logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Cuisinart DCC-2000 12 cup

by Mandy
(Boise, ID)


Even without the carafe, you can produce coffee in an easy but still elegant, ultra-modern way. The Coffee on Demand™ 12-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker makes sure that you can do just that.


Of course, this particular model is not really the innovator of carafe-less coffeemakers.
There have been many predecessors when it comes to ditching the carafe. Coffee on Demand, however, manages to be a sleek-looking coffeemaker. You do not have to feel as if you are brewing cheap, instant coffee in a rest stop.

Buy now

Include Tags Upload

The sleek, modern look also makes you feel less guilty about not ordering your coffee from a professional barista. Coffee enthusiast or not, you will be especially happy about taking your cup of joe from Coffee on Demand.

The name Coffee on Demand says it all: you get the coffee you want in a short period of time. This modern coffeemaker can be programmed the way you want your coffee to be ready.

Key Features

To be more familiar with what exactly Coffee on Demand can do, here are its main features:

- The Coffee on Demand is a fully programmable coffeemaker.
- The coffeemaker can brew 12 cups at a time.
- It dispenses one cup of joe at a time.
- The coffeemaker can be set to brew 24 hours in advance.
- It has a water level indicator to avoid overfilling and to maintain a flavorful mixture.
- The coffeemaker dispenses coffee with an easy to press lever.
- It shuts off automatically for convenience and energy saving
- Its reservoir is easy to remove from the whole setup, for easy cleaning.

Advantages

Consumers rave about both the features and the looks of Coffee on Demand. Some say that they love the modern, sleek look. There are consumers who also appreciate that the Coffee on Demand coffeemaker does not use a carafe. Others are happy about the affordable price and the easy to use features.

For something that is easy to use, consumers are pleased to find out that Coffee on Demand can produce delicious coffee that does not taste burned. This delicious brewed coffee also remains hot while still in the Coffee on Demand. So, there is no need to heat up a second time if you want to dispense that next cup of coffee. After all, the Coffee on Demand can produce 12 cups of coffee at a time.

Disadvantages

Unfortunately, Cuisinart's offering seems to have elicited some negative reactions as well. Some consumers report that their Coffee on Demand coffeemaker has a short life span, dying out on them right after the warranty has expired. Even the warranty replacements in some cases only lasted for only a few months.

Other consumers complain about leaks, unexplainable function triggers and burnt coffee taste. Some consumers also complain about having to double heat the coffee just to get it hot enough. It seems that consumers have different experiences with the Coffee on Demand coffeemaker from Cuisinart as some report great tasting, piping hot coffee.

Pros:

- has a sleek and modern design
- with modern features
- easy to use
- convenient 12 cup at a time brewing
- produces delicious coffee
- has no filter to change daily
- easy to clean

Cons:

- programming flaws
- short life span
- newer batches have same flaws
- leaks
- adds burnt taste
- poor electronic parts
- average to big mugs cannot fit under dispenser

Compare Prices


Include Tags Upload

Deals on Ebay...


Include Tags Upload






Comments for Cuisinart DCC-2000 12 cup

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 18, 2012
Rating
star
Do not buy cuisinart!!!
by: Anonymous

the coffee maker works for 3 yrs, then the warrenty runs out and the coffee maker also quits working. Trying to talk to anyone there is fruitless, as their only comment is "the warrenty ran out". We currently own several of their products, and will never buy from them again. [we had it for just over three years].It is also made in China.

Mar 15, 2012
Rating
star
It was the worst of times it was the best of times
by: Milton Milanoski II

This coffee maker brewed the the best consistent cup of Java of any machine I have ever owned. It was easy to clean...with its insulated construction it kept the coffee at the perfect temperature without ever burning it. All of my friends are convinced that I somehow possess the magic touch for making coffee when in reality it is this product from cuisinart. I love not having to clean a carafe and the accompanying stains that eventually build up and can not be removed. The machines charcoal filter is a nice touch as well filtering the water for a cleaner taste......However just after my warranty expired my coffee maker simply refused to power on, no clock, no buttons responded being pressed. Out of the blue it simply was dead. Cusinart flatly refused to fix or replace it. And upon searching the internet I find that I am one of tens of thousands who have had the same problem with the same coffee maker. So enjoy your great cup of coffe if you buy this machine you will never know when it will be your last .

