logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

BUNN NHBX-B Contemporary 10-Cup Home Coffee Brewer

by Shari
(Indianapolis, IN, USA)


The NHBX Brewer comes with a 3-year limited warranty. Released by Bunn, the product can hold up to 50 ounces of water in its decanter, producing around 10 coffee cups per serving in a 3-minute time interval. The internal thermostat installed in the device keeps the water at constant brewing temperature for a sure and fast brewing process.

Buy now

Include Tags Upload

Specifications

Include Tags Upload
The patented head spray is unique in that it gives coffee grounds an even amount of spray, ensuring that every drop of flavor is extracted for full, flavorful, and steaming cup of quality coffee. Hot water is kept and may be used for other purposes like tea and instant food and beverages.

Stainless steel in both white and black colors in clean sleek lines fit for a contemporary design. The NHBX Brewer is excellent for large households or office spaces.

Key Features

- It has an easy to use sliding lid for additional water.
- The decanter can hold up to 50 ounces of water and brews up to ten cups of coffee within three minutes.
- It uses a stainless steel tank.
- It keeps water at constant brewing temperature for fast results.
- It has a patented spray head for ensuring coffee taste.
- It has warming plate, porcelain covered and has a lighted on and off switch.
- It has a vacation switch to turn off heat.
- It comes in both white and black colored models.

Advantages

The NHBX Brewer is easy to use with its sliding lid decanter that can hold up to 10 cups of coffee. The water tank is kept at constantly high temperature, making sure that coffee is always there when needed. Brewing time only takes about 3 minutes.

Pouring out a rich cup of coffee is ensured by the patented spray head. Water diffused is evenly distributed to extract the last drop of taste of the grounds for maximum enjoyment. Made to last, the NHBX Brewer is constructed out of stainless steel.

Easy to use without too many complicated buttons, the whole device can be controlled simply via two main switches. A vacation switch is also made available for those who plan to leave for more than two days. Simply flip the switch, and the machine will stop maintaining the heat of the water.

Disadvantages

The product needs approximately 15 minutes to heat water. Initially, users will place 50 ounces of water in the reservoir where it will take 15 minutes to heat the water and it will be kept hot until you are ready to brew coffee. However, after this initial 15 minutes, you will merely have to add another 50 ounces of cold water to the reservoir, which will then displace the hot water that will be used to diffuse the coffee grounds.

The cold water will also be heated and ready for the next brewing. The spray head also has to be cleaned more frequently.

Pros:
- vacation switch allows users to turn off constant heating in the event that they plan to make a long trip
- decanter can hold and make up to 50 ounces of water, translating to 10 cups of coffee ideal for large households or office spaces
- has simple control
- has complete instruction manual.
- constantly available, perfectly heated water for brewing and other purposes
- 3-minute brewing process for a fast yet quality cup of coffee

Cons:
- initial heating time for water of 15 minutes at the time of purchase
- advanced spray head would need to be cleaned from time to time, although a uniquely made cleaning device already comes with the product especially made for the spray head

Compare Prices


Include Tags Upload

Deals on Ebay...


Include Tags Upload


Comments for BUNN NHBX-B Contemporary 10-Cup Home Coffee Brewer

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 27, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
cleaning NEW
by: Anonymous

would be better if you could clean the water tank.
mineral deposits build up which could cause health issues.

Jan 31, 2015
Rating
star
Waiting for my second replacement NEW
by: Anonymous

I always heard that a Bunn coffee maker was the best, well I thoight it was pricey but I finally own one, I have called Bunn twice now, they are very fast to replace the maker but that does not solve the issue, the machine never puts out the amount of coffee I wish to brew, I am not sure what the problem is, like in the other comments on this site, they send you a zip tie to push through the tube so the water can flow, well I have done everything I can, did all the problem solvers in the manual, cleaned and recleaned, it has been another hour waiting for coffee, I only wanted to brew six cups, my usual amount, it has brewed a little above four cups, I constantly have to take the top off, then remove the rocker arm, so the water can flow, nothing can be clogged up that fast, I have only had the Bunn a month, it's ridiculous, I am gonna return it, I will go back to Kitchenaid, which by the way has brewed my morning coffee every morning for the last eight years, yes I have had my Kitchenaid over 8 years, the Bunn was a gift, so all I can say, it is not worth the price, it is not a fast brewer, it is made very cheap, a lot of plastic, which is probably one of the problems, you rotate the lid to start brewing, the lid is plastic, the rocker arm that lifts to let the water flow is plastic, I am not sure what materials they use but to me it all feels plastic, except where the Bunn name plate is, well I guess I have finished my experience of the Bunn, please do not waste your money or time, it's clearly not worth waiting over an hour for a pot of coffee to brew

Jun 16, 2014
Rating
star
Crap NEW
by: Anonymous

Crap

Sep 07, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love My Coffee Maker
by: Anonymous

We have had Bunns for years without any complaints makes great coffee very fast. Just purchased a new one in the U.S. and have found that the carafe mouth is very different from the one I had purchased here in Canada. The new one leaks when pouring so have just changed and am using my carafe from the one purchased in Canada.

