logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Black & Decker DLX1050W

by Dena
(Rincon, GA)


We bought our coffee maker about a year ago. This Black & Decker model was stylish and we bought it from Wal-Mart. They did not have a great selection that was white but we needed white to go with our other appliances.


This model would not have been out first selection but it has proved itself worthy. Usually after a couple of months something breaks on a coffee maker or it just does not work right. Not the case with this model. It has functioned just the way the box said it would.

It has a clear strip on the side so you can see how many cusp of water you are adding, it holds 12 cups, it is programmable within a 24 hour period, it has touck keys, its digital (so its easy to read in the morning when you cannot focus before a cup of coffee), it will shut off after 2 hours so you don't have to worry if you leave it on and go to work, the filter basket has a handle that makes it removable and you can actually put it in the dishwasher if needed and the best feature is you can get a cup of coffee while it is brewing.

The automatic stop will activate once you remove the pot and get your cup and when you replace the pot back in the coffee maker it will start flowing again. No more spilling it everywhere while you just have to have that first cup.

The only fault I see with this is the pot when pouring will run down the pot and onto the counter.

We have to pour very slowly as to not have this happen. All around it is a great coffee maker.

Comments for Black & Decker DLX1050W

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 14, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cracked Carafe
by: PenguinTC

I cannot believe a replacement carafe cast more than buying a whole new unit?

Oct 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
BROKEN SPRING ON BASKET
by: Anonymous

I liked this coffee maker until the spring mechanism broke on the basket. can I get a replacement basket somewhere?

Jun 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Carafe
by: Claudia

I've had this coffee maker for a while, possibly, since last fall and just this morning the carafe broke. :( I am online looking for a replacement carafe and it is $20 total (shipping included) to get a new carafe, i'd rather go to Wal-Mart or Amazon and purchase a brand new coffee maker instead! I realized other carafe's won't work because this particular Black & Decker has the sneak-a-cup feature. and it has to push up on a certain button so the coffee can dispense into the carafe, bummer!

May 28, 2011
Rating
star
Another broken glass story
by: Darrell

After owning mine for 5 weeks, I was washing it with a soapy sponge, and the entire spout along with about 2 inches of glass broke off into my sponge. I am glad I wasn't pouring when this happend. I was thinking it was a great deal when I bought it, but it is loud and it sounds like something is banging randomly around the kitchen when its on. I would have to purchase the whole unit, because it is cheaper than just the pot. That's not going to happen!! Time to read some more reviews and lay it down for quality. Coffee is very important to me and my wife.

Feb 26, 2011
Rating
starstar
Just stopped working
by: niija@aol.com

I put water into the reservoir and nothing happened. I've had coffee pots before have a wire come off, so I tried to get a peak at this one. (WRONG). They, Black & Decker put special screws in the bottom, so unless you have this type screwdriver or tool, you can't open the area needed to observe the wiring. Very disappointed, as this coffee pot was what we were looking for.


Nov 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
need a replacement carafe -help!
by: Kit

My carafe broke for my B & D DLX 1050W type 1, 12 cup coffee maker. Can anyone tell me, or give me the type or model # of the replacement carafe for my model of coffee maker? Generic ones I've bought in the past don't work quite so well, and I'd like to get the exact one for my model.
Thanks!


Sep 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
May give more stars. May give less.
by: Moochie

I just bought this pot for $16 at walmart. What a deal. I haven't used it yet. The carafe seems very thin and week. It worries me, but only time will tell. I can see, we will have to be careful with it. I'll be back.

Jan 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good Value, Good Coffee.
by: Pete

One of the most affordable coffee makers I've seen.
Replaced my previous maker, Hamilton beach (also a good brand) because the machine was just too small.

Okay! On with the highlights! If you already own this Brewer, then you know the basics. However, if you are just checking things out, I hope this will be of some help to you.

-Easy to see digital clock.(Easy to set too!)
-The caraffe is big and thin, so you might want to be careful when cleaning/filling.
-Not too loud when brewing your coffee.
-Programmable brewing feature.(kudos!)
-Shuts off after 2hrs.
-"Sneak-a-cup" feature.(Sometimes a few stray grounds gets stuck in that area, causing that retractable plunger to not close all the way.)
-Wiping down the machine is quick and easy.