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
Stops After 1 Year
by: WendyS

I loved this coffee maker when I first got it - no pot!!! Cost me $150 and the electronics stopped working after almost 1 year - Cuisinart replaced it and it has died again!!! Cuisinart will only look at it if I pay shipping both ways!!! Even if they replace it, it will probably last only 1 year again!!! Cuisinart should stick to mixers. DO NOT WAST YOUR MONEY ON THIS COFFEE MAKER!!!

Apr 07, 2011
Rating
starstar
WAIT TO GET IT FOR A GIFT.
by: MATTEL MATEO

AT FIRST I WAS EXCITED TO GET THIS BREWER. THEN AFTER SEVEN (7) MONTHS IT BEGAN TO STOP BREWING. I TRIED EVERTHING AFTER SEVERAL TRIES BREWING WITH VINEGAR IT START BREWING FOR TWO DAYS. I REGISTER THE PRODUCT AND RECIEVE NO FEEDBACK FROM THE COMPANY AFTER EMAILING MY PROBLEMS. YET, I DID AND STILL CONTIUNE TO RECEIVE THE NEWSLETTERS. THE CHEAPER MODELS ARE STILL WORKING GREAT. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED.

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Electronics
by: Gayla Jakoubek

We have owned two of these, the first one we had we loved it but then the turn on and off button gave out. We returned our coffee maker because of the malfunction and bought another one, just thinking it was a fluke. Well, we have had this one now for 2 yrs. and it did the same thing, the on and off button went out. We have decided that the button is never going to work on this coffee pot. Also we think the coffee is not always hot enough.

Feb 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
review
by: Dr.P

only lasted 3 years before the electonics stopped working, the cup counter was off by a half a container, the clock was not back lit so it was hard to read in most light.

Jan 21, 2011
Rating
starstar
disposable?
by: Anonymous

It produced great coffee for over a year, but then the on:off switch quit working.

Jan 02, 2011
Rating
starstar
Do Not Buy!
by: Anonymous

I bought this machine 3 1/2 years ago. Within a month it stopped working. Bed Bath & Beyond replaced it. The new one STOPPED WORKING! Again BB&B replace it. Now, after 3+ years, the machine has stopped working again. The Cuisinart warranty is good for only 3 years. Spend your $100 on a reliable coffeemaker.

Dec 13, 2010
Rating
star
Horrible
by: Anonymous

Its burns coffee if left in the pot longer than ten minutes.The worst machine weve ever had

Nov 08, 2010
Rating
star
broke after a year
by: Anonymous

Would not work after 1 year. Disappointing:(

Oct 04, 2010
Rating
star
not worth the money!
by: Anonymous

had to buy new coffee pot after one year.

Sep 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
So far so good
by: Anonymous

Just got this and so far we love it. Tastes great and is the hottest coffee I've ever brewed!
A little tricky to pour the water in but not that big a deal. It's also fun to use :)

Sep 12, 2010
Rating
star
Good while its still working
by: Daryl

We loved this coffee maker, good looks, great tasting coffee and hot too. Problem is that it simply doesn't last very long. We have now gone through two (each failed with same problem - sudden failure to brew coffee). Wish they would make a new similar but relieable version.

Sep 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Lasted less than a year
by: Dave

I purchased this machine because of it's simplicity, no pot. While it worked it was great. It just stopped working one morning, the light flickered and it went dark. This is my second Cuisinart product that has lasted less than a year. Maybe it was just not designed to be used everyday. I was very disappointed in this unit.

Sep 07, 2010
Rating
star
Leaks like crazy
by: Anonymous

We bought our Cuisinart coffee maker because we like the look and wanted the easy one cup dispenser. I was tired of the glass caraf look. Unfortunately, within a month, it started leaking water all over the place. I tried everything to control the water leaks and could never figure out where all of it came from. No matter how carefully you open the top section water pours out the back. At the end of each brew there was a big puddle on the counter top. It also produces more steam than any other coffee maker of this kind, which has ruined my kitchen cabinet in the area where I had the coffee maker located. I would never recomend this coffee maker to anyone. Looks aren't everything!

Aug 24, 2010
Rating
starstar
Leaks like crazy
by: Anonymous

We have had this coffee maker for 1 year and am very disappointed. It leaks like crazy and have had to resort to putting a tray under it to avoid water all over the counter. Nothing seems to work to stop the leak. Some days no leaks, other days Niagra Falls. The coffee tastes great but we are going to go buy a different coffee maker today. Wouldn't recommend this coffee maker.

