logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Cuisinart DGB-625BC Grind & Brew 12-cup Coffee Maker


If you are looking for a coffeemaker that makes a few cups more than the usual 10-cup coffee machines, this Grind & Brew 12-cup Automatic Coffeemaker from Cuisinart will not disappoint.


With this coffee maker, enjoying fresh, fragrant coffee from newly ground coffee beans is simple and fuss-free. Its full programmability feature allows you to keep coffee ready when you want it. With its brushed metal design and glass carafe, this coffeemaker will definitely look good in any kitchen.

Buy now

Include Tags Upload

Key features

- This coffee maker can brew up to 12 cups.
- The 1- to 4-cup setting allows you to brew a smaller amount of fresh coffee.
- This coffeemaker has a built-in grinder and also has a grind-off option when using pre-ground coffee.
- The glass carafe adds to the stylish design.
- This coffeemaker is capable of 24-hour programmability.
- It a has built-in water filter and charcoal water filter for eliminating impurities from tap water.
- The coffeemaker has pause and serve function that allows you to sample a cup before brewing is over.

Advantages

The biggest advantages to the Grind & Brew 12-Cup Automatic Coffeemaker are its bigger capacity and grinding ability, which always results in better tasting, full-flavored coffee each time. Because this coffeemaker grinds the coffee beans right before brewing, the coffee is guaranteed fresh and hot.

The built-in grinder makes this possible and with the grind-off option, it is also possible to use pre-ground coffee if you want to. This coffee maker is known for its huge 12-cup capacity moreover, so it’s perfect for huge dinner parties or if your family loves having fresh coffee anytime of the day.

If you plan brewing a smaller amount, say about 3 to 4 cups at most, this 12-cup automatic coffeemaker is able to accomplish the job pretty well too. You will only need to choose the 1- to 4-cup setting and be guaranteed of flavorful hot coffee anytime you need it.

Even with its high-tech features such as the built-in grinder and water filter and automatic programmability, the unit is easy to use and easy to clean, making it perfect for both for first-time buyers and avid coffeemaker fans. Other user-friendly features of this coffee maker include a stay-cool handle and a convenient pouring spout that does not drip.

Disadvantages

Some consumers have found that it can be pretty difficult trying to figure out how many scoops of whole beans to use for the grinding so as to achieve a full-flavored brew.

Also the grinder is a bit loud and removing the lid from the carafe can take some effort. If you don’t want to deal with the grinding noise however, you can opt for the grind-off feature and use pre-ground coffee instead.

Pros:

- easy to set timers and easy to clean
- easy to check the water level through the glass carafe
- has an auto shut off, built-in grinder, and built-in water filter
- results in rich and great tasting coffee
- coffee stays hot without having a burnt taste
- flexible
- may choose the grind-off option for pre-ground coffee

Cons:

- putting water into the carafe before brewing can be tricky
- the grinder may emit loud noises while running
- grinder often leaks and squeaks, especially when placing too many beans
- shuts down when you open the lid while brewing
- pouring coffee from the carafe takes a lot of time
- for some consumers, the sound of the grinder wakes them up better than the actual aroma of brewed coffee

Compare Prices


Include Tags Upload

Deals on Ebay...


Include Tags Upload

Comments for Cuisinart DGB-625BC Grind & Brew 12-cup Coffee Maker

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 01, 2013
Rating
starstar
Died after 6 months
by: Kreis

My Grind and Brew stopped working after 6 months. Cuisinart charged me $10 shipping to send a new one and required me to pay shipping to return the faulty unit. Bad deal!

Jul 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best coffee macker we have used.
by: Judy

We have had other Cusiart coffee mackers more exspensive ones and this is by far the best . You can see your water level and it is easy to clean . We would recomend this one .

Jun 04, 2011
Rating
star
Quality Problems in China
by: Anonymous

These are mass produced in China and the quality is hit and miss - some work well for a long time, many don't

Mar 26, 2011
Rating
star
stop working in one year
by: Anonymous

one year after purchase it stops working,while shoping for a new one ran into someone with the machine same problem never again

Feb 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
design defect!!!
by: chris

While I mostly like the machine there are two glaring problems. First, getting the grinder out of the machine to clean it is really tough! I am a strong guy and it gets stuck. I can only imagine little old ladies really having a problem. Second, the caraf leaks from the spout when pouring without the lid on(when pouring cold water into the machine from the caraf). While the latter is minor, the first problem is not. This needs to be fixed in the next generation or I will go to another grind and brew machine!

