logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

DeLonghi DCF212T 12 Cup Coffee Maker


Fortunately, Delonghi has a coffee maker that has excellent features but is offered for a price that would not put a hole in your pocket.


Key features

This unit has a 12-cup capacity. This means that the coffee maker can serve up to 12-cups of coffee in a single brewing.

The programmable digital timer is also a popular feature. The 24-hour programmable digital timer of the coffee maker allows you to set the controls in advance so that the brewing process will take place during the exact time you designated.

The coffee maker also has the aroma button. This features allow the thorough saturation of the coffee grounds a little at a time in order to extract the full aroma and flavor of the grounds.

The non-stick warming plate is also another important feature. With this feature, the accummulation of mess is prevented. The non-stick warming plate is easy to wash and clean.

The Pause and Serve option is a very useful feature. The Pause and Serve function enables you to grab a cup of coffee even if the brewing process is not yet finished.

Another feature is the 2-hour shut off. This one is important if you are the type who forgets to turn off the machine often. After two hours, the unit will automatically shut down.

There is also the water-level filter indicator. This one allows you to see and determine the amount of water in the tank.

Another very important feature is the front access. This allows you to easily fill the water tank and ground coffee filter without taking the unit from under the counter.

Advantages

This unit has many advantages. One of these is that it is easy to clean. Some components are removable, making them easy to wash. Another good thing about this unit is that it has a big serving capacity, 12 cups at most. The price is also not very expensive.

The average price of this model is below $80. If you compare it with other models with similar features, you will know that this unit is a great deal cheaper. The unit is also safe to use. This automatically shuts down after two hours. So even if you forgot to turn it off, you don't have to worry about causing fire or wasting electricity.

Another great thing about this unit is that it enables you to put the filter, the water, and the coffee grounds in the machine without actually moving it.

Disadvantages

There are also many negative feebacks about this item. One of these is about the digital clock. There are consumers who claimed that the digital clock is clumsy. You can actually have difficulty setting the program because the digital clock is faulty.

Another bad point is that there are actually instances when the machine, specifically the heating element, stops working a few days after the first use. The limitation in color and design is also a drawback.

The unit is only available in black. Some online stores won't ship the product if the adrressee is located outside the US. This makes the item not widely available.

Pros
- programmable timer
- allows you to get a cup of coffee even if the brewing is still on
- very affordable and less expensive compared to other models
- has features that allow easy cleaning

Cons
- not widely available
- the digital clock sometimes doesn't work
- limited color and design

Compare Prices


Include Tags Upload

Deals on Ebay...




Comments for DeLonghi DCF212T 12 Cup Coffee Maker

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 22, 2013
Rating
star
Don't Buy NEW
by: jim

I bought this coffee maker in April 2013. This is without a doubt the worst coffee maker I have ever owned.
Here a few of the problems I have encountered.
The water level is not visible through the viewfinder.
It takes over an hour to brew 12 cups of coffee.
It actually takes a couple of mintues to set the time and timer.
It takes over a hour to brew 12 cups of coffee.
To say the least this coffee maker doesn't even
rate 1 star. It's a piece of junk. No more Delonghi products for me.
I bought a Mr. Coffee today, 11/22/13.

Aug 26, 2013
Rating
star
Leaks
by: Judy

This is the worst coffee maker I have ever purchased - it LEAKS everytime I use it. Just went out and bought a new one today - the DeLonghi is not ever worth putting in the trash!!

Nov 28, 2011
Rating
starstar
Wait forever
by: Anonymous

I love the design but it takes forever to brew! We complain every morning. Don't buy unless you like to fuss!

May 17, 2011
Rating
star
PIECE OF CRAP COFFEE MAKER
by: chris m.

DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF JUNK! IT burns the coffee and leaks everywhere. Because the water leaks out of the glass kettle down the plastic and into the burner, it makes a huge mess and is very loud with a burny, sizzling noise. Their customer service stinks according to all the reviews I have heard. SO, I wont bother even trying. I will just let the kids have fun with it and a baseball bat in the backyard. Maybe this is a good way to teach them to do their research before buying (since my wife never does). She loved the sexy looks of it and paid a lot more than the others available.

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
star
What a piece of JUNK!!!!
by: DizzyDeeDee@msn.com

I purchased this coffe pot a year ago and had problems from the beginning. Like many of the other comments I have also had problems with the clock and heating element. I never know if the pot will turn off in an hour or 2 hours or if it will be hot or lukewarm. I contacted Delonghi and they told me that since my 1 year warrenty was up there was nothing they could do (big shock). I would love to see a company just once do the right thing by their customers, if they get so many complaints about the same thing they should take responsibility for the fact that there is a flaw in the design and replace the product, this would make them a reputable and caring company, giving them a good reputation and more customers, but I guess that concept is lost on greedy people. No more DeLonghi products for me!

Jul 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Good service
by: Tim

We had the coffee maker for about 2 months before it quit heating the warming plate and the water wouldn't run through the machine. I contacted customer service. They told me the steps I needed to do to have a replacement sent to me. I did the necessary steps, including cutting off the plug at the end of the cord to send to them.
We received a new replacement today, exactly one week from sending the documentation to customer service. I complained about the $15.00 they wanted me to send to cover shipping and they waived that cost.
We had no problems with leaks and hopefully this one works longer than the first one.

