logo for coffee-maker-review.net
LEFT for coffee-maker-review.net
 

Black and Decker CM5050 Coffee Maker

by Delores
(Indiana)


I have had Black & Decker coffee pots for 6 yrs..BUT this one is not worth packing home! I used it once & it fills with water in the basket & no matter what adjustments made...it doesn't work. This was in the upper price range because I didn't want to burn down the house, but cutting corners is not a good thing...I won't buy anymore Black and Decker coffee pots. what a disappointment. It was guaranteed for two years...the way I see it, it should have worked to start with.

Comments for Black and Decker CM5050 Coffee Maker

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 01, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
nice posting NEW
by: Buy dissertations online

Fantastic blog page with all the terrific good items not to mention I’m absolutely sure this will be vastly advantageous...https://www.theacademicpapers.co.uk/buy-dissertation-online.php

Nov 01, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
nice posting NEW
by: Dissertation writing service

thanks for sharing it...https://www.cheap-essay-writing.co.uk/cheap-dissertation-writing-services-uk

Nov 11, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
www.caesarsfinancial.com NEW
by: www.caesarsfinancial.com

Thanks for this well-written article that helps me a lot! I am grateful to read this I will follow your blog from now on.www.caesarsfinancial.com

Nov 05, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Coffee Maker NEW
by: Rayon

If yours coffee maker machine is not working properly. However, if the same defect occurs, as happened with your coffee machine, then you may request a replacement. It is within your rights to make such a request.
melbourne express delivery









Oct 29, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Coffee Maker NEW
by: Lords

Today there are number of coffe maker companies in the market. If you want to have coffee-shop taste at home the you need to have proper coffee machine and quality coffee beans.
High quality sotrage service

Oct 27, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Black and Decker NEW
by: Leeds

Today a lot of Coffee Maker companies are present. Its mainly depending on what exactly you're comparing between, it's usually cheaper, it's almost always more fun, and you get more hands-on control which can definitely lead to better tasting end product.speedy alcohol delivery


Oct 26, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Coffee Maker NEW
by: Cairns

CM5050 Coffee Maker is very famous brand in the market. Its technology can even simplify your morning coffee by walking you through settings that might otherwise be too complicated. Can you imagine a world where you get the perfect cup of coffee the first time, every time? It’s here.
parcel delivery in Adelaide

Oct 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
v NEW
by: Arnold

It is very pathetic, when any kitchen appliance not working properly.Try sydney parcel delivery If you’re looking for a versatile coffee maker, this one is a good bet. You can easily program it to make smaller and larger cups of coffee. You can make several cups at once with the machine’s removable 12-cup water tank.

Oct 20, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Coffee Maker NEW
by: Andrew

Yup i also purchased a coffee machine from a local supermarket. After few days, the coffee machine stopped working and I took it back to the place I had bought it from. The seller accepted it back and we agreed to have it fixed. alcohol-delivery-sydney

Oct 13, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Black and Decker NEW
by: James

Use 6 Cups HD7450 Coffee Maker Black to avoid any accident and ready to use. More information Adelaide parcel sourier

Oct 06, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great NEW
by: Anonymous

It’s very informative and you are obviously very knowledgeable in this area. You have opened my eyes to varying views on this topic with interesting and solid content.http://www.prcarbon.com/diabetes-destroyer-review-latest-diabetes-treatment-ebook-by-david-andrews-examined/5224873/

Sep 29, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great NEW
by: Anonymous

This is also a very good post which I really enjoyed reading. It is not every day that I have the possibility to see something like this.. ed miracle reviews

Sep 28, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great NEW
by: Anonymous

get subscribers on youtubes The matter you we highlighted above is surely value able for anyone to workout. the concept of your article is very true and It will result in a positive way. buy youtube views cheap

Sep 23, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GAME HACK NEW
by: Anonymous

hill climb racing mod apk So lot to occur over your amazing blog. Your blog procures me a fantastic transaction of enjoyable.. Salubrious lot beside the scene. clash of clans gemmes

Sep 15, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
In the aftermath of an auto accident, NEW
by: Anonymous

