logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Black & Decker DE790B 8-Cup Thermal Carafe

by Blake West
(Austin, TX)


I love this coffee maker.


After breaking three glass carafes in as many months, my wife and I searched for something I could not break. This B&D pot is both economical and brews an excellent cup of coffee. The stainless steel thermal carafe avoids the need for a hot plate below the carafe to keep the coffee hot. This means no more burnt coffee.

I was surprised at how effective the carafe is at keeping the coffee hot, because there is a hole in the top of the lid to let the brewed coffee enter the carafe from the filter basket. But even with this hole, a brewed pot can stay warm for 3 to 4 hours. The hole has a clever design that seems to keep aromas from escaping the pot. Half of the hole is covered near the top of the hole, and the other half near the bottom. This creates an S-shaped channel through which the coffee enters the pot, but makes it harder for aromas to escape. The programmable brew is a nice feature as well if you're not too picky about fresh-ground beans.

I only find two drawbacks with this coffee maker. There is a hole in the back of the maker that prevents you from putting in too much cold water that could make the pot overflow. However, the overflow just ends up on the counter. Water also ends up on the counter if you just fill cold water to make a full 8-cup pot and then move the coffee maker, because water sloshes out the hole. I just have to remember to cover the hole with my finger when moving a full maker. The other drawback is that the skinny window that lets you see the water level is not very transparent, and it's a bit hard to see how much water you've put in.

But these are minor annoyances. I really love this coffee maker and think you should buy one ASAP.

Comments for Black & Decker DE790B 8-Cup Thermal Carafe

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 29, 2012
Rating
star
Overflows
by: Sandy

I've bought B & D coffee makers for yrs and this is the first thermal one.. I love the thermal feature but I'm like a few of the other posters, it overflows all the time. We have tried changing filters, moving the filter cup in several ways, turned the lid but 1 out of 10 times, the coffee doesn't make its way into the pot and overflows over the jug all over the counter and floor. I give and its going in the trash

Aug 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
2 years of use
by: Anonymous

I have had this coffee maker for 2 years and have worked around all problems but 1. If you use the carafe to fill the maker you will not overflow the machine and it doesn't matter if you can't see the fill line. It stays hot when the lid is closed in the thermal carafe position (not the pour position) for hours. But..

After 2 years of continuous use the carafe has started to leak where the metal meats plastic and I can't find a replacement. My machine works perfectly and is well maintained so I really don't want to buy a whole new one.

Otherwise I've loved this coffee maker.

Mar 27, 2011
Rating
star
Go for the K-Cup
by: Anonymous

Title says it all......

Mar 27, 2011
Rating
star
Leaks Water
by: Anonymous

Yes, it leakswater like crazy. I tried to use it three times then threw it away. Terrible product.

Oct 03, 2010
Rating
star
mad in blaine mn
by: Bonnie Erickson

I tried everything to stop this coffeemaker to stop flowing all over my counter top. I put a cookie sheet under it to catch the flow it spills. I fill it under the hole, i did every cobination on filers, on lid grinds of coffee. I give up. I threw the box so i can't return it.thank you black and decker for ruining my every morning till i can afford a new coffee maker.

Mar 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
fill gauge problems
by: D Morgan

Pros
- Durability
- No hotplate hazard,
- well-timed shutdown

Cons
- Opaque carafe
- Difficult to view fill gauge

My wife and I are what you would have to call blue-collar coffee drinkers, people that want one or two good hot cups in the morning from a machine that needn’t do anything fancy. The DE790B practically perfectly fits the bill since we aren‘t any sort of coffee gourmets. When our last pot failed, I felt that I needed a maker that did NOT have a hot plate due to the fact that I often get involved and rather focused on other tasks and will certainly forget about it.

I also felt that a hotplate might pose a hazard for the exploring four year old. We have found that the carafe more adequately retains the heat for our purposes and that the automatic brewing shutdown at the end of the cycle is well timed. I have, however, paid the price for the stainless carafe on multiple occasions when I’ve attempted to brew a full pot without emptying whatever was left over from the last usage, and wind up with a pond of coffee on my countertop. I claim full responsibility for this, but it is an issue that a person new to the stainless thermal carafe should be aware of. The fill gauge on the side of the tank requires a person to have just about exactly the right lighting and have their head tilted just right in order to see. I’ve found myself once in a while with more coffee than I intended due to this issue.

At some point I may try to solve this problem by pre-measuring fill water, but it is fairly low in terms of inconvenience. The chief basis for my satisfaction with this machine is its durability. This purchase was made at least three years ago and has pretty much been used almost daily since then and multiple times when we entertain. It is reliable, its features are very much in line with the cost of the unit and its overall performance has more than met my expectations.

This one loses one star for the fill gauge issue, and since the overflow is technically a user problem I will bestow a rating of four stars.

Feb 02, 2010
Rating
star
Worst ever
by: Dave

This is a terrible product. The carafe keeps coffee hot for about 15-20 minutes....after that, I have to microwave a second cup.