~like others have mentioned-fill caraffe halfway when loading the reservoir with water otherwise some water might spill. Yes, this may require a second trip to the sink.~
I get away with it being filled to the "8" cup mark. Anywho, to each their own...

Not the best coffee maker on the market.
But if Quality and Value are what you are looking for in an inexpensive coffee machine-this is the one to buy!
Wal-mart had this machine. Last one on shelf, only white. Not complaining.
(Coffee brewing reviews are typically not what I do at 5am.)


Dec 21, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
best for the buck!
by: Anonymous

thats all I need to say! :) 19 bucks for great coffee

Nov 16, 2009
Rating
star
no thanks
by: Anonymous

i bought this coffee maker 3 weeks ago. i picked it up to pour me a cup of coffee and the glass broke. coffee went everywhere. walmart won't take it back. they said i need to contact black and decker for a replacement carafe. NO THANK YOU! I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Oct 31, 2009
Rating
star
Oops
by: Anonymous

I just realized that I forgot to change the star rating. The default rating is 5 stars. That must be why the previous commenters Ratings do not match the reviews.

Oct 31, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Chinese Junk
by: jlazar9

I bought one of these because I've owned Black and Decker tools in the past and they have served me well. The coffee maker I got was garbage. It brewed one pot and then broke. I was originally attracted to the timer feature and the auto-shutoff. Can anyone recommend an inexpensive coffee maker with those features?

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
star
Loud, cheaply made junk
by: Anonymous

I work very long hours daily and bought this coffee maker to also 'buy' myself more sleep in the night.

WHAT A JOKE. This coffee maker is so loud that it wakes me from my sleep!! No additional sleep for me..now I have less (until I return it for a full refund). Cheap China production makes me very disappointed in Black and Decker. I was always such a fan. Especially since the same type I'd had for 12 years was such a champion for me.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I Disagree with Matt
by: avpowerstn


In response to Matt's comment, I would have to disagree.He has left out a few factors.
Human nature as a rule (there is always exceptions to the rule but) we are impatient,
we want it now or asap. Another factor would be a single star because of the extremely slow replacement time on B&D's part, why such a low rating which rises my suspicion,IMHO Matt is
impatient when filling his reservoir (Matt's bad)
and B&D wants you to go out and just buy another one of their coffee makers (B&D's bad)instead of
sending a replacement caraffe.Now if you search
the net with avpowerstn (which is unique) in the search you will find that I have left many reviews about various products (Amazon.com mainly). And another factor is Matt mentioning "Bunn" B&D's competitor specifically.
you could check other reviews by Matt but that would return numerous hits, again avpowerstn is unique,which makes it easy to do your homework.
And just for clarity, No I do not work for, or have any association with B&D, and I dont spill
any water while filling my coffee maker, and should I break my caraffe, it will be my fault not B&D's.
And the biggest factor is Matt and Amy both left negative comments on the same day (OCT 22nd), But wait Matt and Anonymous also left negative comments again on the SAME DAY (May 11).. go figure? I believe one star is harsh, lets not throw the baby out with the bath water.
For the money this coffee maker is awesome.




Oct 22, 2009
Rating
star
Update
by: Matt

Just wanted to update everyone,I did finally get the replacement pot from B & D. Arrived not long after my last comment of never receiving it.
To this day we have not had another problem with the pot itself.
I still have the problem with spilling at least a cup of water on the counter when filling the reservoir. The comments from those who say they never spilled a drop or fill up to 6 cups at a time makes me suspicious that the company is writing their own comments to make sale.
And look at the star rating! If you compare comments made to the star rating- something don't make sense.
Well anyway. For price you may want to get this maker, but if you want quality- the Bunn idea may be your better choice.

Oct 22, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Pot woes as well.
by: Amy in Idaho

Same thing here...pot just busted after washing. Cannot find replacement pot. We have only had this 2 months. Also bought at Walmart. I am very displeased. Our pot also leaked when pouring ater into it. I agree that it is cheap quality and won't go B & D again, as this is our 2nd one (2 different models). I will invest in a Bunn again.

