logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Black and Decker DCM2160B 12 Cup Coffee Maker


Black and Decker offers many units of coffee makers. Each unit has its good as well as its bad points. Read this review to know the benefits and the drawbacks of buying Programmable DCM2160B / DCM2160W.


Programmable DCM2160B / DCM2160W is one of the coffee makers that Black and Decker boasts of. The unit is available in black and white. Programmable DCM2160B / DCM2160W is a 12-cup coffee maker that has cost ranging from $29.62 to $34.99.

Buy now


Specifications



Key features of the coffee maker

- Programmable features- The programmable feature allows one to pre-program the coffee maker a night before.

- Easy to program - One of the best things about this coffee maker is that it is easy to program. The controls are easy to locate. Unlike the other coffee maker units, this one is not very complicated.

- Simplicity - There are units that take some time to be mastered. This unit, on the other hand, is easy to manage.

- 2-hour automatic shut off - The unit has a 2-hour automatic shut off feature which is designed for the safety and convenience of the consumers. With this feature, the consumers don't have to worry even if they leave the unit on.

- Sneak-a-cup feature - with the sneak a cup feature, the consumers can get a cup of coffee even before the brewing is not yet through.

- Removable diswasher-safe brew basket - This feature is added for the durability of the product and the convenience of the consumers. With this, the brewing basket would last long. The removable feature would also make the cleaning of the basket easier.

- Perfect Pour feature - This feature ensures that the coffee when being pour would not drip.

Advantages

One of the best things about this coffee maker unit is that it can produce more cups of coffee compared to other units. For the consumers, the 12-cup capacity of the coffee maker is ideal for every household who have many family members.

According to some consumers, one of the attractive things about the coffee maker is the simple control. You don't have to be a pro to use this unit. The programmable clock is also a plus. with this, you can sleep soundly through the night and wake up to the aroma of your coffee.

This unit also ensures the safety of the consumers. With the automatic shut off setting, the consumers can ensure that no overheating will take place even if they forgot to switch the coffee maker off. The brewing basket of this unit is also very easy to clean because it is removable.

Aside from this, many consumers say that it is also very durable. The coffee maker is also available in white and in black colors.

Disadvantages

One of the drawbacks that consumers cite about this product is the terrible smell retained by the unit when it gets in contact with substances with strong smell. According to some consumers, the smell of vinegar that spilled on the unit stays on for long.


Pros
- can produce more cups of coffee
- Auto Shut-Off for safety
- one can grab a cup of coffee even if the brewing is not yet finished
- coffee won't drip during the pouring process
- the dishwasher can be removed for easy cleaning
- the controls are simple and easy to manage
- is available in two different colors
- can be programmed the night before

Cons

- not energy-efficient
- retains the not-so-pleasant smell


Compare Prices



Deals on Ebay...


Include Tags Upload



Comments for Black and Decker DCM2160B 12 Cup Coffee Maker

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 03, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good post NEW
by: Moises Cummerata

What a great blog you have!
May I ask you to place some ads of my site Find Costume Ideas on you blog?
I really love your awesome site and want to offer good money for ads on your site! Please, answer me and let's discuss all the details!

Thank you very much!

Apr 24, 2013
Rating
star
Pitcher drip
by: Anonymous

Hi I bought this coffee maker a month ago and it is total unsatisfied because it drips all the coffee everywhere when serving and when pouring water

Apr 25, 2012
Rating
star
Black and Decker DCM2160B
by: TJ

Do not buy. We brought one and it less than 2 weeks before it started spitting water out of the basket area, and short cycling the brew cycle. Had to submit warranty claim 3 times and then they wanted $7.50 to cover the shipping and handling. What a deal! I'm taking my business elsewhere.

Jan 20, 2012
Rating
star
dripping coffee pot
by: S. Tellefsen

I could not find the same coffee pot but it is a black and decker and the model number is
CM1010B and makes 12 cups.
We bought it new recently at Wal mart and have been so upset. Every single time you pour the coffee it drips on everyone and every thing. I cannot imagine you would make a faulty product, been please before with all your items. I think there must be a flaw in the way the pitcher is made at the lip where the coffee pours out of. It might be too short or whatever but we have tried pouring it slow, fast, straight up, opening the lid when we pour it. It just drips constantly.
What are we doing wrong?


Nov 17, 2011
Rating
star
The carafe is terrible
by: Irene McDonald

I really like the coffeemaker but the carafe is terrible. You have to pour the coffee really slow or it leaks - everytime, if you have 5 minutes to hold the coffee pot while you pour, otherwise be prepared with a dish cloth to wipe up the mess it makes. I have tried to find another carafe, so far no luck. Very disappointed - I've only had since April and already I'm thinking; one of these morning it's going to end up in the trash can.

Nov 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
does not pour well
by: Amy S

The carafe has a very poor design. It is straight across, and drips every time you try to pour. It drips water when trying to fill & drops coffee when trying to fill a cup. We got tired of cleaning up messes, so it now sits in the cabinet.

Oct 20, 2011
Rating
star
the messiest
by: Anonymous

Its true its all but a peice of junk in every way. hey every one the best one for the price is the Mr. coffee with the big green clock on the front. You will not find a flaw with it at all. That was our last pot. my wife got this one..I knew I should of went. I'm drinking my last pot from this thing and it is going in the trash.mr. Coffee with the big green clock/timer on the front.