Mar 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
makes nice European style coffee
by: Heather



I am a mother of three. Coffee is my friend. Therefore anything that makes coffee is my friend. And I have no better friend than my DeLonghi 12 Cup Coffee Maker with Front Access. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways!

First off, the aroma button. When we first saw this we laughed at it -it sounds like a gimmick. But seriously, it works. We’re not 100% sure of what it does, but we think that it allows the water to move through the coffee a little more slowly, thus getting a chance to extract more flavor from the beans. This really makes a difference, and we can both tell if someone’s forgotten to push the button.

Second, it has the standard coffee prep timer on it, so we can set it up the night before and wake up to coffee the next day. Given that coffee is absolutely mission critical in this house, that’s important. Especially on early mornings where the house is still cold it is just brilliant to come downstairs and grab a hot mug without waiting.

Third, it holds twelve cups. Twelve cups! That’s enough to entertain folks, or enough to get me to 9:00am. And the glass on the coffee pot itself seems to be extra thick, so even if you take it to the table in the carafe it stays at a pretty good temperature for a reasonable time.

More importantly, you don’t have to go dragging the coffee maker out and then shoving it back to set it up, you can pour the water in to the reservoir through the front of the machine rather than the back. Why didn’t anyone do this before? It just makes setting everything up so much easier – grab the parts out of the dishwasher, throw in the beans, pour in the water, and whammo – coffee!

Now, I probably sound a bit more enthusiastic about this coffee maker than most people would be, but here’s the deal: I lived in Europe for about a decade, and while I am so happy to be back in the US, one thing that the Europeans do tend to do well is coffee. Really strong, rich coffee. And to be honest, I thought I’d have to use a Cafetiere (French Press) every morning to get my cup of coffee.

Don’t get me wrong, because I love my Cafetiere, but it doesn’t have a timer on it, it’s a pain in the behind to wash, it’s fragile, and I have to actually remember to push the plunger on it rather than just stand there drooling.

So for us to find a coffee maker that makes good coffee both American style and European style and has a timer is just a blessing. I’m drinking a cup of coffee right this second, so I’ll raise my mug to my DeLonghi coffee maker!

Dec 27, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Satisfaction at last
by: Anonymous

Hi everyone,

This is a lesson that you must keep your receipts for a year.
As a result of saving mine, Delonghi replaced my coffeemaker and I'm very satisfied with the new one. Of course, it wasn't that easy
to obtain, as I had to send them the plug and ID# on the pot.

What an experience!

I would never buy Delonghi products again.

Good luck!

Dec 27, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A Piece of S_ _ _ t!
by: Anonymous

I thought I was getting a superior coffee pot. It looked expensive and it did cost more than the others. I bought it at Target. Started having problems with the pot: Took it back to Target. I didn't have my receipt, so they said they couldn't do anything for me because they no longer sold the pot and all information need was no longer in the system. I continued to use the pot until it finally stopped completely. The "Brew" light would come on but there was no brewing. Got to buy another coffee pot...

Dec 05, 2009
Rating
starstar
NASTY TASTE
by: Anonymous

LOVE the front access and the price, but coffee takes forever to make and tastes old and bitter by the time it is done. I tried cleansers, etc. since I do love the front access, but doesn't help. Mine hasn't leaked like everyone else is complaining about, but coffee tastes really cruddy.

Nov 19, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
defective coffee maker
by: Anonymous

I purchased this delonghi 12 cup coffee maker just six days ago.I normally prepare the coffe before I go to bed, then turn it on when I get up. This morning the coffe maker came on before I even got up. Then tonight I made it at 8 pm for the early morning and It brewed at 10:30 pm. I am sure you are thinking I programed it wrong, but no that was not the reason at all. The screen where the time is went completely blank and the light that shows the coffee maker was brewing wasn't even lit up. This is definitely a defective product and I am taking it back before it starts a fire in my home. I also had it leak all over the counter, but that was only once when we had a large crowd and I made a full pot. for some reason there is a whole in the back where the water goes, pretty stupid.

Nov 18, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Success at Last
by: Anonymous

DeLonghi replaced my coffee maker after e-mailing them my complaint. I had to mail them a copy of my purchase receipt plus a few dollars for shipping.
Just received it today and will test it out tomorrow.
wish me luck!


Nov 18, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I thought it was just me!
by: Anonymous

I love this coffee pot. I love the coffee it brews. I love the front loading system. I mean, really love that. So much so that even after months of it sporadically still leaking all over the place, I still love it. Since it doesn't do it every time, I always think I have somehow discovered the magic secret: stand on one foot while pouring in the water, hold your mouth just right when filling up the coffee basket, to push or not push the aroma button. And my husband who doesn't drink coffee, assumes it is just me (of course, he also thinks its me -not him- that leave the lights on all over the house!)

