logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Chefmate 12 cup coffee maker


(San Diego, CA)

I bought this coffee maker a couple of months ago at Target. Its regular price is $19.99 but it's often on sale for 50 to 75% off, so try and grab it during a sale.


Pros:


1. Cheap, safe, reliable. I believe the whole unit is cheaper than buying a carafe for one of the more fancy coffee makers out there.
2. No trouble in using it so far - for this price, I'd be happy if it lasted about a year with no issues.
3. Can be used for Tea - Just place 2 tea bags in the place where you normally place coffee. Beautifully brewed tea flows into the carafe!

Cons:


1. The cup capacity indicator is skewed - it shows 2 cups when I put in one cup of water - you got to learn to add some extra water.

2. The filter cone is slightly different from the standard size coffee filters - so you might find some spillage in the cone if you forget to align the filter properly.

3. The carafe has a weak handle - I have to tighten a screw from time to time to prevent the handle from slipping off - this might not be such a good idea if you're presenting it to people who might drop it.

I have not seen this particular coffee maker in all stores.

You can get one in Target for sure, but if there isn't a Target near where you live, probably find one on Amazon or Ebay.

Comments for Chefmate 12 cup coffee maker

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 27, 2014
Rating
star
Negative ten stars NEW
by: Pigbtin Mad

It's made in China of course. I did not know that until after I paid $300 for this garbage that started acting up after only a few months. It overflowed because the carafe was not aligned "just perfect." It was all down hill fro there. It then stopped brewing the full number of cups of coffee. After two years, I believe it is finally finished.

At this price, it should have lasted several years at least.

The Viking name is tarnished for me and I would never buy anything from them again. Only reason I paid this ridiculous price is I thought I would be getting quality and longevity. I would have been better off wit a $39 model.

I cannot trash this enough. 30 people hate it and only one or two think it is a good product. Either they work for Viking or they were very lucky not to get a lemon.

Viking should replace each and every one of these pieces of garbage. Clearly an EPIC FAIL>

Aug 27, 2014
Rating
star
Negative ten stars NEW
by: Pigbtin Mad

It's made in China of course. I did not know that until after I paid $300 for this garbage that started acting up after only a few months. It overflowed because the carafe was not aligned "just perfect." It was all down hill fro there. It then stopped brewing the full number of cups of coffee. After two years, I believe it is finally finished.

At this price, it should have lasted several years at least.

The Viking name is tarnished for me and I would never buy anything from them again. Only reason I paid this ridiculous price is I thought I would be getting quality and longevity. I would have been better off wit a $39 model.

I cannot trash this enough. 30 people hate it and only one or two think it is a good product. Either they work for Viking or they were very lucky not to get a lemon.

Viking should replace each and every one of these pieces of garbage. Clearly an EPIC FAIL>

Aug 14, 2014
Rating
star
Piece of crap NEW
by: Anonymous

Piece of crap bought 2 in less than four months at the dollar store. They don't sell it there anymore. Plus. cant return or get hold of company.
No address to write to and no telephone number to call. This is not listed because they knew they would be flooded with complaints. Great stuff! wow where is the Better.B.B. asleep with all this junk on the market!!!!!! aaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrggggggggggg!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jul 24, 2013
Rating
star
Junk Waste of Your Money
by: Anonymous

I purchased this coffee maker and return it for replacement 3 times in one month. Finally had to get money back. This is a waste of your hard earn cash. DO NOT BUY!

Jul 13, 2013
Rating
star
Used Less than a month
by: Anonymous

Bought at Target. Lasted a few weeks then quit. Light on, no coffee flowing through.

Nov 07, 2012
Rating
star
bad on/off switch
by: carol restivo

Only had this coffeemaker a few weeks when the switch started acting up, It wouldn't shut off and I almost burned my countertop. Did burn some coffee and if I hadn't come upon it when I did it would have burned more than that.

Oct 03, 2012
Rating
star
Switch is bad
by: Anonymous

Bought this only 1 week ago and made about 5 pots of coffee when it messed up..it made coffee but you could not shut it off by the switch took it apart and the switch was burnt!!!!Do not buy this coffee pot it is a fire hazzard and when it burns down someone's house cause they forgot to turn it off then target will doe something about taking it off there shelfs...I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER ONE

Aug 24, 2012
Rating
star
Heat
by: Anonymous

I bought this and I am sorry I did. This coffee maker gets really hot on outside bottom. I burnt my counter from it. I had to put a glass cutting board under it until I purchase another one. It's a hazard.

Aug 21, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best purchase for the dollar in years.
by: Betty

We bought a 12 cup Chefmate a few years ago and use it daily. It is the only one we have. The water area is wide and easy to access The coffee basket has stayed white inside in comparison to others that we have had.And we have always emptied the grounds when the cycle is completed. Did the Con's read the directions?
Perhaps the Pro's are like me. I would not have seen this sight except that I forgot where we bought it and was looking to see who sells them.

Aug 10, 2012
Rating
star
Target IGNORES complaint about Chefmate Coffeemaker
by: Anonymous

No answer from Target.com, or Targets's Facebook page or Corporate in Dayton. How rude.

Buy your back-to-school and Christmas gifts somewhere else.

Jun 29, 2012
Rating
star
Fix available but maybe not worth it
by: NotACoffeeDrinkerButMarriedToOne

Same problem as almost everyone here- light comes on but no hot coffee comes out. There's a thermal cutoff fuse next to the heating coil that's blown. The question is, why did it blow? Will it blow again? Will my house explode?

As the Direct TV ad says, don't have your house explode! Buy a real coffee maker is my advice.

Jun 14, 2012
Rating
star
Crap, Poop, They should be ashamed!
by: Anonymous

Total Crap! Now....I'm in need of coffee. This burned out after 2 days of using. What a piece of POOP!

Jun 09, 2012
Rating
star
**BEWARE**
by: Melinda from Texas

I had this coffee maker for less than a month and it stopped working. I'm definitely never buying anything from Chef Mate again!!!

Jun 09, 2012
Rating
star
Terrible waste of money
by: froggyalley

Element heats up but water stopped flowing through heating element...no coffee for me. Failed after less than a month of use. Not at all happy. Not worth the hassle to return and definitely not worth the hassle to repair. I'd be afraid of a fire! No more Chefmate coffeemakers for me!

Jun 09, 2012
Rating
star
THIS COFFEE MAKER IS JUNK
by: Junk Detector

THIS COFFEE MAKER IS JUNK - CHEFMATE 12 cup coffee maker. Very cheap. Not durable. Not really repairable. It may fail after 1 or 2 pots of coffee. Construction is cheap. I inherited the pot after it quit. I fixed a broken plastic post by drilling it out and putting a machine screw through it. It lasted a few months. POOR construction. The wire connections may heat up and melt the plastic base.

DEAR Target Corporation and others: Please do not sell this unit. It is a waste of time and causes ill will among your customers.

CONSUMERS: Please don't buy this unit!

