logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Delonghi EC155


$DeLonghi EC155
Espresso Maker



I got to say that my experience with Delonghi EC155 has been great. It's been one and a half year since i'm using it with no complains. I got my expresso machine for $91.70. Earlier I thought I wasted my money but after its use I realised that the cost is worth buying.Its convenient features are aimed towards those who do not want to spend in cafe. All we need to do is to scoop in the coffee, add some water and flip it on and what comes out is strong and nice coffee with frothy layer of milk.

This Delonghi EC155 is a compact good looking machine.It looks more expensive than it really is because of the metal accents on it. It is a 15 bar pump driven expresso machine. It has stainless steel broiler which is durable so the machine can last for years. The machine has 35-ounce water tank which is big enough.The water tank is removable so we do not need to carry water to the tank. This also makes cleaning easier.

Unit has automatic on/off switch and we come to know when the coffee is ready.It measures 7-1/2 by 9-1/2 by 11-1/8 inches. This combo machine has 2 thermostats for separately controlling water and steam pressure. This machine is packed with self priming operation for fast brewing.This feature helps to save time in preparing the coffee.

The design of the portafilter is such that it has the plastic nob which produces back pressure giving break crema. There is also a portafilter basket holder hidden in the back of machine which helps to keep the kitchen desk clean.

The unit has adjustable swivel jet frother for topping your drink.Now we do not need to stand in queue at coffee shop.Rather we can enjoy a warm,cup of delicious coffee sitting at our home.The coffee tastes better because the pressure which provides for better extraction through the expresso grinds is 4 times higher as that of steam driven machine.


Comments for Delonghi EC155

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Poor service
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Very Affordable
- Extremely easy to clean

Cons
- Water reservoir started leaking after few months of using
- Poor Service centers

Rating
3 out of 5

When I was looking into buying an Espresso Machine I wanted to get good quality at a low price. The price of this machine fit very well into my budget, which made me semi - skeptical about the quality I was going to receive. I am most pleased with how quickly it heats up.

I walk into my kitchen turn it on, wake my kids up, get them ready and by the time I get back downstairs it is ready. It is also incredibly easy to clean. My coffee maker is a pain to clean so I was looking for something that wasn't such the hassle.

This machine is very easy to clean and keep clean. I haven't had many issues with my machine except for the fact after owning the machine for a few months the water reservoir started leaking. So everyday when I got home from work, my kitchen counter tops had water everywhere.

I tried to take it back to the store and was denied. I also tried contacting the company to see if this was possibly a recalled item, but it wasn't. They offered to send it to one of their service repair centers and when I got it back it was still broken. I contacted the company again and they refused to fix it again. I was very displeased with this defect and the companies response. I still use the machine because other than the leak it works great and I don't have the money to purchase a new one.



Dec 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Takes time to heat up
by: Anonymous

Pros
- It wasn't too expensive
- It's relatively easy to clean

Cons
- takes way too long to warm up
- It's super easy to mess up

Since purchasing my DeLonghi EC155 Espresso Maker, I haven't gone a day without great espresso. All my friends rave about it whenever i invite them over for coffee, and most of them have gone out to buy one for themselves. I have to say though, that I'm sick of waiting an hour for the machine to warm up!

I feel like I need to be there to coax it enough to make me some espresso. I have to wonder, is it scared? It's also incredibly touchy when it comes to the tamp pressure, so many times I have spat my coffee out' when I got my coffee because of the tamp pressure.

It seems like it is too weak a lot of the time. I am very pleased with the warranty though. I have a friend who's machine (also a DeLonghi) was acting up and she called in and the next day, like magic, a new one was sitting at her door. It hasn't troubled her since!

Over all I have to say that I am very pleased with my DeLonghi, It always amazes me how many cups of coffee I can make. Sometimes I'll hold brunches for all of my friends and I am always complimented with how quickly (once the machine has started) it can make cup after cup of espresso.

And then, once everyone is gone, it's a cinch to clean it. I don't have to worry about where I put the parts, it's almost as if it's automatic! All in all I don't think I would trade my DeLonghi for any other machine, I am very pleased with the service it has provided me so far.

Dec 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Very Expensive
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Can make espresso quickly
- Easy to clean

Cons
- Very Expensive

Now, I don't have an espresso maker but my mom does. Whenever I some home for Christmas or thanksgiving I always use it! I pull my pajamas watch a movie and make me up some coffee. I give this Machine a five!!! I know my mother brags about it so much to all of her friends and have even gotten one for my uncle and aunt.

She just loves how quick it makes it. She has never gone to star bucks to get any more coffee she compares it to them saying it’s so much better than an fast-food or sit down coffee restaurant in the united states. I know when I get older, out of college and don't have a lot of time on my hands I will buy this machine!

The only minor con of it is the price, it is very expensive, but is worth what you pay. I hope you love this machine as much as I do, it is amazing!!

Dec 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My Mom's Most Bragged Espresso Maker
by: Anonymous

Now, I don't have an espresso maker but my mom does. Whenever I some home for Christmas or thanksgiving I always use it! I pull my pajamas watch a movie and make me up some coffee. I give this Machine a five!!!

I know my mother brags about it so much to all of her friends and have even gotten one for my uncle and aunt. She just loves how quick it makes it. She has never gone to star bucks to get any more coffee she compares it to them saying it’s so much better than an fast-food or sit down coffee restaurant in the United States.

I know when I get older, out of college and don't have a lot of time on my hands I will buy this machine! The only minor con of it is the price, it is very expensive, but is worth what you pay. I hope you love this machine as much as I do, it is amazing!!

