logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Cuisinart DCC-1200 Brew Central 12-cup Programmable Coffee Maker

by Ian Ross
(Boston, MA)


$

Cuisinart DCC-1200
12-Cup Brew Central Coffeemaker


Ever since college, when I started drinking coffee, I owned a Cuisinart French Press. It worked extremely well for years and even maintained it's original sharp look. There was only one problem with it, it took quite a bit of time to clean. Also my wife had a little problem with it too... It only made enough coffee for me. So we decided we were adults and we needed an adult coffee maker.

The Cuisinart French Press had served me well and we were happy with the the Cuisinart cookware we owned, so naturally we started to look for a Cuisinart Coffee maker. Luckily, our search was made very easy. We were shopping for new bed sheets at Bed, Bath, and Beyond, when we stumbled upon the Cuisinart Brew Central 12-cup Programmable Coffee Maker in the counter-top appliance section. Let me tell you, this may have been one of the best purchase my wife and I have ever made.

This coffee maker is a dream machine. Many of my friends complain about the complicated process of programming their coffee makers; not this one, it took 30 seconds. Loading it takes 15 seconds and cleaning the machine takes 5 seconds. So for 20 seconds a day we get to wake up to a fresh well brewed pot of coffee.

I would have guessed this sleek kitchen fixture would have cost a couple hundred dollars. Not true at all, it cost us eighty dollars plus tax, how can you beat that? If you need you a great cup of hassle-free coffee in the morning this is the machine you!


Comments for Cuisinart DCC-1200 Brew Central 12-cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 28, 2012
Rating
star
2 Cuisinart Coffee Makers in 2 Days
by: Shirley from Georgia

This was my first purchase of a Cuisinart product and I was excited about the Model DCC 1200. Made a round trip of 140 miles yesterday to purchase the Coffee Maker I had heard so many good things about. Took it back today (another 140 miles) because the back light didn't work. Got this one home today and neither the back light or the toggle switch works. Called the customer service line and they said they were sorry but all they could do was recommend that I take it back to the store where it was purchased (another 140 miles tomorrow). Cuisinart is just more junk made in China. They do not care about product quality because sales volume will make up the difference. I'm going to the discount store in town to buy a cheapy coffee maker that will work. I will never even entertain the idea of purchasing another product from this company. Will they go broke if I don't...no, but I'll feel better knowing they don't have any of my cash!

Apr 18, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love It
by: Gord S.

I just purchased my third unit.I purchased several cheap coffee makers over the years but eventually got tired of warm coffee and having to replace them frequently.They seemed to last only about a year. My first Cuisinart lasted about ten years and my second unit about seven years. So when it finally stopped working the choice was obvious; back to Cuisinart.I like the temperature control feature and the timer is a good feature too. I measure the water with the carafe. One pot of water in gives one pot of coffee. Simple.I don't mind that the new model has a plastic outer surface instead of stainless steel.It looks just as good and could possibly be easier to clean.I paid about $100. for this unit at a discount drug store although I have seen them advertised for less.

Nov 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
thrift store....dcc1200
by: Anonymous

found a gently used machine @ salvation army..for $8
I also downloade the owners manual PDF from Cuisinart.com for free and read it from cover to cover..
After having owned Bunn,Krups,Braun,mr.coffee and DeLongi...this machine works the best and makes the best coffee....Carafe pours fine, heating element works great...Only issue is BEEP sound is VERY faint..All the issues that others complain about are very minor...No machine will please everyone...But this machine pleases the harshest critic and that is me..

Dec 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
fairly solid mid-range coffee maker
by: Anonymous

Pros
- The carafe fits firmly into place, you can feel that it locks in and is secure.
- The beep letting you know your coffee is finished brewing is very convenient.

Cons
- The opening to the water reservoir is fairly small. It's somewhat difficult to pour water from the carafe into the reservoir without some spilling.
- When Brewing the steam generated from this machine causes the LCD display to fog up.

Aesthetically this machine is pleasing, the brushed aluminum and retro design make this a good fit in most modern kitchens. The brew is hot and has a good taste, though it is a bit weak for my taste, my wife thoroughly enjoys it. The burner does a good job of keeping the coffee at the perfect temperature without scalding it. The gold filter included is a great option and can save money if you do not mind a little extra cleanup. Paper filters are also an option if you would rather not deal with the hassle of cleaning a filter after each use.

