logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Cuisinart Classic Thermal 10-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker DCC-1150 Series


Fully programmable and available in white and black stylish designs, the 10-cup Programmable Thermal Coffeemaker DCC-1150 from Cuisinart makes an excellent focal point in any kitchen.


With excellent features such as the 10-cup capacity, automatic shut off, and the helpful pause-and-serve feature, this thermal coffeemaker can be an excellent investment for any one who loves to enjoy a freshly brewed cup anytime at home.

Buy now

Include Tags Upload

Key features

- This coffeemaker has a 10-cup capacity.
- The 1- to 4-cup feature allows for brewing a smaller amount.
- This coffeemaker has a built-in water filter and built-in timer.
- The automatic shut-off feature signals when brewing is complete.
- This coffeemaker has a built-in grinder and a pause and serve feature.
- The thermal carafe is double-walled and insulated.
- This coffeemaker has 24- hour programmability.
- The machine has self-cleaning modes.
- This coffeemaker has 60-second reset feature that “recalls” where the brewing process has stopped.
- It comes with a 3-year warranty.

Advantages



There are many factors that make the 10-cup Programmable Thermal Coffeemaker an excellent purchase. The 24-hour programmable feature allows coffee lovers to enjoy a cup anytime they need to.

Although the coffee maker can accommodate a 10-cup brew, brewing a smaller amount is nevertheless possible, with its 1- t0 4-cup feature. This allows you to brew less than its original capacity without affecting taste or warmth.

Compared to coffeemakers with glass carafes that very rarely keep coffee warm, its thermal carafe can keep coffee hot for as long as 3 hours after brewing time. The unit also has a timed start and automatic shut off once brewing is completed, so you don’t end up with burnt and foul-tasting coffee.

Many consumers have also found that the coffee maker is easy to clean, in spite of its superb and hi-tech features. You can clean it easily by hand or through the dishwasher, including the carafe and the filter piece. When pouring coffee, the carafe does not drip because of its sealed top.

It also has a pause-and-serve function that lets you enjoy a cup during mid-brew. Finally, the modern styling of the coffeemaker makes it an excellent addition to any home. It can easily blend into a conventional or more contemporary kitchen.

Disadvantages

Some consumers have found that filling the carafe of the 10-cup Programmable Thermal Coffeemaker is quite a drag and may require several trips to sink before filling the coffeemaker with up to six cups. Due to the sealed top lid, filling the coffeemaker with water can be a lengthy task, and if you are in a hurry, this can be somewhat frustrating.

Also, with thermal carafe, pouring out the brewed coffee may be a bit too slow. Since the thermal carafe is well-sealed and is designed to keep the brew hotter for longer, the coffee will need to pass through a maze-like passageway before emptying into a cup.

Pros:

- simple to set up and simple to use
- brews up to 10 cups of fresh hot coffee
- keep coffee hot for as long as 3 hours
- double insulated thermal carafe
- beeps as a signal that coffee is ready for consumption
- has a charcoal water filter for those who use ordinary tap water
- auto brew timer that helps people wake up to the smell of coffee
- users may use both the paper cone and gold cone filters

Cons:

- beeping may be a bit annoying, with four to five successive beats
- leaks when brewing
- difficulty in pouring coffee from the carafe
- difficulty in filling the carafe with water

Compare Prices


Include Tags Upload

Deals on Ebay...


Include Tags Upload


Comments for Cuisinart Classic Thermal 10-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker DCC-1150 Series

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 25, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Auto On feature NEW
by: Anonymous

We set the auto on program time and it worked fine the first week of owning this Cuisinart Coffee Maker. Now, after six weeks, the feature does not work and we have to hand set to Brew to have unit work. Any ideas?

Mar 27, 2013
Rating
starstar
luke warm coffee
by: NHChuck

This coffee maker does not brew hot coffee, in fact it does'nt even brew luke warm coffee. The coffee always comes out luke warm or colder. Not what you want for a hot cup of coffee.

Jan 12, 2012
Rating
star
Barely-warm coffee
by: Anonymous

The coffee brews and is not hot even when just made. Every cup must be microwaved. I wrote an e-mail to Cuisinart Customer Service with absolutely no response. After looking at other reviews from Cuisinart customers (many of their coffee makers catch fire - no recall from Cuisinart), I have decided not to purchase any Cuisinart products again.

Jan 09, 2012
Rating
starstar
Below Average Longevity
by: Scott

Overall this coffee maker was well below standard for something with the Cuisinart name. The cleaner reminder function went out after the 2nd time we used it. The grate on the bottom of the maker completely rusted through in less than a year. Today it gave up the ghost completely. I am very suspect of Cuisinart after this experience.

Dec 31, 2011
Rating
star
I will never buy a cuisinart coffeemaker again...
by: Anonymous

Never. Very difficult to fill with water & coffee comes out like a trickle from the pot. Coffee does not stay "hot", it stays warm in the thermal carafe. It's hot for about the first hour after brewing. Sometimes coffee overflows from the grounds basket & it is a total mess to try to clean as coffee grounds get into the water reservoir & ruin the filter. This coffee maker is hard to clean & keep clean - you have to wipe the lid after every use. The coffee is not great, not bad, but not great. Going back to Braun...