Jun 08, 2012
Rating
star
Glas pot broke?
by: Anonymous

The reason you cant find a replacement glass pot for your 12 cup Chefmate coffeemaker that you paid $7-$10 for is that the glass pot would cost you that much. Thats why they dont sell them. If you cant find replacement parts for something beware of it. When I read the manual and it said unplug after every use, there the red flag. No address to write to and no telephone number to call. This is not listed because they knew they would be flooded with complaints.

Jun 02, 2012
Rating
star
Still selling it
by: Anonymous

Water would not flow through - about one month in

Mar 12, 2012
Rating
star
broke in 2 months
by: Anonymous

I purchused this coffee pot thinking I can get use out of it for at least a couple years. No Way!!!! This thing broke in 2 months!!!! Piece of junk!!!

Mar 11, 2012
Rating
star
Totaly a con job
by: Anonymous

.Brought a Chefmate 12 cup last year & stored it for our limey water has us needing replacements at least every 2 or 3 years I wanted one on hand so I wouldn't be without my morning coffee. My Mr. Coffee died and no vinegar wash could revive it. I washed up the Chefmate by running water through it & it worked, so I set it up by adding the water & the coffee grounds to be plugged in the morning. My husband plugged it in. Nothing happened. Went to Target & refund had expired. Asked a manager if I had any recourse & she said to write company but of course there is no address or phone #'s. Seeing the amount of bad, bad experiences Target should take this brand off the shelves or do they enjoy scamming & loseing customers.

Mar 08, 2012
Rating
star
RIP OFF
by: pob

..... mine died after only 3 weeks of use (2 brews/cups per day) and no one to turn to for replacement!

Feb 18, 2012
Rating
star
10 brews
by: Anonymous

Same as many above. Maybe 10 brews. All light, no heat. Buying a cheaper coffee maker should mean basic not broken.

Feb 02, 2012
Rating
star
CHEAPLY made - fragile junky coffee maker
by: Anonymous

Colorado 2/2/2012 - Cheaply made. Poor design. If insulators are not placed and assembled correctly, may melt a plastic post that holds the bar that holds the hot plate against the heater. Also, may have poor push-on connector on heater wire that may over heat and melt wire. Power will not go to heater; light comes on, no coffee! Do not buy this unit.

Jan 27, 2012
Rating
star
worst coffemaker
by: Anonymous

I was given a 12 cup chefmate coffemaker for christmas used twice now it want work. Light comes on but water want go thru.

Jan 24, 2012
Rating
star
Waste of Money
by: coffee lover

Bought this for our small office and used it every Monday-Friday for a grand total of three months before it died. I can only assume that the heating element is broken, because the plate does not get hot and the water does not move through to brew. The light goes on, but that's it. It only cost $10 at Target, so I suppose I got what I paid for, but I would definitely NOT recommend this product.

Jan 17, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
disappointed with Target
by: NLZ

third one that stopped working. light is on but nobody's home. when will I learn? disappointed with Target. wont use their credit card.

Jan 09, 2012
Rating
star
Chefmate coffee pot
by: kimberly hutchison

I got a chefmate 12cup coffee maker for christmas. Its the worste coffee maker ever..after 2weeks it stops working..the light comes on but no water flows through it..i would not recommend wasting your money on this coffee pot..

Jan 08, 2012
Rating
star
Chefmate 12 cup coffee maker
by: Judy F

My daughter bought me the Chefmate 12 cup coffee maker for xmas and used for just a couple of weeks and now nothing, light comes on and no water runs through it.

Jan 01, 2012
Rating
star
Waste of money, thanks China
by: Marty P

Stopped working after 2 weeks. It's typical of the crap that comes from China with American sounding names. Dnt waste your money on this.

Jan 01, 2012
Rating
star
Never Worked
by: A Casey

Hey there - on the way back to Target. We bought the 12 cup coffee maker because of out of town visitors who drink a lot of coffee. Well...we wasted our time cause we may as well have just purchased a glass water pot with a red light. That's all it did: light up and hold water.

Dec 26, 2011
Rating
star
$50 at Farmers
by: Anonymous

This cost $50 at Farmers in NZ! I wish we had read the reviews before we bought it. It stopped working after 4 months, like all of the rest mentioned above.

Dec 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
more than two years without issue
by: Only satisfied user apparently

Apparently, I am the only one with particularly good success. Purchased at Target a couple of years ago for 7 bucks. Still going well. Just got a crack in the carafe and will likely end up with a new coffee maker since replacement carafes cost more than a new unit (although will not likely find one again for $7).

Dec 25, 2011
Rating
star
Ripped off
by: rip off

got this one for xmas, filled water,turned on power ,N O T H I N G happened but the red lite come on, got it from target, made in china, need a coffee pot that works target what the heck, thru away my old one that I had for umpty years and it still worked,not going back to target for any more rip offs

Dec 25, 2011
Rating
star
Ripped off
by: rip off

got this one for xmas, filled water,turned on power ,N O T H I N G happened but the red lite come on, got it from target, made in china, need a coffee pot that works target what the heck, thru away my old one that I had for umpty years and it still worked,not going back to target for any more rip offs

Dec 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Easy Fix
by: Anonymous

1. Go to Target and buy a new one.
2. Place your broken coffee maker in the new box.
3. Return old machine to Target for a full refund.

I just bought another one this morning to replace one which lasted six months. The one before that broke after two months.

Nov 28, 2011
Rating
star
Terrible
by: AM Drinker

I had it for 6 weeks. One morning it stopped brewing. Light was on but it would not start running the water through. This is JUNK... Could also be a fire hazard.

Nov 21, 2011
Rating
star
junk
by: Anonymous

Mine just broke this morning after only one month of use.

Nov 15, 2011
Rating
star
coffee maker
by: Anonymous

used i month and done

Nov 07, 2011
Rating
star
Didn't last more than two months
by: Anonymous

This thing broke less than two months after I got it. I won't buy again.

Nov 06, 2011
Rating
star
recycle bin
by: Anonymous

this unit that got dumped on we consumers needs to be recylced to a land fill,, another Spam rip off,..

Nov 03, 2011
Rating
star
Save your money
by: Mrs Jay White

If it's the coffee maker that is the rate the page, then yes it gets a 1 star. Bought it at Target. My neighbor bought one at the same time, good thing it was only $12. Hers died after only 3 months of use, mine did a nose dive this morning. Thay be CRAP. Guess I have not had my coffee yet this morning.

Oct 28, 2011
Rating
star
crap coffee maker
by: petra

just used it for a month and then not working anymore piece of crap crap crap you people should be so ashamed to sale this junk to us and target should be more a shame to put this in there store..

Oct 17, 2011
Rating
star
Chefmate Coffee Maker
by: Louis Oreamuno

I purchased 2 of these items & both failed to work in about a week. Buy cheap, get cheap!!!