Oct 19, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Its the best that you will get on the market
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Cheap
- Makes great tasting espresso

Cons
- Cant fit large mugs
- Water isn't always very hot

Last year for Christmas, I only wanted one thing. That one thing was an espresso maker. Luckily, I have a great friend who picked one up for me. First and foremost,I love this machine and I use it just about everyday. There are quite a few things that I like about it.

One of the best qualities it has, is that it produces a great cup of espresso. It just might be the best cup of espresso I've ever tasted. It being a very compact machine is also great.

I don't have that much counter space, so this is a huge plus for me. For my friend, I liked the fact that she didn't have to spend a whole lot of money to get such a great machine. There are a few things I don't like that much. There are very minor, and have not stopped me from loving this machine.

One of these things is that it cant accommodate anything but smaller cups. I like to drink quite a bit of this amazing product, so it can be a little bit of a hassle. When making lattes or cappuccinos, the frothing tool being a little out of position isn't a good thing.

It still produces great froth, so I didn't mind too much. All in all, this a great machine that you'll love to have in your kitchen. For the price you pay, its the best that you will get on the market.

Apr 15, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Produces delicious espresso without problems
by: Martin

I have always enjoyed a nice cup of espresso every time I had the chance.I always have preferred espresso over cappuccinos an other types of coffee. And I wanted to be able to prepare my very own espresso right in the comfort of my home. To be able to take some time and enjoy a perfect cup of espresso that will give me the energy to work.

I bought this espresso maker from DeLonghi called DeLonghi EC155 Pump-Driven,from an online storefront called www.compuplus.com. The delivery was swift and on time. I bought it 6 months ago and it is in perfect shape, producing delicious espresso without problems.

The design of the device itself is extraordinary,it fits perfectly into my contemporary designed kitchen,It is very user friendly,I was able to learn the basics of making espresso in no-time.The provided manual was also a big help in discovering those tiny secrets that make the espresso even more delicious. But the real value of this espresso maker lies in the way it produces the rich cream every espresso lover simply adores.It is the highlight of every cup of espresso,and the DeLonghi EC155 makes awesome cream along with delicious espresso.The device is a great value for money,with beautiful design and innovative technology that will appeal to any consumer looking for the best and will not settle for anything else.

I haven't had a single problem with the device so far. I use it daily,for my morning coffee right before I go to work and in the evenings when I like to relax with a cup of espresso.The device functions perfectly every mechanical bit runs smoothly and without breakdowns. Washing the DeLonghi EC155 is fairly easy because you can disassemble it into several components and wash it with ease.

There are other similar brands of espresso maker but only a few have the pumping feature that gives you that perfect cream,so I highly recommend The DeLonghi EC155 to any espresso lover looking for the best experience while drinking their espresso.

Apr 15, 2009
Rating
starstar
Mediocre - For the price, I expect better.
by: Chris H.

After receiving my De'Longhi EC155 espresso maker as a Christmas gift, I haven't been all that fond of it. The crema produced by this espresso maker is supurb compared to that of other, slightly higher-end espresso makers. I have owned De'Longhi appliances in the past, however the manufacturing quality of this one doesn't appear to keep up the high standards they used to pride themselves on.

Everything from the first unboxing to the everyday use has simply been mediocre with this machine. For the price it retails for, I expect better.

The swivel jet frother is a kind of handy feature, but it creates substantially more of a mess than my hand-held, $5 immersion frother. It's another feature that works, however doesn't differentiate itself from the rest of the pack in any way.

The 2 in 1 filter supposedly accommodates both ground coffee or ESE pods. In my use of the machine, I've found that grinds leave a mess and the ESE pods are very, VERY expensive per cup. It's really a shame, because the brew produced by this machine is one of its stronger points.

On every website I've read about this machine, other users sympathize with this point: it's not as easy to clean as the manufacturer says it is. They say, "Just remove the tray, rinse and replace." The actual procedure, if you use it as everyone does, is more along the lines of: 1)open the water reservoir to allow it to air dry, 2)remove the tray, rinse and replace, 3)wipe the splatters off of the sides and underside of the carafe area, 4)wipe the splatters off of your countertop near the machine. It's really a nightmare.

Despite its shortcomings, the EC155 is a reasonable espresso maker for the price. It can handle a wide range of beverages, including cappuccino and others. If you're willing to spend a little more money, other models offer many more features, but this machine functions decently for the price.

Mar 17, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Authentic taste
by: Melissa

I bought the DeLonghi Espresso Maker so that I could drink my favorite drink at home! I tried to find the best machine possible to get that real authentic taste. This machine was compact, not too expensive, and it really does what it says it will. The DeLonghi is pump-driven, like many more expensive machines, and you can taste the difference.

One of the things I love about this is that it accepts E.S.E. pods. It's so easy, I just buy the pods from my favorite store or the gourmet grocery shop, and just pop them into the machine. Espresso is harder to make than instant coffee, so be prepared to spend some time sitting down with the instruction manual and tinkering with the size of the grinds you brew. If you used grinds that are too fine, the machine may leak.

The water tank is easy to fill, and it holds just enough for about 8-10 shots. Mine fits right into my sink, so no annoying fill-ups. However, the holder for the espresso grounds is also small, and that's not as good. My husband likes his espresso very, very strong, and I just can't fit enough grinds in there to make a cup as he really likes it.

The frother is only a few inches from the counter, so I have to use a fairly small frothing cup to use it. Even the espresso spout is fairly low - if you like tall cups, you're going to have to brew several small ones first. However, this is the trade-off between having a huge machine that takes up your whole counter.

The machine does have to be cleaned every month or so (depending on use) or it begins to gunk up and takes forever to brew. However, it's simple to take the pieces out to clean them.


Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to DELONGHI Espresso maker .

footer for coffee maker reviews page