In the aftermath of an auto accident, many complications arise and life ends up being complicated. It is important to prepare yourself beforehand and learn some of the basic things that you need to safeguard your interest. There are several aspects that you need to cover such as filing insurance claims, going for car repairs, filing your report with the police and addressing the issue of any injuries sustained.
Dulles to dc car service

Sep 15, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
This article is about the NEW
by: Anonymous

This article is about the places to see and visit when you travel to the Big Island of Hawaii. Looking for something different than your typical Waikiki experience? Learn about what the Big Island has to offer. I will tell readers what to expect and what to avoid when traveling to the Big Island.
dulles limousine

Sep 15, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Located in E. Rodriguez Sr. Avenue, NEW
by: Anonymous

Located in E. Rodriguez Sr. Avenue, Garden Heights Hotel Manila towers over the other buildings and has a great view of Metro Manila from their top floors. I really liked the panoramic view of the Metro from the hotel's top floors but the accommodations are good considering it's a two (2)-star hotel. The rooms are fully air-conditioned, each with individual balconies so that guests can enjoy the view of Manila. They also have IDD/NDD phones and broadband internet connection for online gaming or for guests to access their email. There is also cable TV available so there's no dull moment in the room.
dulles limo iAd car service

Sep 04, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Black and Decker NEW
by: Anonymous

This is very interesting, You're a very skilled blogger. I've joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!
New York Bus Charter

Sep 04, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CM5050 Coffee Maker NEW
by: Anonymous

I think this is one of the most vital information for me. And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers
Los Angeles bus company

Sep 02, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CM5050 Coffee Maker NEW
by: Anonymous


We're a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with valuable information to work on. You've done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

Atlanta bus charter

Aug 17, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Black and decker cofee maker NEW
by: Anonymous

Black and decker cofee maker is one of my best friend when i feel tired after wrtiting an assignments for my students of help with assignment i must drink a cofee to refresh my mind and black and decker helps me in making cofee so easy

Jun 24, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Black and Decker CM5050 Coffee Maker NEW
by: Nicholas Smith

Black and Decker has expensive and branded products. I have never heard such bad reviews about their products before. Their products are reliable and good enough and usually they stay for years. I dont know why your coffee maker did not make it. Consult with assignment writing help australia, if you need quality content.

Jun 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good post NEW
by: Ms. Maude Ryan

Awesome blog! How much time did you spend to make so wonderful site?
Could you contact me please to discuss an advertising of Caketoppers on your blog? I would pay the amount you want for banner ads or other ads you can suggest.

Answer me, please! Thank you!

May 28, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Should I buy Or Not? NEW
by: Kate Becky

You said that this one is not worth buying. I would like to know the reason. Is Termite control equipment this actually not worth the money or does it have any defects. If you could help me with this maybe, I can be sure if I should buy or not.

Mar 13, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
quality product NEW
by: Jake

I think we can never find a good quality coffee maker at this price. The design pretty impressive and we can make more coffee at less time Windows 10 preview . I will try to order this product through online.

Jan 23, 2012
Rating
starstar
non satisfait
by: Anonymous


- J'ai achete une cafetiere Black&Decker model CM5050C en mars 2011, Dec 2011, plus rien, elle ne fonctionne plus! J'utile ce produit quelques fois par semaine! Canadien tire ne son pas les meilleurs pour vous offrir le service!

Dec 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
The dribbler
by: Mike

Count me as another who cant pour a cup without dribbling on the counter. The clock loses about a minute per day. And I cant find water filter replacements, though after reading other reviews on this site, I'll try the GE ones.

Other than that, it makes good coffee and it brews more quietly than other coffee makers.

Dec 03, 2011
Rating
star
coffee grounds
by: Anonymous

My problem isn't the carafe, it's the water filling the basket too fast and spills coffee and grounds everywhere!!! We have to shut our machine off atleast 2 times to keep it from happening. Tried different coffee, a different filter, and tried using less coffee. We even drilled a bigger hole in the basket. Not impressed. We even went so far as to buy the same one because we thought it was an isolated problem. The new machine did the exact same thing.