Oct 17, 2011
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

The hot plate on my does not work any longer useless. It worked great to begin with then it took longer and longer to brew now the hot plate won't keep it hot. 3 months of working time. What a piece of junk.

Oct 08, 2011
Rating
star
SAME AS EVERYONE ESLE
by: Anonymous

ONE MONTH AFTER PURCHASE IT WAS USELESS.

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
star
Don't buy this
by: Anonymous

Save your money and buy one with better quality. Mine lasted 10 days. The light turns on but that's the only thing that works...

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
star
Busted.
by: ilovecoffee

Target Chefmate coffee maker is a piece of poop. Had it for four months-just crapped out on us. Same as everyone else. Light is on but plate won't heat up. boo.

Oct 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My luck ran out
by: Mark

Well, I think mine finally gave it up this morning. I was one of the lucky ones: Mine worked great for about a year, then developed an internal leak that slowed the thing down, but it still brewed a great pot - just took longer. This morning it started ok, then it just stopped. I am not going to invest any time or effort in getting it going. I don't think I will push my luck by getting another one, but I do need something new.

Oct 03, 2011
Rating
star
worked 2x then wont turn on
by: Anonymous

Im amazed at how many comments are here - Mine worked for 2days.. I will go into Target today and show tgem rhis page (to tge manager) I doubt it will help but ya never know... Ive never seen such a piece of junk!

Sep 29, 2011
Rating
star
Chef Mate coffee maker is CRAP
by: Anonymous

Bought this one at walmart, same problem, light goes on but it won't brew. Used 2 months. Don't waste your money!!

Sep 27, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of Chinese Junk
by: Anonymous

What do you expect from a Chinese product?

Sep 22, 2011
Rating
star
Chef Mate Coffee Makers.
by: Anonymous

I purchased two of your coffee Makers and within two weeks, your burner plates went out. It is a piece of garbage!!

Sep 21, 2011
Rating
star
CRAP!!!!
by: Upset College Student

Everyone says it all. I wish I would have know about this before hand. Only used it for a month!!! They should really stop making these stupid machines.

Sep 13, 2011
Rating
star
Mine died too
by: Anonymous

Bought it for our Lake House and after two weekends it broke. Taking it back and shopping around for a better one. Bought this one at Target.

Sep 12, 2011
Rating
star
why is Target still selling this?
by: Anonymous

lousy piece of worthless junk - worked no more than 8 times, then quit. I took the bottom off and checked the diodes - one of the two had opened and would not pass current. the heating element was still good. coffee maker diodes are difficult to change because they use brass crimp sleeves to connect the wiring - regular solder cannot handle the load.

all this wasted time an effort for one bad 5 cent part.

Sep 10, 2011
Rating
starstar
its not worth it
by: Ms Dyers

I purchased the chefmate last month from Target one month ago today the pot stopped working the water is still in the pot it will not drip

Sep 08, 2011
Rating
star
Broke after 2 pots
by: Anonymous

Same as the rest. No heat in the coil or on the warmer. Just goes to show you, if something looks too good to be true, it probably is.

Sep 07, 2011
Rating
star
Don't Waste Your Money!
by: Anonymous

Target for $10 and it just died. The light is on but no coffee. Not worth it!

Sep 05, 2011
Rating
star
No coffee
by: Anonymous

It just died like everyone else! No coffee this morning :(

Sep 02, 2011
Rating
star
Just stopped working!
by: Anonymous

Bought it and in a couple weeks it died! awful. No receipt no box ...just one broken coffee maker

Sep 02, 2011
Rating
star
I only used it once!
by: Christa

target should be ashamed of itself for continuing to sell this crap.

Sep 02, 2011
Rating
star
12 cup headache
by: Anonymous

Bought one and it died in one week, traded in for a new one --died in less than one week. Taking it back again and will continue to do so until I get one that works. If we keep sending the chinese crap back to China maybe they'll go broke too.

Aug 28, 2011
Rating
star
DONT BUY
by: Anonymous

Same situation: after about 2 weeks, the light turns on but nothing happens. Returned it, got a new one (we should have kept the receipt, I know), after 3 works it stopped working. Do not buy this awful product that should not be sold. A terrible product; the people who made it should be ashamed of themselves, but they got their ten bucks.

Aug 26, 2011
Rating
star
POS Coffee Maker
by: herosmomk@aol.com

Had it one week and it has just stopped working. Never again.

Aug 24, 2011
Rating
star
Don't waste your money on this
by: alimarch

I bought the coffeemaker at Target June 21st. It stopped working August 22nd. As stated in so many posts I have read this morning on this site and others, the light is on but nothing happens. So...I took the coffeemaker back to Target, exchanged it for another one just like it, brought it home, used it once and this morning, again the light is on but the coffeemaker doesn't work. I got one pot of coffee made yesterday and now it has already stopped working. You have to be kidding!!!!

An interesting note - there isn't any kind of phone number or contact information anywhere on the box or on in the paperwork/booklet that comes with the coffeemaker. You can't even contact anyone to tell them that the product has given you problems. I will again go without coffee this morning, as I did on the 22nd (today is the 24th!!!), box up the un-coffeemaker, throw it in the car, drive to Target, go in to customer service, explain to them what happened and buy another coffeemaker by another company - any other company. You will also notice Target has rows and rows of electric products from Chefmate lining their shelves. I wouldn't buy anything else produced by this company and I think Target needs to divest itself of this line before it causes irreparable harm to their reputation.

Aug 05, 2011
Rating
starstar
It's good while it works!
by: HotnHouston

I am on my second coffee maker, and this one just stopped working! I have had it for a month and it won't get hot and brew!!!!

The first pot cracked,I figured it was my fault so I bought another one.No wonder Target always has this product on sale. I think it is very deceiving to sale an item they know is going to stop working!!!! I guess the old adage is correct, "you get what you pay for"!

Aug 03, 2011
Rating
star
Chefmate is CRAP
by: Anonymous

my roommate has bought this coffee maker and it stopped working so he went and bought another one the same one and that also broke within the month and then he took that second one back to target and exchanged it for the exact same one in the hopes that we are just having bad luck but nope this third exact same brand coffee maker stopped working again within 3 weeks, every single time it breaks down the light turns on but nothing happens. PEICE of JUNK

Aug 03, 2011
Rating
star
Target shouldn't sell this product
by: Kris

Bought my chefmate at Target on July 18th of this year. When I turned it on this morning the light came on, but no coffee. I will be returning this piece of junk to Target this evening.

Aug 01, 2011
Rating
star
cant believe this.
by: dgudgen@gmail.com

i also bought mine at target. they gave me a bogus number to call. think im gona star with them till we can get this issue solved. may they should do a recall on this coffee maker.

Aug 01, 2011
Rating
star
Biggest Waste of Money Ever
by: Anonymous

If there was such a rating as a minus star, this rotten coffemaker would earn it! I bought this brand at Target, and used it 5 times. Turned it on one morning, and like everyone else, had a red light but no heat or brewing. So, I took it back and got another one. This one lasted only TWO uses, and once again it's dead. Did anyone else notice there there is no customer service number listed in the user's manual? Wonder why.......