I am completely fed up with it now. I can't scrub the grout any longer. My 12 cup coffee maker is really a 10 cup coffee maker that also makes me clean my counters (and before I have had my first cup of coffee!) I will have to resort to pulling another coffee machine out to pour the water in. And really, this isn't such a big deal, considering I have been having to pull the DeLonghi Front Access Coffee Maker out every morning to clean up around and behind it.

This was SUCH a great idea, just poor execution.

I'm off to Bed, Bath and Beyond with my 20% off coupon.

Maybe I will find a red coffee maker this time. Preferably one that just makes coffee.


Oct 27, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Beware Delonghi products and customer service
by: Anonymous

Beware Delonghi 12 cup coffee maker... I like the design, I had been searching for a front load machine. Unfortunately, after approximately 5 months of use, it began to leak all over the counter. Some days worse than others. After reading the internet reviews, I see that this is a very common problem with this machine. The leakage appears to be a "design" fault. The water runs off of the spring mechanism, down the back of the machine pooling on the burner and the counter. I called customer service today. They say that without the bill, they cannot help. If I am able to find the bill, then I am to send it in to their headoffice along with the cord from the coffee maker. So...I cut the cord off of the coffee maker and wait 4 to 5 weeks for a replacement. I guest a month or so without coffee in the mornings is something that they seem to think we can live with...Pick up is not an option either.... So, in terms of their great customer service.... I would say not...BTW, I was quite surprised to see the number of product recalls from this particular company. Do your homework before you purchase this product.

Oct 25, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
BAD TASTE
by: Anonymous

yes two weeks after we got coffee maker began leaking two cups of water. we are taking this back and try another brand. get it right DELONGHI!

Oct 12, 2009
Rating
starstar
Great Idea, Badly Executed
by: Bill

Do NOT buy this coffee maker unless you like black, burnt coffee dripping all over your kitchen.

Oct 09, 2009
Rating
starstar
Love 1st year.
by:

Have had for a little of a year. It now has a sort in wire at back of pot. It also leaks coffe EVERWHERE when brewing. At firts I love it....now can't wait to get new one. Tired of cleaning up coffee stains all over counters very morning

Sep 27, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Leaking.....ARGH!!!
by: Anonymous

I've tried to figure the mechanics of this great coffee maker in order to figure out why it is leaking. Though it is clever design and I love the coffee, what I can't figure out is why it is leaking NOW after about a year? What's changed as it sits quietly on my counter???

Sep 10, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A.M. coffee frustration
by: Anonymous

I agree with the comments that have been given.

There should be a recall on this product!
I purchased my "wonderful" coffee pot at Crate and Barrel and they gladly offered me an exchange when I complained about the leaking, saying this was the first time they've received a complaint.

I have the same problem with my second item, so where do we go from here????

Sep 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Coffee on the Floor, not in the Pot
by: Bill

I thought I did something...or that the coffee as hitting the lid and running over the side...so I drilled the hole larger..finally, on my third investigation I confirmed what I learned others have experienced...coffee runs down the rocker arm...Delonghi was a complete waste of money...back to Mr. Coffee???? I hope not.

Aug 01, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cause of leak
by: Bob Roesser

We experience the same leaking problem with our DeLonghi coffee maker as described in the two previous comments. We think the cause is that some of the coffee flowing from the basket thru the shutoff valve is directed along the valve actuator arm toward the spring. At that point it drips onto the rocker arm that depresses the actuator arm attached to the machine. The coffee then follows the rocker arm toward the sensor paddle in the back of the machine. From there it drips down onto the burner plate causing a mess.

Apparently, from the previous two comments, DeLonghi expects customers to simply live with this fact. That's not reasonable. A coffee maker should not leak, causing a mess, an odor of burnt coffee, deterioration of the burner plate, fogging of the display and an electric shock hazard.

DeLonghi should recall this product and we should collectively demand that they do.

Jun 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
DeLonghi Frontloading Coffee Maker is Defective!
by: Houston Consumer

After having to return 3 Delonghi front loading coffee makers within 15 months due to leaking during the brewing cycle, which also causes the burnout of the heating plate, we can only try to warn everyone that this is a great design that is poorly engineered. It is a seriously defective product that can result in electrical shock, damaged cabinet counters, cabinets, and floors.

Avoid this product until DeLonghi can prove it has corrected the problems. Maybe other manufacturers will realize that top loading coffee makers do not fit under cabinets and quit making products that are too large and cumbersome for most residential kitchens.

What the homeowner wants is a functional unit that makes good coffee. Please, someone compete with this design with better results. We are tired of dragging coffee makers out to fill them up with water and coffee, but a leaking coffee pot is trash.




Apr 19, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
DeLonghi 12 Cup Coffee Maker FLAW
by: Anonymous

The DeLonghi 12 Cup Coffee Maker with Front Access stinks. It has a major design flaw, it drips coffee behind the coffee pot. DeLonghi refuses to respond to complaints and cannot replace any defective ones because they all have this defective. If you are happy with your Delonghi Front Access Coffee Maker, it's because you haven't taken the trouble to notice the crusted coffee on the heating element, or you are a slob and don't care.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Delonghi Consumer Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page