Nov 15, 2011
Rating
star
frustrated
by: Anonymous

I have the cm1010 model and we are on the fourth pot replacement because they continue to leak all over the counter after a few months. They have been great about replacing them at no cost to us but I am so frustrated! They have offered to send us an upgrade model cm5050 but I am not happy with the reviews I am reading! Does anyone have a suggestion for a new one?

Oct 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
You Get What You Pay For
by: Coffee Hound

I had an older one of these. Bought it about 10 years ago. Finally last week I turned it on, it brewed about a 1/4 of a pot, and then just stoppped dead. For something that I had spent barely $20 on and had it last 10 years I got my money out of it.

I really like the programmable feature, the automatic safety turn off, and the coffee strength selector bar. Mine, like others have mentioned here, was as terrible at pouring as a drunken college student at 3am on a Saturday night. I always thought it was because the band & handle were not quite lined up right with the spout and I was afraid to mess with it for fear of breaking the glass. To be honest with you that's my only complaint. I wasn't really expecting a lot from this thing as it was under $25 but it held up good over the years.

I spent last week without coffee. I was going to buy a Bunn and get something a little nicer now that my taste for coffee has grown some. I don't really like the way they look and I've gotten a lot of conflicting reports from friends and co-workers regarding user friendliness. Anyways I couldn't stand it anymore. Friday I went over and bought, you guessed it, another $20 Black & Decker. I figured it would provide me with coffee while I figure out the maker situation. Hey, that's 4 stops at Starbucks that I don't need to spend money on right? It paid for itself already.

I was thrilled to see that on this version the pouring has improved 1000%. *Sigh, like other reports though, the little clip that holds the top on the carafe broke when I went to rinse the pot. It's hanging on by 1 already. Also this one does not have the strength selector. The first pot I made was kind of weak. I guess I'll have to figure out how to adjust things to get it to my taste.

How do I rate this thing? It's a $20 coffee maker. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

Sep 30, 2011
Rating
star
home owner
by: dave decarli

we bought this coffee maker because we thought it was a higher end product. first the pot . to pour it it leaks EVERY WHERE!!! second no matter what we do the water (hot) leaks over the top of the pot goes on the burner and ALL OVER MY COUNTER TOP!!! this product is NOT WORTH BURNING DOWN YOUR HOME!!! it could short out thus causing a fire. i would not recomend this product!!

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Replacement pot
by: Chuck

The replacement pot is better but still not the dripless that they say it is . It's good if you pour it slow.

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
CM 5050 coffee pot
by: Anonymous

After using 2 Mr. Coffee's and both didn't work good, even the replacement one they sent for it, I decided after many years of only using Mr. Coffee, I tried the Black n Decker.
The Coffee when you pour it, goes everywhere; even when it is brewing I noticed coffee below the pot area for some reason and can't figure that part out why it does it.
They are mailing me out a free pot to try, so hope it works. If it still leaks, I will be calling them back again for sure. Hope no more leaking either while it is brewing.

May 23, 2011
Rating
starstar
leaks
by: Anonymous

There is a crack in the band that goes around the top of the carafe. Drips ans leaks every time you pour. The cracked band is the dark brown plastic.

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
JUNK
by: Yaggazoozy

spills every time...cant find filters...this thing is a piece of JUNK!

Mar 29, 2011
Rating
star
Any better?
by: Amber

Are the replacement carafes any better?

We just got our coffee maker today, went to wash the carafe so the in-laws can have coffee when they come Friday and the glass shattered with minimal pressure between the cloth and the bottom of the sink.

Not impressed, and not sure what to do, as there's no way a replacement carafe will get here before the in-laws.

Mar 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My Coffee Maker is a CM1010B
by: Anonymous

Everything else seems to work on this coffee maker, except the Carafe when I pour the coffee into my cup it runs all over my counter so I pour it over my sink. I'm going to call this 800-231-9786 to see if they will send me a new Carafe.