Jul 14, 2011
Rating
star
same problems.
by: dgudgen@gmail.com

it only lasted a few weeks. then when i really wanted a cup of coffee it laughs at me with its little red light and cold burner. what a day!

Jul 05, 2011
Rating
star
piece of junk
by: Anonymous

bought this coffee maker 6 days ago - worked great for the first 5 - then it just died - the red light went on - however no water brewed for the coffee - plus the heating plate never warmed either - disposable junk!! Pay the extra money and get a reliable machine!

Jun 23, 2011
Rating
star
same problem
by: Anonymous

worked great for 3 weeks, then i go to make my morning coffee, red light comes on but nothing else. It's just garbage and if it is such a wide spread problem then they should be taken off the market.

Jun 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
I guess we were lucky
by: Anonymous

Ours worked flawlessly for at least a year and now is still working, although not flawlessly. It developed an internal leak so hot water drips back into the tank, resulting in a longer time required to brew a pot of coffee, but it still works. One big plus was this coffeemaker is the first of any kind I have owned that has a very hot plate that actually keeps the coffee hot.

For the $9.99 we paid, we have gotten more use out of it then many much more expensive coffee makers that died in the past.

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
star
2 coffe makers only last 1 month
by: iraidaaugusto

my son purchased a chefmate coffemaker in walmart about 2 months ago and after l month it stopped working then he bought another one and now it does't work the model number is cm-1250 i am very annoyed because we use it so he can take coffee to work he is a truck driver and we can't affored to keep buying coffe makers i could understand one but 2 something is wrong we through out the box and the recipt but i think we should be compensated for the coffee makers my email is iraidaaugusto@yahoo.com i am expecting an answer. thank you

Jun 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A Fix
by: Anonymous

My cheapo Chefmate stopped working too after a short usage. I finally got around to seeing what the problem was. It turns out it's a fuse. You have to dig into the bottom of the maker, with the unit unplugged of course. With the use of a simple ohmmeter you can check which component is bad. Two of them look similar. The fuse doesn't look like any fuse I've seen. It looks more like a resistor. You have to snip the thing at both ends. I took mind to Radio Shack and they matched it perfectly. To attach it I wrapped the ends around the existing wires and coated the connections with liquid tape. Works fine now.

Jun 03, 2011
Rating
star
What Happened?
by: Coffee Lover

Our office bought this pot 3 weeks ago at Target. It brews well but its life span was 3weeks 1 day.
This morning turned it on the light goes on, everything is in its place correctly and yes it has water in it - but it is NOT brewing.
What a way to start a beautiful sunny Friday Morning, no aroma of fresh brewed coffee.
So I am told you get what you pay for.........

May 26, 2011
Rating
star
Cheapest Coffee Maker Ever
by: Antonine

A co-worker bought this coffee maker in the local Target to replace a different brand that was accidentally damaged. This coffee maker ONLY lasted one brew so it wills the 'all-time crappiest coffee maker award'. It's going back for a refund.

It has the same problem many described - power lights up but the burner it dead cold. I'm positive that it's just a bad thermal switch but it's not even worth the time or honor to fix it.

Don't buy it. Never say you weren't warned.

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
Only lasted a year
by: Anonymous

We got this coffee maker a year ago from Target. Recently, as my husband was adding water to the reservoir, he saw electrical sparks flash, a bang, and water flooded out onto the counter. We don't know what exactly happened, but since water and electricity don't mix, we threw it out and got a different brand coffee maker. We paid only $11 including tax for the Chefmate, so I guess we got what we paid for.

May 06, 2011
Rating
star
2 weeks - broken! no brew, no warmer, only red light works
by: Anonymous

Well, thought I had a great deal. This Chefmate coffee maker was on sale at Target for $7. I guess it did save me from going to Starbucks and spending $2 for a plain cup of coffee every day for those 2 weeks. But what a bummer. I hate to waste even 7 dollars!

Yesterday my coffee was cold, even though the red light was on. This morning, it wouldn't even turn on the brew mechanism.

I threw away the box, and I refuse to buy another Chefmate.

May 06, 2011
Rating
star
same story
by: Anonymous

the exact same problem happened to me. at about 3.5 months, the maker stopped brewing and the hotplate is dead. but the little light does still work! what a coincidence that target returns policy is 90 days.

May 06, 2011
Rating
star
3 months and out
by: DB

For what it's worth, I bought this same model and after 3 months, it quit on me. It won't brew and the hotplate won't heat, but the little red light still works.

Apr 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Probably worth a try
by: Anonymous

If you have hard water like we do in the midwest you might try pouring some vinegar and water in the coffee maker and let it sit over night. The next morning empty the maker and run a couple of cycles of plain water through the thing, assuming the little pump works. If that doesn't work there's a drip coffee maker cleaner on the market which is a stronger acid than vinegar. Follow the directions.

Apr 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mine has been great!
by: Anonymous

I came onto this site to read reviews about another one. I'm switching to an automatic coffee maker. But my Chefmate lasted me years with no problems at all. Mine must have been made on one of the good days in the Chefmate plant. I think I am switching to a Hamilton Beach programable for $15. I've seen nothing but great reviews so far.

Apr 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Pot for the Price
by: Anonymous

I bought this pot about 10 months ago for my office. It was on sale at Target for about $7. I use it every day and have had no issues with it. It is a simple, basic pot without any extra gadgets. It has served me well.

Apr 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I too mourn the loss of a good friend.
by: Coffee Drunkard

In my state of sadness and loss I forgot the key element in keeping the longevity of the Great and Powerful Chefmate I. We....ok it's my responsibility, I NEVER, repeat, NEVER, washed the coffee pot. There is some great unknown correlation between coffee film and Chefmate reliability. All Hail the Chefmate!!!

Apr 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I too mourn the loss of a good friend.
by: Coffee Drunkard

Today the office lost a good friend. Chefmate I has died. Purchased on the date 06.09.10 and in daily use until today 04.15.11. Original purchase price of $9.26. A few weeks after Chefmate I was purchased, my boss found it on sale at Target for $6.78...thinking he had found such a deal he purchased the second one, now named Chefmate II, to be next in line of succession. Well today is that day, but Chefmate I did not go out without a fight, he huffed and he puffed and brewed that last pot before smelling like a tire fire. We too are thinking of a Viking funeral, the only appropriate way a warrior of this magnitude should go out...LONG LIVE CHEFMATE I!!! HAIL THE NEW EMPEROR, CHEFMATE II!!!!

Apr 08, 2011
Rating
star
No Luck
by: Anonymous

I have had nothing but bad luck with this particular coffee maker. I bought one and it worked great for the first brewing. The next morning I went to make coffee and it not siphon water through or heat. Since it was still brand new, I took it back to Target and exchenged it for another just like it. It has worked for a little longer than the first one, however, it has just quit. I have learned my lesson now and will not try to buy one so cheap again. I will go for the middle price one that tends to last a few years.