Aug 23, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
replacement pot blues
by: Anonymous

Agree with other comments on this forum; broke pot within 6 months of purchase, and scoured the internet earth for replacement pot, not to be found. Even ordered one through PartsStore.com, and never received, and was not notified or given explanation other than 'backorder' ... must have been from another planet, because pot never arrived. Don't bother with B&Ds, not worth your time.

Aug 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Caraffe
by: Susan

I received the Black & Decker DLX1050W for Christmas. It function really well from January unitl April when the handle pulled off. I stuck it back on, but it pulls out again. The number listed to call in the manual is an incorrect number. I am trying to find a replacement but have been unsuccessful so far.

Jul 13, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent Coffee Maker at this price
by: avpowerstn

This is my 5th Black and Decker coffee maker
(last three were this model# DLX1050W).
The early B&D models had a shallow pour spout,
that caused water to spill when filling the
water reservoir.B&D fixed that problem with this coffee maker(deeper pour spout),The trick to making a 12 cup batch (without spilling water) is to only fill the carafe to 6 cups place in the reservoir then add another 6 cups,when you try to add 12 cups all at once, the water tends to flow over the spout. Make sure to pour slowly.

The carafe is a little thin, but none have broken prematurely. The digital readout is very nice
and easy to use and program.(I don't have to get out the owners manual whenever I lose power).
I like how the showerhead can be removed from the top of the lid on this coffee maker,which makes cleaning the unit easier.

I always keep a new spare coffee maker, just in case I break the carafe, or the unit fails.I only brew Jamaican Blue Mountain (JBM) coffee, and this unit makes the best cup of coffee,at a fraction of the cost of the more expensive units.

May 11, 2009
Rating
star
update
by: Matt

Just wanted to say that to this day I have not received a replacement pot from B&D.

May 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Pouring problem?
by: Anonymous

I also purchased this pot from Wal-Mart. I did take into account the comments others had posted about it. Well, after a couple weeks of using mine, I can say I have no problems with it (so far). It does make noise when it's brewing, but don't they all?

As to the comments about having difficulty pouring from the pot, maybe those people just need to slow down a bit. I've never had a drop spill, so I don't understand that problem. I would recommend this pot.

For the price, it works just fine for me. Makes a good, hot pot of coffee, that does stay hot and turns off after 2 hr. I don't know about the programmable feature, as it isn't anything I need to use.

Apr 18, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Pot breaking
by:

We bought one of these from WalMart, the glass pot broke within 3 months. We couldn't find a replacement pot, and WalMart didnt' carry them. It ended up we could buy an entire new machine for the cost of ordering a replacement pot. So we bought a new machine, same model - the pot cracked on the side.

Neither break was from banging or adding cold water to a hot pot. Now I have two DLX 1050W machines and no pot - and can't find a replacement that fits. WalMart sells replacement pots, but none that fit the machines they sell. Isn't this great! Forget buying a Black and Decker - low quality.

Jan 17, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
BAD DESIGN
by: MATT

WE BOUGHT THIS IN THE LAST OF NOVEMBER '08
TODAY JAN 17 'O9 MY MOTHER IN LAW WENT TO PICK THE POT UP TO POUR HER A CUP AND THE BOTTOM OF THE POT BROKE INTO AND FELL ONTO THE COUNTER SPILLING ALMOST A HALF POT OF HOT COFFEE ALL OVER THE COUNTER, ON HER AND EVERYWHERE NEAR.
THE MOST IMPORTANT PIECE FOR SAFETY AND THE MANUFACTURERS DESIGNED THE GLASS SO THIN THAT IT BREAKS IN YOUR HANDS! OURS ALSO WOULD DRIP DOWN THE POT WHEN YOU POURED A CUP.
THANK GOD NO ONE WAS HURT, EXCEPT HER FEELINGS THAT IT HAPPENED TO HER.
I HAD TO RIG THE SNEAK A CUP FIXTURE AND USE MY OLD 12CUP POT FROM MR COFFEE.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Black and Decker coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page