim bent, etc. Had it been full of hot coffee being carried to the table, I hate to think of the burns that mignt have resulted.
Be careful if you have this model!

Dec 05, 2010
Rating
starstar
Started Strong -- died quickly
by: Anonymous

Bought in June 2010, by Oct 2010 starting getting Er5 code and partial pots -- taking back to Walmart today -- need to hit brew 4x's to get a full pot -- keep your receipt it has a 2 yr warranty. Really a shame -- we really liked it at first -- very disappointed in GE.

Dec 02, 2010
Rating
star
Terrible and dangerous
by: Anonymous

This pot is the worst ever! Have had about 3 months and today the handle fell off just as I was going to pour!! Thank goodness there were no children or adults sitting next to the pot or it would have dropped and scalded them.... GE should be ashamed and thrown out of production for its cheap quality - a GE iron bought at Walmart was the same crappy quality & I threw it out after 2 months. No more GE products at this house.

Nov 23, 2010
Rating
star
Frustrated & Disappointed
by: Anonymous

This coffee maker replaced the previously recalled GE coffee maker we had owned, which quit working 1 year after purchase. We are highly disappointed and frustrated with this product. It gives us the error message constantly, beeps non-stop, and won't keep the coffee hot, not to mention we have to unplug it to shut it off. We are returning it and hope this product is off the shelf so other consumers don't have to deal with it. No more GE for us.

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Flickering lights
by: Noah

I, too, have the flickering light problem as "Anonomus" JUN 04, 2010. However,the lights stop flickering after awhile. It's an annoyance but no reason for me to return the coffee maker. It does a great job with a paper filter. I stopped using the permanent filter because it left residue in the bottom of the cup and carafe. I am using the Bunn paper filtr (size 2 3/4 X 3 inch) which I bought at Walmart when I purchased the coffee maker. Makes good coffee.

Oct 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great unit for the money
by: Mark Sager

I purchased this at Walmart several months ago, it has been perfect. As far as the comments about overheating, it might be that someone set it wrong. The unit has a choice of several keep warm settings. I have it set at the middle of the range and it works well. As far as the issues with paper filters, a standard, pleated paper filter works great. You do need to remove the perma-filter to use the paper filter though. The carafe handle has held up very well. There is however a set screw at the base of the handle that should be checked occasionally to ensure it is snug. If it loosens up, it could separate from the glass carafe. The features are incredible on this unit! If you set the unit to come on at 8am for example, it doesn't turn "on" at 8am, it actually has your coffee ready for you AT 8am! There is also a difference in the way water is measured. For example, if you fill the carafe with water to the 8 cup line, it actually fills to approximately the 6 cup line on the unit itself. The reason for this is that it compensates for the water absorbed by the grounds and the filter! Very smart. I have not had any of the issues mentioned so far here. Great coffeemaker!!

Oct 18, 2010
Rating
starstar
Model 169209
by: Anonymous

I bought this model on July 28, 2010, when the earlier model had been recalled.

I will say that the coffee maker brews a good cup of coffee BUT I was pouring a cup of coffee yesterday and the handle broke off! Coffee on me and the entire counter!! The plastic at the bottom of the handle just crumbled! No even 3 months old - it's a piece of junk!


Oct 08, 2010
Rating
star
Disappointed and Dissatisfied
by: Dawn

This unit replaced the leaking GE unit that was only 3 months old. It worked perfectly for about a month then started in with the E5 error. I did what the manual said which is turn it off and on. This did not work. We get the E5 error every time it is used and it stops mid brew and turns off the heating plate. You can turn it on and off again and it will brew for a minute then do the same thing again. I have completely cleaned this unit thinking maybe a coffee ground was stuck in a cranny. This did not help.... This unit is going into the trash and being replaced by a Cuisinart. Will never purchase a GE or Mr Coffee again.

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
star
piece of junk
by: Anonymous

When I brewed coffee using ground coffee beans the basket overflowed and coffee grounds ran into water reservoir and into the coffee. The permanent filter is an odd size and I could not find a paper filter that was the same size as the basket!!! it brews the coffee so fast that the filter can't filter it fast enough leaving a mess of coffee grounds everywhere. Maybe if you put whole beans in the basket it would be able to handle the flow. Do not buy this coffee maker!!!!!