Mar 27, 2011
Rating
starstar
MINE WORKS GREAT!
by: Anonymous

i love this coffee maker i hv had absolutely no problems until today. i actually found this website because the carafe broke..it slipped while i was cleaning and shattered. other than tht it was worth way more than the $7 i payed for it..

Mar 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Sad Day
by: Anonymous

I got this coffee maker as a gift for x-mas. It just now, today, on 3-27-11 died. Just like all the other comments. Light comes on but nothing happens. Used almost daily and even multiple times a day. Never had much of the other problems. Everything looks normal but it Just wont work. Average life of this machine works out to about 3months. what a waste.

Mar 21, 2011
Rating
star
not good at all!
by: shwan

this coffee maker does not work at all dont buy it.

Mar 20, 2011
Rating
star
junk
by: Anonymous

absolute junk, first one died after 4 months Target replaced it, second one lasted 4 months, Target refused to replace it-- said to write to manufacturer---no contact info with users manual


Mar 20, 2011
Rating
star
This machine should NOT be on store shelves
by: Joe T.

I purchased this coffee maker on 3/9/11 as a desperation replacement for basic daily home use. I inspected the model in the store (Southern NJ area Target), saw how cheaply it was constructed and how fragile it would be to clean and maintain. Still, for $10 I was not expecting much more than that.

I woke up this morning (3/20/11) and made my daily beeline to the kitchen for coffee. Loaded the machine with spring water and gourmet coffee for a fresh pot. Turned it on, orange "on" light lit, but nothing happened. I gently checked each clasp and latch on the machine and even carefully carried it (full) around the kitchen so I could try it in two more wall outlets. Same result each time: power indicator lights, nothing happens.

Frankly, I probably lost more money on the wasted spring water and fresh grounds than I did on the machine. Still, even the cheapest coffee maker that is properly cared for should last well beyond 11 days!! Now I have to drive to/from store to return it, so I will almost certainly spend in gas what I did on the machine equaling one humongously frustrating wash.

To say the least, it is disheartening to know that products such as this one can sneak into the American stream of commerce. If you're reading this before purchasing, I hope my lesson will save you the trouble. DON'T BUY THIS MACHINE!

Mar 18, 2011
Rating
star
Didn't plan to give up coffee for Lent
by: Anonymous

The other comments make me feel better about mine lasting for nearly three months before it stopped working.

Mar 15, 2011
Rating
star
Bad Bad Bad!! Boo! No good maker
by: Brenda

Unfortunately..I didn't read the comments before my purchase. I also bought mine from Target. VERY POOR workmanship! I worked for about 8 times(and I only make once daily) I know you normally "get what you pay for" so I just was looking for maybe a year... or 6 mos...but MORE than a week!! With all the comments here, I think this should be pulled off the market!! DON'T waste your money!! It is not worth anything>> even a give a way!

Mar 09, 2011
Rating
star
worst coffee brewer ever
by: Amodra

We did not have the opportunity to purchase the cone shaped brewer which got good reviews. The other one does not complete the brew cycle when you try to brew over 4 cups. The water hangs up in the filter. Also the brewed coffee is not hot. It is not worth any amount of money. My time is more valuable than that.

Mar 06, 2011
Rating
star
No cone Shaped Filters
by: Anonymous

Don't think the last comment(s) were the same coffee maker since mine did not have cone shaped filters. My coffee maker is dangerous

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best Coffee !!!
by: Anonymous

I purchased this Chefmate coffeemaker approx.2 years ago.It uses a cone shaped filter.I have used many,many coffee makers over the years.This is by far the best one that I have ever bought.It was cheap but it makes the best cup of coffee.I believe it is because of its cone shape filter system.I tried to find another one at Targot but they must have stopped selling them.I have looked everywhere for another one.The one I have now is worn out.It was well worth the money I paid for it at Targot.I have 3 more coffee makers in inventory hidden in my kitchen.I tried to use the others and the coffee was terrible.With the Chefmate brand you could just smell the wonderful aroma of the coffee throughout the house.Does anyone know where I can find another cone shaped filtered one? When I purchased this one they had 2 types.They had the regular shaped ones and the cone shaped.Please let me know if you know where I can find another one.

Feb 23, 2011
Rating
star
DITTO, DITTO
by: SA

What a piece of crap it should be taken off the shelves for good....talk about re-calling humphh, kill it. But yeah, the little red button hangs on and that's it, hot plate (or should I say cold plate) it is cold dead.

Don't buy it....TARGET GET RID OF IT....

Feb 19, 2011
Rating
star
really junk
by: Anonymous

was given as a christmas gift and just brought it out one pot later its broken. The trash can is to good for this. put in for 12 cups get 4-8 stops brewing when it wants really bad coffee. will bring out my old faithful black and decker

Feb 19, 2011
Rating
star
worthless
by: No coffee in Tempe

I bought mine at Target and it lasted for two pots. Red light comes on but nothing happens. Total piece of garbage.

Feb 16, 2011
Rating
star
garbage
by: Coffeless in Chg

Mine just died after one month....can't believe it :(...should have spent the extra $$ and I would have had my coffee right now.

Jan 31, 2011
Rating
star
DON'T BUY THE POT
by: OH NO

What a piece of junk ! Lasted 1 month. The red light is still beautiful but everything else is not working. They should take it off the shelf and send it back to China. PAERIE

Jan 31, 2011
Rating
star
junk
by: Anonymous

it broke after 1 week. a morning without coffee is no good. this product is junk.

Jan 21, 2011
Rating
star
No good coffee maker
by: Anonymous

I bought this chefmate coffee maker in December a week before christmas,and i recently just decided to use it,I got two cups of coffee out of it and now it doesn't work,The rd light comes on but it doesn't brew or get hot.I will never buy this product again.Should have got a much more expensive one.

Jan 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
All Good on my Front for a Cheap Coffee Maker
by: Anonymous

Purchased the Model CMCM12W about 6 or 7 years ago at Target (2 or 1 deal for $10.00). The glass used for the pot is much thinner than Mr. Coffee's. Pot 1 broke within 4mo due to slightly hitting it on the sink. Replacement cost $12.00 and it broke 5 days ago the same way as the 1st one; replaced it with the pot from the 2nd unit I purchased 7 years ago and which has not been used yet. The On/Off switch fell off about 8 months ago. I've got it schotch taped back up to the contact and it's working just fine. I spent a total of $22.00 for 2 Coffe Makers in 7 years and I still have a spare (except for he carafe). So all in all, so far so good.

Jan 10, 2011
Rating
star
Hazardous
by: Anonymous

If you try to make a second pot of coffee while the inside is still hot, a burst of steam comes rushing out when you open the lid. It just so happens that it aims right at the chest or face if a person is shorter. I think this coffee maker should be recalled.

