logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Black and Decker DCM100B 12-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker

by Morgan
(Chandler, Arizona, USA)


Programmable DCM100B/ DCM100W is one of the coffee maker units of Black and Decker. This unit has good and bad points as well. Read on to know more about the Programmable DCM100B / DCM100 W.


DCM100B/ DCM100W is a 12-cup coffee maker. This unit is available in black and white. This coffee maker comes with a two-year warranty. This unit is one of the least expensive items from Black and Decker, costing as low as $20. The unit comes with a 2-year warranty.

Key features of the coffee maker

- Programmable clock- The programmable clock is an excellent feature. with this feature, consumers don't have to spend their time monitoring the brewing process.

- Sneak-a-cup feature - This feature allows the consumers to grab their first cup of coffee even if the coffee is still brewing.

- Auto-shut off - The automatic shut off of this unit activates after two hours. Automatic shut off ensures that you are not wasting electricity and that no overheating will occur.

- Optimal Brewing Temperature - The Optimal brewing temperature system makes sure that the brewing process won't take a long time. With this feature, coffee making is made fast and easy.

- Dishwasher-safe removable filter basket - The dishwasher-safe removable filter basket ensures the durability of the basket. Aside from this, the removable filter basket is easy to clean.

- Duralife Carafe - The Duralife carafe ensures that the life of your coffee maker will last long.

- Nonstick “Keep Hot” Carafe Plate - This feature keeps the water hot several minutes after the brewing. Because of its non-stick feature, it is also easy to clean.

Advantages

Consumers cite many advantages in using this coffee maker. One of these is that they can grab a coffee even if the brewing is not yet through. They also said that they have no worries when using this coffee maker because even if they forgot to switch it off before leaving the house, the unit will automatically shut down after two hours.

When using this coffee maker, brewing is also fast and efficient according to consumers. This is because of the Optimal Brewing Temperature feature of the coffee maker. Some consumers are impressed by the easy-to-clean design of the coffee maker, according to them the nonstick carafe and the removable filter basket is really easy to clean.

With this coffee maker coffee drinkers can just set up the controls and then leave if there are other tasks to be completed. The coffee maker will automatically brew the coffee according to the time you set.

Many also commend the Optimal brewing temperature of the coffee maker. With this, many consumers said that they don't want to wait for a long time for their favorite coffee blend.

Making coffee through this unit is also easy said some other people. The QuickTouch Programming enables the easy and fast way of making coffee. Another advantage is the easy-to-view buttons.

Disadvantages



There are also a lot of drawbacks in buying this product according to many consumers. Among these is the limitation in color and design options. The unit is only available in black and white colors only.

Aside from this, spillover is a common case in this coffee maker. The basket valve does not open properly and because of this, the coffee drizzles off the back of the basket, down the carafe, and then overflows the hot plate.

Pros

- can produce more cups of coffee
- Programmable Clock for advance setting
- Optimal Brewing Temperature
- QuickTouch™ Programming
- Sneak-A-Cup® Feature
- 2-Hour Auto Shutoff
- Nonstick “Keep Hot” Carafe Plate
- Removable Filter Basket
- Easy-View Water Window


Cons

- not energy-efficient
- prone to overflowing
- the model is only available in plain black and in plain white

Final thoughts

People have different perceptions of Programmable DCM100B/ DCM100W. Some are very impressed by this unit, and there are also many who are not really pleased by it.

Deals on Ebay...


Include Tags Upload


Comments for Black and Decker DCM100B 12-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 23, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good post NEW
by: Anderson Bednar V

Hi! Thanks for your site!
May I share with your article on my blog Mix-Costumes with a link for you as an author?

Thanks for answering!

Aug 09, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good post NEW
by: Rashad Williamson

Awesome blog! How much time did you spend to make so wonderful site?
Could you contact me please to discuss an advertising of CostumesMax on your blog? I would pay the amount you want for banner ads or other ads you can suggest.

Answer me, please! Thank you!

Jan 26, 2015
Rating
star
yuk NEW
by: Anonymous

cheaply made. not easy to use. the top lid doesn't open enough to ease the flow of water into the tank. It is easy to not center the carafe under the spout, hence overfloww. try another brand.

Sep 29, 2014
Rating
starstarstar
my x coffee maker
by: cherylgrady

I purchased this coffee only 3 months ago.spring quit making contact 1 month ago.water boils away in tank mostly except for small amount of espresso left in carafe. I may use the carafe for a planter as the brewer is useless.

Jun 27, 2013
Rating
star
POS
by: Anonymous

POS

Mar 29, 2012
Rating
star
Zero quality control
by: Anonymous

Water leaked all over counter first time it was used - defective construction. Returned it for a replacement and that lasted a month. No more B&D products for me

Dec 29, 2011
Rating
star
carafe
by: Anonymous

Terrible carafe that leaks when pouring.