When I pour a cup, the pot dribbles onto the counter every time...I have tried everything I can think of with no way to keep it from dripping.

You have to unscrew the cap to pout a cup of coffee and once the "pouring marks" are aligned, the coffee comes out in a very small stream...takes 38 seconds to fill a cup...yikes.

It make "ok" coffee, but not great.

I have had it three weeks and it is going into the next garage sale....cannot wait!!

Don't waste your money...ugh


Feb 02, 2010
Rating
star
Worst ever
by: Dave

This is a terrible product. The carafe keeps coffee hot for about 15-20 minutes....after that, I have to microwave a second cup.

When I pour a cup, the pot dribbles onto the counter every time...I have tried everything I can think of with no way to keep it from dripping.

You have to unscrew the cap to pout a cup of coffee and once the "pouring marks" are aligned, the coffee comes out in a very small stream...takes 38 seconds to fill a cup...yikes.

It make "ok" coffee, but not great.

I have had it three weeks and it is going into the next garage sale....cannot wait!!

Don't waste your money...ugh


Jan 30, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Water in the lid
by: Columbus, OH

I could hear the water sloshing around inside also. I started to pry apart the cap where there a 4 heat welds on the seam. I ended up completely taking the top off and I'm glad I did. Drained out nasty old coffee and wiped out a year of residue. I spot glued the top back on good enough to hold the lid on with the thought I'll be taking this apart again in the future.

Other than this it's a great coffee maker

Dec 02, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Water in lid
by: Anonymous

I have had Black & Cecker Thermal Carafe coffee pots for more than 10 years. I love them. Coffee stays hot & freshtasting for hours.

BUT... the lid collects liquid & I'll bet it's geting reall NASTY in there.

Help? Amyone have any ideas as to how to drain this thing?

Oct 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
on taking the lid apart to clean,
by: Kidu

I am very happy with the pot but I cannot find my booklet about it. Can someone please tell me how to take the lid apart and clean it. I have liquid in it and I must get it out, before it turns dangerous.

Apr 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Grounds slip through and collect in the pot
by: Anonymous

This eight-cup coffee maker is made of a black plastic, features a stainless steel pot, digital clock with self-timer, and automatic shut-off. I don't drink coffee every day. Most of the time I drink tea, and for that I use a different tea pot. But when I'm drinking coffee, the majority of the time it's from the Black and Decker DE790B Type 1 in my sister's kitchen.

It does a decent job; the coffee is done within about five minutes, and the thermos keeps it hot for hours. Sometimes I think I'm drinking too much coffee, so I fire up a pot of Earl Gray tea in my tea kettle. After drinking coffee all morning, the Earl Gray tastes horrible. So I go back to the coffee pot, grab one of those little ruffled filters; not the cone-shaped kind that my old coffee pot used. No, this one uses the ruffled-edge, flat-bottomed type.

I'm not sure why, but it seems that these permit more grounds to slip through and collect in the bottom of the pot; making the sip of the last cup taste like potting soil. I've heard that house plants do really well when you water them with left over coffee. I've got to wonder if that's true.

My house plants never make it that long. Cats are a lot easier to keep alive. When they're hungry or thirsty, they whine at you, jump up in your lap, and basically say, “Hey, dude, you need to feed us already.” But not in quite so many words, because, you know, they're cats. You don't wanna know how they tell me to clean their litter box. Buy a Black and Decker DE790B. It beats cleaning out the litter box.

Mar 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
At last- no more broken glass in my sink!
by: Katye

I recently purchased my Black & Decker Stainless Steel Coffee Maker from Target after going through countless replacement decanters for cheaper coffee makers. In my kitchen, I am equally blessed and cursed with a white porcelain sink.

Although it is beautiful to look at, has an extremely deep and convenient basin on one side, and an indestructible garbage disposal on the shallow side, porcelain and glass can be a very ugly combination. Not to mention the fact that I am constantly bleaching the sink to keep looking white and pristine!

For a couple of years now I have just been purchasing inexpensive coffee makers such as the Mr. Coffee brand- never paying more than twenty dollars or so for a maker. However, after a while I would always inevitably accidentally knock the glass decanter against the side of my porcelain sink while cleaning it, leaving a gaping hole in the glass pot.

I'm not hard on dishes by any means- but it doesn't take much for this porcelain sink to destroy fragile items! Replacement decanters for such coffee makers usually range in price from $12- $15, which seems ridiculous when I've paid $20 for the entire machine! So I would normally just purchase a new unit altogether. FINALLY, I had the smarts to spend a little bit more money and get myself a maker with a stainless steel carafe.

At last- no more broken glass in my sink! This maker has been a dream come true, and to be frank, the coffee tastes a heck of a lot better, too. I also love the timer, so I can make my coffee at night before I go to bed, and set it to turn on at a certain time in the morning, which is a life saver when you have a toddler waking you up like clockwork everyday and not giving you a moment to make your coffee.

Auto Shut Off is great, too- no more mud in the coffee pot because someone forgot to turn it off! Overall, great product for the price.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Black and Decker coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page