logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Continental Coffee Maker - Mfr. model #CE23611

We aren't avid coffee drinkers in this house so we decided that we didn't need an expensive coffee maker. We got what we paid for. This thing is a real piece of junk. My husband and I were very unhappy with almost everything about this machine.


The design is more than flawed. Even with top of the line filters and coffee, the coffee comes out terrible. We've tried to not follow the cup measurement readings on the machine as we found them considerably off. But even then, the coffee never seems to come out a consistent taste and texture. I wasn't happy with the instruction booklet either. The directions were very vague and not meant for someone who is not an expert in coffee making.

There are no fancy options associated with this machine. It is bare bones and that may be an understatement. The burner gets too hot too fast and burns the coffee quicker than we can drink it. The place where you pour the measured water is totally inaccessible and therefore we end up pouring more water on the counter than in the machine itself.

The coffee sputters out of the machine at the drip point and will burn you if you're standing too close. Not a machine to have if you have small children wandering the kitchen. The plug is so short that there is no hope of moving it away from the plug, making it very inconvenient if you have any thing else on your counter.

We ended up breaking the coffee pot when my husband hit it just right on the corner of the dishwasher and spent almost exactly the same price just to get another coffee pot that would fit on the badly designed burner. All in all, we were not happy or satisfied with this machine and I would not recommend this machine to anyone else.

Comments for Continental Coffee Maker - Mfr. model #CE23611

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 14, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
burner problems
by: Elaine McCabe

I have read the reviews and agree with most of them, that it doesn't keep the coffee hot for any length of time. Also, my biggest complaint is the heating plate has bubbled terribly. I thought it was somehow burnt on coffee, although I couldn't understand how the coffee got on the warming plate. I attempted to clean it and a bunch of black crumbly stuff came off. I am looking to replace it but have not found
an affordable one that will go under my cabinet.
The whole top of most coffee makers lift up so you can put the water in and that is inconvenient for me. So, I'm still looking. My last coffee maker I bought for $10.00 dollars, made the best coffee and I had it for several years. Wished I'd bought a
back-up.

Feb 26, 2012
Rating
star
SMELL
by: Anonymous

HOW DO YOU GO ABOUT GETTING THE PLASTIC SMELL OUT?
THE WORST COFFEE MAKER I HAVE EVER OWNED.

Feb 19, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Coffee Maker
by: Anonymous

We just got this pot, after our Krups finally broke. We purchased a Krup replacement but they must have changed manufacturers since we bought our last one, 15 years ago, because it made lousy coffee and took forever to do it. The Continental was only $11 so I figured I didn't have much to lose. It made the coffee quickly and the coffee is excellent. Our pot stayed hot but the coffee didn't burn at all. It is a very basic coffee maker. On/off switch, and that is it. The filter basket is a bit awkward to get in and out but the water reservoir is easily accessible and the pot does not drip when you pour a cup. We are thrilled and I'm going to get another one for back-up.

Jan 27, 2012
Rating
star
Really bad coffee maker
by: Anonymous

We bought this coffee maker because our Black & Decker broke. What a mistake. I told my husband not to spend a lot of money and boy did he take me
literally. It was 18.99 not to cheap as my Black & Decker was only a 19.99 and a way better coffee maker. The CONTINENTAL ELECTRIC get's to hot while making the coffee and doesn't keep the coffee hot enough once it is brewed. The cord is extremely short. The coffee filter comes out with the pot if you left it too high. The water spills on the counter while pouring the water in the back; so pour it slowly. I can't wait till this coffee maker breaks. I'm going to buy a new one today. I tried to find a web site to make a complaint to the makers; but couldn't find one. (Now I know why). Lousy coffee maker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Aug 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Just started drinking
by: Anonymous

hello. We have used this coffee maker for a year now. It makes coffee faster than any other coffee maker I've ever seen. It is filterless, has a perfect size opening for filling with water, no unnecessary parts or wasted space, and the cord is pretty long but not freakishly. Contrary to the speed of brewage, this coffee actually tastes better than any coffee makers i have tried, which is why i started making coffee at home a year ago. These other commenters should have kept their receipt and tried another one! Thanks Continental

Jun 30, 2011
Rating
star
coffee maker bad
by: Anonymous

i got this coffee maker about 3wks ago and i did not save reciept but after the coffee is made and it sets a while the coffee is cold. I made a pot and drank one cup about 10mins later i go get another and the pot is barely warm and the coffee is cold i hate cold coffee i have to heat cup in microwave i don't need a pot if it is going to be cold

Jun 27, 2011
Rating
star
coffee maker bad
by:

coffee maker dosen't stay hot after coffee is made

Mar 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The Best Economy Pot
by: Anonymous

Several years ago, I think about 15-20, my husband started using the continental coffee maker. It is plain, simple, don't have all the fancy unneeded gagets, which cost a lot more money, with the same taste. I use 2 bottles of bottled water as our water isn't fit to drink. I use one scope of coffee. It is just a bit heaped. I would not own another coffee pot other than this one unless they quit making them. I think what the couple failed to do is get the correct measure of coffee/water. I don't even like coffee myself but I make it & it appears I do a pretty good job.
Very satisfied with purchases
God Bless & keep you safe.

Nov 01, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I like mine
by: Anonymous

I purchased one at Big Lots and it has worked perfect for about 5 years! I love it.

Apr 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Question about comment
by: Bob in FL

1: Why did you put the coffee pot in the dishwasher? They should be washed by hand.
2: Since this coffee pot was so terrible...Why would you spend the same number of dollars to purchase a new caraffe to replace the broken caraffe your husband broke in the dishwasher? Simple logic would tell you to throw out the rest of the coffeemaker and purchase a different, more suitable moded for your family. Why throw good money after bad?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page