Aug 13, 2010
Rating
star
poor product
by: Anonymous

a most disappointing product!!! This coffee machine stopped working after using it for a very short period of time. I have returned it twice now, the 1st time thinking this peticular machine was an exception to the supposed quality of Cuisinart but...lo and behold the same thing happened as the initial go round. My reasoning for the 2nd return was I shouldn't need to spend a decent amount on a coffee maker and yet have nothing to show for it. Again the machine failed to perform well/at all after a limited time of use. Of course I am using it as prescribed, for simple, daily household use. I am fatiqued with this product, am throwing it in the trash where it belongs. Clearly, I will not deal with this inferior coffee maker any longer and will search out another brand all together.

Jul 31, 2010
Rating
star
Not worth the money
by: Cherie

Very Expensive for the length of time it will hold out. I was only able to use this for two years (once a week on Sundays). It just completely stopped working. I guess I will have to go back to using my Mr. Coffee that I have had for over 30 years!!!

May 21, 2010
Rating
starstar
Not Dependable
by: Julie

I have had this brand for only 3 years, other brands have lasted me 5-10 years at a fraction of the cost of this one. Mine is still working, when it wants to. In otherwords I prepare the machine and turn on and HOPE it will brew. Sometimes it will start brewing up to 2 hours AFTER I turned it on. So some mornings no coffee for me.

Bought this because of the single cup dispenser but I can go back to pouring from a pot if it means I get a cup of coffee every time I turn it on.

Style is nice, reliability is very bad.


Apr 04, 2010
Rating
star
Piece of crap
by: Anonymous

It just stops working. Nothing will resusitate it. Buy a Mr. Coffee.

Mar 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Kudos to Cuisinart
by: Mandy

e got this coffee maker two years ago as a wedding gift and have loved it since the first time we used it. With a 12 cup capacity, it provides plenty of coffee and the simple, push button pouring feature makes one-handed pouring a breeze!

With a four month old baby, I not only need to have great coffee ready in the morning (the automatic brew timer is awesome!), but I often have to prepare my coffee one handed while holding my daughter.

I love that I can just set my cup on the tray and push the button. Because the cup goes directly under the spout, there's not any major dripping and clean up is very simple.

The tray comes out easily for cleaning and also creating space for taller coffee mugs and travel mugs. Almost every part comes out and can be put in the dishwasher for cleaning.

It also has a really cool coffee gauge that looks like a gas gauge! After almost two years of owning our coffee maker, something inside shorted out and it just stopped working.

We called Cuisinart and they, no questions asked, sent us a new one for free. I cannot give enough kudos for this company and this coffee pot!

Nov 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Two of them died!
by: Megan W

I have had TWO of these, and both have died on me. Simply stopped working something to do with the power. I have both dead coffee makers and plan to take them back to the store. These are a good model, I loved it while it worked but pissed that I wasted so much money on something that worked less than 2 years!

Jul 16, 2009
Rating
star
Short life
by: Anonymous

I bought one machine which simply stopped working after about 18 mo. Bought a second one thinking the first was a radom failure. It lasted less than a year. This machine has a serious design flaw.

Mar 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great design, great coffee
by: Lee Levine

After years of using inexpensive coffeemakers and assuming the coffee itself determined the taste I used a gift certificate to purchase the Cuisinart 12 cup Coffee on Demand (Product ID: DCC-2000) and changed my mind somewhat on the value of a good coffee maker.

There are, in fact, three main determining factors in a good cup of coffee: the quality of the bean, the freshness of the grind and the process. Freshly grinding the bean releases the coffee's oils and makes a big difference in taste. But in order to get the full flavor of the bean and oil release you do need a properly calibrated drip coffee maker and the Cuisinart does just that. Cheaper makers tend to speed up the heating of the water and you get very hot water and extra steam pouring over your grinds.

The Cuisinart system diffuses the spray of hot water on top of the grind basket so the water gets the coffee flavor and slowly drips down. The thermal carafe also holds the heat well enough to let you shut the maker down so your coffee doesn't sit in a pot and burn.

Another thing I really like about the Cuisinart is the design of the thermal carafe. Your coffee doesn't trip into a traditional glass carafe which you pour. The carafe stays in the coffee maker and you open a spout and it drips into your cup more like an industrial coffee maker. No dirty carafe to look at after morning coffee!

