logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Black & Decker DCM2500B SmartBrew

by Racheal
(Newark, NJ, USA)


When it comes to coffee makers, Black and Decker is considered one of the leading manufacturers. One of the unit that Black and Decker boasts is the SmartBrew Plus DCM2500 / DCM2500B. Read on to know the opinions of the consumers regarding this coffee maker.



SmartBrew Plus DCM2500 / DCM2500B is a 12-cup coffee maker. This unit stands 13 inches tall and the raise lid requires 22 inches. This unit weighs 5.5 pounds. This product is offered with a 1 year guarantee and 30-day money back guarantee. Below are some of the features of this coffee maker unit.

Buy now


Specifications


Key features

- Digital clock and delayed start - The digital clock allows consumers to see easily and clearly the time of brewing.

- 24-hour clock timer - The feature allows the consumers to pre-set the unit a night before. with the 24-hour clock timer, consumers who wakes up very early in the morning can set the coffee maker at night to wake up having their coffee ready to be served.

- Sneak-a-cup feature - The sneak-a-cup feature is designed to make it possible to grab a cup of coffee even if the brewing process is not yet finish.

- Automatic shut-off after 2 hours - The coffee maker will automatically shut off after two hours. This is to prevent overheating. Aside from this, it can also lower down energy consumption.

-The touchpad electronic control - The unit looks more elegant with its touchpad electronic control. Using this type of control is also very efficient for the consumers.

Advantages

Many consumers give a positive rating to this coffee maker because of the benefits it gives them. One of the things that they like about it is the clock timer. With this the consumers can pre program the unit a night before. By doing this, they can wake up to the aroma of their favorite coffee.

The touchpad control adds elegance to the unit according to some users. Another good thing about the unit is the carafe. The carafe is especially designed to prevent coffee from dripping while being poured on the cup. There are consumers who said that the coffee brewed from this unit taste pure. This is probably because of the system that reduces the amount of chlorine present in the water.

This coffee maker can also produce more cups of coffee with its 12-cup capacity. Many consumers said that the unit is also fairly priced relative to its various features. For many people the unit is not very complex. The design and controls are easy to understand that anyone will find brewing through this unit easy and fast.

Disadvantages



If there are many good points, this coffee maker also has a lot of bad points. One of these is that it is susceptible to overflowing. Some consumers complain that the unit plugs up occasionally, causing the ground to overflow.

There are some consumers who claimed that the water temperature in this unit is not really that excellent. There's also cases when the coffee grounds back up if the pot is not placed right.

Pros

- has two color options (Black and White)
- can produce more cups of coffee
- Fast and easy to use.
- the carafe never drips.
- there are two sets of fill markings.
- the price is just right for its various features.

Cons
- the coffee grounds back up if the pot is not placed correctly
- the unit plugs up occasionally

Final Thoughts

Using SmartBrew Plus DCM2500 / DCM2500B has many benefits and it also has a lot of limitations. The consumers should weigh all the odds before buying the product.

Compare Prices



Deals on Ebay...


Include Tags Upload


Comments for Black & Decker DCM2500B SmartBrew

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 25, 2012
Rating
star
Spout Spills All Over Counter
by: Rod

The spout on the pot spills coffee over the counter every time I try to pour a cup. I hate this coffee maker and you will to.

Mar 23, 2012
Rating
star
HEALTH HAZARD...IF THE CAFFINE DON'T KILL YOU, THE PLASTIC IN THE COFFEE WILL
by: Anonymous

all black and deckers leach plastics into your morning brew...caution...they can cause serious health problems....all I can smell is a strong aroma of cheap untested , unsafe and dangerous plastic....even after I purchased two units to test my theory...one over $100.00 the other $25.00 and both wreaked of plastic in the coffee.since then ...I perk my coffee the in fashion way....what a great cup to wake up to.
BLACK AND DECKER..U SUCK..PROFIT OVER CONSUMER SAFETY....PEOPLE WHO BLINDLY TRUST UR PRODUCTS.SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELFS.

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
starstar
carafe
by: Anonymous

The carafe spills coffee all over.

Oct 17, 2010
Rating
star
Leak, leak, leak
by: Anonymous

It says all over the box, the carafe is SO special, so leakproof. Nope, that's a lie. Every morning is a lesson in frustration as you fill the reservior, the water leaks all over the counter from the super-duper, specifically-engineered pour spout, designed to prevent leakage. First cup, now you have coffee all over the counter, or possibly your clothing (hot coffee folks). This isn't a lack of attention on my part, I've tried to pour normally, as anyone would, I've tried to gently coax the fluids into going where they should, I've tried a trickle, I've tried to painstakingly ensure that nothing leaks. Why do I need to work that hard? And for nothing as nothing works anyway, it's a leaker for sure. Waste of my money, I'm going back to my beloved Mr. Coffee and I'll tell everyone who asks or who doesn't for that matter, don't buy this product. Stick to your cordless drills folks, if you can compete in that arena. Horrid and horrible machine.

Jul 20, 2010
Rating
star
Leaks
by: sopricon@aol.com

Black and Decker makes great tools that I have used for years.

This maker leaks on the counter when you pour a cup. Will burn your arm or hand.
I want them to send me another non leak model. 12 cup!

Its the right thing to do.

May 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
michigan Walmart
by: Anonymous

The carafe leaks when I pour a cup of coffee.I have a mess on the counter every day.This should not happen.
I need new water filters and can't get them from the Walmart store I bought the item from and it looks like finding them on line is not going to be easy either.