Mar 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
dependable and easy to clean
by: Anonymous

We bought our Cusinart Classic Thermal coffee maker (DCC-1150 Series) at Bed, Bath & Beyond sixteen months ago and absolutely love it! We bought it to replace an eight cup Mr. Coffee unit with a glass carafe that just didn’t make hot coffee, let alone keep it warm.

What attracted us to the Cusinart unit was the stainless steel thermal carafe to keep the coffee hot and the timer to start our coffee each morning. The price for the unit was right in line with similar units but offered the advantage of the stainless steel carafe with a dependable brand.

It makes up to 10 cups and has worked like a charm from day one. The thermal carafe truly keeps the coffee warm up to 3 hours after brewing. When we entertain we can remove the carafe from the coffee maker and keep it on the dining room table and it retains the coffees temperature very well! It is very easy to clean, either by hand washing or by putting the carafe and filter piece in our dishwasher. It has an attractive look and blends very well into our kitchen.

I have no fears of breaking the carafe or spilling coffee when we pour it as it is sealed with a screw on top versus a lid and doesn‘t drip. The unit itself has a clock, timed start and self-cleaning feature which is a must! It also has a water filter though with our local water this isn’t much of a concern.

The only drawback we have is when it comes to filling the water. The way the unit is designed it is a bit awkward to fill the needed amount of water as the top lid impedes on emptying the full carafe of water into the reservoir. Often it takes two trips to the sink to fill the coffee maker beyond six cups, but overall the benefits of this coffee maker outweigh this small inconvenience.

We would highly recommend this Cusinart coffee maker as it makes great coffee while being dependable, easy to clean, keeps coffee hot and looks great in the kitchen!

Mar 10, 2010
Rating
starstar
stopped working after two years
by: Richard Schauseil

Serial Number: 70726

The coffee maker just stopped working December, 2009. The power supply from the wall receptacle tests as good but there is no power in the coffee maker. It was only 2 years old.

Jan 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
clean light
by: Anonymous

I also have the "clean" light problem. Even after 3-4 cycles with the vinegar/water solution it will not go out or reset.
Really would like to know if anyone can help with this problem

Dec 01, 2009
Rating
starstar
clean light
by: Anonymous

Really liked this coffee maker for about 6 months and then the cleaning light signal started. We cleaned it per instructions, but after a few brewing cycles, the light came back on. Unit doesn't work very well with the light on. Have cleaned repeatedly . I think there is a problem with the software. The only way to brew whenever we wish, is to brew and unplug the unit. Leave it unplugged for an hour or so, and the light goes off. Keep the power on, and the cleaning light will come on and mess up your brewing. I thought buying a quality, name brand coffee maker would give us much longer service than this. I guess we will go back to the $15 Mr. Coffee and pour it into the carafe after brewing...no electrical parts on the carafe to screw up.

Sep 11, 2009
Rating
starstar
Leaks!
by: Anonymous

I've had this coffee pot for less than a year and just recently it's started leaking all over the counter top. I believe this has to do with the lid of the carafe and it slowing down the drip process. It's been frustrating and my only option is to either send the entire unit back to the company or replace the carafe. I refuse to purchase an entire coffee maker since it still brews fine. I've yet to find a coffee maker that will last, at least for more than 1 year!

Sep 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
clean light
by: Anonymous

I loved this when I bought it but now the clean light starts blinking every week, I clean the pot and it still stays on. I run vinegar and water thru it 2-3 times and the light still blinks. It is getting to be annoying. Any suggestions?

Aug 25, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
blinking light
by: Anonymous

We like our coffeemaker very much. We also had the blinking light problem. After cleaning it several times, the light still did not go out. By process of elimination, we discovered we needed to also replace the charcoal filter - it is discussed in the book but in a different place from the cleaning - should be in the cleaning section. That has corrected the blinking light. They can be purchased at Bed, Bath and Beyond or Lowes and I think it's suggested to replace every 6 months or so.

Jul 22, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
cleaning, blinking light
by: Anonymous

I have the same problem with the blinking light after cleaning. If I unplug it after cleaning, it will stay of for a brief time but starts back. This is after I've put it through the cleaning process twice. Maybe this is a malfunction - not sure. But I also am very satisfied with the coffeemaker.

Jul 18, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Water filter holder
by: Anonymous

I believe you are refuring to the water filter holder(there is a little basket at the bottom of the stick)on the left side of this coffeemaker. The water gage is on the right side.

I really like this coffermaker as well, although everytime I put it through the cleaning cycle, I have a problem getting the blinking light to stop blinking. I am sure there is a simple step that I am omiting, but I keep going through the steps and it is still blinking. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

May 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cuisinart coffee Maker problems.
by: Anonymous

I still cant figure out what the water level stick is for on the left side, or how to measure the amount of water to put in. Do you keep the stick in there? Can some one "fill" me in!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Cuisinart Coffee Maker Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page