Finally, in terms of design, Cuisinart has a classic industrial design, almost like an AirStream trailer which turns a hum-drum, often flimsy kitchen appliance into something substantial which you will enjoy using. It's solidly built, so it won't tip over as you fumble with filters. The water tank has a very readable side measurement so you can very easily pour water until the red marker, readable from the OUTSIDE, floats to the desired cup level.

Bottom line: if you buy this Cuisinart, it'll probably be the only one you'll ever need.





Feb 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Easy to use
by: Brandon

I love my Cuisinart! This coffee maker has been a workhorse in our household for nearly three years and is still going strong! What’s not to love? It looks great, holds a lot of coffee, is easy to operate, and the dispenser makes it easy to pour a cup of coffee.

When we first saw this coffee maker when registering for wedding gifts, we were very attracted to the clean lines of the Cuisinart, the polished metal finish, and the prominent coffee level gauge. But one of the coolest features we noticed about this coffee maker was the easy pour dispenser. We thought “how cool would it be to just pull down the lever, and out comes the coffee!” As luck would have it, we ended up getting the Cuisinart as a gift and have been satisfied ever since.

Upon first inspection of our new Cuisinart, we realized this was a quality and easy to use product. Inside the main unit were a removable reservoir, filter holder, gold-tone filter, and a small water filter. The pieces appeared to be made of high quality materials and fit together well.

Using the Cuisinart is easy: on the side of coffee pot is a water level meter to measure the fresh water you add to make coffee. You just fill it up to the desired level, add the amount of grounds you want into the filter (you can also use a paper filter if you want), and turn the brew knob, and away it goes. A tone alerts you when the brew cycle is completed.

If you desire, you can also set a timer to brew your coffee in the morning. A prominent gauge on the front of the coffee maker tells you how much coffee is in the reservoir. As mentioned earlier, an easy poor dispenser makes it really easy to poor coffee. Clean-up is rather easy as you can just rinse out the pieces. Periodically we put all the pieces in the dishwasher for a good cleaning.

While I like the Cuisinart, I do sometimes wish the reservoir was a carafe style rather than a heating element that has near direct contact with the coffee. I feel that this somehow affects the taste of the coffee. Other than that, I am fully satisfied with the Cuisinart for its durability, ease of use, and good looks.

Nov 22, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
looks great and easy to clean
by: Therese

I love this coffee maker! It allows me to dispense coffee one cup at a time. No glass pot to break! It has an automatic timer so that your coffee is ready and waiting for you when you wake up. Coffe is kept piping hot for two hours before automatic shut off.

This item is perfect for single people or for an entire family. The "fuel" gauge allows you to see how much coffee is left in the reservoir. It is easy to clean and looks great on the kitchen counter. The only drawback I have found is that it is not high enough to accommodate a tall cup or travel mug. I would definitely recommend this item!

Nov 22, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstar
Reasonably priced
by: Anonymous

Being a newcomer to the experience of craving that daily cup of coffee and having a husband that couldn't be less interested in the stuff himself, I hadn't owned my own coffee maker prior to selecting one for my bridal registry on J.C. Penney's website a little over a year ago. I think that I really lucked out with this model, though I had really chosen it for its aesthetics.

I liked the reasonable price as well as the fact that its stainless steel and square rather than round exterior matched the other appliances in my then tiny kitchen. I had been convinced that I wouldn't use it all that often in the beginning, but it soon found a permanent space on my counter. It's perfect that you can go ahead and measure out your coffee to be ready in the morning or for when your guests have been over for a while.

I especially liked that the gauge on the front of the machine easily displays how many cups of coffee are to be brewed. And with no separate canister, a cup is available with just the press of the button. The basket inside that holds the brewed coffee is easily removed and cleaned. My brother and sister-in-law admired the maker so much that we ended up buying them one. We had bought theirs from Overstock after looking at Bed Bath and Beyond and Amazon as they had the best price at the time.

Beware though, because it wasn't until it arrived that we found out that we received a refurbished machine rather than a giftable item. I had luckily since seen the same model at TJMaxx of all places, which I was surprised about because it's a newer item. A

Anyhow, they did seem pretty pleased with it and they drink at least four times the coffee that I ever would and mine is still brewing strong.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Cuisinart Coffee Maker Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page