Dec 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
DGB-625BC works as advertised.
by: J Rhodes

Cuisinart DGB-625BC Grind & Brew 12-cup Coffee Maker
I am not much of a coffee drinker but my wife is, so I purchased the DGB-625BC Cuisinart as a Christmas gift. As a professional test engineer, I of course studied the instruction booklet and tested every possible feature of this coffee maker. I found that out of the box, this coffee maker performs as advertised. Contrary to other reviews, I did not find adding water to be “tricky” or difficult and the grinder, ground and delivered the grounds to the brewing basket without difficulty. The amount of noise made during grinding I found to be as expected for a blade type grinder and consistent with that of a blender. I did hear it the first morning but have slept through it since.
I cannot imagine how a coffee maker can be easier to clean. All parts that need to be cleaned are easily removed and can be rinsed in the sink. I like the glass carafe because I can see from a distance exactly how much coffee is left in the pot.
Operated as designed, this coffee maker produces consistent restaurant quality coffee and the warming plate keeps the coffee plenty hot. In my opinion, the models with a bean hopper that can meter and grind multiple batches of coffee are overly complicated, requiring trial and error to find the optimum brewing strength. Once this setting has been determined this feature will likely be left unchanged. The DGB-625BC is a single batch grinder, where brewing strength is controlled by the ratio of beans to water. Cuisinart’s recommended one level scoop of beans per “coffee” cup of water delivers a delightful full-bodied cup of coffee. Note that a cup of coffee is 6 oz, not 8 oz, so used the carafe to measure the water added.
The 1-4 cup feature brews the coffee at a higher heat setting to compensate for the short brew time. This feature worked fine however I cannot imagine that brewing less than 4 cups would be worth the effort.
Programming is typical for a digital system and requires remembering the proper sequence of button pushing. Once understood, you will see that it is as simple as possible for digital programming.
I become annoyed by consumer complaints that the coffee maker does not perform beyond its design criteria. If you do not put all of the parts in place and the water leaks onto the counter, that is not the coffee makers fault, if you over-fill the grinder with beans and the coffee maker still does not produce espresso, then go buy an espresso machine. If you think that any coffee maker should brew on without the need for cleaning then go to Star Bucks and pay the price. I find the DGB-625BC to be a nice combination of simplicity and quality performance.
Since I have only had this coffee maker for a shot time I cannot speak to any longevity issues and if the other reviews about Cuisinart’s customer service are true, then Cuisinart is doing itself a disservice.
I would however recommend this coffee maker to others.

Dec 27, 2010
Rating
starstar
2 out of my 3 don't last!
by: Anonymous

We have owned 3 of these coffee pots. The first one lasted a really long time and we loved it! So we bought another to replace it. On that one after about 9 month the burner kept turning off, after a couple of minutes. So your coffee would get cold. So we bought another... This one I literally just got my rebate back on it, so less than 3 months! It wont brew, the burner wont turn on, nothing! I hate waking up to no coffee! So, I don't know what to do! Buy another because we loved the first one so much?? Or move on!

Nov 10, 2010
Rating
star
ours stopped working and they don't honour the warranty
by: Anonymous

We are so disappointed with cuisinart, ours kept shutting off after the brew cycle so we mailed it back at our expense and they returned it and it still keeps shutting off, I called the 1 800 number again and because I didn't keep the receipt for 2 years they will not honour it even thought they ran the serial number and see that it indeed is still under the 3 years. Buyer beware

Nov 05, 2010
Rating
star
Grind & Brew not for the stronger tastes..
by: Cindy

Grind & Brew is a great feature however makes a weak 12 cups on a full grind. I love stronger coffee (Starbucks strength), so I kept adding less & less water to the full grinder. I finally found my strength at 7 cups of water in the maker per full grinder capacity of dark french roast beans. I'm taking it back since my husband & go through the 7 cups fast in the morning. I'm exchanging for a regular drip so I can make 10 cups as strong as I like it. As far as appearance & function it's great just not for those who have stronger taste.

Oct 06, 2010
Rating
star
Leaky carafe & poor design..
by: Lisen

I am on my second Cuisinart DCC-1200C; don't ask me why! Like the first one, the carafe leaks big time and so does the water container. Each time one makes coffee, condensation builds up on the lid and runs down the backside onto the counter; it"s no small amount either. Not only does it make a mess of the counter, it has cost me countless towels/rags to keep everything clean.

Sep 11, 2010
Rating
star
This Cuisinart must be art
by: Anonymous

Nothing but problems....with grinder....with electrical current.....wouldn't hold charge....all after warranty expired!

Sep 11, 2010
Rating
star
Too many problems
by: Anonymous

worked well for first 2 years. In third year there were problems with the grinder completely grinding the beans. In the forth year the electric charge did not hold. Would not buy again.

Aug 09, 2010
Rating
starstar
Coffee maker needs work
by: Strummer

This coffee maker needs work, which is particularily annoying, considering the price.

To use the grinder, you need to dis-assemble it regularly, removing the bean holder, and brush/scrub out the inner chamber of compressed grinds, or otherwise it regularily clogs. This is an akward, and messy proceedure, and appropriate engineering design should have negated the need for the consumer to get so involved with the inner workings.

In addition, for all it's sophistication, no alarm will sound if the basket lid is missing (preventing overflow of the entire water chamber as it drips down), or if the pot is positioned 100% acurately (also to prevent overflow). Either situation will cause the entire chamber of water to drip through the basket, and drain completely out, all over your counter. yet if the lid to the water chamber isn't on (causing no ill effects), the alarm beep will sound, preventing the pot from being made.

Come on! Not worth the $200. To add insult to injury, Cuisinart refuses to warrant / fix these through local dealers, and insists that you bring the unit directly to their warehouse for repair (and then return to pick it up) - which is not centrally or conveniently located.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Cuisinart Coffee Maker Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page