Jan 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
YePee
by: ARobroynonymous

Yepee, my coffee maker lasted through 4 pots. Maybe
its made for Chinese Tea??

Jan 09, 2011
Rating
star
Told Ya So!!
by: Anonymous

...In exactly 30 days from purchase at Target, the hot plate went cold. We had read all the warnings from other customers, but for $6.99, thought we'd roll the dice..and lost!! That would be Model CM-1250 (Made in China)...

Jan 04, 2011
Rating
star
Bad coffee maker
by: Linda

I am on my 3rd Chefmate coffee maker, first one sparked, sendond one made one pot the went dead, third one made one pot and when I went back to pour my second cup it was stone cold. Tried tomake another pot but the red light came on but did not brew...Done with Chefmate.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
What the Chefmate does...
by: Anonymous

Modern Life seems to require Modern Appliances, it's true. But if your Chefmate quits on you, you can execute all its functions yourself, if you're desperate for a coffee fix. Since all that's required to make coffee is fresh grounds and hot water, you CAN make "camp coffee" by putting the grounds in a pot of water and heating it on the stove. Only problem is you will need to separate the coffee from the used grounds. You can use a strainer for this. Or your obstinate Chefmate can still do SOMETHING to help you out here. Put a filter in the machine and pour the coffee straight through.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Quick Fix For Chefmate
by: Anonymous

Your Chefmate "Automatic" Coffee Maker will stop working after an indecently short time, no doubt. The indicator light on the switch will remain reassuringly on, but it won't turn water and grounds into a caffeinated beverage. The problem seems to be in an inside switch that activates that process. You can "help" this switch by opening and re-closing the lid and then pressing on the top at a point about 2/3 the distance from the front, but since you may often have to stand there through the process, the machine is thus rendered a MANUAL coffee maker. Might be easier to get another, but not cheaper. Your call. :-)

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
star
Return to Target
by: Anonymous

Mine worked for about a month, lights up but that's all, brought it back to Target, no receipt or box and they gave me a gift card for my $7 plus tax.

Hope this helps.

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
star
cheap
by: Ilene Sears

Chefmate: Ours was cheap and worked fine for 7 days--then it died!!

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
star
crappy pot
by: Anonymous

i am on my second Chefmate coffee pot only because I can't afford to purchase another one. My first pot lasted two months (stopped brewing) & my second one lasted 3 months (stopped brewing) This will be the last one. I plan to purchase a Hamilton Beach or something like that.

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
star
Pice of S*it
by: Dave

I have had it for 6 months and now it just quit on me. Doesn't want to heat up or make coffee. Stay away from this coffee maker.

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
star
Same Story
by: Anonymous

Same Story - worked for a few days, got a couple of uses out of it, red light comes on but nothing happens.

Nov 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
need new carafe
by: Sandy

WHY CAN NOT TARGET GIVE THEIR CUSTOMER THE MAKER OF THE CARAFE. WHEN IT BRAKES I HAVE NOT SEEN ANY MANUFACTURER THAT SELLS THEM!!!!!!!

Nov 03, 2010
Rating
star
Quit working after 2 brews and 4 days
by: Anonymous

This coffee maker is horrible. I got 2 pots of coffee out of it in 4 days before it quit working. The $10 I spent on this could have purchased 4-5 cups at Starbucks. What a waste. And, there seems to be no way to contact the manufaturer.

Oct 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Wal Mart is junk too
by: Anonymous

My Chefmate is great. I broke the carafe on it, but otherwise I have had no problems. The problem is not Target- the problem is cheap Chinese made goods that have taken over our stores in general. Wal Mart has worse quality goods than Target and I would rather support Target than Walmart.

Oct 25, 2010
Rating
star
Bad fuse
by: Anonymous

After about a month of use, the light comes on, and nothing happens. I checked with a ohm meter and it turns out the fuse had blown. It has to be a defect because a lot of people are complaining about it. The fuse is to small. Its a factory defect.

Oct 03, 2010
Rating
star
Worst Coffee Maker Ever
by: Okie

Lasted 2 months. Red light comee on and nothing else.

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
star
Chefmate CM-1250
by: Ray

Bought brand new from Target and only used twice but the third time all the coffee spilled out from underneath the unit and shorted itself out. What a piece of junk.

Sep 26, 2010
Rating
star
Doesn't Last
by: Jesse

My Chefmate lasted 3 weeks and died.Tim to throw it away. Garbage!

Sep 15, 2010
Rating
star
Busted!
by: TT from CA

The Black & Decker coffee maker I had died after 6 faithfull years of service. I was in Target later that day, and saw the $7 special on the (regularly priced at $16)12 cup chefmate coffee maker. I figured, what the heck? It's only $7. Are you kidding me? I would have been better off purchasing 2 cups of overpriced Starbucks. I used the chefmate coffee maker for less than a month, and this morning it didn't brew. Light comes on, but no perculation, and the hot plate is cold. Not a good way to start your day.

This appliance is a bust - put your $7 toward a Black & Decker!

Aug 16, 2010
Rating
star
Mine Died after 7 uses
by: Anonymous

I bought my Chefmate about a month back, used it about 7 times...i came to the office this morning poored water into the container, turned the button on (light came on) but its not brewing. What a dissapointment. I guess you get what you paid for; it costed me $7.00 plus tax at Target. Dont get this machine!

Aug 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
excellent
by: tom

I never had such a good coffemaker as this one and for just $7. I knew I couldn't expect it to work for live at this price! Unfortunately I broke the caraffee and bought a whole new unit just to replace the caraffee as it was still worse the price! I'm surprized people complain for such a low price coffee maker and expect it to work for live!!!

Jul 23, 2010
Rating
star
black 12 cup Chefmate leeching red dye
by: Anonymous

Bought 12 cup Chefmate black model, and have repeatedly found in the bottom of the water well a pink red liquid:apparently leeching from the black plastic -dangerous to own.

Jul 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best value... three years of use for $7 !!
by: Anonymous

Bought at Target and for three years this has bene plugged in... makin two pots a day and hot water in between for tea.
AMAZING value... our second one. First one lasted almost 4 years for $6.99 !!
Gram them NOW at Target (can only find black ones now...but for the price who cares!

Jul 11, 2010
Rating
star
Attractive price but product does not deliver
by: Anonymous

I bought the Select Brands Chefmate CM-1250 at Target Feb. 17, 2010 for $9.95. I have Stage 3 cancer and the caffeine in coffee literally helps me get out of bed in the morning. It quit working a week ago. Target would not help because it was over 90 days for return. Select Brands would not help.

I truly detest a company that will not stand by its product. Pass the word.

Jul 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Where was it made??
by: RW

My simple 12 cup cheff-mate works just fine and I have been using it steady for over 10 years.
Here is the clincher...mine was made in Mexico. They are now made in China.

Jul 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No problems with mine :)
by: Laura A.