The brewer has a feeling of solid construction, when the carafe is placed in, you know it is in the correct spot. This unit also beeps when your coffee has finished brewing, a nifty feature that allows you to know exactly when your coffee is done. The carafe is sleek and fashionable, it also pours neatly and accurately. This machine is not without its faults however. The reservoir leaves much room for improvement, it can be a challenge to fill without spilling.

The unit is rather tall, I originally had the unit placed underneath a cabinet, however space was very tight and the lid could not be fully opened when filling. The unit also lets off steam which fogs up the LCD display, a fairly minor annoyance, but not deal breaking. Another minor annoyance is that the moisture never seems to evaporate out of the unit, whenever the lid is opened there always seems to be a large amount of condensation built up in the unit. All in all, the pro's seem to outweigh the cons and this is a fairly solid mid-range coffee maker.

Dec 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
quite possibly the most amazing coffee maker
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Amazing tasting coffee
- Excellent flavor seal

Cons
- The lid is hard to snap on
- It is hard to know when coffee is done

This coffee maker is quite possibly the most amazing coffee maker that I have ever purchased. I have had it for about a month and a half now. It is simple to set up and to use. The controls are intuitive and are easy to figure out without resorting to looking them up in the user manual. The design of the maker is both sleek and elegant. It is probably the nicest looking coffee maker I have ever purchased. Out of all the makers that I have purchased in the past, this maker takes the gold for brewing the best tasting coffee. The maker brews coffee that has a nice rich taste to it. The coffee maker also has an excellent charcoal flavor seal that ensures that your coffee tastes spectacular.

The maker also brews the coffee at a perfect temperature. The coffee is also brewed quite rapidly, which is a major plus because in the mornings before work I am often in a rush. I am also impressed by the consistency of the maker. I can make as little as two cups of coffee or as many as twenty and the consistency remains the same. My biggest complaint with the coffee maker is that the lid is hard to snap on. Also the beeping noise that coffee maker makes after the coffee is done is often hard to hear. If cuisiniart made the beeping noise louder/ensured that the lid was more durable I would rate this product with 5 stars!

Dec 12, 2010
Rating
starstar
Cold Coffee
by: Karen

I am not happy with my purchase. While I do like the sleek look and the easy clean system, I find that this coffee maker does not keep the coffee hot after the brewing cycle.

I thought that maybe it was the stainless brewing pot so I purchased an additional glass pot trying to solve the problem and found it made no difference.

My next purchase will be a Bunn and this Cuisinart will go into the "garage sale" pile.

I am happy with the Cuisinart griddler purchase and highly recommend it.



Mar 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
quick coffee
by: Ian Ross

Ever since college, when I started drinking coffee, I owned a Cuisinart French Press. It worked extremely well for years and even maintained it's original sharp look. There was only one problem with it, it took quite a bit of time to clean. Also my wife had a little problem with it too... It only made enough coffee for me. So we decided we were adults and we needed an adult coffee maker.

The Cuisinart French Press had served me well and we were happy with the the Cuisinart cookware we owned, so naturally we started to look for a Cuisinart Coffee maker. Luckily, our search was made very easy. We were shopping for new bed sheets at Bed, Bath, and Beyond, when we stumbled upon the Cuisinart Brew Central 12-cup Programmable Coffee Maker in the counter-top appliance section. Let me tell you, this may have been one of the best purchase my wife and I have ever made.

This coffee maker is a dream machine. Many of my friends complain about the complicated process of programming their coffee makers; not this one, it took 30 seconds. Loading it takes 15 seconds and cleaning the machine takes 5 seconds. So for 20 seconds a day we get to wake up to a fresh well brewed pot of coffee.

I would have guessed this sleek kitchen fixture would have cost a couple hundred dollars. Not true at all, it cost us eighty dollars plus tax, how can you beat that? If you need you a great cup of hassle-free coffee in the morning this is the machine you!

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
A nice, durable coffee maker
by: Anonymous

Pros
- convenient to fill.
- keeps coffee hot.

Cons
- energy hog.
- too many functions to choose from

Rating
4 out of 5

I received my Cuisinart 12-cup programmable coffee maker as a gift. I have enjoyed the ease of setting the clock/ timer to make coffee in the am. The rear- fill tank is large enough to prevent spills and the wide spout on the pot helps to prevent same.

The coffee maker has a pleasant beep to announce the end of the brew cycle (which has multiple brew strengths to choose from). My coffee stays hot from beginning to end. All in all a nice, durable coffee maker. The one caveat, in my opinion, is the energy use.