Sep 24, 2011
Rating
star
IF PURCHASED, YOU'LL BE SORRY!!!!!
by: Mrs/Mr James

This is the most poorly designed coffee maker we've ever owned. 1), It's hard to fill because of the lid design. 2), Its hard to read the digital and see the little green light telling us it's on. 3), But worst of all, it's impossible to pour coffee and get it only in the cup. It goes on the counter, down cabinets and on the floor. Even pouring v-e-r-y slowly doesn't help much. We are extremly disappointed in Black & Decker. We had thought they were a good reputable company. Certainly we will not purchase their products again. We're going to throw this piece of junk out and see what other companies offer. It couldn't be worse than this!

Sep 08, 2011
Rating
star
Worst Coffee Maker Ever
by: Anonymous

This coffee maker drips all over no matter how you pour. All it really needs is a good spout, but that is not what you get with this POS. As a result I will never buy Black and Decker again!

May 22, 2011
Rating
star
WHERE'S THE RECALL?
by: Where's the recall?

Black & Decker where's the RECALL? This is the messiest, most poorly designed coffee pot I have ever owned. A true piece of crap. I have spent more on paper towels cleaning up the mess from coffee spilling all over. If you're a consumer reading these reviews DON'T BUY this coffee maker! Repeat ****DON'T BUY!**** Black & Decker "WHERE'S THE FREAKIN RECALL?"

May 22, 2011
Rating
star
Can't pour 1 cup without making a mess
by: Anonymous

I'm throwing this piece of crap coffee maker out the door right now. I've spent more on paper towels to clean up the friggin mess this piece of crap coffee maker makes. Don't buy it unless you enjoy frustration.

Apr 16, 2011
Rating
star
Nightmare!
by: Cup Of Joe

This is the worst designed coffee maker we have ever owned. We exchanged the product soon after purchase because the on/off button jammed and the unit decided to turn itself on and off at its own descretion. We pulled the plug after each use for fear of fire. The caraf dribbles and spills copious amounts of liquid so pouring over the sink is recommended. The replacement operated in the same manner after a few uses and was tossed in the trash. We will never buy a Black and Decker kitchen product again. Bad! Bad! Bad!

Apr 04, 2011
Rating
star
5 uses and it breaks
by: Anonymous

Bought this product thinking I would like it, but alas the thing decides not to work. After owning it for a week, it suddenly decided not to brew coffee properly. It is taking way too long and steam is coming out from the top. Even after cleaning, it still doesn't work. I'm not impressed.

Apr 04, 2011
Rating
star
not a good choice
by: Anita Lessing

coffee maker drips when you pour, and as well turns itself on and off at will. I feel this is very dangerous and could cause a fire. I will have to buy a new coffee pot. I will not buy this stlyle again.

Apr 02, 2011
Rating
star
junk
by: Brian

purchased coffee maker. had for a couple months and caraffe "started to "dribble" when pouring.
Threw it out and bought same model. this time caraffe started "dribbling" immediately. got replacement caraffe from B&D under warranty. that also leaks. will never buy another B&D product of any kind

Jan 30, 2011
Rating
star
Worse coffee maker thus far
by: jcbootz

By far the worse coffee maker I have ever purchased, lid has leaked from day one, no matter how slow or fast you pour your coffee, the company wrote me with a 10% off, which in return I told them this was insulting since this does not even cover taxs, so hence why I choose to review on line so people are aware of what they are getting for their money.

Jan 27, 2011
Rating
star
do not buy
by: Anonymous

Got this coffee maker for Christmas , and it leaks
they wouldn't take it back because they was no receipt

Jan 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
CARAFE
by: Anonymous

DON'T MIND THE MACHINE ITSELF,BUT NO MATTER HOW YOU TRY TO POUR THE COFFEE,THE LID LETS IT RUN ALL OVER THE PLACE,WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS PRODUCT,I'M TIRED OF FOR EVER WIPING UP THE COUNTER,BAD DESIGN,I ONLY BOUGHT IT A MONTH AGO.WISH I WOUD HAVE KNOW THE LID LEAKS ALL OVER,PROBABLY WOULD HAVE BOGHT A DIFFERENT MACHINE.

Jan 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Hate the top
by: lo66

Mine is brand new and while I haven't had issues with the pot itself, I am hating the top of the unit. Every time I open the top to pour in the water, the 'dew' from the previous use runs down the back of the unit and all over the counter.

I have decided recently that any time I buy something (that is supposed to be a quality product)that doesn't work correctly, I will not just 'deal with it'. I will contact the maker of that product and continue to complain.
I am so tired of spending my money on crappy products.

Dec 16, 2010
Rating
star
Poorly engeneered pot
by: Anonymous

This coffeemaker comes with a poorly designed pot that, no matter how slow you pour, dribbles down the side of the pot and all over whatever is beneath. If engineering is your strong suit, you get an absolute 0 for this design. What can I do about this?

Dec 10, 2010
Rating
star
very bad carafe
by: dan

the name "perfect pour"is false advertisement.you can pour half cup off drips(pours)off bottom. TEST YOUR PRODUCTS!complete garbage back to braun.

May 20, 2010
Rating
star
Horrible Carafe Design
by: Anonymous

If Black and Decker cannot spend $10 on R&D to realize you cannot pour a cup of coffee out of this carafe without spilling coffee everywhere, then I think I'm done with Black and Decker. Worst coffee maker I've ever owned.

Mar 10, 2010
Rating
starstar
bad carafe
by: Everett

Nice Coffee Maker,good features EXCEPT FOR THE CARAFE.

The lip design of the carafe makes it impossible to pour a cup of coffee from the carafe without coffee dripping all over the place.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Black and Decker coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page