Mar 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Get a replacement carafe from B&D.
by: Anonymous

I had the same spilling issue when pouring a cup of coffee so I contacted them and they are sending a different carafe at no charge. Here is the contact number, 1-800-231-9786 Said it would be approx. 10 days to recieve it. Be ready to give the model#, serial number and the manufacture date that is located on the plug that goes into the outlet. The date is on the brass part that acually plugs into the outlet (not the plastic part)that you hold while plugging in. Or you can use this site to contact them. applicaconsumeraffairs@fox-international.com . They were easy to deal with, Dave

Mar 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Spills while pouring.
by: Anonymous

I bought two of them and do like them but am having the same issue as many others when pouring the coffee it spills some on the counter. A replacement pot with a different spout would do the trick there. Maybe a pot from a different brand (the same height) would work ? Maybe B&D will come around and recall them and replace with a different glass pot. As of now I keep the paper towels handy to keep the counter dry !

Mar 04, 2011
Rating
star
Everything is wrong with this coffee maker
by: jean

Glad to see I'm not the only dummy to spill coffee on the counter every time. Also the coffee is weak and not very hot. I have tried the "strong" button and even using 50 percent more coffee in the filter I still get weak tasting coffee. The only thing I like is the large numerals on the clock. I had a Cuisinart for many years before and I'm going back to Cuisinart for a real coffee maker.

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Problem finding filter
by: Maggie

I can not find a replacement water filter online or at walmart. I just stuck in one that walmart had-- GE brand. It fits ok-I hope it works. I spill coffee when I try to pour coffe from the carafe.

Feb 10, 2011
Rating
starstar
Black & Decker-MADE IN CHINA !!!
by: LongTime B&D purchaser

Gosh - I used to count on Black & Decker for a level of quality a cut above the average. Not so with this coffee maker! Not only did it leak but, less that 5 months after I've purchased it, all that happens now is that it just sits there holding the water I poured into it. Doesn't brew anything any longer. What happened B&D ... Ah ha I got it: Made in China!!!! No Quality Control in China! Won't be buying any more...

Feb 07, 2011
Rating
star
black lake
by: Anonymous

if you open the lid while pouring the spill is minimal.

Feb 05, 2011
Rating
starstar
Magic-Drip
by: Scott

We call this little beauty the Magic-Drip. Like everyone else here and on other sites, we end up with a small lake on the counter whenever we pour from the carafe. No solution seems to be forthcoming from Black & Decker. So, until we get disgusted with the black lake on the counter top, we'll just have to live with it. Other than that, it seems to work fine.

Feb 02, 2011
Rating
star
Lousy piece of crap
by: Anonymous

Everything else seems to work on this coffee maker, but the POT runs down the side and onto the floor and counter-EVERYWHERE!!! Didn't the designers of this junk try it out and POUR from it before they put it on the market? If Black and Decker would "make it right", and replace the defective pots, I would certainly buy from them again, but not now. I have been using Black andDecker tools for years in my fencing business, but NO MORE! Not unless they replace this stupid pot! Sounds Trivial, but that's the way I feel about it!
Disgusted in Wyoming

Jan 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Good machine
by: Enjoyng good coffee now!

Got this coffee maker at Christmas and must say that other than a bit of difficulty with the timer and clock,and seeing the water level in the maker its self, it is great! I really like the fact that one can program it to brew stronger coffee if you want it! But like other s have mentioned.... what is up with the water filter and yeah, how often does it get changed? Would be nice to know these things! I also like the little chime letting me know it is done brewing!

Jan 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Spilling Caraffe Solution...
by: Cyber7Traveler

I too was one of those that strongly critized the spilling of coffee upon pouring a cup... My solution eas not to rest the lip of the caraffe on the cup while pouring... I tried not allowing the lip to touch the cup and since then no coffee spilling while pouring a cup of coffee... Give it a try and see for your self... The spilling upon pouring a cup of coffee, was my only complaint...
AS for filling the reservoir, i use an oval shaped 2 liter juice pitcher that i purchased at WalMart for $3.00... Yet to spill a drop of water while filling the reservoir to make a pot of coffee... Hope this helps, as i feel this is a wonderful Coffee Maker...