Jul 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Satisfied User
by: Anonymous

I guess maybe there was a bad batch or something because I bought one for my sister about 6 months ago and I've had mine for about 3 months, both are used everyday, sometimes several times a day and both work perfectly fine. No leaking water, no turning off unexpectedly and both machines brew full pots all the time. I have no complaints.

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
what a piece of Junk
by: Anonymous

what a piece of junk.. all it does is leak water all over the counter..
beeps when it just starts brewing not when its done..
isn't that hot...

now just doesn't work less then 30days old

never again will I buy thi s junk

Jul 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Value
by: Anonymous

Awesome machine for the price. It continues to make great coffee with no problems.

Jun 29, 2010
Rating
starstar
e5 error
by: kelly

i am disapointed in this machine i continualy get the error 5 message every day and the warmer shuts off, i have had it about a month, the other model has been recalled maybe they should recall this model also ..

Jun 04, 2010
Rating
star
Don't Buy This
by: Anonymous

Brought the first one home and when I tried to run a cycle of just water to clean it out. All the lights in the intire house would flicker. I mean any where in the house, on any and all circuits, including but not limited to the Garage.
No matter where I pluged it in mind you. Returned it to the store the next day for a replacement and the second one did the same thing. Returned it to the store for refund and bought the slightly more expencive Mr. Coffee. Great machine and doesn't do what the GE 169209 did, so I know it's not my house.

Apr 20, 2010
Rating
star
Disappointed in GE
by: Anonymous

I got this coffee maker as a replacement for the 12-cup digital model #169164 that died after a few months. The first time I used my replacement an error message appeared after the coffee finished brewing (Err 5)and the warming plate shuts off. It's happened each time I've used it, which is everyday. The only remedy to this in the manual is to turn the machine off, then on again. This doesn't correct the problem, only removes the error message.

I'm sure this is not a random coincidence that I get two GE coffee makers, 2 different models, and they're both junk. I will not get another GE coffee maker!

Mar 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
didn't leak like others report
by: Caroline

Pros:
- Charcoal water filter.
- Nylon mesh grounds filter.
- Shower head water dispenser.
- 1300 watts.
- Self-cleaning function.
- Warming plate temperature selector.
- Auto shut-off delay selector.
- Brew strength selector.
- Water hits the grounds HOT... manual says between 190F and 200F.

Cons:
- None so far. Only thing is I can't really attest to the reliability/longevity of the machine... I just bought it.

Just bought this from Walmart. My Black and Decker broke and so I started the quest for a new coffee maker. I thought I had found a Mr. Coffee on Amazon that met my standards for features and user reviews, but then I saw this at Walmart.com. It had all the same features (plus a few extras), had great user reviews, and was less expensive by $20. Ok... bottom line... this unit makes a great cup of coffee. Its comes out fast, strong, and HOT. There are two $70+ top of the line Cuisenarts in my family and this machine makes as good a cup... just as hot and just as strong. I'll mention this only because some people make a big deal out of it even though I think it has more to do with user error... Nothing leaked. The carafe poured leak free, was easy to fill the machine with water without leaking/spilling, and no leaks during brewing.


Mar 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
quick and hot
by: Caroline

This is a great machine for serious coffee drinkers on a budget. I have been using this machine every day, sometimes twice daily for 3 months. Don't be fooled by the similar look of an earlier model - this is a newer and improved machine. This coffee maker has some awesome features for the price.

The coffee brews extremely quickly and is HOT, which has always been a pet peeve of mine. There is a nice splash guard so you won't spill water all over the counter when you fill it. Want your coffee ready at exactly 7:10 or even 7:12 am? This machine has this feature that you can set the time that you want your coffee to be ready (not the time it starts to brew) and it will even give you a chirping beep to let you know that it is ready. For those of you who value every extra minute of shut eye, it is nice to hear the little chirp telling me that my coffee is ready and waiting! This machine is sleek in appearance and just a good looking appliance that I don't mind having take up space on my counter. I highly recommend it.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to GE Consumer Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page