Its crazy reading all these bad reviews, not sure why because i used mine all day every day with no problems, the only reason ive stopped using it is because i broke the carafe and have to find a replacement...otherwise, worked fine for me :)

May 21, 2010
Rating
star
Embrassment
by: Anonymous

I purchased this coffee maker on Tuesday and on Thursday when I used it for the first time, it failed. It stopped working during the first pot and began making a sputtering sound. I had five friends for a luncheon and Bible Study, and I was so disappointed.

After a few minutes of the noise, I opened the top and stirred the watery grounds and more cofee was made. The full 12 cups were perked, but the water and grounds had traveled down the outside of the pot. I poured the cups away from my friends.

Today, (Friday) I decided to clean the pot thoroughly. After cleaning the coffee from many ares of the pot, I filled the carafe with water. I intended to allow the water to flow through the machine, but it no longer works. I, too, get only the red light and nothing else. I am returning this to Target next week to get a refund on this "mistaken deal" and purchase a real coffee maker.

May 06, 2010
Rating
star
horrible
by: Anonymous

this coffee maker is the worst i have ever seen. three times this week it got clogged and doesnt brew. want to throw it throw it out the window.

Apr 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
What???
by: Anonymous

I don't know if the one I had is the same model that everyone is complaining about because I've had mine for over a year. I don't know where it was purchased because my Mother-in-Law bought it some time ago before I knew her and gave it to my husband and I because we needed one and she had 3. The only reason I found this site is because the carafe broke and I was hoping to find a replacement instead of getting a new pot because I loved the one I had.

Apr 03, 2010
Rating
star
garbage for sure
by: AvaRae

I bought it a month ago and it stopped working this morning...going to call the company and see how much of my $19.99 I can get back. Should have a sign on it "Pure Waste Of Your Money"!!!

Mar 29, 2010
Rating
star
you get what you pay for
by: Anonymous

bought this at target for $7, used it 4 times before it quit.

Mar 11, 2010
Rating
star
Defective coffee maker
by: Lorie

We have a Coffee Mate coffee pot that was purchased the day after Thanksgiving and it stopped working a week ago. VERY dissapointing that it stopped brewing after only having for (4) months.

Mar 02, 2010
Rating
star
Very dissatisfied.
by: Anonymous

Bought my chefmate cm-1250 in November,2009.
It has stopped working. Willnot make coffee or burner will not heat. Should have lasted more than 22 months.

Feb 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Really?
by: BigWave

I, as many of you, purchased this coffeemaker at Target on sale for $7. I purchased it with very low expectations, but was surprised when I was only able to make 1 pot of coffee. After that 1 pot of coffee the only thing that worked was the red light. I will never purchase another Chefmate product and will strongly encourage anyone (this includes people I see in the store) to also not buy their garbage products.

Feb 19, 2010
Rating
star
Coffee Mate CM1250
by: Anonymous

Just bought this,threw away packaging, used it 2 times and now it doesn't work! Indicator light goes on but it doesn't do anything!!! This is not right!

Feb 15, 2010
Rating
star
Agree this is a piece of junk
by: Anonymous

Got it at Target during Christmas sale, it lasted 1 month. This company should be out of business for continuing to manufacture such a piece of junk with no regard for customer satisfaction.

Feb 11, 2010
Rating
star
JUNK!!!!!
by: Anonymous

THIS PIECE OF ---- WORKED 3 WEEKS,THEN NOTHING.AND LIKE EVERYONE ELSE,THE RED LIGHT STILL WORKS!I THINK THAT RED LIGHT MEANS---STOP!!!DONT BUY THIS!!

Jan 25, 2010
Rating
star
Not A good buy
by: Anonymous

Got it from a friend as a Chrismas present and on the first pot it quit after makeing 1/2 cup.

Jan 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No complaints.
by: Stellyynn

I bought this coffee maker over a year ago at Target for 6.99. We used it every single morning and sometimes in the evening, too. I never had any problems with it up until recently when it would slow down or stop brewing mid way through. It kept getting progressively worse until this morning when I went to turn it on and it did nothing. I think my 6.99 was well spent. Just bought another one to replace it and am sipping a nice cup of coffee now. If you are on a budget and/or don't want to have to deal with all the bells and whistles of higher end coffee makers, this little one will do the trick.

Jan 10, 2010
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

This thing has ruined it's last pot of coffee.
The filter basket has to be hooked in exactly right or the sneak a cup feature will not let the coffee drip into the pot, then it over flows.
Just when you think you learned your lesson and know enough to double check, it overflows after you sneak a cup out. It's in the trash bin today, I'm gonna spend the extra 10 bucks and get a black and decker or rival or anything but another one of these. The hot plate, pump, and red light are going strong if anyone wants it.

Jan 08, 2010
Rating
star
Junk!!
by: Anonymous

Just bought this,threw away packaging, used it 2 times and now it doesn't work! Indicator light goes on but it doesn't do anything!!! DO NOT BUY!!!!

Jan 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
One month, kaput
by: Anonymous

Got this at Target for really cheap. The pump that's supposed to drop water on the coffee basket suddenly started to leak and spray water all over the place.

Oh well, I went an bought a $15 Mr. Coffee at Walmart. Hope it lasts a big longer.

Dec 21, 2009
Rating
star
coffeemaker
by: Anonymous

I bought this coffeemaker last week and threw away the packaging and of course 4 days later within the 90 day period it doesn't brew now Now I have no coffee maker it does suck!

Dec 14, 2009
Rating
star
sucks!!
by: Alicia P

I got this coffee maker @ target and 1 week later..... only the on light works!!!

Nov 12, 2009
Rating
star
Bad deal
by: Anonymous

I used it about five times and it doesn't work anymore. The indicator light lights up but nothing works. It may only cost about $10, but it's not worth it if it doesn't work. I owned my Gevalia coffee maker for years until I broke the carafe, but the coffee maker still works.

Sep 28, 2009
Rating
star
Lasted five months
by: RJ McHenry

Basic 12 cup coffee maker, no timer, no frills. Cost about 10.00 on sale. Doesn't work after five months. Got up this morning and turned it on as usual. Switch light comes on but no pumping, no heating - no coffee. Unfortunately, I have had three coffeemakers go out on me in the past ten years. Not just bargain brand ones, either. I make one pot every morning, and I don't drink any more coffee after about 9:00AM. I don't think I abuse it! Now, I am reading reviews before I go shopping for another one.

Sep 11, 2009
Rating
star
Only lasted 3 days!
by: Anonymous

The heating element went out in 3 days! Like other posters, I too, threw away the box and my receipt. :(

Sep 08, 2009
Rating
star
3 strikes
by: MadeInChinaSucks

I bought 4 of these at Target. 3 have died in less that a year, only 1 is still working. The last one I bought lasted a month. Just like everyone else, the heating element died. The light works, nothing else. These things are junk, I won't buy another.