Jan 27, 2011
Rating
star
The Dribbler
by: Anonymous

Our University Dept. purchased this coffee maker 7-11-10 and since the first day the carafe leaks. We call it " The Dribbler". Everyone uses it and everyone complains about it. Does anyone know of product replacements from Black & Decker or any way to get a replacement unit?

Jan 02, 2011
Rating
star
Don't get this one
by: Anonymous

I selected this model since I didn't want a cheap machine and this one has a stylish look to it.
But it was a big disappointment. It's difficult to pour the water in the tank due to the lid design and you cannot basially use the caraffe that came with without spilling the water in the grinded coffee you put in. I am using a measuring cup instead. It's also slow to blew and the coffee is not hot so once you poured in the cup it gets lukewarm. The design of the caraffe is also bad as it doesn't pour the coffee well due to the plastic part at the top of the glass inside catch coffee. I will never buy Black & Decker coffee maker.

Dec 27, 2010
Rating
star
Carafe is a piece of junk
by: AntiqueClockService

We have been battling this coffee pot for about two months. All of a sudden the carafe cannot pour a cup of coffee without spilling down the outside of the pot and all over the counter. I hesitate to buy another carafe based on the comments here.

I will probably buy another brand and just junk this coffee maker. It makes coffee ok and we use the program features quite a bit, but the carafe really sucks.

Dec 10, 2010
Rating
star
junk from the word go
by: Chris Theiss kc,mo.

the pot leaks bad . pouring water in , pouring coffee to the cup, half on counter. whats the problem.Junk Spent $49.00

Nov 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Have any of you tryed the obvious??
by: Never happy with a deal

If you walk into your local walmart u will find there are ge brand replacment charcoal like looking filters??? If you look closely arent they just about the same type of charcoal ball as the picture for this coffee maker describes??? has anyone tryed just stuffing one of those ge filters into the black and decker holder??? When i first looked at the coffee maker on sale me and my buddy said wheres the replacement filters??? the closest thing was the ge some of you should try doing that. Then post your results if it fit or i suppose u could even just trim them down if there too big

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
star
Avoid this thing
by: Anonymous

Had ours for a week then it suddenly just refused to brew this morning.

Luckily we still had the old coffee maker around so we had coffee.

New product or not this is obviously unacceptable.

We will not be returning it for another B&D model which I had thought were quality products.

This thing is garbage.

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
star
leaks
by: Anonymous

Pot defected, leaks all over counter top, can't use canister to poor water into system when making coffee without having a big mess.

My friend bought same blacker and Decker maker and hers shorted out because canister leaked so badly when she tried to make a pot of coffee.

Very disappointed in this maker. designing a canister that does not leak does not take a rocket scientist.

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
star
Carafe Cracked
by: Anonymous

After two weeks, the carafe cracked. I had a cuisnart for 4 years before so I am very disappointed. Black & Decker should replace free!

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
star
yes.....the CM5050 is a P.O.S.
by: Ed W. in New England

10-29-2010
I called Black and Decker customer service and the lady was super nice. told her how i had bought the thing from Walmart and it spilled coffee from day one no matter how it was poured and how the caraffe broke after owning it 3 months. she is going to replace the caraffe for free however! they are back ordered until after December of 2010!

I thanked her and then gave her my pitch how Black and Decker shouldn't do business with Satan (Walmart) because in order to be rock bottom cheap enough for them B and D has to skimp on quality.

but..i admitted to her and i'll admit it here: Ulitmately the onus belongs to me....Walmart sucks, i know it and I gave them money. i am the one to blame for even going in to that death hole in the first place.

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Very disappointed
by: Indy

All a coffee maker has to do is boil water and run it through some grounds. This one does that just fine, but whoever designed the carafe needs to be slapped, as does every nitwit who passed on the design and sent it to production. It's impossible to pour a cup of coffee with this thing without making a mess. Shouldn't be that hard, people. I could almost understand it if the head designer was Eternal President Kim Jong Il's nephew in Pyongyang, and it was sold exclusively north of the 38th parallel. I'm going back to the $12 Big Lots Mr Coffee special. It does what it's supposed to without the issues.

Oct 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
makes a mess
by: Anonymous

How do you pour the coffee without making a mess?