Jun 12, 2011
Rating
star
don't buy
by: Anonymous

Have had 2 of these....both burned out within one year....plus the carafe is horrible....spills all over...Had one with a rectangle spout....why don't you stick with that design....it worked wonderfully well.

Apr 05, 2011
Rating
starstar
Not the best
by: Anonymous

I have also had issues with the spillover. Worse, I think becaue of the spilling the buttons at the front are difficult to press on or off. My husband is not thrilled with the taste of the coffee, but I am not sure it is specifically related to B&D -- could be some other factor like unfiltered water. Not the best coffe maker.

Jan 31, 2011
Rating
star
12 cup programmable
by: mapleman

B&D should wake up and smell the coffee. Mine works fine except for the lousy stinking carafe.
Impossible to pour a cup without spilling. Last B&D I buy.

Dec 03, 2010
Rating
star
Bad pouring pot.
by: Anonymous

We bought this coffeemaker & it was the worse thing to use . In as much as the coffee would get everywhere because of the design of the spout. So I wrote my complaint to Black & Decker . No response !! Waited a while for one even though my husband said he could do something that would help. But I wanted to wait , not tinker with thing & null & void the Warranty . But as I said , no answers coming from B & D. So my 81 yr old husband removed some of the under lip . Made it thinner so to speak . Now there are no more problems.
So no thanks to B & D . Although perhaps they could tell the manufacturers how to adjust this before they market it .

Nov 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
program instructions
by: Anonymous

cm1500 8 cup coffee maker had no instructions how to program

Jul 04, 2010
Rating
star
Worked fine until today!
by: Anonymous

I bought this at Target before Christmas Dec. 8, 2009- well it stopped working this morning, July 4,2010- almost lasted 6 mos. Seems like the heater element has gone as it won't make hot water, won't acknowledge water and the hot plate isn't hot at all. It explains why my coffee hasn't been hot. I purchased a Mr. Coffee today- I hope to have better results. Black and Decker home page says this has a 2 yr warrenty so I have contacted them-- I'll be glad to come back and tell you if they will pay to replace it. I will not buy another black and decker coffee maker.

Jun 17, 2010
Rating
starstar
O.K. but there are better machines for your money.
by: Anonymous

O.K. But the B and D Smart Brew I had before was definitely better. With this one the carafe leaks and spills no matter how you try to pour the coffee. We have also had several instances of trying to make 10 or 12 cups and after adding the required amount of water, the machine shorts the brew by 2 or 3 cups. Not good news on those early mornings! I would not recommend this coffee maker to a friend.

Mar 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
value with no bells and whistles
by: Anonymous

I've owned this particular coffeemaker for a few months, having been given it for my birthday a while ago after my last one went belly up. I'm actually pleased with it, while simple and seeming fairly basic, it's very effective and does the job you need it to do with no fuss.

It's an easy coffeemaker to use, you almost don't need the manual at all, for how easy to understand it is. The buttons do what they say on the tin, and programming the current time as well as the brew time doesn't take long at all. The auto-brew function works perfectly, so this is a great idea for the early-riser who needs a quick boost in the morning to get on the move.

Keeping this model clean requires very little, a bit of vinegar every so often, a damn rag or paper towel, and a few minutes every week or so to make sure that the coffee you brew is of the top quality.

Now not all coffeemakers are perfect and each has their quirks, especially if you're looking at a model with a valve equipped to let you sneak a cup while the pot is brewing. It seems that some coffeemakers are doomed to not so much make a pot of coffee as to liberally apply a steamed coffee layer to your kitchen counters and floor.

The Black & Decker is pretty good about making sure the valve doesn't jam shut, but one potential weakness is the pot itself and how it's seated in the rest of the coffeemaker. The coffee pot itself is fairly light, and if you're not careful when preparing to make a pot of coffee the pot will actually slide out of position and close the valve, thus leading to the flood of caffeinated goodness that we all know and dread.

All said and done, however, this is an good value for the price (I'm told 10$ was paid for this coffeemaker, though it normally retails for $20), it'll do the job and do it well, and while it doesn't come with every possible bell, whistle, orbital death laser, sentient AI with Bluetooth, or other neat feature you'll see on other coffeemakers, it does what it says on the tin very well indeed.

Aug 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Works well but has some flaws
by: Anonymous

Pros
- The side view is very easy to see through to see how much water you have it place.
- The carafe has been bumped several times and not cracked yet. Very sturdy.

Cons
- The carafe leaks around the edge while you are pouring coffee.
- The hour button on the clock is very easy to hit and change your time without realizing it.

It works good and that's what we need it to do.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Black and Decker coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page