Sep 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Chefmate CM-1250 Good coffee, lousy design.
by: Anonymous

It's hard to complain when the retail out the door is under $10, but.....

there's some flaws. Most folks here are far too easy on this low-end coffee-maker. Here's what I found:

1. It does make good coffee, but it's not worth the hassle, because

2. When you run it through the dishwasher, the hollow handle fills up with water, meaning you sling water everywhere when you remove it from the dishwasher. This is an old complaint common to other coffee makers, but you'd think the people who design these things would get it by now.

3. When pouring water into the coffeemaker from a full carafe, it dribbles down the carafe and all over the counter. Again, - you'd think that designers would have this figured out by now, and they have for certain coffeemaker brands.

4. Open the Chefmate CM-1250 "Use and Care Manual." See if you can find any information about who manufactures the device, who to call with questions, or if there's issues that need to be reported. There's no hint of where this thing comes from or was made. I think the outer shipper says China, but that's pretty thin....

All in all, the Chefmate CM-1250 kind of reinforces the old adage, - you get what you pay for. I bought mine at Target stores, and was going to alert Target to some of the deficiencies, but Target's website has no provision for customers to e-mail them with such concerns. Discussions about returns are provided for, but simple correspondence cannot happen on Target's site. Too bad - retailers that don't encourage feedback from customers are on a slippery slope at best.

Sep 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Product
by: Conch547

I've had two Chefmates in 5 years and never had ANY PROBLEMS with them! I broke the pot twice and that's the only reason I've replaced them. I make a lot of coffee and only paid about $10 or less for each of them at Target!
Thanks
Carl Hanna

Sep 02, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No problems. Ever.
by: Gabe

I received a Chefmate 12-cup maker for a wedding present in 1996, and it's still running strong. It's had VERY regular use, and I've moved 6 times over the years.

I don't think it's exactly the same model, as mine does have a clock and programmable timer, but it was not an expensive, high-end coffee maker.

To be honest, I've planned a proud Viking-style funeral pyre for it when the time comes that it finally gives out, because it's been a faithful ally for a long time. But who knows when (or if!) that day will come.

Aug 02, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Caution - steam blast when cover is lifted
by: Anonymous

I removed the attachment that raises the water sprayer with the lid because condensed water runs down into the reservoir and you get blasted with steam when trying to remove the brewing basket. Not much trouble to raise it manually to insert the brewing basket.

Aug 02, 2009
Rating
star
Third strike...I think not
by: Anonymous

I bought the CM-1250 in February. It worked for three and a half months (almost to the day) and quit. Like all the others on this list the little light works, but no heat and no brewing. I sent my husband to store (Target) to get a new pot, and (Gotta love him) he comes back with another CM-1250. Of course I figure what the heck maybe the first one was just a wierd glitch, won't happen again. I was right this time it only took two and a half months for it to break. I would love to write a strongly worded letter, but can't find a parent company website or address, funny how that is never a problem when things work well. I will definately not buy another one, and my company will not be shopping at Target for appliances any longer either. (That at least is someone I can write to).

Jul 26, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
7.99 at Taget. Just bought it tonight
by: Brian G

I've opened it, cleaned it and prepared the coffee for the mornings brew. I hope it lasts longer than the reviews above say. It is easy to set I'll say that. Fits under the counter very well too.

Jun 27, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
chefmate cm-1250 solution
by: Anonymous

go to target,buy a new onw,same model and make- take the defective one put it in the box ,return it for a refund! your welcome

Jun 08, 2009
Rating
star
no star
by: Bernice Canada

I won this chefmate cm 1250 in a silent auction. good thing because it isn't worth any money at all. It took almost 45 minutes to brew the first pot of 12 cups that was the first time then it took longer after that after the 3rd week of using it guess what it just stopped working, although the little red light still works.

May 24, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Chefmate replacement pot
by: Lisa Y.

Purchased my Chefmate coffee maker for 7.99 at Target about two and a half months ago and it amazingly still works. But I broke the glass coffee pot (although I don't know how as I was just picking it up). Does anyone know where to get just the pot? Thanks.

May 21, 2009
Rating
star
same thing
by: ugh

My 12-cup Chefmate coffeemaker stopped working after 3 months. Only the red light comes on, but nothing else. Target should stop selling this!

May 18, 2009
Rating
star
Reallm 0 star
by: Anonymous

I purchased this coffeemaker in January. Eleven weeks later it wouldn't work at all. Cheap is as cheap does!

May 05, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Chefmate is great
by: Janet

I bought this coffee maker at Target on sale for $8.97. It is without a doubt the best little machine for the money that I've ever had. I had to replace a Mr. Coffee (24.95) that I'd only used since January so was glad to find this. I was sceptical about "Made in China" but isn't everything? I'm tempted to go back and get another while on sale, but with my luck the one I'm using will last forever. I rated this 4 stars because nothing is perfect in this world. I'd like to know the name of the parent company.

Apr 14, 2009
Rating
star
3 months and it's done!
by: Anonymous

I bought the Chefmate in late January and just a week ago, it completely stopped working. It doesn't brew, or heat up, but the red light works. What a disappointment, Chefmate!

Apr 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Chefmate
by: D

I have had expensive coffee makers, with timers bells and whisltes, that always broke.
This coffee maker is cheap, effecient and works everytime. Try to get it in black because the white often gets dirty.

Mar 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A simple no frills model
by: Matt

I got my Chefmate coffee maker from Walmart. It cost me $10. This coffee maker is very easy to use and I really like it. It makes a cup of coffee in a few minutes. This unit is very easy to clean as well. the inside of the coffee maker opens up and comes a part for easy cleaning in the sink. Plastic parts are not dishwasher safe. The pot itself is made of glass and plastic. It is very durable and makes a great cup of coffee.

This model makes 12 cups of coffee. It comes white in color. This model doesn't seem to run hot at all. You could put it on almost any surface and it will be safe.

For the price I paid for this model I am very happy with it. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a $50 coffee maker. No timer or clock and you can' program it in anyway. This is a simple no frills model but it makes wonderful coffee and couldn't be any easier to operate.

To make it work your simple pour the water inside the coffee maker...measured by the amount of cups you want with an easy to read measuring tool on the side of the pot. Then you put in the filter. I just use what ever is cheapest at the store and add the desired amount of coffee for the strength you want. The coffee will start dripping in the pot in 2 or 3 minutes and you'll have a full pot of coffee within 7 minutes or so.

I've seen cheaper pots that run $8-$10 but this is not one of those. This pot is quality that will last years and it's super cheap so I highly recommend this model to the occasional coffee drinker or the everyday coffee drinker and rest assured you'll have a great cup of coffee every morning!

Feb 14, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
cheap
by: My coffee

I bought a replacement carafe for my Durabrand coffee maker ($7.99, Wal-Mart) All Target had was Mr. Coffee carafes at $16! I turned around and bought a complete coffee maker (chefmate) for $7.99.
If this one quits after 3 months I have my Durabrand put aside. 2 complete coffee makers for less money than one replacement carafe!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page