Jan 06, 2013
Rating
star
wasted hard earned money
by: Anonymous

Take my advice please,do not buy this or any Bunn residential coffee maker.I bought ours in Feb.2012 from target,hasnt worked correctly most of the time we have owned it,as of 2nd week of Jan. 2013 it is dead,quit making a strong enought cup of coffee.The pot itself has leaked since day one,seems we can put a man on the moon,but cant make a pot that pours without dripping. This is THE worst investment of an appliance for me ever.youve been warned.Al in N/E Florida,p.s.made in China,not like business grade coffemakers,JUNK

Dec 30, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Do not buy
by: Anonymous

I purchased this coffee maker 2 years ago, and It has already quit working. I found it very hard to clean, and it did leak water out of the bottom. I will not buy another Bunn coffee maker again. To expensive for the quality of the product.

Jan 18, 2012
Rating
starstar
Coffee Not That Great (so far)
by: Anonymous

After reading all the reviews about how the Bunn made the best tasting coffee we couldn't wait to try it. Well, so far, the coffee really doesn't taste that great. We'll keep trying different amounts of grounds but so far not so good.

Oct 14, 2011
Rating
starstar
Fast as a Mr. Coffe at only 4X the price
by: Anonymous

The only thing BUNN about this coffemaker is the nameplate. Slow, noisy, and quick to calcify with only a zip tie to clean it.
For a much better coffemaker for the same price, buy the traditional BUNN GR instead.

Dec 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I love Bunn coffee makers
by: Anonymous

I love Bunn coffee makers because you just pour in the water, insert filter with coffee and within 2 minutes you have a great hot pot of coffee. The con is the price they are usually priced $75.00 and up. To me they are worth every penny.

Dec 15, 2010
Rating
star
Do not buy!
by: Anonymous

Horrible coffee maker. It leaks, and is hard to clean. Can't get the spray head off to clean. Very inferior. Do not buy.

Dec 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Have had a Bunn for years..
by: Judy

We have had a Bunn in our house for years.. We drink alot of coffee in a day. We go thru 3 pots plus on a normal day. Yes, I do have to run vinegar thru it maybe every 3 to 6 months but I dont find that to be a problem. We purchase a new one about every 3 plus years which I feel is good considering all the coffee we go thru and that our water is pretty hard. This last one I purchased tho, I feel the carafe slops coffee all over. It seems the lid that is on it makes that happen. I have said many times that i wish they had the old style carafe back that was more rounded and the lid fit inside. It was like the ones that many restaurants use. The coffee that this machine makes is great. And after the first use you have coffee in 3 minutes. I will not buy a differant coffee pot but I am looking for a differant carafe to go on it.

Dec 10, 2010
Rating
star
Worst coffee maker I've ever owned!
by: Anonymous

Cheap looking for a $120 pot
Sliding lid flimsy
Water reservoir started leaking after 1st month
Water starts flowing before you close the lid
Warmer plate doesn't keep coffee hot
Worst carafe design ever; can't pour without spilling..
Very inferior to may pots cost $30 or less.

Oct 03, 2010
Rating
star
Poor quality
by: John MacLennan

My wife and I have purchased three Bunn Home coffee makers in the past 4yrs. The first one simply was worn out and I got tired of cleaning it out with Vinegar every year or so. I bought a new one and had to clean it out almocst every year by taking it all apart and soaking it with vinegar.The last time was 6 months after the last two. This model had a spring you could push into the outlet and it would operate again for a month or so. I realize it is because our city water has a calcium problem. This is in the City of Prescott WI where we have a water purification plant. This last Bunn we bought we thought might be better but like so many things in life it just gets worse. We have had this coffee maker for approx 6 months and It is constantly plugged up and it requires much maintenance. This unit doesn't have the steel spring we had with the old one (I have the old ones steel spring but it won't fit inside the outlet spout of this new unit) This new unit has a plastic cleaner rod that resembles an electrical ty wrap. ( being an electrical contractor I know of what I speak). This cleaner had to be used twice in the last week because it does very little to clean out the tube that emits the hot water to the grounds basket. I will tell any one I meet that I will nor recommend another Bunn coffee maker. I saw a new one by Viking that looked good but then so does the adds by Bunn?
John MacLennan

Mar 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
quick brew
by: Anonymous

This product from bunn is nice and lovable to use and a sleeker look with a lower profile and the same fast , commercial style great tasting coffee we love. it is simple easy and quick to make a coffee consistently.it is around $119.99. advantage of this product it east of brew water. and we can make a 10 cups of coffee in 3 mins which gives the good quality of coffee and tank is made up of stain less steal so we can hold the hot water easily.It holds the feature of keeping the water at the ideal brewing temperature with the help of internal thermostat.Decanter Holds fifty ounces for ten cup of coffee.


Mar 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
this is a dream
by: Shari

This coffee maker, though a bit expensive, is worth every penny for the every day coffee drinkers.