Mar 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
simple to use
by: Anonymous

I am a coffee drinkerholic. I have to have that one cup of java every morning or my day is shot ( then like two or three more before the day is done). Besides just having that first cup, it has to be at 3am, before I leave for work. The problem I was having was having trouble getting up early to brew it.

I had another coffee maker for years and I have to say it worked well but cut deeply into my sleep schedule. Then a friend, bought me, this past August, a Black & Decker Smart Brew Coffeemaker. It has to be the best appliance I own,and I own a lot.

It is programmable, which means no more getting up early to brew a pot, no more buying expensive coffee at work when I am running late. I just set it the night before, and it automatically brews while I'm still asleep. When I get up, I fill my thermos, my insulated mug, and get ready for work. It is great.

I just recently purchased a permanent filter, so I save money on the paper ones. I love the design also. It isn't as big as my old coffeemaker, and it is black, which looks great in my kitchen, not to mention it is made by Black and Decker, one of my favorite companies to buy from. They make a great product.

The best part is it is so simple to use. No complicated programming with this baby. It's as simple as setting a clock. So simple, my kids make the coffee on the weekend, and they don't get out of bed. Always fresh and hot just the way I like it. I would recommend the purchase of this to anyone who rushes in the morning as well as those who have the time.I am a coffee drinkerholic.

I have to have that one cup of java every morning or my day is shot ( then like two or three more before the day is done). Besides just having that first cup, it has to be at 3am, before I leave for work. The problem I was having was having trouble getting up early to brew it. I had another coffee maker for years and I have to say it worked well but cut deeply into my sleep schedule.

I just recently purchased a permanent filter, so I save money on the paper ones. I love the design also. It isn't as big as my old coffeemaker, and it is black, which looks great in my kitchen, not to mention it is made by Black and Decker, one of my favorite companies to buy from. They make a great product.

The best part is it is so simple to use. No complicated programming with this baby. It's as simple as setting a clock. So simple, my kids make the coffee on the weekend, and they don't get out of bed.

Always fresh and hot just the way I like it. I would recommend the purchase of this to anyone who rushes in the morning as well as those who have the time.

Mar 10, 2010
Rating
star
last one i buy
by: Don Rowland

Have had 2 of this 12 cup model with the metal band on the bottom on both the screw pulled loose from the bottom of the handle to the metal band. The last one I used super glue to hold it on for now. I would think there could be a better design but I guess I really don't care as this 2nd one will be the last one I'll buy.

Oct 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Water filtration replacement
by: blue

I have a smart Brew plus and need a new charcoal? filter for the water filtration wand. Haven't located yet. Any ideas?

Apr 05, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Impressive array of features
by: Chris

The Black and Decker SmartBrew Plus 12 Cub Programmable Coffee Maker is a solid product with numerous features desired by most coffee aficionados.

Firstly, the reusable filter is a great way to cut costs and reduce waste. The entire assembly is easily removable to clean. Simply flip the lid, pull out the filter and basket and that?s it, it easily nests back into place once you have finished your business.

Secondly, the programmable clock allows for an timer feature so your coffee is conveniently ready to go whenever you need it, morning or night.

Another great feature about this coffee maker is the ability to view how much water has been poured into the reservoir from either side, no more worrying about where to place your coffee maker so that you can see the level indicators. Simply take a look on either side and it is there. As well as having these indicators on the coffee maker, the coffee pot itself has easy to read numbers and markings which define the number of cups to be made when putting in water, or finding out how much you have left.

The easy to grip handle is good for those who have a hard time grasping things, and the contour of the pour spout makes the coffee flow nicely. Other coffee makers I have owned have left me yearning for a feature such as this, especially when you spill coffee because the spout doesn't
pour nicely. Lastly, and the feature which I believe takes the cake is the ability to 'Sneak-a-Cup' while the coffee is still brewing. Once the pot is removed the nozzle which dispenses into the pot is closed off to ensure no leakage onto the warming plate.

This small but extremely noticeable feature is great for grabbing that first cup of coffee while waiting for the rest of the pot to brew.

Overall the SmartBrew Plus is a great coffee maker, which leaves little to be desired because of its impressive array of features.

Apr 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Touch pad control to set it to brew
by: GrayLadyIce

I am completely addicted to coffee. I can't deal with the day unless I have my coffee in the morning. But the coffee maker I had was almost useless to me. I couldn't even set it up to have my coffee ready when I woke up.

It was such a paint to have to set it up every morning. Plus every time I poured a cup, some of it spilled out of the spout to drip on my counter. So off to the store I went. I checked out quite a few coffee makers until I finally settled on trying the Black and Decker Smart Brew coffee maker. I mostly bought it because it was on sale but I wasn't expecting what I got for my money.

I loved this new coffee maker. It has this touch pad control so you can set it up to brew your coffee before you fully wake up. Definitely something I really liked about the coffee maker. It also featured a water filtration system. Now that was a lovely surprise. None of my other coffee makers ever featured that.

It actually made my coffee taste much better than before. And it's non drip pouring spout was an extra added plus. I didn't have to keep cleaning up spilled coffee before I left for work. One of the best features is the fact that after two hours it will shut itself down. Just in case you ever forget to turn it off.

You can change that to leave it on, but I don't because sometimes I do forget to turn it off. If you're serious about coffee like I am, try the Black & Decker Smart Brew. I think you'll really enjoy your coffee after you try it out.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Black and Decker coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page