Oct 19, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I love the stainless steel and black
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Easy to use and clean
- Very functional

Cons
- Having to look inside the coffee pot to fill up to the correct cup line
- It's hard to tell where the water line is sometimes.
- The stainless steel displays water marks and finger prints easily and requires a decent amount of polishing.

I received this coffeemaker as a gift for my wedding 4 years ago. One of the reasons that I registered for this item was because it was so attractive and matched the rest of the appliances in my kitchen. I love the stainless steel and black.

It looks just as expensive as it is! This coffeemaker works great. It's so functional and easy to use. Most every function on it is self-explanatory - I've never even read the manual! I love being able to program it to start making coffee at a certain time; it's made grabbing a cup of coffee before jetting out of the door possible!

It's got a self-clean function and a temperature control, with 3 different settings, for the burner. The filter is removable and dishwasher safe, as is the pot and lid. This coffeemaker also has a button for only making 1-4 cups of coffee.

You always know when the coffee is done because it beeps and has an automatic shut off after four hours, so no more worrying about whether or not you turned the coffee pot off before you left the house! There's also a charcoal water filter which helps to absorb impurities in the water so that all you taste is great coffee! I absolutely love my coffee maker.

It has held up well, is durable, and makes coffee that has a clean taste. Overall, this is a great coffeemaker. It's definitely worth the price and will make a great addition to your kitchen!

Apr 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Simple settings great coffee
by: Anonymous

The best coffee maker I ever bought was a Cuisinart, 12-cup maker. We already had a separate grinder, so the coffee maker by itself sufficed.

This coffee maker is excellent for a variety of reasons: One, it is black, so it is easy to keep looking clean. Two, it indicates very clearly when the machine needs cleaning, and the process to clean it is simple; basically, you just brew a plain batch of vinegar, and you are done.

The Cuisinart machine itself is sturdy, with no cheap plastic parts that feel like they will break off in your hands.

The settings to use this machine are simple and easy to follow. If you are interested in a clock/timer feature, it is there, but otherwise, you can just make your coffee: and it makes a great cup.

Priced at just $99 and built to last while looking fashionable on your countertop, the Cuisinart coffee maker is the best deal out there.

I have had this coffee maker for over three years now, and it works just as well as the day I purchased it.

Apr 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
An awesome machine
by: Justin

This coffee maker is probably one the best I have ever owned. The pot/carafe holds up to 12 cups of coffee. The pot has a dripless spout and knuckle guard handle for comfort, and no spill pouring. One of my favorite features about this coffee maker is that you can set it to brew as little as 1 cup for those mornings when you dont need as much coffee.

Of course as a man I would be remiss if I did not mention the fact that it is self cleaning as well. The absolute best feature is that you do not have to wait for the coffee to finish brewing before you get your first cup of coffee.

The coffee maker has a feature that will allow you to pull the pot and the brewing stops while you pour your first cup of coffee, during the pouring time it has a 60 second memory that remembers where it was in the brewing process. Other things that I really love about this machine is the filtration system. It has a charcoal water filtration system, so the water that is making your coffee is fresh so your coffee will taste that much better.

Really the only thing that I have been found that could be considered a downside to this coffee maker would be the lack of color choices, I would have preferred it available to me in stainless steel.

All in all this is an awesome machine that makes a great tasting cup of coffee, and lets face it the taste is much more important than the color anyway. I would recommend this coffee maker to anyone that asks.

Apr 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Difficult to clean
by: Chandra Hamilton

I have owned several Cuisinart products, including two different coffee makers. The one I currently own is the Brew Central 12-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker. I purchased this at our local warehouse store.

This coffeemaker has all the standard features including an option to program the automatic shut off time. It keeps coffee hot for up to four hours after brewing, a great feature when one family member gets up hours before the rest! You can also adjust the carafe temperature so the coffee is as hot as you like it.

It does have a few drawbacks. The fill tank has a removable and replaceable charcoal filter. This means the filter has to be regularly removed and replaced, an added expense in the long run. I manage to go most of the year without changing the filter and I can't say I've noticed much of a difference. Also, the area where the ground coffee loads is very near the area where the water loads which leads to coffee grounds in the water tank regularly.

This coffeemaker is also difficult to clean. In case of overflow (another rare occurrence) the entire unit must be carefully unplugged, taken to the nearest sink, and rinsed repeatedly.

This is a great standard coffeemaker. My only word of advice- don't buy white! Coffee is brown...your white will become brown. Save yourself the hassle and buy black, red or stainless steel.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Cuisinart Coffee Maker Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page