It has a water reservoir which is thermostat controlled, making mornings easy because the coffee brews so quickly. If you are not going to brew coffee every morning there is a vacation switch, but make sure that when you do come back home to brew you allow a few minutes for the water to heat back up to the set temperature.

The spray head is an interesting feature on this maker because instead of just pouring down in one spot on the coffee grounds it has a fountain like effect covering all the grounds allowing everything to become moistened which then allows more taste to come through.

I've had a lot of coffee makers throughout my life. From Cuisinart to Hamilton Beach to Braun. And with all of those, the carafe, no matter how spill proof they claimed, always leaked everywhere when I'd pour water into the reservoir or coffee into a cup. The carafe on this maker has yet to do that to me. I cannot clearly state how big of a perk this was for me.

Cleaning this pot is standard and simple. Once every two to four weeks run a pot of vinegar water through the system and then flush with several pots of regular water. The carafe is dishwasher safe and the maker itself is easy to take apart and put back together if you are inclined to give it a really deep clean.

This pot also offered a three year warranty, which I have yet to use and I have had mine for two years now.

It also boasts a very modern design, making it easy to incorporate to most kitchens. It is primarily stainless steel and trimmed with black.

All in all, this is a great coffee maker and I highly recommend it to everyone. I have yet to be disappointed and it really makes mornings a breeze.

Mar 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I was not disaapointed
by: Anonymous

I have to say that this Coffee Maker is undoubtedly the best maker I have ever owned!!
My husband and I recieved the BUNN NHBX Maker as a christmas gift 2 years ago. We had wasted so much money on cheap makers that would only leak, and brew luke warm coffee and knew we ought to ask for the one my in-laws used.

One main thing that I love about this maker is that it can brew up to 10 cups of coffee in less than 3 minutes, and it is HOT.

There is a heat tank with a ON/OFF switch that when kept on the water in the tank is constantly hot, providing you with a perfect cup of coffee almost immediatley.

Another great thing about this maker is that it has a long life.

my inlaws have had their BUNN for 5 years, and I can honestly say that I when it comes to getting a new maker I will only buy a BUNN.

The heat that this maker uses to brew coffee allows the flavor of the coffee to be strong. You will no longer sip your coffee and wonder why it tastes like plastic instead of french vanilla or any other flavor youve chosen.

I hope that when you are lookin for a new maker you seriously consider BUNN. You will not be disappointed.

Mar 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
100% satisfied
by: Wesley

The first thing I said to myself when it brewed my first cup of coffee was "wow"! It was done in 3 minutes! That is what I call fast service. Not only did this machine brew my coffee in 3 minutes, it was HOT!

I used to have a Mr. Coffee, every time I would brew coffee, I though about putting it in the microwave for 2 minutes. This machine was one of the best things I invested in. It is a powerful machine. This was the hottest coffee I had ever seen come out of a machine this small.

I don't even go to my local coffee shop anymore like I used to. I really don't need to anymore. I got hot, fresh, and not to mention fast coffee by the time I am halfway done cooking my morning breakfast. I used to have to wait for my coffee, now my coffee waits for me.

I am 100% satisfied with the machine I purchased. It will come in handy for anybody who is running late in the morning and need fresh coffee on the go.

BUNN is the best coffee maker brand I have ever seen in my life. I think every kitchen should have one.

Mar 19, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Will purchase again
by: Rachael

This coffee maker is the best one I have ever had! I have had dozens of coffee makers through the years, and this coffee maker beats every last one I have had, bar none.

It has a stainless steel tank "reservoir" where water is constantly kept at the ideal temperature for brewing coffee. It also brews an entire 10-cup pot of coffee in under three minutes. This allows the perfect extraction of flavor from the coffee grounds, and I end up with a very smooth, non-bitter cup of coffee.

When you pour water into the top of the coffee maker, it starts making noise for about fifteen minutes.

The water that was previously held in the reservoir to brew the coffee is the water forced through for that particular pot, and the new water being poured into the reservoir is being heated--thus the noise.

The speed of brewing was essential for making our choice in coffee maker. My husband is on call for work, and he wouldn't have time to stand around and wait for the coffee to finish brewing.

He needed to be out the door and on his way to work. We chose the Bunn over the other coffee makers with timers because it could brew so quickly. We purchased our Bunn coffee maker from Kohl's, of all places, for around $120, and it is worth it's weight in gold.

We had a hard time spending so much money on a coffee maker at first, until we took a step back and realized that of all our appliances, the coffee maker is the one that gets used every single day, sometimes twice a day, no matter what.

In the past we have owned Sunbeam coffee makers, Mr. Coffee coffee makers, Hamilton Beach coffee makers, and Oster coffee makers, and none of them can hold a candle to our Bunn coffee maker.

We hope to get years of use from this machine, and when it is time to buy a new one, we plan on purchasing the same exact coffee maker again.

Dec 09, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Help
by: Betty Price

Please tell me who to get in contact with in that my coffeemaker has stopped working. I have had for approximately 9-10 months. Thanks.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Bunn Consumer Reviews.

footer for coffee maker reviews page