Oct 30, 2010
Rating
star
Piece of Crap!
by: Stacey

Do not buy this coffee maker. It is horrible to try and clean, grounds get everywhere and it broke permanently after 9 months...think burning electrical wire smell. This was a gift and I would not have bought this model myself. I just had to go out and get a new coffee maker after owning this for less than a year. My last coffee maker was a Braun and lasted like 8 years. Again, I do not recommend this coffee maker.

Oct 26, 2010
Rating
star
Hater
by: B&D can suck it

Same problems as everyone else, pot spills or drips no matter at what ever pouring speed. The water filter foregetaboutit, nobody has then online or in the local stores.

Oct 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LOVE IT
by: JAVA THE HUT

I purchased one for our office and it works perfectly. I only need to know where to buy replacement charcoal filters.


Oct 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
carafe breaks too easily
by: Anonymous

I purchased this coffeemaker for about $50 at WalMart. Liked how it made coffee and ease of setting the time/er. BUT after a week of use, the carafe began to dribble when poured, regardless fast or slow. Then after six weeks of using I barely bumped the bottom edge of the carafe on a wash-cloth covered sink full of sudsy water and it broke! Now we can't find a replacement carafe at Wal-Mart, and the replacement carafe from Black&Decker costs $19.95 with shipping added!!!
What a disappointment.

Sep 26, 2010
Rating
star
hate this pot
by: william kelderhouse

just brought this maker about 3 months ago and won't buy another one . the brewer part of it works great but when you pour a cup of coffee you make a mess on the counter because this pot runs down the face of it what a piece of garbage.

Sep 12, 2010
Rating
starstar
CM5050 1-4 cup doesn't work
by: Mike in Indiana

I selected this model over others because it had a 1-4 cup brew cycle and touted it to make better coffee over a regular cycle. It did not work. Pushed the 1-4 cup button and nothing. I waited 15 minutes just to be sure but nothing. Pushed the regular On button and coffee was brewing instantly. This one is going back. Probably get a less expensive one and go back to what I always did when I just wanted a couple of cups instead of a whole pot.

Sep 10, 2010
Rating
starstar
Problems
by: Anonymous

The carafe spout leaks every time I pour a cup of coffee. It's necessary to keep a paper towel under my cup when pouring.
Have been to almost every store, including the store where it was purchased, and still can't find replacement water filters, even in generic.
What a disappointment.


Jul 31, 2010
Rating
star
CM5050
by: Blount

Pot drips when pouring. What a hassle!

Jul 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Read the booklet
by: Texas

Just bought this coffee maker, just wanted to say instructions for placing water filter,is in the booklet on bottom of page 6, continuing on page 7. Only problem for me so far was understanding instructions for setting the delayed brewing time.
Finally did it, it works.

Jul 13, 2010
Rating
starstar
pot
by: Anonymous

Hate this pot when you pour fast or slow the thing leaks. Have to have paper towel ready to wipe up the counter top every time you pour a cup. The pot is flawed somehow..

Jul 12, 2010
Rating
star
CARAFE CRACKED 1ST DAY
by: Anonymous

MY CO-WORKER PURCHASED THIS NEW B&d COFFEE MAKER cm5050 WHILE RINSING IT OUT THE GLASS TAPPED THE SINK AND CRACKED! IN ALL MY YEARS I HAVE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS! I WILL ALSO CALL b& d FOR A REPLACEMENT. HAS ANYONE BEEN SUCESSFUL IN FINDING A REPLACEMENT CARAFE?

VERY VERY DISATISFIED IN WASHINGTON, DC

Jul 05, 2010
Rating
star
Leaky pot
by: Anonymous

Drips when you pour coffee. Always! Seems to be getting worse. Not sure if I should waste money on a replacement pot or not. Has anyone contacted Black and Decker on this issue?

Jun 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
good coffee pot!
by: Anonymous

I use mine all the time, and it doesn't leak. I love it.

Jun 25, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No problems, good coffee
by:

No problems with this coffee maker; we've only been using it a few days. Maybe they changed the design of the carafe, because ours doesn't leak at all. I only wish they would have included instructions on how to install and how often to replace the water filter! The coffee is good, and the maker works fine. I admit I had to LOL @ the review complaining about the "defective" digital clock. I wonder if that poor guy ever did think to peel off the sticker??

Jun 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent but...not comletely perfect.
by: Charlie M.

Just bought to replace burnt out old coffee maker. Really don't understand any of the complaint issues from filling the water well spillage to the carafe not pouring correctly; haven't experienced any such issues (don't use the carafe to fill water well though, use gallon jug of already filtered water). Makes a great cup of coffee. My only complaints are that it's difficult to see water line on fill guage because of its opaqueness, but it's minor. Also no instructions on water filter installation but finally figured out (filter with handle presses down into water well depression on bottom left of well). Can't comment on filter effectiveness because our water is already filtered. Overall well pleased with coffee maker. Fair price for what appears to be a decent quality product.

May 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
good and bad
by: steve

I agree with other comments regarding the pour spout on this model. You have to pour very slowly and carefully to prevent spilling. I have a problem with finding replacement water filters. I have been searching the internet for 15 minutes and cant't locate a source. I bought the coffee maker from WalMart but either they do not stock replacement water filters or they are always sold out.

May 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
leaks all over
by: Anonymous

I don't understand just why but the carafae leaks all over when you pour coffee into a cup.It is very irritating and messy.I would thing after all the years coffee makers have been made there would be no problem designing a spout that would work well without leaking.

Apr 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Reply to faulty digital clock
by: Anonymous

There is a sticker over the digital clock, its not set to 7:00 you just have to peel it off...

Mar 10, 2010
Rating
star
completely flawed
by: Perfecto Jose

Just bought Black & Decker Coffeemaker model CM5050 from Walmart at Eastern Ave, Las Vegas, NV yesterday 01/16/09. Used it this morning. The digital clock was not working. There was no digital clock display of flashing 12:00. The clock displayed
an unlighted 7:00 on or off.

It is disheartening to find a reputable company's product with a basic flaw fresh from the box. It appears this royally slipped through B&D's Q&A (assuming they have one) cracks.

I will call tomorrow B&D's service and see what gives.

Mar 10, 2010
Rating
star
leaks on me!
by: Margaret

I hate this coffee maker!

The pot leaks when you pour........pour slow it drips, pour fast it drips.

I paid almost $100.00 for this coffee maker for it to drip and leak all over my counter top.

Mar 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Installing Water Filter
by: Cyber7Traveler

Yes you are right, there were no instructions on installing the water filter in the instruction manual... Open the lid, like you were going to pour water in to make coffee... Down at the bottom left of the water reservoir you will see the opening that the water enters into the water heater... This hole is oval shaped just like the outer part of the water filter... Plug the water filter into the oval shaped hole and wa-la filtered water and great tasting coffee...
Hope this was of help...

Mar 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
HOW do you install the water filter??
by: Anonymous

How do you install the water filter? Maybe I'm missing something, but there are no instructions on what to do with this.

Mar 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best Coffeemaker I've ever owned
by: Cyber7Traveler

Purchased @ Walmart for $50.00 bucks... Works great and makes a wonderful pot-o-coffee... Really
like the permanent water filter... Delores in Indiana, had the same problem you had at first, after installing the permanent water filter it slowed the flow of water to the basket... Almost threw the packaging away before i realized there was a waterfilter included...

Feb 20, 2010
Rating
starstar
a carafe that won't pour
by: mike

I cannot figure out how to pour the coffee without spilling some. The spout on the carafe is just too short. The coffee temp is barely just hot enough. So, other than tepid, spilled coffee, it's a great unit.

Jan 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I own this too!
by: Anonymous

I have no issues with this unit. Worked great from the very start. Great price.

Dec 21, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great machine!
by: Anonymous

beautiful design and works perfectly, every time a new product comes out to the market is bound to have some issues, I got a cuisinart unit that broke 3 days after I got it, this CM5050 is 49 dollars! great price

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Black and Decker coffee maker consumer reports.

footer for coffee maker reviews page